E-health in the Canton of Zurich

Efficiency and safety in health care

Digitalised health care is coming, albeit more slowing than planned. In Zurich, a canton-wide platform is being created for efficient data exchange between service providers.

Urs Binder

Zurich Oberland, July 2026: I suffer from type-2 diabetes, high blood pressure and elevated blood fat values. My doctor prescribes me medication and urgently advises me to make lifestyle changes. Lose weight, take more exercise, eat more healthily. Blood sugar levels and blood pressure, as well as my efforts to improve fitness, must be monitored regularly. However, my life isn’t disrupted by the need to take blood samples or go for check-ups: a sensor implanted in my contact lens constantly measures blood glucose values and warns me if my blood sugar is getting too low. A wearable motivates me to take more exercise. All the data is automatically transferred to the electronic patient dossier and is immediately available to the doctor.

 

At the moment, it’s still a long way off

This is what a patient history could look like in ten years. Digitalisation is transforming health care. There is an electronic patient dossier (EPD) for every patient who wants one. The GP records the patient’s medical history electronically. Thanks to a central communication platform, all service providers, from the hospital to the home care services, can access the data provided the patient has given the requisite consent. The patient remains the owner of the data and decides who can view and modify the data. Used correctly, this digitalisation brings real benefits:

  • Seamless data exchange between the service providers.
  • Avoidance of errors in recording.
  • More efficient processes, both within the practice or hospital, and between service providers – no time wasted waiting for the post.
  • Better quality of treatment along the entire treatment chain – important above all for chronically ill or polymorbid patients.

 

This last point is particularly important: if the wrong drugs are prescribed as a result of insufficient consultation, there is a risk of dangerous interactions, as Thomas Bähler, head of Solutions at Swisscom Health, knows: “The consequences can be fatal. In Switzerland, more deaths are caused each year by the wrong medication than by road traffic, flu and HIV combined.”

 

But perhaps the most important thing is this: “With the EPD, citizens are for the first time in history being given the opportunity to really exercise their right over their own medical data.” These are the words of Dr. Samuel Eglin, acting general secretary of the Department of Health in the Canton of Zurich and president of the ZAD support association. The patient already has the aforementioned right. However, it is a struggle to request all the data individually and put it together to form a complete picture – and most of what you get is on paper.

 

Canton-wide platform in Zurich

Zurich decided to set up a standardised communication infrastructure for health care. It is the largest e-health project to date in Switzerland. Under the leadership of the Department of Health the associations of the service providers have joined forces in the Zurich Affinity Domain (ZAD) support association. Its task is to build up a regular community across the entire canton in accordance with the government’s e-health strategy, see box. “The trigger was an e-health forum in 2011,” says Samuel Eglin, describing the background. “Then we held intensive discussions with the service providers for two years. It was a long process. But now we have a stable support body with high acceptance.”

“Patients won’t want to undergo two examinations just because their GP is not willing to use electronic communication.” 

Dr. Samuel Eglin, acting general secretary of the Department of Health in the Canton of Zurich

Some cantons start with a small pilot project – Zurich is going all out from the very beginning. “We actively decided against a bottom-up approach. We know that the technology works. We wanted to have all the users on board from the word go, and offer them a comprehensive network solution.”

In the summer of 2015, a public WTO invitation to tender was held for the technical realisation. Following a detailed evaluation, Swisscom Health was awarded the contract. The Swisscom Health Connect platform serves as the basis, and has already proved its worth at over 200 hospitals and 2000 medical practices in other cantons. The latest encryption and authentication methods are used for secure communication. Patients can access their dossier via the Evita portal. 

 

Self-financing solution

“We wanted a partner that could offer secure and large-volume ICT solutions. And that would adapt to our strategy and draw up a business model with us,” says Eglin. In the Canton of Zurich, the goal is for operation of the platform and the EPD to run without state subsidies. “That is unique throughout Switzerland, and it’s the only thing that makes sense for the long term.”

