Wearables market

Body-focused sales

With the Apple Smartwatch, wearables came of age. The new segment is shaking up various industries with double-digit growth rates – and enabling new players to benefit from digitalisation.

Urs Binder

In autumn 2014, Apple introduced its Smartwatch, which had long been the subject of speculation. Some industry observers viewed this as a breakthrough for the wearables product category. Although, calculated across all brands, around 30 million smartwatches were sold in 2015 according to estimations by Gartner, in comparison to this, sales of fitness bracelets, heart rate monitors, chest bands and other activity monitors totalled more than 80 million. According to the Statista statistics portal, two years ago the IDC forecast sales of 65 million of this “wrist wear” for 2015; the thing is, this alone would have been an almost threefold increase compared to 2014. The clear market leader is still FitBit, followed by Xiaomi, Garmin, Samsung and Jawbone.

“By 2020, 35 per cent of the population in developed markets will wear a wearable” 

Nick Jones, Gartner

The fashion industry is getting on board

But what Apple’s involvement clearly shows is that the major players in the electronics industry are now also interested in the wearables market. And they are not the only ones. The Fossil Group, famous for fashion brands such as Diesel, Emporio Armani and Michael Kors, sees huge market potential here and, following the “Q” smartwatch, plans to launch more than a hundred wearable products this year. It is clear that wearables have now reached the lifestyle segment, allowing industries that had previously been far removed from technology to benefit from the digitalisation boom.


Market researchers are also forecasting massive growth for the coming year. For 2016, Gartner forecasts sales of almost 275 million wearables, including 116 million Bluetooth headsets and 50,000 cameras worn on the body in the style of the GoPro. Total global revenue is just under 29 billion dollars, of which smartwatches make up 11.5 billion.


The new market research company Idtechex, which specialises in new technologies, is looking a little further into the future and believes that wearables sales will increase to 70 billion dollars per year until 2025. At last year’s Gartner Symposium, analyst Nick Jones estimated that sales would total 500 million devices by 2020. In developed markets, 35 per cent of the population will use at least one wearable.


Incidentally, the statistics vary considerably depending on the source. This is due to the definition of the term “wearable”. Some people understand this to mean fitness trackers and smartwatches, above all, while a broader definition includes all devices that are worn on or close to the body, as well as smart clothing, which is sure to become increasingly important in the future.

Opportunities, pitfalls and innovations

As well as the device providers, other industries are benefitting from the growing wearables market: chip manufacturers, designers, system integrators and OEM manufacturers, testing organisations, software developers, cloud service providers, and telecommunications providers anticipate new business fields and sales.


However, wearables provide new opportunities not only for the familiar players, but also for start-ups with innovative ideas. Jones noted that this market is currently still immature. Projects are often financed through crowdfunding, and some of them soon fail. The industry lacks stable standards – at present, there is a struggle between providers, experience and APIs. 

The fashion and jewellery industry sees completely new growth opportunities in the wearables market

Innovation is continuing apace, both in terms of functionality and interaction between the wearables and their wearers. While today’s wearables predominantly communicate via text messages (such as smartwatches) Jones believes that haptic, acoustic and visual indicators will increasingly be used in the future. For example, smart jewellery that indicates incoming messages by changing colour. Operation will increasingly involve microinteractions, such as gesturing and pressing together or shaking.


Health care as an impulse generator

For the foreseeable future, the health care sector will remain the dominant market for wearables. For Idtechex, health care includes medical applications as well as devices and apps for fitness and wellness needs, and they name Apple, Accenture, Adidas, Fujitsu, Philips, Reebok, Samsung, SAP and Roche as key market players.


Existing medical applications range from blood pressure monitors controlled via smartphone to hearing aids with an integrated heart rate monitor, from Bluetooth-compatible blood sugar sensors and the mobile ECG monitor to the smart pill, which provides endoscopic images on its way through the digestive tract. In the future, the range of applications will become much broader; for example, in the area of percutaneous medication: intelligent plasters will measure relevant vital statistics and release precisely the required dose of the medication. Thanks to nanotechnology, sensors and therapeutic actors that act directly inside the body will also be used more and more, thus enabling more precise diagnoses and treatments that are individually tailored to the patient.

Further articles

Caught our eye

Spectrometer to combat fake meds

US market researchers from IDC are absolutely certain that more huge changes are to be expected in the coming ten years in the area of Internet television.

User interface

Read and be read

In the coming years, user interfaces will fundamentally change work and business.

Wolf tests

BlackBerry is back!

Resurrected: why the BlackBerry Priv is impressing again .

Marché des Wearables

Un chiffre d’affaires près du corps

Avec la Smartwatch d’Apple, les Wearables sont devenus adultes. Affichant des taux de croissance à deux chiffres, ce nouveau segment numérique redistribue les cartes dans diverses branches – profitant ainsi à de nouveaux acteurs.

Urs Binder

A l’automne 2014, Apple présentait sa Smartwatch qui avait suscité bien des spéculations. Nombre d’observateurs de l’industrie y ont vu une sorte d’adoubement pour les Wearables. Selon des estimations de Gartner, près de 30 millions de Smartwatches ont été vendues en 2015 toutes marques confondues, mais en comparaison, au total, plus de 80 millions de bracelets de fitness, cardiofréquencemètres, ceintures cardiaques et autres moniteurs d’activité. Selon le portail de statistiques Statista, IDC pronostiquait il y a deux ans pour 2015 des ventes de 65 millions d’unités de ce Wristwear, qui aurait ainsi presque triplé par rapport à 2014. Aujourd’hui, le leader évident du marché est encore Fitbit, suivi de Xiaomi, Garmin, Samsung et Jawbone.

