“I can be persistently stubborn”

How Roland Brüniger invented his self-heating soles Chili-Feet with courage, persistence and idealism and why he is not interested in lucrative takeover offers from enterprises.

Claudia Bardola

As a Graubünden native who was washed down to the lowlands, you would expect me to be largely resistent to the cold. And yet, previously, I was plagued by icicle toes from autumn onwards. For many years, I wracked my brains for ways to solve this problem sustainably, without using electricity or chemicals. As an engineer, I simply didn’t want to believe that nowhere in the world had a material been invented that allowed energy to be converted to heat while walking.


Initial investigations showed that this should be possible with polyurethane as a source material. So I set three development teams to work on the development, two from industry and one from a university environment. After numerous experiments, the academic team forfeited. The professor responsible assured me that my plan was extremely ambitious and on the verge of feasibility. Did this put a damper on things? No way, it spurred me on! I’ve always agreed with Walt Disney: all our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them. In addition, I can be persistently stubborn, as my wife occasionally likes to rub in my face.


Finally, a team from Vorarlberg hit the bull’s eye. They delivered the basic material for Chili-Feet as we sell them today. But two weeks before the market launch disaster struck: the machine that a Swiss laminating company was using to stick the upper and lower material for the soles together was obviously not intended for large quantities. We had to improve 20,000 soles by hand. Sad but true: our search for an alternative failed to bear fruit anywhere in Switzerland. That’s why Chili-Feet are now laminated in South Germany.


Despite my invention I wouldn’t call myself an inventor. The Chili-Feet are simply a solution to a problem that had been bothering me for a while. As far as finances are concerned, I always say: we have financial accounting but no payroll accounting. I wisely don’t make a note of the time I invest in the project.


“Despite my invention I wouldn’t call myself an inventor”

This is only possible because I earn my crust through my engineering office for technical systems. In addition, Wafe Technology, which sells Chili-Feet, is a true family company. My wife takes care of accounting, my daughter is responsible for social media and logistics, and my son is in charge of IT. In addition, our house is just 300 metres away from the company. Combining work and family has always been high up on my agenda for life. For me, that’s true luxury.


The functional principle of the soles is actually quite simple: the material converts some of its deformation energy to heat in a process known as dissipation. The effect: a temperature increase of up to 10 degrees. But when it comes to the material, the soles are a complex, high-tech product. This is exactly the reason that I didn’t have them patented. For this, we would have to reveal the recipe and it would thus be possible to copy us. A patent dispute would be the end of us.


1/5 “Keep it simple” is Brüniger’s motto when working with his company. For this reason, he does not provide the heated insoles in different sizes – they must be cut to size by the future wearers themselves. This ensures efficiency in production as well as logistics.

2/5 Idealist Roland Brüniger works passionately on his project and politely declines takeover bids from corporate groups running into the billions.

3/5 A host of investigations, experts and material tests were necessary before the ideal source material for the Chili-Feet was found.

4/5 At Brüniger, the whole family is involved: Son Andreas takes care of IT, his wife Evelyn does the accounts. Daughter Patricia has just earned herself a language stay abroad through her work at the company.

5/5 With Chili-Feet, Brüniger has also solved a problem within the family: “My wife and I always used to have cold feet come the autumn. This is now a thing of the past.”

1/5 “Keep it simple” is Brüniger’s motto when working with his company. For this reason, he does not provide the heated insoles in different sizes – they must be cut to size by the future wearers themselves. This ensures efficiency in production as well as logistics.

I financed the entire project through private means. That guarantees me independence – one of my basic instincts. I rejected the offer of a takeover from a multi-million group without even getting into concrete negotiations. After all, my entire heart and soul went into the Chili-Feet and I want to watch this little seedling grow into a strong tree.


Although my work days are long and intensive – work-life balance is extremely important to me. I achieve balance among other things through cycling, swimming and playing tennis, spending time with my family and meditating. The latter is a legacy from my travels to India and Nepal during my youth. Today, it grounds me.