 

To finance operations, ZAD offers service package subscriptions for the service providers. “The price of these packages must be attractive, and they must offer a real benefit. After all, we cannot force anyone to participate,” says Samuel Eglin. Different packages are planned for doctors, home care organisations, pharmacies and other players. The precise make-up of the packages is still in development. To this end, an introductory project with selected service providers will commence in the summer of 2016. The launch for the whole canton is planned for 2017. If everything goes to plan, around 4000 service providers will then be able to use the new infrastructure.

 

The University Hospital Zurich will play a central role in supporting the project and assisting the other service providers. The hospitals will in general play a very important part: they are the first ones obliged to carry out electronic communication and therefore assume a pioneering function.

 

New clinic, the latest technology

The Cardiance Clinic in Pfäffikon SZ is an example of how things could look. It is the first outpatient cardiac clinic in Switzerland, and it is fully digitalised. The clinic offers diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation and prevention. “Today’s technology makes it possible to perform practically all catheter procedures ambulantly. A lot of doctors aren’t aware of this,” administrative board president Dr. Thomas Mattig explains. It is good for patients to not have to go to a large hospital and possible stay the night.

 

The Cardiance Clinic was completely restructured. “As a result, we were able to deploy the latest technology and did not have to take account of the existing infrastructure.” The results from the examination equipment flow directly into the clinic information system. The software also helps in administration: reports are generated automatically where possible. “The gains in efficiency are so obvious that in the medium term, every clinic and doctor’s surgery should switch,” advises Mattig. In the future, the aim is to digitally support patient communication outside the consultation sessions as well, for example for lifestyle advice during rehabilitation. 

 

The Cardiance Clinic was completely restructured. “As a result, we were able to deploy the latest technology and did not have to take account of the existing infrastructure.” The results from the examination equipment flow directly into the clinic information system. The software also helps in administration: reports are generated automatically where possible. “The gains in efficiency are so obvious that in the medium term, every clinic and doctor’s surgery should switch,” advises Mattig. In the future, the aim is to digitally support patient communication outside the consultation sessions as well, for example for lifestyle advice during rehabilitation. 

The GPs are putting up resistance

The majority of GPs aren’t there yet. At the moment, information is digitally documented by a minority, somewhere between twenty and forty per cent, depending on the source. The fax, which has practically disappeared from other industries, is still ever-present in health care. With fatal consequences for data security: according to Thomas Bähler, one to two per cent of faxes don’t arrive at correct recipient. “Projected over several hundred thousand faxes, a substantial amount of medical data ends up at the wrong place every year.” 

“Many faxes containing medical information go to the wrong recipient.” 

Thomas Bähler, head of Solutions, Swisscom Health AG

In principle, practically no one has anything against electronic documentation, digital communication and EPD, except that some doctors seem to find the idea of greater transparency – the “transparent doctor” – a little uncomfortable. Some heated discussions in the GP associations show that doctors are primarily concerned about costs. Software for the medical practice is expensive. Data input takes time, and the TARMED tariff structure does not contain a settlement item for this. “The changeover to typing on a computer slows things down a lot and costs time,” is how the argument goes. “In health care, there is no intrinsic motivation to change. All make a good living, are overrun with patients and don’t really need to move,” says Prof. Andréa Belliger, e-health expert at the Institute for Communication and Management (IKF) and prorector of PH Luzern, highlighting a further factor.  

 

“In health care there is no motivation to change. All make a good living and are overrun with patients.”

Prof. Andréa Belliger, head of IKF Lucerne

The experts agree on one thing: doctors’ scepticism is also a generational problem. Many GPs who still document information on paper are a few years away from retirement and do not want to change their practice. For young doctors who train in hospitals today, on the other hand, electronic documentation is taken for granted. Most joint practices also work with electronic medical histories from the outset.

 

Digitalisation will come

Subscribable cloud solutions make it possible to spread the costs for practice software over a long period, so a doctor does not have to make a large one-time investment. In any case, doctor’s surgeries will not be able to avoid digitalisation, because without a digitalised practice and automatic data transfer, it is immensely time consuming to maintain the EPD. Patients are increasingly revealing a desire to electronically access their data, as Samuel Eglin stresses: “Ultimately, the decisive pressure will come from the patients. They won’t want to undergo two examinations just because their GP is not willing to use electronic communication.” 

