Title topic: Industry 4.0

Totally individual layer by layer

The more difficult the better. With 3D printing technology, designs can be realised at the press of a button that were previously impossible. At the same time, they lift individualisation to a new level. And the costs? They become a side issue, as the example of Alstom Inspection Robotics shows.

Daniel Meierhans

The pipes are closely packed together in the steam boiler of a power plant. The scanner that inspects the freshly welded seams has to make do with a mere 12 millimetres. “That is typical for our requirements,” explains Viktor Klein, head of sales at Alstom Inspection Robotics. “Every inspection task is unique. Whether it’s between the blades of a gas turbine, in the narrow space between the immobile stator and the rotating components of an electricity generator or on the external walls of a large tank.”


Since 2006, the joint venture between Alstom and ETH Zurich has been developing and producing highly specialised robots and devices that reliably and, above all, efficiently inspect pipes, tanks, turbines and generators in power plants or in oil and gas production for damage. With their high degree of specialisation and small quantities, the rapidly growing company is typical of many Swiss industrial companies. For them, technologies that they can use to produce solutions that are as customised as possible are crucial.


The inconspicuous difference

The key component, thanks to which the sensors of the circular palm scanner fit precisely between the tightly lined-up tubes, is a steel clip that, at first glance, looks inconspicuous. With this, the measuring unit and the position sensors are attached to the tube in such a way that the seam can be scanned in a reproducible manner. The only distinctive feature of the clip is the slightly rough-looking surface.


“It is characteristic of printed metal parts,” is the surprising explanation of Stanko Bajunovic, who manages the production of the scanners and robots in the Technopark Zurich. Alstom Inspection Robotics is thus among the first Swiss companies to not only produce plastic components using additive procedures, but also print crucial metal parts. In this process, a laser or electron beam melts the design from a fine metallic powder, layer by layer. This layered construction is visible in the surface structure.


Every geometry will be possible

The three greatest benefits of printing: firstly, the individual parts and small series can be produced at an unrivalled speed as no tools need to be manufactured. Secondly, all the limitations of traditional casting and milling techniques when it comes to the geometry of the components are eliminated. Even structures with extremely thin walls, undercuts and hollow spaces can be produced in one piece. And thirdly, the design can be continually adapted to new requirements without any increase in production costs. The individualisation is therefore no longer restricted to certain parameters.


1/7 3D printing allows production directly from the construction data. This saves a great deal of time and – in the case of individual parts and small series – also a lot of money. The laborious manufacturing of moulds that is necessary for casting is no longer required.

2/7 With the printed frame, the sensors of the Palm scanner can be attached extremely flush to the pipes of a steam boiler. For different pipe diameters, a new clip can also simply be designed and printed. Because of this, the production costs increase only slightly.

3/7 The inspection robots and scanners from Alstom Inspection Robotics are individually assembled in the Zurich Technopark and revised after use. “If it weren’t complicated, we would hardly be producing our robots in Switzerland,” explains production manager Stanko Bajunovic.

4/7 The development and production of the inspection robots requires maximum expertise in both engineering and production. The smallest details make the crucial difference and individual adjustments have to be implemented precisely.

5/7 Before deployment, the systems are tested thoroughly. Here, a camera sensor is being calibrated. It belongs to an ultra-flat robot that uses a tapping technique to detect material damage in the narrow gap between the stator and the rotating components of a generator.

6/7 The engineers test new functions and designs in their own laboratory. Mobility and the measurement performance are optimised on and in the replica boilers, pipe systems or turbine and generator components – some of which are also printed.

7/7 For the systems to work robustly and reliably in the field, the utmost precision is required. Here, the self-developed electronic boards are undergoing a quality inspection before being installed in a robot.

1/7 3D printing allows production directly from the construction data. This saves a great deal of time and – in the case of individual parts and small series – also a lot of money. The laborious manufacturing of moulds that is necessary for casting is no longer required.

Because tailored products can be produced directly from design data at the press of a button using additive procedures, these – along with the Internet of Things – are among the key technologies for end-to-end digitalisation of the industry. At the end of the development towards Industry 4.0 – as the climax, so to speak – is mass production in a lot size of one: every customer receives an individual product version that is printed for him or her on demand. Admittedly, this is still a vision of the future. But for individual components, printing already pays off.


