“I have sent desktop PC and laptop into retirement”

What’s it like, when you’re the only person at the company who still has their own office? Thomas Vellacott, Manager of WWF Switzerland, knows the answer.

Claudia Bardola

“Since we converted our offices in the heritage-protected warehouse in Zurich’s Hohlstrasse to an open-plan office landscape, I am the only person left at our company who still has a separate office. However, as I travel a lot, the room is primarily used as a meeting room that is open to all employees. Accordingly, there are very few personal items in my office. Other than a small Kubus, a bookcase and pandas in every possible variation – which you unavoidably receive as the boss of WWF – the room is comparatively bare. I don’t need trinkets any more than a wall full of family photos – I don’t want to be the kind of father who only knows what his children look like thanks to photos. 


However, if employees, who by the way also have a fixed desk in the office landscape, want to personalise their space with photos, knick-knacks or smiling lucky cats, that doesn’t bother me. The main thing is that they feel comfortable and can concentrate on their work. 


I myself don’t have a real desk any more – as the room is used primarily for meetings, a meeting table is more practical. I have largely virtualised my work processes. I no longer need a desktop PC or laptop. The devices I use consist of a smartphone, iPad and smartpen, with which notes are instantly digitised. I like to use paper for notes, but otherwise I have little use for it. For one thing, it is much easier to search for a digital document than to rifle through a stack of paper and, for another, I can process information just as well without any dead trees. My employees are occasionally annoyed when I request all documents in electronic form. 


But in this way I am mobile and have everything I need with me. This is important because I spend a large amount of the day on the go; in discussions, at meetings with companies, media representatives, other environmental organisations or with politicians. As a counterbalance to all the meetings, I regularly go jogging, preferably in the woods, so that I don’t get cabin fever.


I also try to integrate as many experiences of nature as possible into my everyday life – for example, I visit WWF projects or occasionally spend my lunch break diving in the Limmat river with work colleagues.

“I no longer need a desktop PC or laptop. The devices I use consist of a smartphone, iPad and smartpen, with which notes are instantly digitised.”

An ecological lifestyle is also important to me in my free time. I don’t own a car, but I use public transport and cycle to work. I try to avoid flying whenever possible, for instance by means of Web conferences. I am a vegetarian and at home we heat using solar power and wood. But I could still improve a few things about my lifestyle. The thing that ruins my environmental record the most remains flying. It is often simply impossible to avoid it when it comes to international meetings and project visits. In addition, I travel to England several times a year to visit family and friends. I try to make this journey by train whenever I can. Admittedly this takes longer, but I can concentrate much better on my work and, during the stop in Paris, enjoy some good food.”

Thomas Vellacott

Thomas Vellacott joined WWF Switzerland in 2001 and has been CEO of the largest Swiss environmental organization for around two and a half years. Before that, he was employed in private banking at Citibank and was a consultant at McKinsey in Zurich. The 43-year-old is a passionate diver, has two children and lives in Zurich Altstetten.

Further Focus articles

Expert interview

“It was a huge culture shock...”

How do you see whether or not an organisation practises smart working?

Column by Thomas Vašek

“Work-life balance? Work-life bullshit!”

Work gives us a sense of purpose and enriches our lives. However, we need to adapt work to people and not the other way round.

Title topic: Work Smart

From the office to the office landscape

If office clerks are going to become knowledge workers, the space in which they work also needs to change. Activity-Based Working is the magic word.

Portrait

«J’ai remisé au placard PC et ordinateur portable»

Qu’ est-ce que ça fait, d’être le seul dans la boîte à avoir un bureau? Réponse de Thomas Vellacott, directeur de WWF Suisse.