 

Andréa Belliger adds: “People want to be involved, to communicate openly and to have transparency. E-health is much more than just digital communication and the EPD. It’s arising from the increasing organisation of our world into networks.” For Belliger, this includes web-based communities such as patientslikeme.com, for example, where patients with particular disorders exchange information “and perhaps thereby achieve a better result than if they were to just talk to a doctor”. 

 

The government’s e-health strategy

As early as 2007, the Federal Department of Home Affairs formulated an “e-health strategy for Switzerland”. According to the Federal Council, e-health should help give the population access to a high-quality, highly efficient, highly secure and cost-effective health care system. “E-health” therefore stands for the integrated use of information and communication technologies to support all stakeholders and processes in health care.

The strategy set ambitious targets. For example, electronic data exchange between the service providers was to have been established by the end of 2012. By the end of 2015, everyone in Switzerland should have been able to use the electronic patient record. These targets were not achieved.

In June 2015, Parliament passed the federal law on the electronic patient dossier (EPDG). It comes into force in 2017 and stipulates the introduction of electronic data exchange and the EPD. Hospitals and homes must be connected at the latest three years after the law comes into force, home care services have five years to complete the changeover. Participation is optional for doctors and patients – the principle is known as “double voluntary action”.

Digital health for a healthy Switzerland

Thanks to innovative ICT-based solutions from Swisscom, doctors, hospitals and insurance companies can save valuable time and money. Patients gain an insight into their data and profit from efficient collaboration between their service providers.

Go to the solutions

Further Focus articles

Interview

“Patients increasingly want to have a say”

The subject of e-health is taking a big step forward with the canton of Zurich’s large-scale project. Stefano Santinelli, CEO Swisscom Health AG, makes an initial assessment.

Electronic patient dossiers

Four critical questions put to Economiesuisse and FMH

How does a health economist and supporter of the electronic patient dossier respond to the critical questions of an FMH representative? And vice versa?

Column by Michael Kurzidim

Be healthier with e-health

Yes, telemedicine, digital hospitals and robotic doctors are good for our health.

Système de santé numérisé

Cybersanté: tous à bord dans le canton de Zurich

La numérisation du système de santé progresse, même si cela se fait plus lentement que prévu. Une plate-forme cantonale voit le jour à Zürich pour un échange de données efficace entre les fournisseurs de prestations.

Urs Binder

Oberland zurichois, juillet 2026: je souffre de diabète de type 2, d’hypertension et d’un taux de cholestérol élevé. Mon médecin de famille me prescrit des médicaments et me recommande vivement de changer mon mode de vie: perdre du poids, pratiquer plus d’activité physique, me nourrir plus sainement. Ma glycémie et ma tension doivent être surveillées régulièrement, tout comme mes efforts pour rester en forme. Toutefois, je ne passe pas ma vie à effectuer des prises de sang et des visites de contrôle: un capteur implanté dans ma lentille de contact mesure en permanence la glycémie et me prévient d’une menace d’hypoglycémie. Un wearable m’incite à plus me dépenser physiquement. Envoyées automatiquement dans le dossier électronique de patient, toutes les données sont immédiatement à la disposition du médecin.

 

Encore une vision d’avenir

Telle pourrait être l’histoire d’un patient dans dix ans. Le système de santé est chamboulé par la numérisation. Pour chaque patient qui le souhaite, il existe un dossier électronique du patient (DEP). Le médecin de famille gère les antécédents de façon électronique. A l’aide d’une plate-forme de communication centrale, tous les fournisseurs de prestations peuvent accéder aux données, de l’hôpital à Spitex – dans la mesure où le patient y a consenti. En effet, ce dernier garde la maîtrise des données et détermine qui peut les consulter et les modifier. Bien utilisée, la numérisation se traduit par de réels avantages:

  • échange de données sans rupture de médias entre les fournisseurs de prestations;
  • prévention des erreurs de saisie;
  • processus plus efficaces, tant en interne dans les cabinets et les hôpitaux que de façon transversale sur tous les fournisseurs de prestations;
  • pas de perte de temps en raison de l’acheminement postal;
  • meilleure qualité de soins sur toute la chaîne de traitement – particulièrement important pour les patients atteints de maladies chroniques et polymorbides.

