Iron Man becomes an industrial worker

It is not possible to save the world with exoskeletons. However, they do make life better for patients in medical rehabilitation, and now they’re being made suitable for industrial deployment.

Beat Hochuli

How are Iron Man and Batman different to Superman? As David Carradine correctly points out in the film Kill Bill, Superman acquired his supernatural powers naturally, so to speak, while Iron Man and Batman have to change into their special suits before they can save the world. In other words, for their heroic acts they rely on what is known as exoskeletons – extremely high-tech body supports or armour.


Military experiments with little success

Just Hollywood fiction? Not at all – intelligent exoskeletons are currently on the increase. However, this was not always the case. The first models for military purposes were developed as early as the beginning of the 1960s by the US defense research agency, DARPA, together with its partner institutes and companies. However, unfortunately the project did not seem to want to work. 


The Man Amplifier, for example, built by Neil Mizen and his team at the Aeronautical Lab at Cornell University, was never used because the electronic joint strengtheners did not work correctly. The Hardiman Suit presented by General Electric in 1965 had a little more success – however, not the entire suit but only its exoskeletal arm, with which the user could lift weights of up to 370 kilograms. 


In the meantime, dozens of exoskeleton-based solutions have been developed and tested in the military field. However, none of them are particularly convincing, firstly because they limit the agility of the deployed soldiers and secondly because the battery life is limited, which can be extremely dangerous.



The chairless chairs are exoskeletons that are attached to the legs and shoes and, through this, largely support the body weight of industrial workers or those who work on conveyor belts.

Daewoo recognises the industrial potential

In the industrial industry, these two problems dissolve into thin air. On the one hand because, in a production area, the battery can be replaced or recharged at any time, and on the other hand, because the exoskeletal solution can be precisely tailored to individual work environments and sequences. 

With an exoskeleton, workers lift 30 kilograms without effort. 

One of the world’s largest shipyards, the South Korean Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering, realised this. Their research and development department has thus developed an exoskeletal robotic helper for specialist workers, which allows them to lift 30 kilograms without effort. This is particularly important for work procedures in which special parts need to be used and welded – procedures for which robots would be unsuitable. Specialist workers have a great deal of expertise, intuitive fine-motor skills and flexibility – in other words, human capabilities that most fully automated machines are still lacking.


Chairless chair and rehabilitation

Also designed for industrial use is what is known as the chairless chair, developed by the Swiss start-up company Noonee in collaboration with the robotics laboratory at ETH Zurich. The chairless chairs are exoskeletons that are attached to the legs and shoes and, by means of controls and pressing a button, can be set so that the industrial or conveyer belt worker is largely relieved of the burden of his or her own body weight. 


The exoskeletons that have recently started to be used more in rehabilitative medicine work in a similar, but basically opposite manner. They help people whose movements are extremely restricted to slowly relearn their coordination. For example, the model by Ekso Bionics, which is currently being tested at the Nottwil paraplegics centre. Just like we said: the exoskeletons are on the increase.

Beat Hochuli

The author is a freelance ICT journalist. He observes the world of technology from Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia, where he has lived for several years.

Trendscout

Iron Man se transforme en travailleur industriel

Les exosquelettes ne permettent pas de sauver le monde. Mais ils facilitent la vie dans le domaine de la rééducation médicale et sont à présent introduits dans l’industrie.

Beat Hochuli

En quoi Iron Man et Batman se distinguent-ils de Superman? Comme le constate à juste titre David Carradine dans le film «Kill Bill», Superman obtient ses forces surnaturelles de manière pour ainsi dire naturelle, tandis que Iron Man et Batman doivent d’abord revêtir leurs costumes spéciaux pour pouvoir sauver le monde. En d’autres mots: pour accomplir leurs exploits, ils doivent recourir à un exosquelette, un support corporel ou une carapace externe high-tech. 

 

Des essais militaires peu concluants

S’agit-il là seulement d’une fiction hollywoodienne? Aucunement, car les exosquelettes intelligents sont actuellement en marche. Il n’en a pas toujours été ainsi. Les premiers modèles utilisés à des fins militaires ont été développés dès le début des années 1960 par les autorités américaines de recherche en armement (DARPA), avec leurs instituts et sociétés partenaires. Longtemps, tout cela n’a cependant pas vraiment bien fonctionné. 

 

Le Man Amplifier par exemple, développé par Neil Mizen et son équipe à l’Aeronautical Lab de la Cornell University, n’a jamais été utilisé, car les renforceurs électroniques d’articulation n’ont guère fonctionné correctement. En 1965, le Hardiman Suit de General Electric a connu un peu plus de succès – mais pas tout le costume, seulement les bras exosquelettiques, permettant à son utilisateur de soulever des charges de 370 kilos.

 

Depuis, des douzaines de solutions exosquelettiques ont été créées et testées dans le domaine militaire. Aucune n’est vraiment convaincante, car elles restreignent l’agilité des soldats en intervention et la durée de vie des batteries est limitée, ce qui peut alors s’avérer vraiment dangereux.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Bild_01

Les chaises sans chaise sont des exosquelettes fixés aux jambes et aux chaussures, de sorte à soulager d’une bonne partie de son propre poids le travailleur industriel ou l’ouvrier à la chaîne.

Daewoo détecte le potentiel industriel

Dans l’environnement industriel, ces deux problèmes n’ont pas lieu d’être. D’une part, parce que dans un atelier de production, l’accu peut être remplacé ou rechargé à tout moment, et d’autre part, parce que les solutions exosquelettiques peuvent être ajustées exactement aux conditions et processus de travail en présence. 

Avec l’exosquelette, les ouvriers soulèvent 30 kilos sans peine. 

L’un des plus grands chantiers navals au monde, l’entreprise sud-coréenne Daewoo Shipbuilding and Marine Engineering, a détecté le potentiel. Dans son département de recherche et développement, elle a donc créé une aide robotique exosquelettique pour les ouvriers qualifiés, qui permet de soulever sans peine 30 kilos. Cela est avant tout utile dans les processus pour lesquels on doit utiliser et souder des pièces spéciales – et où le recours à des robots serait inadapté. Les ouvriers qualifiés disposent en effet d’un grand savoir-faire, d’une adresse intuitive, d’une motricité fine et d’une flexibilité (c’est-à-dire d’aptitudes humaines) que les automates sont bien loin d’atteindre.

 

Chaise sans chaise et rééducation

Pour le domaine industriel également, on trouve la «Chairless Chair», développée par la start-up suisse Noonee, en collaboration avec le laboratoire en robotique de l’EPF de Zurich. Les chaises sans chaise sont des exosquelettes fixés aux jambes et aux chaussures, qui peuvent être réglées par commande et simple pression de bouton, de sorte à soulager d’une bonne partie de son propre poids le travailleur industriel ou l’ouvrier à la chaîne. 

 

Les exosquelettes utilisés récemment dans la rééducation fonctionnent de manière similaire, mais pour ainsi dire inverse. Elles aident les personnes fortement restreintes dans leurs mouvements à réapprendre progressivement la coordination. Le modèle d’Ekso Bionics est ainsi testé actuellement au centre des paraplégiques de Nottwil. C’est un fait: les exosquelettes sont en marche.

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

L’auteur est journaliste indépendant spécialiste TIC. Il observe le monde technologique depuis Kota Kinabalu, Malaisie, où il vit depuis plusieurs années.