Roland Brüniger

Roland Brüniger is not just an inventor, but also the owner and managing director of R. Brüniger AG, an engineering office for technical systems. Due to a specific research mandate, he frequently comes into contact with various innovative technologies. Brüniger is married, has two children and lives and works in Ottenbach in the Zurich region.


Further Focus articles

Expert interview

“Many manufacturers are losing contact with the customer”

Machine data is the key to productivity and new services, Bernhard Lenzin, head of Industrial Industries at Swisscom, is convinced.

Column by Christoph Hugenschmidt

Things are doing it for themselves

Why industry 4.0? And what does a cow have to do with a 3D printer? And what does Schwamendingen have to do with the Rosetta comet sensor?

Title topic

Totally individual layer by layer

With 3D printing technology, designs can be realised at the press of a button that were previously impossible.

Portrait

«Je peux faire preuve d’une grande obstination»

Comment Roland Brüniger a inventé, à force de courage, d’obstination, et d’idéalisme, ses semelles autochauffantes «Chili-Feet» et pourquoi les offres de rachat lucratives des grands groupes ne l’intéressent pas.

Claudia Bardola

Comme je suis un Grison qui a atterri dans la plaine, on aurait pu croire que j’avais une bonne résistance au froid. Pourtant, dès l’automne, mes orteils  gelés me faisaient régulièrement souffrir. Des années durant, je me suis cassé la tête sur la façon de résoudre ce problème durablement, sans procédé électronique ni chimie. Ingénieur de formation, je ne pouvais pas croire que l’on n’ait pas encore inventé de matériau dans lequel l’énergie libérée lors de la marche se transforme en chaleur.

 

Les premières investigations ont montré que cela devait être possible en prenant du polyuréthane comme matériau de départ. J’ai donc fait plancher trois équipes de développement, deux issues de l’industrie et une du secteur des hautes écoles spécialisées. Après d’innombrables tentatives, l’équipe universitaire a déclaré forfait. Le professeur en charge m’a certifié que mon projet était très ambitieux et à la limite du réalisable. Me suis-je arrêté à cela? Que nenni, cela m’a stimulé! J’ai toujours partagé la vision de Walt Disney: tous les rêves peuvent se réaliser si nous avons le courage de les poursuivre. Et puis, je peux faire preuve d’une très grande obstination, comme aime à me le reprocher ma femme de temps à autre.

 

C’est une équipe du Vorarlberg qui a mis dans le mille et créé le matériau de base des «Chili-Feet» tels que nous les vendons aujourd’hui. Deux semaines avant son lancement sur le marché, une catastrophe s’est produite: la machine permettant de coller le matériau supérieur et inférieur des semelles, dans une entreprise suisse de contrecollage, n’était manifestement pas prévue pour de grandes quantités. Nous avons dû rectifier manuellement 20’000 semelles! Fait malheureux, mais véridique: lorsque nous avons cherché une autre entreprise, nous n’avons trouvé aucun candidat en Suisse. C’est la raison pour laquelle les Chili-Feet sont aujourd’hui contrecollées dans le Sud de l’Allemagne.

 

En dépit de mon invention, je ne me qualifierais pas d’esprit inventif. Les Chili-Feet sont une solution à un problème qui m’a taraudé pendant longtemps. Pour ce qui est du financement, j’ai l’habitude de dire: nous avons une comptabilité financière, mais pas de comptabilité des salaires. Je me garde bien de compter le temps que j’investis dans le projet.

«En dépit de mon invention, je ne me qualifierais pas d’esprit inventif.»

Tout cela fonctionne uniquement parce que les ressources viennent de mon bureau d’ingénierie en installations techniques. De plus, Wafe Technology, qui distribue les «Chili-Feet», est une véritable entreprise familiale. Mon épouse se charge de la comptabilité, ma fille des réseaux sociaux et de la logistique, tandis que mon fils est responsable de l’IT. Notre domicile se situe aussi à 300 mètres seulement de l’entreprise. J’ai toujours aimé concilier travail et famille. C’est un vrai luxe à mes yeux.