 

Ce dernier point, avant tout, est d’une importance cruciale: en cas d’erreur de médication dû à un manque de concertation, des interactions dangereuses risquent d’apparaître, comme l’explique Thomas Bähler, Head of Solutions chez Swisscom Health SA: «Les conséquences peuvent être mortelles. Chaque année en Suisse, on recense plus de décès par erreurs de médication qu’en raison d’accidents de la circulation, de la grippe et du VIH additionnés.»

 

Toutefois, c’est cet aspect qui est presque le plus important: «Avec le DEP, le citoyen, pour la première fois dans l’histoire, a la possibilité d’exercer réellement son droit sur ses propres données médicales.» Telle est la constatation de Dr Samuel Eglin, secrétaire général adjoint de la direction de la santé du canton de Zurich et président de l’organe responsable ZAD (Zurich Affinity Domain). Bien sûr, le patient dispose d’ores et déjà du droit précité du patient. Il est néanmoins laborieux de demander partout les données séparément et de les rassembler pour former un tableau global. De plus, les documents reçus sont généralement sur papier.

 

Une plate-forme cantonale à Zurich

Zurich a décidé de mettre en place une infrastructure de communication harmonisée pour le système de santé. Il s’agit là du plus grand projet de cybersanté de Suisse à ce stade. Sous la houlette de la direction de la santé, les associations de prestataires se sont regroupées pour former l’organe responsable ZAD. Cela, dans le but d’instaurer une communauté de base cantonale selon la stratégie de cybersanté de la Confédération, voir encadré. «L’impulsion initiale est venue d’un forum de cybersanté organisé en 2011», résume Samuel Eglin. «Par la suite, nous avons mené un dialogue intensif avec les fournisseurs de prestations. Le processus a été long. Mais maintenant, nous disposons d’un organe responsable largement accepté.»

«Le patient ne voudra pas être examiné deux fois parce que le médecin de famille n’est pas disposé à participer à la communication électronique» 

Dr Samuel Eglin, secrétaire général adjoint, direction de la santé du canton de Zurich

Tandis que certains cantons débutent par un petit projet pilote, Zurich se lance directement à fond. «Nous n’avons délibérément pas adopté l’approche bottom-up. Nous savons que la technique fonctionne. D’emblée, nous voulions avoir tous les utilisateurs à bord et proposer une solution de mise en réseau sur tout le territoire.»

Pour la mise en œuvre technique, un appel d’offres public selon les règles de l’OMC a été lancé à l’été 2015. A la suite d’une évaluation approfondie, Swisscom Health SA a remporté le marché. La base utilisée est la plate-forme Swisscom Health Connect, qui a déjà fait ses preuves dans d’autres cantons auprès de plus de 200 hôpitaux et 2000 médecins. Pour assurer une communication sûre, les méthodes de cryptage et d’authentification les plus récentes sont utilisées. Les patients peuvent accéder à leur dossier via le portail Evita. 

 

Une solution autofinancée

«Nous étions à la recherche d’un partenaire capable de proposer des solutions de TIC sûres et de grande envergure. De plus, il devait s’accorder avec notre stratégie et élaborer à nos côtés un modèle commercial», commente S. Eglin. Dans le canton de Zurich, l’exploitation de la plate-forme et du DEP doit en effet fonctionner sans subventions de l’Etat. «C’est unique en Suisse et c’est aussi l’unique solution qui fait sens sur le long terme.»

 

Pour financer l’exploitation, la ZAD propose aux fournisseurs de prestations des packs dans le cadre d’un abonnement. «Ces packs doivent être d’un prix intéressant et apporter un véritable avantage. Nous ne pouvons forcer personne à participer», précise Samuel Eglin. Différents packs sont prévus pour les médecins, les organisations Spitex, les pharmacies et autres acteurs de la santé. La composition précise des services est encore en cours de développement. Par ailleurs, un projet de lancement démarrera à l’été 2016, avec un petit nombre de prestataires. Le coup d’envoi à l’échelle cantonale devrait être pour 2017. Si tout fonctionne comme prévu, quelque 4000 fournisseurs de prestations utiliseront la nouvelle infrastructure.

