Tapping into employee knowledge and gaining an insight into digital future

Study of everyday digital life

Everyday 2030: the future of networking

In the future, we will no longer merely be networked with people, but increasingly with intelligent objects. On behalf of Swisscom, the Gottlieb Duttweiler Institute (GDI) investigated how our everyday digital life will look in 15 years. After all, in a hypernetworked society, questions will arise, such as: who will have control over our data? Or: how will societal structures, processes, values and behaviours change?

According to Bettina Höchli, co-author of the study, the greatest change in business will be brought about by the use of robots and 3-D printers, as well as the sharing economy, which will greatly reduce production costs. In addition, the processing of data and management of information will become the core of every business. Thus, in the future, digitisation will radically change every industry, from agriculture to finance and from education to medicine.

You can find out what else companies need to know about digitisation in the study

«In future, digitalisation will radically change every sector, from agriculture, finance or education through to medicine.»

Bettina Höchli, co-author of the study «Everyday 2030: the future of networking»

1/5 From the site selection to the special construction method, the physical protective measures to a sophisticated security concept, the new computer centre provides the highest level of security.

2/5 The strictly regulated access is monitored with a biometric access control system and from a permanently staffed booth.

3/5 For the servers, a new kind of placement concept with cubes is used.

4/5 Such a cube has space for 14 racks, each with 50 servers.

5/5 A detailed shot of a server.

1/5 From the site selection to the special construction method, the physical protective measures to a sophisticated security concept, the new computer centre provides the highest level of security.

Wankdorf computer center

The environmentally friendly data bunker

Two years building time, 60 million francs investment costs, designed for 5,000 servers and 10,000 customer systems, connected with 90 kilometres of fibre-glass cables – these are just a few of the key statistics of the new Swisscom computer center in Berne Wankdorf. The storage capacity of the new data bunker is 8 petabytes – equivalent to approximately 8 billion books. If the books were stacked, the tower would reach to the moon.

Expandable and environmentally friendly

As one of only a few in Europe, the computer center is certified for high availability. Thanks to its hybrid cooling system, it belongs to the most environmentally friendly of them all. The cooling is performed using circulating air and, on hot summer days, additionally through evaporating rain water. In addition, it is integrated into the city of Berne’s heating network and uses its waste heat to directly heat flats and offices in the vicinity. The building is composed of modules and can be expanded. The computer center will begin operating fully at the end of 2014 and house the Swisscom cloud, among other things.

Win a guided tour

Those who are interested in technology can win an exclusive look behind the curtains of Switzerland’s most modern computer center. We are giving away a guided tour for a maximum of five people.. 

To enter the competitionMore information about the Wankdorf computer center

Crowd funding platform

Promote crowd funding in Switzerland

The crowd funding market is growing rapidly. While in 2013 4.7 billion francs were invested in crowd funding projects worldwide, in 2015 this figure is set to rise to 15  billion. It is not surprising, therefore, that the crowd funding platform launched by Swisscom at the end of August attracted great interest within a short time. In a first phase, the Swisscom crowd funding platform plans to provide banks, in particular, with the option to quickly and professionally start to work with this new means of financing. With the new business model, in addition to conventional loans, they can also offer their customers supplementary financing via crowd funding.

Software from the cloud

The model is simple: Swisscom builds a crowd funding platform and offers it to companies in the form of software as a service (SaaS) from the cloud. The customer does not have to take care of the infrastructure, software and development. The company opens its own crowd funding market place on the platform and uses this to promote projects in a particular region or relating to a topic such as sport or culture. For the new service, Swisscom is working together with the Swiss crowd funding market leader, Wemakeit.

More information and a video about the Swisscom crowd funding platformMore information on Wemakeit

Work Smart Workshops

Is your company ready for the digital future?

Do you, for example, ask yourself what effect digitisation has on your company? Or how your company can use flexible and networked collaborative work forms as a competitive advantage? Then the Swisscom Work Smart Workshops are perfect for you. There, you will learn more about the transformation of the traditional workplace. In workshops, you can perform a site assessment together with Swisscom. In this way, you will find out what opportunities are available to your company – and also what risks you should try to avoid. In addition, Swisscom will pass on successful strategies and experience from customer projects. And you will receive documentation that helps you promote the topic internally in your company.

Register under

Ask the Brain

Know what the employees know

Ask the Brain is the expertise network that is integrated into the Swisscom intranet and works just like a real brain. Through self-learning networks, Swisscom’s knowledge is mapped in Ask the Brain and with every question that is asked and answered, Ask the Brain learns something new. Every question is automatically forwarded to the appropriate Swisscom expert and thus answered as quickly as possible. “Many people associate a knowledge management tool with lots of IT and effort. Ask the Brain, on the other hand, networks knowledge and is thus very easy and intuitive!” says Caroline Bless, the project manager for Ask the Brain. Since September, Ask the Brain, which has been a project of Swisscom trainees from the very start, has been on sale for customers. 