Live within a few days

“In our case, casting or milling would be much more expensive,” Bajunovic concludes. The clip has a wall thickness of just one millimetre and consists of several components. Milling such thin parts is hardly likely to work the first time. In addition, with the additive procedure, the designers have far fewer constraints to pay attention to and can therefore concentrate fully on the optimum design. However, for Bajunovic, it is the speed that is decisive: “We are constantly continuing to develop our products together with our customers. Thanks to printing, we can use adapted and new components live within just a few days.”


The result is robots and scanners that are perfectly tailored to every single inspection task. And, at the end of the day, that saves a lot of money. “Every day that a power plant is at a standstill results in production downtime amounting to around one million dollars,” Klein calculates. “Our devices reduce the inspection times by 50 per cent or more.” For example, previously to inspect the welding work on the boiler tubes, every seam had to be x-rayed. Due to the radiation, the entire area had to be evacuated for this and the result was only available once the films had been developed the following day. “Thanks to its high level of reproducibility, the circular palm scanner achieves the same accuracy with ultrasound measurements that we can perform directly behind the welder,” Klein reports.


From apertures to pasta

For Matthias Baldinger, co-founder of Additively.com, Alstom Inspection Robotics is a perfect example of how Swiss manufacturers can set themselves apart better with additive procedures. With his Internet-based platform, Baldinger builds a bridge between industrial companies and the growing number of 3D printing service providers: “Every plastic and every metal requires a specialist machine. A purchase makes sense for only very few. We help companies find the right supplier for every task.” More than 300 providers are already registered with Additively.com, and new ones are joining up on a weekly basis.


And demand is growing just as rapidly, as Baldinger stresses: “Three years ago, we had to explain to managers precisely what additive procedures actually are. Today, we usually quickly come to discussing concrete projects.” In the process, the activities are increasingly moving towards individual customer products: the high-end camera manufacturer Alpa, for example, already prints apertures that fit precisely to the lens geometry of the individual camera, the laboratory equipment manufacturer Tecan prints wash stations for a pipetting system, adapted for individual analysis tasks, and medical technology companies print patient-specific implants.


However, even traditional industrial Groups like Bühler are taking a close look at the new possibilities. And the manufacturer of production technologies for food and beverages does not just have components for its own systems in mind. The group is also evaluating what possibilities it can open up for its customers so that, for example, pasta manufacturers are able to print individual pasta shapes.


On the threshold of mass production

Baldinger is also convinced that, in the future, the range of applications will increase considerably: “The technologies are quickly developing further, and this is causing the prices to drop.” The consulting company Roland Berger Strategy Consultants expects the unit costs to be reduced to one third within the next few years. Among other things, the entry onto the market of the major German machine-tool manufacturers Trumpf, Aarburg and DMG Mori will ensure this. And the printer and PC specialist HP has also announced a new technology for 2016 that is said to be significantly faster and better.

“3D printing is not just changing the products, but also the supply chain.”

The aeroplane engine manufacturer GE Aviation will undoubtedly also make a significant contribution to the rapid development of the technology. The American company is preparing metal 3D printing for mass production with a factory for engine injection nozzles. This year alone, 4,000 nozzles are to be produced additively. An increase to 100,000 units is planned for five years’ time. As in the case of Alstom Inspection Robotics, the benefits more than make up for the high investment costs. The printed nozzle is one third lighter and thus saves fuel in flight operation. Furthermore, the optimised geometry of the nozzles, which are produced in one piece rather than 20 individual parts, also considerably improves the injection performance.


Engineering is taking charge

“However, 3D printing is not just changing the products, but also the supply chain,” emphasises Baldinger. “Production and sales are becoming much more closely connected to engineering and the customers more closely involved in the product development.” This revaluation of engineering accommodates the qualities of Swiss manufacturers. Even more so as the focus can be shifted away from costs and towards added value, as the example of Alstom Inspection Robotics clearly shows. The additive procedures are therefore a response to one of the greatest challenges for Switzerland as a workplace. Or, as Bajunovic concisely puts it: “If it weren’t complicated, we would hardly be producing our robots in Switzerland.”


From model construction to additive manufacturing

3D printing has already long been in use in industry for the rapid production of models and functional prototypes. For this, a plastic printer builds up designs created in CAD programs directly layer by layer. The additive manufacturing methods are now raising this rapid prototyping to the level of quality required for production with regard to regarding tolerances, homogeneity and durability.