 

L’hôpital universitaire de Zurich endossera un rôle central de soutien du projet et d’accompagnement des autres fournisseurs de prestations. Les hôpitaux revêtent quoi qu’il en soit une grande importance: ils sont de par la loi les premiers à devoir pratiquer une communication électronique et endossent ainsi le rôle de précurseurs.

 

Nouvelle clinique, toute nouvelle technique

Cardiance Clinic, de Pfäffikon SZ, montre comment les choses pourraient se présenter. Il s’agit de la première clinique cardiologique ambulatoire de Suisse, entièrement numérisée. Elle propose des prestations de diagnostic, de traitement, de rééducation et de prévention. «La technique permet aujourd’hui d’exécuter pratiquement toutes les interventions par cathéter en ambulatoire. Beaucoup de médecins l’ignorent encore», explique Dr Thomas Mattig, directeur du Conseil d’administration. «Pour les patients, il est vraiment agréable de ne pas être transféré dans un grand hôpital et de devoir éventuellement y passer la nuit.

 

Cardiance Clinic a été dotée d’une structure entièrement repensée. «Nous pouvons ainsi employer les technologies les plus modernes, sans devoir prendre en compte l’infrastructure existante.» Les résultats issus des équipements d’examen alimentent directement le système d’information de la clinique. Au niveau administratif également, un logiciel apporte son aide: les rapports sont si possibles générés automatiquement. «Les gains d’efficacité sont tels qu’à moyen terme, chaque clinique et chaque cabinet médical seraient bien avisés de l’utiliser», recommande T. Mattig. A l’avenir, la clinique souhaite également optimiser par voie numérique la communication avec les patients en dehors des consultations, par exemple pour des conseils sur le mode de vie, dans le cadre de la rééducation. 

 

Les médecins de famille font le blocus

Dans ce domaine, les médecins de famille sont à un tout autre niveau. Une minorité seulement documente aujourd’hui son travail sous forme numérique, soit entre 20 et 40% selon les sources. Le télécopieur, qui a pratiquement disparu dans d’autres branches, est encore omniprésent dans le secteur de la santé. Avec des conséquences désastreuses pour la sécurité des données: selon Thomas Bähler, 1 à 2% des fax n’arrivent pas au bon destinataire. «Extrapolé à plusieurs centaines de milliers de fax, c’est une quantité substantielle de données médicales qui atterrit chaque année au mauvais endroit.» 

«De nombreux fax contenant des informations médicales n’arrivent pas au bon destinataire» 

Thomas Bähler, Head of Solutions, Swisscom Health SA

Dans le principe, presque personne ne s’oppose à la documentation électronique, à la communication numérique et au DPE, même si quelques médecins trouvent cette transparence accrue un peu inconfortable – faisant apparaître un «médecin de verre». Les discussions en partie enflammées au sein des associations de médecins de famille montrent que les réserves du corps médical sont avant d’ordre financier. Le logiciel de cabinet serait onéreux à acquérir. La saisie des données demanderait du travail et il n’existerait pas de poste de décompte correspondant dans TARMED. «Le passage à la saisie sur ordinateur ralentit considérablement au début», commente un représentant du corps médical. «Dans le système de santé, il n’existe pas de motivation intrinsèque au changement. Tout le monde vit bien, on est submergé de clients et rien n’a besoin d’évoluer», pointe Prof. Andréa Belliger, experte en cybersanté à l’Institut de communication et de leadership et prorectrice de la Haute école pédagogique de Lucerne.  

 

«Dans le système de santé, il n’existe pas de motivation intrinsèque au changement. Tout le monde vit bien, on est submergé de clients»

Prof. Andréa Belliger, responsable IKF Lucerne

Les experts s’accordent sur un point: le scepticisme des médecins est aussi un problème de génération. De nombreux médecins de famille qui tiennent encore les dossiers sur papier sont à quelques années de la retraite et ne veulent plus rééquiper leur cabinet. Pour les médecins plus jeunes qui font aujourd’hui leurs classes à l’hôpital, la documentation électronique relève en revanche de l’évidence. De même, la plupart des cabinets de groupe travaillent d’emblée avec le dossier médical électronique.