Interested in the Ask the Brain offer? Contact us.


iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 plus for business customers

The new iPhones aren’t just bigger. They are better in every way: They are longer and wider, but thinner. The iPhone 6 has a 4.7-inch and the plus has a 5.5-inch display. They are more powerful, but energy efficient. They have iOS8 and an 8-megapixel iSight camera. The battery has a standby time of up to 10 days and both devices have a 128 GB memory. As a result, you can store as many documents, pictures and videos as you want. Undoubtedly a perfect business phone. To place an order, please contact the telecommunications manager at your company.

For more information about the new iPhones, visit the Swisscom private customers website

Green ICT Check

Calculate the corporate ecological footprint

Flexible working not only increases employee satisfaction but also helps the environment. With mobile working, working from home and virtual meetings, you cut travel costs and travel time. And with IT services from Swisscom, you can also reduce the energy consumption of your computer centre. This is known as Green ICT, and is good for both your budget and your image.

You can easily calculate your CO2 savings potential hereFor more information on Green-ICT solutions, see

Offre

Regrouper les connaissances des collaborateurs et jeter un œil sur l’avenir numérique

Etude sur le quotidien numérique

Quotidien 2030: l’avenir de l’interconnexion

A l’avenir, nous serons interconnectés non seulement avec des individus, mais aussi de plus en plus avec des objets intelligents. A la demande de Swisscom, le Gottlieb Duttweiler Institute (GDI) a enquêté sur notre quotidien numérique dans 15 ans. Dans une société hyperconnectée, il surgira des questions telles que: qui a le contrôle sur nos données? Ou: comment vont évoluer les structures sociales, les processus, les valeurs et les comportements?

Selon Bettina Höchli, co-auteur de l’étude, le plus gros changement au plan économique viendra de l’utilisation de robots et d’imprimantes 3D, tout comme de la «Sharing Economy», qui réduiront massivement les coûts de production. De plus, le traitement des données et la gestion des informations seront au cœur de chaque activité. A l’avenir, la numérisation modifiera donc radicalement chaque branche, de l’agriculture à la médecine, en passant par la finance ou la culture 

Découvrez dans l’étude (seulement en allemand et anglais) ce que les entreprises devraient aussi savoir à propos de la numérisation

«Dans le futur, la numérisation va modifier radicalement chaque branche, de l’agriculture à la médecine en passant par la finance ou l’éducation»

Bettina Höchli, co-auteur de l'étude «Quotidien 2030: l'avenir de l'interconnexion»

1/5 Du choix du site au concept de sécurité sophistiqué, en passant par le type de construction spécifique et les mesures de protection physiques, le nouveau centre de calcul offre un maximum de protection.

2/5 Les accès sévèrement réglementés sont surveillés par une installation biométrique de contrôles d’accès et par une loge occupée en permanence.

3/5 Pour les serveurs, un concept de placement d’un nouveau genre à cubes est utilisé.

4/5 Un tel cube peut accueillir 14 racks de 50 serveurs.

5/5 Une vue de détail d’un serveur.

1/5 Du choix du site au concept de sécurité sophistiqué, en passant par le type de construction spécifique et les mesures de protection physiques, le nouveau centre de calcul offre un maximum de protection.

Centre de calcul de Wankdorf

Le bunker de données écologique

Deux ans de construction, 60 millions d’investissements, conçu pour 5000 serveurs et 10 000 systèmes clients, relié avec 90 kilomètres de fibre optique: ce ne sont là que quelques chiffres de référence du nouveau centre de calcul de Swisscom à Berne Wankdorf. La capacité de mémoire de ce nouveau «bunker de données» est de l’ordre des 8 petaoctets – soit environ 8 milliards de livres. Si on empilait ces livres, la tour formée atteindrait la lune.

Evolutif et écologique

Il s’agit de l’un des rares centres de calcul en Europe à être certifié pour une disponibilité maximum. Avec son système de refroidissement hybride, il fait partie des plus écologiques qui soient. Le refroidissement est assuré par l’air ambiant et durant les chaudes journées d’été, également par l’évaporation d’eau de pluie. De plus, il est intégré dans le réseau de chauffage urbain de la ville de Berne et chauffe directement, avec sa chaleur dégagée, des logements et bureaux du voisinage. Doté d’une structure modulaire, le bâtiment peut être agrandi. Le centre de calcul sera pleinement opérationnel fin 2014 et hébergera notamment le cloud de Swisscom.

Gagner une visite guidée

Les amateurs de technique peuvent jeter un coup d’œil exclusif dans les coulisses du plus moderne des centres informatiques de Suisse. Nous tirons au sort une visite guidée pour 5 personnes maxi. 