Depending on the material, various printing techniques are used for this. The broadest range is available for plastics. These can be built up using various polymerisation techniques, bonding or various melting methods. Ceramic can be bonded or sintered using lasers. In a similar way, metal parts are built up in a metal powder bed by means of selectively melting a thin metal powder layer using lasers or electron beams. The accuracy of metal printing is currently around 0.02 millimetres and the maximum size of the printed parts corresponds to a cube with an edge length of around 60 centimetres. The density of up to 99.9 per cent and the processing properties correspond to those of welded parts.

The greatest cost factor in all additive procedures is the printing time. Every acceleration of the technology therefore directly influences the price. The greatest advantage is in the much greater geometric freedom. Thanks to this, for example, an additively manufactured seatbelt buckle made from titanium can be made 55 per cent lighter. In the Airbus 380, this reduces the total weight by 72.5 kilograms. Across the entire lifespan of the aeroplane, this allows a saving in fuel of around two million francs.

ETH expertise for the industry

Companies seeking support in the area of additive manufacturing processes can find this at Inspire. Services provided by the research and transfer institute, which is a partner of ETH Zurich, range from engineering and production through to R&D partnerships.

Institute for Rapid Product Development

Swiss success stories

Swiss industry is diverse, and the way that companies use modern digitisation technologies is just as diverse. The result is the same for all of them: they gain crucial competitive advantages.

digitisation in practice

Finding the right printing partner

Whether for prototype construction or parts used in live systems: the ETH spin-off Additively gives companies access to all additive manufacturing processes and more than 300 active suppliers in Switzerland.

access to more than 300 3D printers

Further Focus articles

Column by Christoph Hugenschmidt

Things are doing it for themselves

Why industry 4.0? And what does a cow have to do with a 3D printer? And what does Schwamendingen have to do with the Rosetta comet sensor?

Expert interview

“Many manufacturers are losing contact with the customer”

Machine data is the key to productivity and new services, Bernhard Lenzin, head of Industrial Industries at Swisscom, is convinced.


«I can be persistently stubborn»

How Roland Brüniger invented self-heating soles with courage and persistence and why he is not interested in lucrative takeover offers.

Thème du titre: industrie 4.0

Totalement individuel, couche après couche

Plus c’est difficile, mieux c’est. Les techniques d’impression 3D permettent de réaliser, sur simple pression de bouton, des constructions impossibles jusque-là. Dans le même temps, elles accroissent le degré d’individualisation. Et les coûts? Ils deviennent secondaires, comme le montre l’exemple d’Alstom Inspection Robotics.

Daniel Meierhans

Les tuyaux sont serrés les uns contre les autres dans la chaudière d’une centrale. Le scanner qui vérifie les soudures venant d’être exécutées doit se contenter de tout juste 12 millimètres. «C’est un aspect classique de nos exigences», explique Viktor Klein, responsable des ventes chez Alstom Inspection Robotics. «Chaque opération de contrôle est unique, qu’elle s’opère entre les pales d’une turbine à gaz, dans l’espace réduit situé entre le stator immobile et les composants rotatifs d’un générateur de courant ou sur les parois extérieures de grands réservoirs.»

 

Depuis 2006, l’entreprise commune d’Alstom et de l’EPF de Zurich développe et produit des robots ultraspécialisés qui contrôlent de façon fiable et surtout efficace la présence de dommages sur les tuyaux, réservoirs, turbines et générateurs dans les centrales et pour l’extraction de pétrole et de gaz. Avec son haut niveau de spécialisation et ses petites quantités, cette entreprise à croissance rapide est caractéristique de nombreuses entreprises industrielles suisses. Pour elles, les technologies déterminantes sont celles qui leur permettent de parvenir à des solutions sur mesure correspondant au maximum à leurs besoins.

Une différence qui semble insignifiante

Le principal élément grâce à laquelle la technique sensorielle du «Circular Palm Scanner» s’encastre avec précision entre les tuyaux étroitement alignés est une patte en acier insignifiante au premier regard. Elle permet de fixer sur le tuyau l’unité de mesure et les capteurs de position de sorte que la soudure puisse être analysée de façon reproductible. La seule chose qui attire l’œil sur cette patte, c’est sa surface qui semble légèrement rugueuse.