 

La numérisation va s’imposer

Les solutions de Cloud sur abonnement permettent dès aujourd’hui de répartir durablement les coûts du logiciel de cabinet, sans qu’il soit nécessaire de consentir un investissement élevé en une seule fois. Quoi qu’il en soit, les cabinets médicaux n’échapperont pas à cette numérisation. Faute de cabinet numérisé avec une transmission automatique des documents, le DEP demande en effet beaucoup de travail. Les patients sont toutefois de plus en plus demandeurs de cet accès électronique à leurs données, comme le souligne Samuel Eglin: «Au bout du compte, c’est le patient qui exercera la pression décisive. Il ne voudra pas être examiné deux fois parce que le médecin de famille n’est pas disposé à participer à la communication électronique.» 

 

Et Andréa Belliger de compléter: «Les gens souhaitent participer eux-mêmes, communiquer de façon plus ouverte et instaurer la transparence. La cybersanté va bien au-delà de la communication numérique et du DEP. Elle s’inscrit dans le phénomène d’organisation croissante de notre monde en réseaux.» A titre d’exemple, on peut citer, pour A. Belliger, les communautés basées sur le Web, telles que patientslikeme.com, où les patients atteints de certaines pathologies échangent entre eux et «parviennent ainsi éventuellement à un meilleur résultat que s’ils parlaient avec un seul médecin». 

 

La stratégie cybersanté de la Confédération

Dès 2007, le Département fédéral de l’intérieur a formulé une «Stratégie cybersanté (eHealth) Suisse». D’après le Conseil fédéral, la cybersanté doit contribuer à garantir à la population l’accès à un système de santé de qualité, efficace, sûr et avantageux. Ce terme renvoie donc à l’utilisation intégrée de technologies de l’information et de la communication pour soutenir l’ensemble des acteurs et des processus du système de santé.

La stratégie visait des objectifs ambitieux. Ainsi, l’échange électronique de données entre les fournisseurs de prestations devait être en place d’ici 2012. Fin 2015, tous les Suisses devaient pouvoir utiliser le dossier électronique du patient. Ces buts n’ont pas été atteints.

En juin 2015, le Parlement a adopté la loi fédérale sur le dossier électronique du patient (LDEP), qui entrera en vigueur en 2017 et instaurera l’introduction de l’échange électronique de données et du DEP. Trois ans après l’entrée en vigueur, les hôpitaux et les homes devront s’affilier à cette solution, tandis que les services Spitex disposent de cinq ans. Pour les médecins et les patients, la participation est facultative – selon le principe du «double volontariat».

Avec le Digital Health pour une Suisse en bonne santé

Les solutions novatrices de Swisscom basées sur la TIC font gagner du temps et de l’argent aux médecins, aux hôpitaux et aux assureurs. Les patients disposent d’un aperçu complet de leurs données et bénéficient de la collaboration efficace de leurs fournisseurs de prestations.

Accéder aux offres

Connected Event le 30 juin

La santé connectée est aussi un thème dans la suisse romande : Lors du prochain ‘Connected Event’ le 30 juin 2016 au Campus Biotech à Genève, Swisscom discutera avec ses partenaires (l’EPFL, la Chambre de commerce de Genève et la Promotion économique de l’Etat de Genève) sur la santé connectée. Vous êtes intéressé à participer ? Donnez-nous votre nom et le nom de votre entreprise. 

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir une invitation

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Interview

«Les patients veulent avoir leur mot à dire»

Avec le grand projet du canton de Zurich, la cybersanté fait un grand bond en avant. Stefano Santinelli, CEO de Swisscom Health SA, tire un premier bilan.

Dossier électronique du patient

4 questions adressées à Economiesuisse et à la FMH

Que répond un économiste de la santé et un défenseur du dossier électronique du patient aux questions cri-tiques d’un représentant de la FMH? Et inversement?

Chronique de Michael Kurzidim

En meilleure santé avec la E-Health

Oui, la télémédecine, les hôpitaux numériques et les médecins-robots sont bons pour notre santé, notre auteur en est convaincu.