Wolf tests

BlackBerry is back!

Resurrected: why the BlackBerry Priv is impressing again .

Peter Wolf

Skip in seconds
seconds to go


Back when mobile phones were capable of very little and the BlackBerry already allowed mobile e-mailing and calendar management, you could consider yourself lucky if your company provided you with this means of accelerating productivity. Privately, it wasn’t even possible to use the BlackBerry – a server maintained by corporate IT was required. The black device with the scroll wheel was a real status symbol. And not only did it have the best in-built keypad available at the time, it also used data and energy sparingly and was considered to be very secure and robust.


Those who now have the new BlackBerry can also be happy – but for different reasons.


Practical: the removeable keypad is also a touchpad.


Astonishingly, the physical keypad – which I, as a BlackBerry veteran, have missed the most on all my other smartphones – isn’t even the main argument. It is still as good as ever for typing (after all, back then I wrote all my articles on the BB), but the virtual keyboard with its predicitve text suggestions can also be used just fine.

Those who now have the new BlackBerry can be happy – but for different reasons than before.

There are other reasons that speak for the slide-out keyboard: it makes the phone longer. In addition, it can be used as a touchpad. Together, these two features ensure that you can scroll through long e-mails, lists or websites without covering the image on the screen with your fingers. Furthermore, it also makes it easier to enter shortcuts, passwords or short texts.


Innovative: the clever password protection with a combination of images and numbers.


With its curved edges, the OLED screen looks modern and feels good in your hand.


And the fact that the loudspeaker is on the front of the casing, directly below the keyboard so that you do not cover it when holding the phone in your hand, is another plus. But that’s enough about the exterior features.


The interior is impressive, too.

When it comes to the interior features, a lot has changed: the BlackBerry Priv has dispensed with its own operating system and now runs on Android. First and foremost, this means that, for the first time, BlackBerry users can choose from a sufficient range of good apps! Nevertheless, users are not deserted when it comes to security: the on-board app “DTEK by BlackBerry” assesses the device’s security status, explains the verdict and provides recommendations as to where improvements can be made.


Secure: the “DTEK by BlackBerry” app continually monitors the security status.


The excellent BlackBerry Messenger BBM, which is now also available for other operating systems, and the BlackBerry Hub, which bundles and displays messages from all manner of sources, have been retained from previous models.


The Swisscom extra tip

Mobile Security enables you to access your applications and data securely at any time and from any location. Swisscom analyses your business requirements and reduces the integration of smartphones and tablets to the relevant aspects. For secure use, Swisscom then derives solution proposals from this with suitable technologies. This includes secure integration of mobile devices in your company, protected access to business-critical applications, and secure use of private and business data on a device.

More information

Peter Wolf

has been involved with technology for as long as he can remember. For many years, he was a trend scout and social media expert at Ringier. He currenty works part time at e-foresight and thus came into contact with the Swisscom team in spring 2014. He also writes regular columns and app tests for various publications.

Wolf teste

BlackBerry is back!

Une résurrection: pourquoi le nouveau modèle de Blackberry, le Priv, est convaincant ?

Peter Wolf

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

Autrefois, lorsque les téléphones mobiles ne savaient presque rien faire mais que le BlackBerry offrait déjà un e-mail mobile et une gestion du calendrier, vous pouviez vous estimer heureux lorsqu’une entreprise décidait de vous équiper d’un tel accélérateur de productivité. En effet, on ne pouvait pas utiliser le BlackBerry de façon privée, il fallait un serveur géré par le service informatique de l’entreprise. Cet outil noir muni d’une molette de défilement était un véritable symbole de statut social. Non seulement il disposait du meilleur des claviers installés à l’époque, mais il était aussi très parcimonieux dans la consommation de données et d’énergie, tout en étant considéré comme sûr et robuste.

 

Aujourd’hui encore, les détenteurs de BlackBerry peuvent se réjouir – mais pas pour les mêmes raisons.

 

Pratique: le clavier coulissant est aussi un pavé tactile.

 

Etonnamment, le clavier physique qui m’a cruellement manqué – en tant que vétéran du BlackBerry, dans tous mes autres smartphones – n’est pas l’argument principal. Comme par le passé, il est agréable à utiliser (après tout, j’écrivais autrefois tous mes articles sur le BB), mais le clavier virtuel, avec ses suggestions de mots, est bien fonctionnel.

Aujourd’hui encore, les détenteurs de BlackBerry peuvent se réjouir – mais pas pour les mêmes raisons qu’avant.

D’autres raisons parlent en faveur du clavier coulissant: il allonge le mobile. De plus, il peut servir de pavé tactile. Ces deux caractéristiques réunies font que l’on peut faire dérouler de longs mails, des listes ou des sites Web, sans couvrir l’écran de ses doigts. En outre, des raccourcis clavier, des mots de passe ou de courts textes peuvent être entrés aisément.

 

Innovant: le blocage par combinaison d’une image et d'un chiffre.

 

L’écran OLED arrondi latéralement est d’un aspect moderne et il se prend bien en main.

 

Le fait que le haut-parleur se situe sur l’avant du boîtier, directement sous le clavier, et ne soit donc pas recouvert par la main qui tient le téléphone, est aussi un plus. Voilà pour l’extérieur.

 

Un intérieur également convaincant.

Pour ce qui est de l’intérieur, les choses ont changé: le BlackBerry Priv a abandonné son propre système d’exploitation et fonctionne désormais sous Android. Cela signifie avant tout que pour la première fois, un utilisateur de BlackBerry peut choisir entre un nombre suffisant de bonnes applis! En matière de sécurité, il est toutefois soutenu: l’appli de bord «DTEK by BlackBerry» évalue le statut de sécurité de l’appareil, détaille le verdict et donne des recommandations d’amélioration.

 

Sûr: l’appli «DTEK by BlackBerry» vérifie en continue le statut de sécurité.

 

Ce qui n’a pas changé, c’est l’excellent BlackBerry Messenger BBM, qui existe aujourd’hui pour d’autres systèmes d’exploitation, et le BlackBerry Hub, qui regroupe les messages des sources les plus diverses et les affiche.

 

L’astuce supplémentaire de Swisscom

Mobile Security vous permet d’accéder à vos applications et données où que vous soyez et à tout moment. Swisscom analyse vos exigences commerciales et concentre l’intégration des smartphones et tablettes sur les aspects pertinents. Pour une utilisation sécurisée, Swisscom en déduit des propositions de solutions assorties des technologies adéquates, comme l’intégration sécurisée de terminaux mobiles dans votre entreprise, l’accès protégé aux applications confidentielles et l’utilisation sécurisée des données privées et professionnelles sur un même appareil.

Plus d’informations

Peter Wolf

Peter Wolf (50 ans) est passionné de technique depuis qu’il est en âge de penser. Pendant plusieurs années, il a été trendscout et expert en réseaux sociaux auprès de Ringier. Il travaille aujourd’hui à temps partiel chez e-foresight et a rejoint le personnel de Swisscom au printemps 2014. Il écrit également des chroniques régulières et des tests d’applis pour diverses publications.