 

«C’est une caractéristique des pièces métalliques imprimées», telle est la surprenante explication de Stanko Bajunovic, qui dirige la production des scanners et robots au Technopark de Zurich. Alstom Inspection Robotics fait ainsi partie des premières entreprises suisses à fabriquer des composants en plastique avec des procédés additifs mais aussi à imprimer des pièces métalliques critiques. Un laser ou un faisceau d’électrons fond alors le moule couche après couche à partir d’une fine poudre métallique. Cette construction par couche est visible sur la structure de la surface.

 

Toutes les géométries sont possibles

Les trois grands avantages de cette impression? D’abord, elle permet de réaliser des pièces individuelles et des petites séries à une vitesse imbattable, car il n’est pas nécessaire de fabriquer d’outils. Ensuite, les restrictions géométriques liées aux techniques traditionnelles de fonderie ou de fraisage n’ont plus lieu d’être. Des structures à parois très minces, des contre-dépouilles et des cavités peuvent ainsi être exécutées sur une seule pièce. Enfin, le design peut être adapté en permanence aux nouvelles exigences sans faire grimper les coûts de production. L’individualisation ne se limite donc plus à certains paramètres.

1/7 L’impression 3D permet de produire directement à partir des données de construction. Cela économise beaucoup de temps et également beaucoup d’argent, pour les pièces individuelles et les petites séries. La nécessaire et laborieuse fabrication de moules pour une coulée n’a plus lieu d’être.

2/7 Avec le cadre imprimé, la technique sensorielle du scanner Palm peut être fixée sous une forme extrêmement plate sur les tuyaux d’une chaudière. Il est aussi possible de concevoir et d’imprimer aisément une nouvelle patte pour d’autres diamètres de tuyaux. L’augmentation des coûts de production est alors négligeable.

3/7 Les robots et scanners de contrôle d’Alstom Inspection Robotics sont assemblés un par un dans le Technopark de Zurich et révisés après intervention. «Si cela n’était pas compliqué, nous ne produirions guère nos robots en Suisse», explique Stanko Bajunovic, responsable de la production.

4/7 Le développement et la fabrication des robots de contrôle exigent une compétence technique maximum, tant en matière d’ingénierie que de production. Les moindres détails font la différence et les adaptations individuelles doivent être exécutées avec la plus grande précision.

5/7 Avant utilisation, les systèmes sont vérifiés sous toutes leurs coutures. Ici, le calibrage d’un capteur sensoriel par caméra. Il fait partie d’un robot ultraplat qui, à l’aide d’une technique par choc latéral dans un interstice étroit situé entre le stator et les composants rotatifs d’un générateur, détecte les dommages matériels.

6/7 Dans leur propre laboratoire, les ingénieurs testent de nouvelles fonctionnalités et de nouveaux designs. Sur et à l’intérieur de reproductions de chaudières, systèmes de conduites ou composants de turbines et de générateurs – en partie également imprimés – on optimise la mobilité et les mesures.

7/7 Pour que les systèmes fonctionnent de façon fiable et robuste sur le terrain, une précision maximum est de mise. Avant d’être montées dans un robot, les cartes électroniques développées en mains propres sont soumises à un contrôle de qualité.

1/7 L’impression 3D permet de produire directement à partir des données de construction. Cela économise beaucoup de temps et également beaucoup d’argent, pour les pièces individuelles et les petites séries. La nécessaire et laborieuse fabrication de moules pour une coulée n’a plus lieu d’être.

Parce qu’ils permettent de fabriquer des produits sur mesure par simple pression de bouton directement à partir des données de conception, les procédés additifs figurent, en plus de l’Internet des objets, parmi les technologies clés pour la numérisation systématique de l’industrie. Au terme de l’évolution de l’industrie 4.0, on trouve – cerise sur le gâteau – la production de masse pour des lots d’un seul exemplaire: chaque client obtient une version individuelle du produit, imprimée sur demande pour lui. Ce n’est encore qu’une vision. Pour certains composants, cette impression est toutefois rentable dès aujourd’hui.

 

Productif en quelques jours

«Dans notre situation, une coulée ou un fraisage reviendrait nettement plus cher», constate S. Bajunovic. La patte présente une épaisseur d’un millimètre seulement et se compose de plusieurs éléments. Le fraisage de pièces si fines ne fonctionnerait guère du premier coup. De plus, avec le procédé additif, les constructeurs doivent respecter beaucoup moins de conditions marginales et peuvent ainsi se concentrer totalement sur le design optimal. Pour S. Bajunovic, c’est néanmoins la vitesse qui est primordiale: «Nous développons nos produits en continu avec nos clients. Avec l’impression, nous pouvons utiliser des composants adaptés et nouveaux de façon productive en quelques jours seulement.»

