On the move

Through the door and into the network with Tapit

Following mobile credit cards, the Tapit NFC app is now bringing access systems to smartphones. With this, the badge receives an Internet connection. This opens up numerous completely new possibilities.

Daniel Meierhans

For many employees, the badge is an everyday companion – just like their smartphone. Now Tapit is bringing the two together. Thanks to partnerships with the leading manufacturers of access systems, Siemens and LEGIC Identsystems, the app for central consolidation and administration of NFC services (Near Field Communications) reaches around 90% of Swiss badge users.

 

Tapit started last July with contact-free credit cards. Among other things, this allows contact-free payments of small sums simply by tapping the reading device. Access control now provides a second type of use that is interesting for companies.

 

A badge with smartphone capabilities

Here, the smartphone can not only take over all the functions of an ordinary badge – from a personal door opener to print authorisation and a means of payment in the cafeteria. “It’s the direct Internet connection and the screen that make the real difference,” explains Hugo Straumann, head of the NFC Access department at Swisscom IT, Network & Innovation. Additional functions such as a room reservation, requests for fast on-site support or ordering devices for a meeting can be connected directly to use of the badge as online applications. 

«A temporary access authorisation can easily be sent to the smartphone via mobile communication.»

Hugo Straumann

In addition, there are practical simplifications for administration. For example, mobile communication can be used to send temporary access authorisation for a service technician from the headquarters directly to his or her mobile phone without an employee needing to be present on site.

 

From applications to worlds of experience

“Connecting the NFC authentication to the smartphone opens up almost unlimited possibilities,” Straumann says, looking to the future. This means not only companies can seamlessly integrate badge use into their business applications. For example, retailers also have the option to directly combine customer card usage with online worlds of experience – from a personalised offer to location-specific services, games or ad-hoc prize draws to added value services, such as an allergy app that gives the alert when a problematic product is purchased.

“By simplifying the handling for end users with Tapit, we increase their willingness to use NFC. In the end, all providers benefit from this as every additional application also increases the use of other NFC applications,” as Straumann knows from his previous practical experience.

 

From applications to worlds of experience

“Connecting the NFC authentication to the smartphone opens up almost unlimited possibilities,” Straumann says, looking to the future. This means not only companies can seamlessly integrate badge use into their business applications. For example, retailers also have the option to directly combine customer card usage with online worlds of experience – from a personalised offer to location-specific services, games or ad-hoc prize draws to added value services, such as an allergy app that gives the alert when a problematic product is purchased.

“By simplifying the handling for end users with Tapit, we increase their willingness to use NFC. In the end, all providers benefit from this as every additional application also increases the use of other NFC applications,” as Straumann knows from his previous practical experience.

 

“We don’t want to set up a new competitor but, as a partner, provide the manufacturers and integrators with a secure platform with which they can bring their services to the smartphone without too much personal effort,” says Straumann. This means the users’ previous investments are also protected. And they also receive an additional option for all employees with an NFC-capable smartphone.

 

System renewal as an entry point

The time for implementing Tapit as access control is currently ideal, according to Straumann: “Many companies need to renew their access systems because the older versions are no longer secure. This is a good opportunity to also implement the smartphone extension and thus create the basis for combining additional functions and services with the access system.” The system manufacturer’s usual integration partners will perform the implementation at the companies.

 

Safe deposit box for applications

In addition to an NFC-capable smartphone and the app, Tapit requires a special SIM card, which can be procured free of charge from the website tapit.ch. This works even when the mobile phone is switched off but can be specifically deactivated. In addition, it has much more memory than an ordinary SIM card. This contains a special security element in which separated areas can be created, to which only the application provider in question has access. In these “safe deposit boxes”, authorisation information and additional functions, such as the connection to certain Internet sites, can be securely managed. A current NFC SIM card has space for more than 30 different safe deposit boxes.

tapit.ch

Why NFC?

Near field communications (NFC) is a short distance radio technology from the RFID (Radio Frequency Identification) technology family. It was developed specially for contact-free transmission of data across distances of a few centimetres. With a mobile phone – depending on the security requirements – both passive data transmission, initiated by the reader, and active data transmission are present. The intended main field of application is contact-free authentication, for example for access systems, ticketing, contact-free payments or customer retention programmes. For this, the involved industries –the mobile communications providers, most mobile phone producers, financial service providers, card issuers, retail traders and the manufacturers of access solutions – have all agreed to NFC as the standard.

0214_Tre_Unt_Aut
Hugo Straumann

As an NFC and security specialist, Hugo Straumann has been developing NFC services at Swisscom Innovation since 2001. At the moment, the master of science in systems engineering is product manager for the Tapit access solution. In 2008, Hugo Straumann, an avid skier and dancer, was responsible for the security of the communications infrastructure for the European Football Championship in Switzerland.

En chemin

Avec Tapit, passer la porte et intégrer le réseau

Après les cartes de crédit mobiles, l’appli NFC Tapit fait entrer les systèmes d’accès sur le smartphone. Le badge obtient ainsi une connexion Internet, gage de toutes nouvelles possibilités.

Daniel Meierhans

A l’instar du smartphone, le badge accompagne au quotidien un grand nombre d’employés. Tapit réunit à présent ces deux instruments. Par le biais de partenariats avec les grands fabricants de systèmes d’accès, Siemens et LEGIC Identsystems, cette appli de consolidation centralisée et de gestion de services NFC (Near Field Communications) peut atteindre 90% des porteurs de badges en Suisse. 

 

Tapit a été lancé en juillet dernier avec des cartes de crédit sans contact, qui permettent notamment de régler des petits montants par simple passage devant le lecteur. Le contrôle d’accès constitue aujourd’hui un nouveau type d’application intéressant pour les entreprises. 