 

En fait, le principe des semelles est simple: par un procédé de «dissipation», le matériau transforme en chaleur une partie de l’énergie de déformation. Cela se traduit par une hausse de température pouvant aller jusqu’à 10 degrés. Du point de vue du matériau, ces semelles sont néanmoins un produit high-tech complexe. C’est la raison pour laquelle je ne les ai pas fait breveter. Nous devrions alors divulguer la recette et elles pourraient donc être copiées. Et un litige sur le brevet nous détruirait.

 

1/5 «Keep it simple» est l’une des maximes régissant l’action de R. Brüniger dans son entreprise. C’est la raison pour laquelle il ne propose pas les semelles chauffantes en différentes tailles – elles doivent être découpées aux bonnes dimensions par le futur utilisateur. Résultat: une efficacité accrue dans la fabrication et la logistique.

2/5 L’idéaliste Roland Brüniger travaille avec passion sur son projet et a poliment refusé les offres de rachat venant de groupes pesant des milliards.

3/5 Un très grand nombre de clarifications, d’experts et de tests ont été nécessaires avant de trouver le matériau de départ parfait pour les semelles Chili-Feet.

4/5 Chez Brüniger, toute la famille est mise à contribution: Andreas le fils s’occupe de l’informatique, l’épouse Evelyn tient la comptabilité et la fille Patricia a pu se payer un séjour linguistique à l’étranger en travaillant dans l’entreprise.

5/5 Avec les Chili-Feet, R. Brüniger a également résolu un problème familial: «Avant, ma femme et moi-même avions toujours froid aux pieds en automne. C’est maintenant du passé.»

1/5 «Keep it simple» est l’une des maximes régissant l’action de R. Brüniger dans son entreprise. C’est la raison pour laquelle il ne propose pas les semelles chauffantes en différentes tailles – elles doivent être découpées aux bonnes dimensions par le futur utilisateur. Résultat: une efficacité accrue dans la fabrication et la logistique.

J’ai financé tout le projet à partir de fonds privés, ce qui garantit mon indépendance – l’une de mes grandes préoccupations. J’ai refusé l’offre d’un groupe milliardaire qui souhaitait reprendre la technologie, sans même me lancer dans des négociations concrètes. En fait, c’est toute ma passion que l’on retrouve dans Chili-Feet et je souhaite pouvoir assister à la croissance d’un arbre vigoureux à partir des petites pousses qui existent aujourd’hui.

 

Même si mes journées de travail sont longues et intensives, l’équilibre entre travail et vie privée compte beaucoup pour moi. Je me ressource notamment en faisant du vélo, en nageant et en jouant au tennis, en retrouvant ma famille ou en me livrant à la méditation, un vestige de ma jeunesse et de mes voyages en Inde et au Népal. Aujourd’hui, cela me relie à la terre.

Roland Brüniger

n’est pas seulement un inventeur, c’est aussi le propriétaire et le directeur commercial de R. Brüniger AG, bureau d’ingénierie en installations techniques. Doté d’un mandat de recherche spécifique, il est confronté à diverses technologies novatrices. R. Brüniger est marié, il a deux enfants et travaille à Ottenbach, dans le canton de Zurich.

www.chili-feet.ch

Plus d'articles Focus

Interview avec un expert

«De nombreux fabricants perdent le contact avec les clients»

Les données machines sont la clé de la productivité et des nouveaux services. Bernhard Lenzin, Head of Industrial Industries chez Swisscom, en est convaincu.

Chronique de Christoph Hugenschmidt

Des objets émancipés

Pourquoi l'industrie 4.0? Quel est le lien entre une vache et une imprimante 3D? Et entre Schwamendingen et la sonde Rosetta?

Thème du titre

Totalement individuel, couche après couche

Les techniques d’impression 3D permettent de réaliser, sur simple pression de bouton, des constructions impossibles jusque-là.