 

Résultat: des robots et des scanners adaptés sur mesure à chaque opération de contrôle. Cela fait aussi gagner beaucoup d’argent. «Chaque jour d’arrêt de la centrale signifie une perte de production de près d’un million de dollars», calcule V. Klein. «Nos appareils réduisent les durées d’inspection de 50% et plus.» Pour le contrôle des soudures sur les tuyaux des ballons, on devait autrefois passer chaque soudure aux rayons X. En raison du rayonnement, toute la zone devait être évacuée et le résultat n’était disponible que le lendemain, après développement des films. «Du fait de sa forte reproductibilité, le Circular Palm Scanner affiche la même précision que les mesures par ultrasons que nous pouvons réaliser directement après le travail du soudeur», précise V. Klein.

 

De l’obturateur aux pâtes

Pour Matthias Baldinger, cofondateur d’Additively.com, Alstom Inspection Robotics est un parfait exemple de la manière dont les fabricants suisses peuvent mieux se démarquer à l’aide des procédés additifs. Avec sa plate-forme basée sur l’Internet, M. Baldinger jette un pont entre les entreprises industrielles et le nombre croissant de prestataires d’impression 3D: «Chaque plastique et chaque métal ont besoin d’une machine spécialisée. Rares sont les entreprises pour lesquelles il est rentable d’en faire l’acquisition. Nous aidons les entreprises à trouver le fournisseur adapté pour chaque tâche.» Aujourd’hui, plus de 300 prestataires sont enregistrés chez Additively.com et de nouveaux viennent s’ajouter chaque semaine.

 

La demande croît elle aussi à une allure vertigineuse, comme le souligne M. Baldinger: «Il y a trois ans, nous devions encore expliquer de façon détaillée aux responsables ce qu’étaient exactement les procédés additifs. Aujourd’hui, nous discutons souvent rapidement de projets concrets.» Les activités évoluent de plus en plus en direction des produits de clients individuels: le fabricant d’appareils photo haut de gamme Alpa imprime ainsi d’ores et déjà des obturateurs qui s’accordent à la perfection à la géométrie de la lentille de l’appareil photo respectif, le fabricant d’appareils de laboratoire Tecan imprime des blocs de lavage adaptés aux analyses individuelles pour un système de pipettes ou des entreprises de technique médicale impriment des implants spécifiques aux patients.

 

Dans les groupes industriels traditionnels comme Bühler, on se penche toutefois aussi sérieusement sur les nouvelles possibilités. Le fabricant de technologies de production en denrées alimentaires n’envisage pas seulement des composants pour ses propres installations, il évalue également les opportunités qu’il peut offrir à ses clients, de sorte qu’un fabricant de pâtes soit par exemple en mesure d’imprimer des formes individuelles.

 

Au seuil de la production de masse

M. Baldinger est en effet convaincu que le champ d’application est amené à considérablement s’élargir à l’avenir: «Les technologies évoluent rapidement, ce qui fait baisser les prix.» L’entreprise de conseil Roland Berger Strategy Consultants prévoit que les coûts unitaires soient ramenés à un tiers durant ces prochaines années. L’entrée sur le marché des grands constructeurs de machines-outils allemands Trumpf, Aarburg ou DMG Mori devrait y contribuer. De plus, HP, le spécialiste des imprimantes et des PC, a annoncé pour 2016 une nouvelle technologie qui est censée être nettement meilleure et plus rapide.

«L’impression 3D modifie non seulement les produits, mais aussi la chaîne d’approvisionnement.»

Le fabricant de moteurs d’avions GE Aviation devrait lui aussi endosser un grand rôle dans le développement rapide de cette technologie. Dans une usine d’injecteurs de moteurs, les Américains s’appuieront en effet sur une impression 3D sur métal pour une production en masse. Dès cette année, quelque 4000 injecteurs devraient être fabriqués par procédé additif. D’ici à cinq ans, on prévoit une augmentation à 100’000 pièces. Comme dans le cas d’Alstom Inspection Robotics, l’avantage engrangé compense largement les frais d’investissements élevés. Un tiers plus légers, les injecteurs imprimés économisent du carburant durant le vol. De plus, la géométrie optimisée des injecteurs fabriqués d’une seule pièce au lieu des 20 éléments améliore considérablement la performance.