 

Un badge doté de fonctionnalités de smartphone

Le smartphone ne se contente pas ici d’intégrer toutes les fonctions courantes d’un badge – de l’ouvreur de porte personnel au paiement à la cafétéria, en passant par l’activation d’imprimante. «La grande différence se situe au niveau de la connexion Internet directe et de l’écran», explique Hugo Straumann, responsable du secteur NFC-Access chez Swisscom IT, Network & Innovation. D’autres fonctions, telles qu’une réservation de salle, des demandes de support sur place rapide ou la commande d’appareils pour une réunion peuvent être directement associées à l’utilisation du badge avec l’application en ligne. 

«Une autorisation d’accès temporaire peut être envoyée facilement sur le smartphone par radiocommunication mobile.»

Hugo Straumann

De plus, l’appli engendre une simplification pratique de la gestion. Par radiocommunication mobile, on peut ainsi envoyer une autorisation d’accès temporaire à un technicien de service de la centrale à son smartphone, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’avoir un collaborateur sur place.

 

Applications et univers

«L’association de l’authentification NFC et du smartphone ouvre des possibilités quasiment illimitées», pronostique H. Straumann. Les entreprises ne sont pas les seules à pouvoir intégrer l’utilisation des badges dans leurs applications commerciales. Les détaillants peuvent aussi par exemple relier l’utilisation de carte du client avec des univers en ligne: de l’offre personnalisée, les services locaux spécifiques, les jeux ou les tirages au sort ad hoc aux services à valeur ajoutée tels qu’une appli sur les allergies, qui donne l’alarme lors de l’achat d’un produit problématique. «Comme nous simplifions avec Tapit le maniement pour les utilisateurs finaux, nous augmentons leur disposition à employer le NFC. Au final, tous les prestataires en profitent, parce que chaque application supplémentaire augmente aussi l’utilisation des autres applications NFC», commente H. Straumann qui le sait d’expérience. 

 

Un partenariat avec une protection des investissements

Pour parvenir à une utilisation la plus large possible, Tapit poursuit volontairement une stratégie ouverte. Le développement de Swisscom est positionné comme une marque autonome et également ouvert aux autres prestataires de télécommunication et leurs clients. L’appli mise par ailleurs sur les technologies existantes dans les différentes branches. Pour le contrôle des accès, l’appli Tapit remplace par exemple seulement le badge et s’intègre parfaitement dans l’infrastructure existante de matériel et de logiciel. Les lecteurs de l’actuelle génération sont d’ores et déjà compatibles NFC, par défaut. 

 

«Nous ne voulons pas instaurer une nouvelle concurrence mais proposer aux fabricants et aux intégrateurs, en tant que partenaire, une plate-forme sûre leur permettant d’amener leurs services sur le smartphone sans trop d’efforts», souligne H. Straumann. Les investissements réalisés par les utilisateurs sont ainsi protégés. Ceux-ci obtiennent plutôt une possibilité supplémentaire pour tous les collaborateurs dotés d’un smartphone compatible NFC. 

 

Un remplacement de système comme entrée en matière

Pour H. Straumann, le moment est actuellement optimal pour l’introduction de Tapit en tant que contrôle d’accès: «Beaucoup d’entreprises doivent remplacer leurs systèmes d’accès, car les versions anciennes ne sont plus sûres. C’est là une bonne occasion d’introduire l’extension aux smartphones et de créer ainsi la base permettant d’associer de nouvelles fonctions et services au système d’accès.» La mise en place au sein de l’entreprise est prise en charge par les partenaires d’intégration habituels des fabricants système.

Des «coffres» sûrs pour les applications

En plus d’un smartphone compatible NFC et de l’appli, Tapit nécessite une carte SIM spéciale pouvant être obtenue gratuitement sous le website tapit.ch. Elle fonctionne également portable éteint, mais peut être désactivée de façon ciblée. De plus, elle est équipée d’une mémoire nettement plus grande que la carte SIM traditionnelle. Cette mémoire comporte un élément de sécurité spécifique permettant de créer des zones séparées les unes des autres, auxquelles seul le fournisseur de l’application peut accéder. Dans ces «coffres», on peut gérer de façon sûre les informations d’autorisation et les fonctions supplémentaires telles que la connexion à certains sites Internet. L’actuelle carte SIM NFC peut accueillir plus de 30 coffres différents.

tapit.ch

Intérêt de la NFC

La Near Field Communication (NFC) est une technologie radio de courte portée de la famille des technologies RFID (Radio Frequency Identification). Elle a été spécialement développée pour la transmission de données sans contact sur des distances de quelques centimètres. Avec un portable, il est ainsi possible – selon l’exigence de sécurité – d’avoir une transmission de données passive initiée par le lecteur ou une transmission active. Le principal domaine d’application prévu est l’authentification sans contact, comme les systèmes d’accès, le Ticketing, le paiement sans contact ou les programmes de fidélisation. Pour ce faire, les industries impliquées, des opérateurs de téléphonie mobile et des principaux fabricants de portables aux fabricants de solutions d’accès, en passant par les prestataires financiers, les instances de délivrance de cartes et les détaillants, se sont accordés pour adopter comme standard la NFC.

0214_Tre_Unt_Aut
Hugo Straumann

En tant que spécialiste NFC et Security, Hugo Straumann développe des services NFC chez Swisscom Innovation depuis 2001. Actuellement, le Master of Science en Systems Engineering est responsable produits de la solution Access de Tapit. En 2008, ce skieur et danseur enthousiaste était responsable de la sécurité de l’infrastructure de communication des Championnats d’Europe de football organisés en Suisse.