Participer au tiragePlus d’informations sur le nouveau centre de calcul à Berne Wankdorf 

Plate-forme de crowdfunding

Soutenir le crowdfunding en Suisse

Le marché du crowdfunding croît à vive allure. Tandis qu’en 2013, 4,7 milliards de francs étaient alloués de par le monde à des projets de crowdfunding, il devrait déjà s’agir de 15 milliards en 2015. Rien d’étonnant donc à ce que la plate-forme de crowdfunding lancée fin août par Swisscom suscite un vif intérêt en un temps très court. Dans un premier temps, la plate-forme de crowdfunding de Swisscom entend donner aux banques avant tout la possibilité d’accéder de manière rapide et professionnelle à ce nouveau type de financement. Avec ce nouveau modèle commercial, elles peuvent proposer à leurs clients un financement par crowdfunding en complément des crédits traditionnels.

Un logiciel issu du Cloud

Le modèle est simple: Swisscom établit une plate-forme de crowdfunding et propose celle-ci aux entreprises sous la forme d’un «Software as a Service» (SaaS) issu du Cloud. Le client ne doit s’occuper ni de l’infrastructure, ni du logiciel, ni du développement. Il y ouvre son propre marché de crowdfunding et encourage ainsi des projets dans une région précise ou pour des thèmes comme la culture ou le sport. Pour cette nouvelle offre, Swisscom s’est rapprochée de Wemakeit, leader du marché du crowdfunding en Suisse.

Plus d’informations et de vidéos sur la plate-forme de crowdfunding de SwisscomPlus d’infos sur Wemakeit

Work Smart Workshops

Votre entreprise est-elle prête pour l’avenir numérique?

Vous vous demandez notamment quel est l’impact de la numérisation sur votre entreprise? Ou comment votre société peut profiter des formes de collaboration flexibles et interconnectées pour en faire un avantage concurrentiel? Alors les Work Smart Business Sessions de Swisscom sont ce qu’il vous faut. Vous y apprendrez davantage sur la transformation du poste de travail traditionnel. Au sein d’ateliers, vous pourrez procéder à un état des lieux avec Swisscom. Vous découvrirez ainsi quelles opportunités s’offrent à votre entreprise – mais aussi quels risques il s’agit d’éviter. De plus, Swisscom vous communiquera des stratégies réussies et des expériences tirées de ses projets clients. Enfin, vous recevrez des documents qui vous aideront à faire progresser ce thème chez vous en interne.

S'inscrire

Ask the Brain

Savoir ce que les collaborateurs savent

Ask the Brain est le réseau de savoir-faire intégré dans l’Intranet de Swisscom. Il fonctionne exactement comme un véritable cerveau. A l’aide de réseaux en auto-apprentissage, le savoir de Swisscom est cartographié dans Ask the Brain et avec chaque question posée et traitée, Ask the Brain en apprend davantage. Chaque question est automatiquement transmise aux experts adaptés chez Swisscom, qui y répondent au plus vite. «Beaucoup associent un Knowledge Management Tool à un volume élevé d’IT et d’efforts. Ask the Brain, pour sa part, met le savoir en réseau et il est donc très simple et intuitif», dit Caroline Bless, cheffe du projet d’Ask the Brain. Depuis septembre, Ask the Brain est un projet conçu d’emblée comme un projet des apprentis de Swisscom, dans la vente pour les clients. 

Intéressé(e) par l’offre Ask the Brain? Contactez-nous!

Offre

iPhone 6 et iPhone 6 plus pour les clients commerciaux

Les nouveaux iPhones ne sont pas simplement plus grands. Ils sont un peu meilleurs en tout: plus longs, plus larges, mais aussi plus fins. Sur l’iPhone 6, l’écran mesure 4,7 pouces, et sur l’iPhone 6 plus, 5,5 pouces. Ils sont plus performants mais économes en énergie. Ils sont dotés d’iOS8 et d’un appareil photo de 8 mégapixels. L’accu a jusqu’à 10 jours d’autonomie et les 2 appareils ont une mémoire de 128 Go, ce qui vous permet de sauvegarder autant de documents, photos et vidéos que vous le souhaitez. Un mobile professionnel parfait, n’est-ce pas? Pour le commander, contactez le responsable télécommunications de votre entreprise.

Plus d’infos sur les nouveaux iPhones sur la page Web Clients privés de Swisscom

Green ICT Check

Calculer son empreinte écologique

Le travail flexible ne se contente pas d’accroître la satisfaction des collaborateurs, il préserve aussi l’environnement. Avec le travail mobile, le home office et les réunions virtuelles, vous réduisez en effet vos frais de déplacements et vos temps de trajets. De plus, les prestations IT de Swisscom vous permettent de diminuer la consommation d’énergie de votre centre informatique. C’est le Green ICT, c’est bon pour votre budget et pour votre image.

Vous pouvez calculer ici très aisément votre potentiel d’économie de CO2Plus d’informations sur les solutions Green ICT ici