«En 2020, 35% des individus des marchés développés porteront un Wearable» 

Nick Jones, Gartner

La branche de la mode s’y met

L’entrée en scène d’Apple le montre toutefois clairement: les grands de la branche électronique sont aussi intéressés par le marché des Wearables. Et ils ne sont pas les seuls. Le groupe Fossil, connu pour ces marques de mode telles que Diesel, Emporio Armani et Michael Kors, entrevoit là d’énorme chances de marché et souhaite, après la Smartwatch «Q», lancer cette année plus de produits Wearable. Les Wearables ont ainsi définitivement atterri dans le segment Lifestyle, et ils permettent à des branches jusqu’ici peu en rapport avec la technique de profiter du boom de la numérisation.

 

Les analystes du marché attendent aussi pour l’année prochaine une croissance massive. Pour 2016, Gartner pronostique des ventes de près de 275 millions de Wearables, dont aussi 116 millions de casques Bluetooth et 50 000 caméras portées sur le corps, du style de la Gopro. Le chiffre d’affaires mondial global se situe aux alentours de 29 milliards de dollars, sur lesquels les Smartwatches représentent 11,5 milliards.

 

Idtechex, l’entreprise d’étude de marché spécialisée dans les nouvelles technologies, se projette encore plus loin dans l’avenir et pense que jusqu’en 2025, le chiffre d’affaires réalisé avec les Wearables va augmenter de 70 milliards de dollars par an. Lors du symposium Gartner organisé l’an dernier, l’analyste Nick Jones a estimé qu’en 2020, les ventes se situeraient autour des 500 millions d’appareils. Sur les marchés développés, 35% des individus possèderont au moins un Wearable.

 

Toutefois, les statistiques varient fortement en fonction de leur origine. Cela en raison d’une définition différente du terme de Wearable. Certains entendent par là avant tout les traqueurs d’activité et Smartwatches, mais au sens plus large, ce terme désigne aussi tous les appareils portés au niveau du corps ou à proximité, tout comme les vêtements intelligents dont l’importance ne devrait pas cesser de croître.

 
Chances, pièges et innovations

Outre les fournisseurs de ces appareils, d’autres branches profitent du marché des Wearables en pleine croissance: les fabricants de puces, les concepteurs, les intégrateurs systèmes et les fabricants d’OEM, les organisations de contrôle, les développeurs de logiciels, les fournisseurs de services de Cloud et les opérateurs de télécommunication espèrent en tirer de nouveaux domaines commerciaux et chiffres d’affaires.

 

Toutefois, les Wearables offrent de nouvelles chances aux acteurs connus, mais aussi aux start-up dotées d’idées innovantes. «Pour l’heure, ce marché n’est pas encore mature, constate N. Jones. Et d’ajouter «Les projets sont encore souvent financés par un crowdfunding et beaucoup d’entre eux échouent rapidement. L’industrie manque de normes stables – pour le moment, on assiste à une bataille au niveau des fournisseurs, des expériences et des API.» 

La branche de la mode et des bijoux pense que le marché du Wearable offrira des possibilités de croissance totalement nouvelles

L’innovation poursuit son avancée sans faillir, tant du point de vue de la fonctionnalité que de l’interaction des Wearables avec leurs propriétaires. Alors que les Wearables communiquent aujourd’hui principalement par messages – comme c’est le cas de la Smartwatch – N. Jones prédit qu’à l’avenir, on aura davantage d’indicateurs haptiques, acoustiques et visuels. Sur le bijou intelligent par exemple, qui indique les messages reçus par un changement de couleur. Les objets seront de plus en plus souvent commandés au moyen de microinteractions tels que des gestes, ou en pressant ou secouant l’objet.

 

Le Healthcare donne le rythme

A court terme, le marché dominant des Wearables reste le secteur de la santé. Idtechex regroupe sous le terme de Healthcare les applications médicales, mais aussi les appareils et applis de fitness et de bien-être, et considère Apple, Accenture, Adidas, Fujitsu, Nike, Philips, Reebok, Samsung, SAP et Roche comme les acteurs importants du marché.

 

Les applications médicales déjà existantes vont de l’appareil de mesure de la tension piloté par smartphone à la pilule intelligente procédant à des prises de vue endoscopiques sur son chemin à travers l’appareil digestif, en passant par un appareil auditif à mesure intégrée de la fréquence cardiaque, un capteur de glycémie compatible Bluetooth et un appareil de mesure ECG mobile. A l’avenir, le spectre d’utilisations va considérablement s’élargir, par exemple dans la médication percutanée: des pansements intelligents mesurent les valeurs vitales importantes et administrent exactement la dose nécessaire de médicament. A l’aide de la nanotechnologie, on utilisera aussi davantage de capteurs et d’actionneurs thérapeutiques qui agiront directement dans le corps et permettront ainsi des diagnostics plus précis et des thérapies sur mesure pour les patients.

Plus dʼarticles

En lumière

Lutter contre les médicaments contrefaits avec un spectromètre

Les analystes du marché américains d’IDC sont absolument certains que les dix prochaines années nous réservent encore des évolutions massives dans la télévision sur Internet.

User Interface

Lire et être lu

Au cours des prochaines années, les interfaces utilisateurs (User Interfaces) chambouleront profondément le travail et les processus de l’entreprise.

Wolf teste

BlackBerry is back!

Une résurrection: pourquoi le nouveau modèle de Blackberry, le Priv, est convaincant ?