Claudia Bardola

«Depuis la transformation de nos bureaux dans l’entrepôt classé monument historique de la Hohlstrasse à Zurich en un espace de bureaux ouvert, je suis le seul dans notre organisation à avoir un bureau séparé. Mais comme je suis rarement là, il sert le plus souvent de salle de réunion, ouverte à tous les collaborateurs. J’ai finalement peu de choses personnelles dans mon bureau: hormis un petit cube, une étagère de livres et des pandas de toutes sortes – que l’on nous offre immanquablement quand on est directeur du WWF, il est plutôt sobre. Je n’ai pas besoin non plus de superflu comme un mur couvert de photos de famille – je ne veux pas être un père qui sait à quoi ressemblent ses enfants uniquement grâce à des photos.

 

Mais je n’ai rien contre les collaborateurs qui disposent d’un bureau fixe dans l’espace de bureaux et qui le personnalisent avec des photos, des bibelots ou des chats qui saluent en souriant. Le principal est qu’ils se sentent bien et puissent se concentrer pour travailler. 

 

Je n’ai moi-même plus de bureau proprement dit – comme la salle est utilisée pour des réunions, une table de réunion est plus pratique. J’ai largement virtualisé mes processus de travail. Plus besoin de PC ni d’ordinateur portable. Mon parc d’appareils se compose d’un smartphone, d’un iPad et d’un smartpen, qui permet de numériser les notes aussitôt. J’aime utiliser du papier pour mes notes, mais sinon, j’en ai très peu l’utilité. D’une part, il est beaucoup plus facile de chercher un document numérique qu’une feuille dans une pile de papier, et d’autre part, je peux aussi bien traiter des informations sans que des arbres soient abattus. Mes collaborateurs sont parfois agacés lorsque je leur demande tous les documents sous forme électronique. 

 

Mais je suis ainsi mobile et j’ai tout ce qu’il me faut sur moi. C’est vrai: je suis en déplacement une grande partie de la journée; pour des réunions, des rencontres avec des entreprises, des représentants de la presse, d’autres organisations environnementales ou des acteurs politiques. Pour contrebalancer tout cela, je vais souvent courir, surtout en forêt, pour échapper au stress. 

 

J’essaie également d’être le plus près possible de la nature au quotidien; p. ex. en visitant des projets WWF ou en piquant parfois une tête dans la Limmat avec des collègues à l’heure du déjeuner.

«Plus besoin de PC ni d’ordinateur portable. Mon parc d’appareils se compose d’un smartphone, d’un iPad et d’un smartpen, qui permet de numériser les notes aussitôt.»

Je tiens à avoir un style de vie écologique même pendant mes loisirs. Je n’ai pas de voiture, j’emprunte les transports publics et je vais travailler à vélo. J’évite au maximum les voyages en avion, privilégiant les conférences Web. Je suis végétarien et nous chauffons notre maison à l’énergie solaire et au bois. Mais il reste encore des choses à améliorer dans mon style de vie. Ce qui pèse le plus dans mon écobilan reste les voyages en avion. Ils sont souvent indispensables pour les rencontres et les visites de projets internationales. De plus, je vais plusieurs fois par an en Angleterre rendre visite à de la famille et des amis, le plus souvent en train. Cela est certes plus long, mais je peux travailler en étant beaucoup plus concentré et m’offrir en plus un bon repas à Paris avant de changer de train.»

Thomas Vellacott

Thomas Vellacott a rejoint le WWF Suisse en 2001 et il est le directeur général de la plus grande organisation environnementale suisse depuis près de deux ans et demi. Il a travaillé auparavant dans le Private Banking à la Citibank et a été conseiller chez McKinsey à Zurich. Âgé de 43 ans, il est passionné de plongée, a deux enfants et habite à Zurich Altstetten.

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Entretien avec un expert

«Un violent choc culturel ...»

Comment savoir si une organisation travaille de manière «smart» ou non?

Chronique de Thomas Vašek

«Work-Life-Balance? Work-Life-Bullshit!»

Le travail nous donne du sens et nous enrichit. Mais pour cela, nous devons l’adapter aux personnes – et non l’inverse.

Thème du titre: Work Smart

Du bureau à l’environnement de bureaux

Quand les employés de bureau deviennent des travailleurs du savoir, les locaux doivent eux aussi s’adapter. La formule magique est l’Activity-Based Working.