Expert interview

Smart working needs to be learned

Everybody wants to be clever. Some companies do a better job, while others simply can’t get the smart solutions to work despite their best efforts. In a video interview, Bruno Messmer explains what makes the difference.

Claudia Bardola

Playgrounds, the atmosphere of a flat share, table football and free food in every lounge corner – modern office landscapes make it clear how desperately companies want their employees to collaborate creatively. “More and more knowledge is available at the companies. However, at the same time it is becoming increasingly difficult to find and bring together the expertise that is distributed across the individual departments and employees,” Bruno Messmer summarises the dilemma that is blocking many companies today. The head of workspace and collaboration activities at Swisscom has been addressing the framework conditions and effects of information and communication technology for more than 20 years. In this time, many methods were tried to break open the organisational and thought structures – and it is well known that one can learn from mistakes.

 

No collaboration without culture

The fundamental challenge to collaboration: all elements need to fit together. “It’s like the iPhone,” cites Messmer by way of comparison. “Steve Jobs certainly put in an extraordinary amount of work, but without 3G networks, high resolution touchscreens, energy-saving processors and a generation that was already bound to their mobile phones through text messages the Apple smartphone would have remained just another attempt.”

 

In order to work smartly, a technological infrastructure is required that simply works in every situation. The organisational structure needs to allow the employees the freedom to decide for themselves where and how they approach a specific task. The teams need rooms that support creativity and the exchange of ideas. “But the most important thing is surely the culture,” emphasises Messmer. “Creative discussions and the willingness to share knowledge don’t just happen by themselves.” For this, established routines and thought patterns need to be split open, working from the top and bottom at the same time, in a kind of pincer movement.

 

Youngsters demonstrate, managers follow

“Companies where the management levels have assistants do everything have it twice as hard, ” Messmer speaks from experience. The management should not simply preach about collaboration from above, but also use the technology itself when communicating with employees. However, even more important is the foundation. Youngsters play a decisive role here. The digital natives are extremely familiar with the modern technology from their training and private lives. They are the natural collaboration evangelists in companies.

«Companies where the management levels have assistants do everything have it twice as hard.»

But for the culture change from below to work, the Human Resources Department needs to join in. One component that, according to Messmer, is often neglected: “The ability to work in a team and openness to modern communication technologies need to be made a priority both for recruitment and employee appraisals.” Those who choose new employees based solely on functional criteria should not be surprised if the teamwork does not run smoothly.

 

Power users arouse envy and resentment

On the technological side, development is now greatly advanced. “For two years now the individual components have been interacting seamlessly and operation has become easy and largely self-explanatory thanks to the example of Dropbox and co.,” says the collaboration expert. By contrast, there is learning potential on the implementation side: “For example, practice shows that it is better not to start with a small group of power users. This leads to envy and resentment, thus blocking the further distribution.” In addition, in small groups the positive networking effects do not bear fruit. It’s like Facebook – the more people who are involved, the more interesting it becomes for each individual.

Start now

A short guide to smart working, individually designed workshops, best practice examples, studies: you will find inspiration here to help establish a contemporary work culture in your company.

Find out more about Work Smart here

Ask your questions

The more you know, the more questions you have: use the expert contact on the Work Smart Website:

Get the answers here

Dr. Bruno T. Messmer

Since his doctoral thesis, the person responsible for Swisscom Enterprise’s Workspace & Collaboration portfolio Swisscom Enterprise has been working in the area of artificial intelligence with the influence of digitalisation on business and society. To relax, he plunges into the sea or immerses himself in TV series such as “House of Cards” or “Breaking Bad”.

Further Focus articles

Column by Thomas Vašek

“Work-life balance? Work-life bullshit!”

Work gives us a sense of purpose and enriches our lives. However, we need to adapt work to people and not the other way round.

Title topic: Work Smart

From the office to the office landscape

If office clerks are going to become knowledge workers, the space in which they work also needs to change. Activity-Based Working is the magic word.

Portrait

“I’ve pensioned off the desktop PC and laptop.”

The head of the WWF in Switzerland knows what it’s like if you are the only person at the company who still has their own office.

Entretien avec un expert

Le travail «smart» doit s’apprendre

Tout le monde veut être ingénieux. Certaines entreprises y parviennent mieux, d’autres ne peuvent établir une collaboration «smart» en dépit de gros efforts. Dans l’interview vidéo, Bruno Messmer explique ce qui fait la différence.

Claudia Bardola

Aires de jeu, atmosphère de colocation, baby-foot et nourriture gratuite à chaque coin du Lounge: les bureaux modernes font apparaître à quel point les entreprises cherchent à ce que leurs collaborateurs puissent collaborer de façon créative. «Dans l’entreprise, il y a toujours plus de savoir. Mais en même temps, il est aussi de plus en plus difficile de trouver et de réunir tout le savoir-faire réparti entre les différents services et collaborateurs», résume Bruno Messmer pour illustrer le dilemme qui bloque aujourd’hui de nombreuses organisations. Ce responsable des activités Workspace & Collaboration de Swisscom se consacre depuis plus de 20 ans aux conditions cadres et aux effets des technologies de l’information et de la communication. Durant cette période, des choses ont été tentées pour revoir les structures d’organisation et de pensée – car on peut apprendre de ses erreurs.