 

L’ingénierie prend les commandes

«L’impression 3D modifie non seulement les produits, mais aussi la chaîne d’approvisionnement», souligne M. Baldinger. «La fabrication et les achats sont plus étroitement liés avec l’ingénierie et les clients sont davantage intégrés dans le développement de produits.» Dans cette revalorisation de l’ingénierie, les fabricants helvétiques peuvent marquer des points avec leur qualité. D’autant plus qu’avec les nouvelles possibilités, l’attention portée jusqu’ici aux coûts se déplace en direction de la plus-value, comme le montre bien l’exemple d’Alstom Inspection Robotics. Les procédés additifs sont ainsi une réponse à l’un des plus grands défis du site industriel suisse. Ou, comme résume bien S. Bajunovic: «Si cela n’était pas compliqué, nous ne produirions guère nos robots en Suisse.»

 

De la maquette à la production additive

L’impression 3D est utilisée depuis longtemps déjà dans l’industrie pour la fabrication rapide de maquettes et prototypes. Les constructions conçues à l’aide de programmes de CAO sont alors réalisées couche après couche par une imprimante à matière plastique. Les procédés additifs font désormais passer ce Rapid Prototyping au niveau de qualité requis en termes de tolérances, d’homogénéité et de solidité pour la production.

Trois techniques d’impression différentes sont utilisées en fonction du matériau. C’est le plastique qui bénéficie de la plus large palette. Il peut être assemblé par diverses méthodes de polymérisation, par collage ou par différentes procédures de fusion. La céramique peut être collée ou frittée au laser. De même, les pièces métalliques sont créées par la fonte sélective d’une fine couche de poudre métallique au moyen d’un laser ou de faisceaux d’électrons, dans un lit de poudre métallique. La précision de l’impression métallique est actuellement de l’ordre de 0,02 millimètre et la taille maximum des pièces imprimées correspond à un dé d’une longueur d’arête de 60 centimètres. La densité allant jusqu’à 99,9% et les propriétés d’usinage correspondent à celles des pièces soudées.

Dans tous les procédés additifs, le principal facteur de coûts se situe dans la durée d’impression. Chaque accélération de la technologie se répercute donc directement sur le prix. Le grand avantage réside dans la variété considérablement accrue des géométries possibles. Une boucle de ceinture de siège fabriquée par procédé additif en titane est ainsi 55% plus légère. Dans l’Airbus 380, cela permet de réduire le poids total de 72,5 kilos. Sur toute la durée de vie de l’avion, on économise ainsi près de 2 millions de francs.

Le savoir-faire de l’EPF pour l’industrie

Les entreprises recherchant de l’aide dans le domaine des procédés de fabrication additifs pourront trouver celle-ci auprès d’Inspire. L’offre de l’installation de recherche et de transfert de l’EPF de Zurich s’étend de l’ingénierie aux partenariats de R&D, en passant par la production.

Institute for Rapid Product Development

Success stories suisses

L’industrie suisse est extrêmement diversifiée et les entreprises utilisent donc les technologies modernes de numérisation de façon très variée. Pour toutes, le résultat est pourtant le même: elles se créent des avantages essentiels sur la concurrence.

La numérisation en pratique

Trouver le bon partenaire d’impression

Pour la construction d’un prototype ou pour des pièces utilisées de façon productive: avec le spin-off de l’EPF Additively, les entreprises ont accès à tous les procédés de production additifs et à plus de 300 fournisseurs actifs en Suisse.

Accès à plus de 300 imprimantes 3D

Plus d'articles Focus

Chronique de Christoph Hugenschmidt

Des objets émancipés

Pourquoi l'industrie 4.0? Quel est le lien entre une vache et une imprimante 3D? Et entre Schwamendingen et la sonde Rosetta?

Interview avec un expert

«De nombreux fabricants perdent le contact avec les clients»

Les données machines sont la clé de la productivité et des nouveaux services. Bernhard Lenzin, Head of Industrial Industries chez Swisscom, en est convaincu.

Portrait

«Je peux faire preuve d’une grande obstination»

Comment Roland Brüniger a inventé, à force de courage et d’obstination, des semelles autochauffantes et pourquoi les offres de rachat lucratives ne l’intéressent pas.