Cloud migration, the best Swiss apps and tomorrow’s trends

Best of Swiss Apps, 19 November, Zurich

Wanted: the best Swiss apps

Which are the best apps in Switzerland? And who are the most successful app publishers? To find this out, this year the “Best of Swiss Apps Awards” will be presented for the second time. Launched by the makers of “Best of Swiss Web” last year, the new award has already earned its place among the renowned Swiss business awards. In nine basic and two special categories, gold, silver and bronze medals are presented for the best applications and the outstanding “Master of Swiss Apps” crowned.

More information and tickets (in German and French)


IT Talk: inspiration for a successful cloud migration

On 6 November, CIOs, CFOs and IT managers from Swiss companies discussed at the IT Talk in Zurich the constantly increasing demands on an agile IT infrastructure. dialogue was there and spoke to Christian Mugg, Head of Outsourcing at Swisscom Enterprise Customers, about cloud migration.

What are the challenges in today’s companies when it comes to supporting business with IT solutions?

The challenges from the core business and the demands on the IT infrastructure that these bring with them are continuously growing. Companies need to be capable of reacting quickly and flexibly to new demands. IT managers and managing directors are therefore intensively searching for possibilities to simplify their structures. The customers require IT systems that are efficient and always available. All parties involved in the business processes, meaning suppliers, customers and all sites, need to be networked. At the same time, the data used must be saved securely and, if possible, in Switzerland.

What advice would you give companies that wish to renew their own computer centres or outsource infrastructure services to the cloud?

A well thought-through strategy is required for a successful cloud migration. This requires a plan that all the business units of the company discuss together. This includes optimising the current IT infrastructure. They need to test the cloud services and scrutinise every process. If the company decides to outsource services to the cloud, the selection of the cloud model and of the strategy are decisive.

How important is the interaction between existing IT infrastructure solutions on site at the company and those from the public cloud?

It makes sense to use a mixture of own services from the private cloud and requirements-specific public-cloud services. These services from different sources that are best suited to the purpose in question provide a high degree of reliability and flexibility. As the companies seldom migrate their whole IT uniformly to a single cloud platform, a hybrid cloud environment could well increasingly become the norm. 

Find out more about this event (in German)

Swiss Innovation Forum, 20 November, Basel

Exchange ideas about the trends of tomorrow

Ideas that will change our future develop through collaboration  – not through working alone. That’s why more than 1,000 decision makers from business, science, education, politics and the media are meeting at the Swiss Innovation Forum to partake in a cross-industry dialogue. Offerings include presentations by visionaries, specific and practical examples and the presentation of the Swiss Technology Award. Swisscom is one of the main partners of the Swiss Innovation Forum.

Find out more about this event and register

Internet of Things conference, 2 December, Zurich

“Internet of Things” news

Following the PC and the Internet, the “Internet of Things” will bring the next big boost to innovation and change both companies and our own lives in a variety of ways. The “Internet of Things Conference” offers a comprehensible introduction to concepts and modes of functioning and describes the current state of development in Switzerland.

To obtain further information and to register

Manifestations

Migration Cloud, les meilleures applis suisses et les tendances de demain

Best of Swiss Apps, 19 novembre, Zurich

A la recherche des meilleures applications suisses

Quelles sont les meilleures applis suisses? Et quels sont les éditeurs d’applications qui rencontrent le plus de succès? Pour le découvrir, les «Best of Swiss Apps Awards» seront remis cette année pour la deuxième édition. Lancé l’année dernière par les initiateurs de «Best of Swiss Web», ce nouveaux prix a déjà fait sa place parmi les Business Awards reconnus en Suisse. Dans neuf catégories de base et deux catégories spéciales, des médailles d’or, d’argent et de bronze sont décernées aux meilleurs applis et l’excellent «Master of Swiss Apps» est élu.

Plus d’informations et billets

Rétrospective

IT Talk: inspiration pour une migration Cloud réussie

Le 6 novembre, CIO, CFO et responsables IT d’entreprises suisses ont discuté à Zurich, lors du IT Talk, des exigences toujours plus grandes posées à une infrastructure IT agile. dialogue y était et a discuté avec Christian Mugg, Head of Outsourcing chez Swisscom Enterprise Customers, de la migration Cloud.

Quels sont les défis des entreprises actuelles lorsqu’il s’agit de soutenir l’évolution commerciale avec des solutions IT?

Les défis émanant des affaires principales et les exigences posées à l’infrastructure IT ne cessent de croître. Les entreprises doivent être rapides et flexibles face aux nouveaux défis. Responsables IT et dirigeants recherchent donc des possibilités de simplifier leurs processus. Les clients souhaitent des systèmes IT performants et toujours disponibles. Toutes les parties impliquées dans les processus commerciaux, c.-à-d. les fournisseurs, les clients et tous les sites doivent être en réseau. Dans le même temps, les données utilisées doivent rester sauvegardées en toute sécurité et si possible en Suisse.

Que conseillez-vous aux entreprises qui renouvellent leurs propres centres de calcul ou souhaitent transférer leurs services d’infrastructure vers le Cloud?

Une stratégie bien pensée est la condition d’une migration Cloud réussie. Elle requiert un plan mis au point par toutes les unités commerciales de l’entreprise. Ces dernières doivent pour cela optimiser l’infrastructure IT actuelle, tester les services Cloud et remettre en question chaque processus. Si l’entreprise décide de transférer des services dans le Cloud, le choix du modèle de Cloud et de la stratégie est décisif.

Quel rôle joue l’interconnexion entre les solutions d’infrastructure IT existant sur place dans l’entreprise et celles du Public Cloud?

Il est bon d’utiliser un mix de services fournis soi-même depuis le Private Cloud et de services Public Cloud spécifiques aux besoins. Recourir à ces services émanant de sources différentes et les plus adaptées au but respectif offre de bons résultats en termes de fiabilité et de flexibilité. Etant donné que les entreprises migrent rarement l’ensemble de l’IT uniformément sur une seule plate-forme Cloud, un environnement de Cloud hybride sera sans doute de plus en plus la règle. 

Plus sur la manifestation (en allemand)

Swiss Innovation Forum, Bâle, 20 novembre

Echanger sur les tendances de demain

Les idées qui changeront notre avenir naissent le plus souvent d’échanges – et non pas de bureaux cloîtrés et silencieux. Plus de 1000 décideurs de l’économie, la science, l’éducation, la politique et des médias se retrouvent donc au Swiss Innovation Forum pour un dialogue interdisciplinaire. Y seront proposés des exposés de visionnaires, des exemples concrets et axés sur la pratique, tout comme la remise du Swiss Technology Award. Swisscom est l’un des partenaires principaux du Swiss Innovation Forum.

Plus sur la manifestation et inscription

Conférence «Internet of Things», 2 décembre, Zurich

Nouveautés concernant l’«Internet des objets»

Après le PC et l’Internet, c’est l’«Internet des objets» qui impulsera le prochain gros élan d’innovation, et cela changera la vie des entreprises et la nôtre à bien des niveaux. La conférence «Internet of Things» aborde d’une manière compréhensible des concepts et modes de fonctionnement, et montre l’état actuel du développement en Suisse.

Plus d’infos et inscription