 

Pas de collaboration sans culture

Le grand défi de la collaboration réside dans le fait que tous les éléments doivent s’accorder. «C’est comme pour l’iPhone», compare B. Messmer. «Steve Jobs a certainement accompli des choses exceptionnelles, mais sans réseau 3G, sans écrans tactiles haute résolution, sans processeurs économisant l’énergie et sans une génération déjà accro au mobile du fait des SMS, le smartphone d’Apple serait resté une simple tentative.»

 

Pour pouvoir travailler de façon «smart», il faut une infrastructure technologique qui fonctionne simplement dans chaque situation. Les structures organisationnelles doivent laisser leurs collaborateurs décider à quel endroit et de quelle manière ils peuvent s’attaquer au mieux à une tâche précise. Les équipes ont besoin d’espaces qui encouragent la créativité et l’échange. «Mais l’essentiel, c’est certainement la culture», souligne B. Messmer. «Les discussions créatives et la disposition à partager ses connaissances n’apparaissent pas spontanément.» Les processus et modèles de pensée habituels doivent pour cela quasiment être repensés de toute part.

 

Les jeunes montrent l’exemple, les managers participent

«Pour les entreprises dans lesquelles l’étage de la direction fait tout réaliser par des assistants, la tâche est deux fois plus difficile», de l’expérience de B. Messmer. Le management doit aller plus loin que prôner la collaboration depuis le haut, il doit aussi utiliser lui-même les technologies dans la communication avec ses collaborateurs. Mais la base est encore plus importante. Les jeunes endossent ici un rôle décisif. Les «Digital Natives» connaissent en effet parfaitement les technologies modernes, de par leur formation et leur utilisation privée. Ce sont les missionnaires naturels de la collaboration dans l’entreprise.

«Pour les entreprises dans lesquelles l’étage de la direction fait tout réaliser par des assistants, la tâche est deux fois plus difficile.»

Pour que fonctionne cette mutation culturelle depuis le bas, les ressources humaines doivent aussi être mises à contribution. B. Messmer dévoile une composante souvent négligée: «L’esprit d’équipe et l’ouverture à l’égard des technologies de communication modernes doivent être davantage pris en compte lors du recrutement et de l’évaluation des collaborateurs.» Quand on choisit de nouveaux collaborateurs exclusivement sur la base de critères techniques, il ne faut pas s’étonner que la collaboration laisse à désirer.

 

Les Power Users suscitent l’envie et la jalousie

Au niveau technologique, l’évolution est aujourd’hui très avancée. «Depuis deux ans, les éléments isolés se combinent parfaitement et l’utilisation, grâce au modèle de Dropbox et consorts, est devenue très simple et en grande partie intuitive», commente l’expert en collaboration. Il entrevoit toutefois un potentiel d’amélioration du côté de la mise en œuvre: «Il apparaît qu’il est préférable de ne pas commencer par un petit groupe de Power Users. Cela attise l’envie et la jalousie et bloque ainsi la diffusion.» De plus, dans les petits groupes, les effets positifs des réseaux ne s’exercent pas. C’est comme dans Facebook: plus il y a de personnes, plus c’est intéressant pour chaque individu.

Commencez maintenant

Un mode d’emploi succinct sur le travail «smart», les ateliers conçus de manière individuelle, des exemples de meilleure pratique, des études: vous trouverez ici de l’inspiration sur le chemin menant à une culture du travail moderne dans votre entreprise.

Accéder ici au Work Smart

Posez vos questions

Les personnes qui en savent plus ont plus de questions: utilisez le contact des experts sur la page Web Work Smart:

Vous obtiendrez ici des réponses

Dr. Bruno T. Messmer

Depuis sa thèse de doctorat dans le domaine de l’intelligence artificielle, le responsable du portefeuille Workspace & Collaboration de Swisscom Enterprise étudie l’influence de la numérisation dans le monde des affaires et dans la société. Pour se détendre, il fait de la plongée sous-marine ou se plonge aussi dans des séries telles que «House of Cards» et «Breaking Bad».

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Chronique de Thomas Vašek

«Work-Life-Balance? Work-Life-Bullshit!»

Le travail nous donne du sens et nous enrichit. Mais pour cela, nous devons l’adapter aux personnes – et non l’inverse.

Thème du titre: Work Smart

Du bureau à l’environnement de bureaux

Quand les employés de bureau deviennent des travailleurs du savoir, les locaux doivent eux aussi s’adapter. La formule magique est l’Activity-Based Working.

Portrait

«J’ai remisé au placard PC et ordinateur portable»

Le directeur de WWF Suisse sait ce que ça fait d’être le seul dans l’entreprise à avoir un bureau.