The Blockchain breaks old chains

Bitcoin may remain just a passing phase. However, the Blockchain technology for the cryptocurrency has what it takes to become a revolution. The dubious whistle-blower platform Darkleaks shows what’s possible.

Beat Hochuli

The number of “peer-to-peer revolutionaries” is increasing daily and start-ups relating to the Blockchain concept are springing up like mushrooms. Above all in the finance industry, the decentral transaction technology is triggering feverish activity: for example, UBS is establishing a specialised research centre in London and in the south-east Asian financial metropolis Singapore, people are digging deep. The globally active technology incubator Startupbootcamp Fintech is aiming to ensure that the Lion City on the equator becomes the undoubted Asia-Pacific hub of the Blockchain revolution.


Trusted “Smart Contracts”

But why this euphoria surrounding the foundation on which the cryptocurrency Bitcoin is based? In principle, it is nothing more than a giant log or general ledger, in which all transactions made by all Bitcoin members are registered and summarised in blocks that are strung together – nothing particularly spectacular, one might think. “Completely wrong!” the enthusiasts protest – and they’re right. Blockchain is completely decentral and is not stored on any Internet server. Every Bitcoin user has access to the entire log on his or her client, and this is continuously updated to the latest status. As this means that every transaction can be seen and checked by all users, a purchase contract verifies itself, so to speak – securely and with integrated encryption. This creates trust between those involved and exactly this is the point that Blockchain fans are so fascinated by. This is because, apart from quick and easy exchange of information of every type, they are imagining a future with “Smart Contracts” – intelligent validly signed contracts that practically ensure themselves that they are adhered to through digital supplementary technology. This would mean that no trusted bank, trust company, lawyer or state agencies would be required any more.

“This will also make Blockchain-based e-voting possible, which will greatly exceed the current solutions when it comes to security.”
From whistle-blowing to e-voting

The recently launched whistle-blower platform Darkleaks provides an initial impression of the potential of this technology. Via this platform, those with access to secrets can sell information of all types anonymously – that’s right, sell: they are rewarded with Bitcoin amounts. This is, of course, controversial and is likely to draw all kinds of dubious characters. But it will be impossible to stop. The platform makes use of the fact that any information can be attached to even the smallest unit of Bitcoin and sent via the peer-to-peer network in encrypted form. This procedure is known as “colouring”. It can be used to process every possible digital transaction securely and in a trustworthy manner. This will also make, for example, Blockchain-based e-voting possible, which will greatly exceed the current solutions when it comes to security. The correctness of the vote can be subsequently checked in the chain and – as with the dubious Darkleaks – anonymity is still guaranteed.


Beat Hochuli

is a freelance ICT journalist and lives in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.

Trendscout

Blockchain brise les anciennes chaînes

Le Bitcoin ne pourrait être qu’un phénomène éphémère. Mais la technologie Blockchain de crypto-monnaie a tout pour susciter une révolution. La sulfureuse plate-forme de lanceurs d’alerte Darkleaks en divulgue les possibilités.

Beat Hochuli

Le nombre de «révolutionnaires du peer-to-peer» s’accroît de jour en jour et les start-up évoluant autour du concept Blockchain poussent comme des champignons. Dans l’industrie financière en particulier, cette technologie de transactions décentralisées donne lieu à une activité fébrile: UBS met ainsi en place à Londres un centre de recherche spécialisé et dans la métropole financière du Sud-Est asiatique, à Singapour, on met les bouchées doubles. Actif à l’échelle mondiale, l’incubateur technologique Startupbootcamp Fintech doit veiller à ce que la ville du lion située sous l’équateur devienne le hub incontesté de l’espace Asie-Pacifique pour la révolution Blockchain.

 

Des «Smart Contracts» dignes de confiance

Mais pourquoi a-t-on cette euphorie au sujet de la base technologique sur laquelle repose la crypto-monnaie Bitcoin? En principe, il ne s’agit de rien d’autre que d’un gigantesque journal de bord ou un grand livre, où sont enregistrées et récapitulées l’ensemble des transactions de tous les utilisateurs Bitcoin, sous la forme de blocs alignés. Rien de spectaculaire, pourrait-on penser. «Loin s’en faut!» protestent les euphoriques, non sans raison. En effet, la Blockchain est complètement décentralisée et ne se trouve sur aucun serveur Internet. Chaque utilisateur Bitcoin dispose sur son Client de la totalité du livre de bord, qui s’actualise en permanence de façon automatique. Etant donné que de cette manière, chaque transaction est visible et contrôlable par tous les utilisateurs, un contrat de vente se vérifie pour ainsi dire de lui-même – de façon sûre et avec un cryptage intégré. Cela instaure la confiance entre les intéressés et c’est précisément cet aspect qui fascine autant les adeptes de la Blockchain. Outre l’échange rapide et efficace d’informations en tout genre, ils imaginent en effet un avenir de «Smart Contracts» – des contrats intelligents à signature valable qui, à l’aide de technologies numériques supplémentaires, veillent quasiment de façon autonome à ce qu’ils soient respectés. Plus besoin alors de faire appel à une banque de confiance, une société fiduciaire, un avocat ou des structures étatiques.

«Il sera ainsi possible de réaliser un voting basé sur Blockchain qui dépasse de loin les solutions existant jusque-là en termes de sécurité.»

Du lancement d’alerte au e-voting

Récemment lancée, la plate-forme de lanceurs d’alertes Darkleaks donne une première idée du potentiel de cette technologie. Avec elle, des détenteurs de secrets pourraient vendre des informations en tout genre de façon anonyme – oui, les vendre, car ils seraient récompensés par des sommes en bitcoins. Cela est certes controversé et devrait attirer un bon nombre de personnes douteuses. Mais cette évolution ne pourra être évitée. La plate-forme tire profit du fait qu’il soit possible de relier à la plus petite des unités de bitcoins des informations quelconques et de les envoyer par le biais du réseau peer-to-peer. Ce processus porte le nom de «Colouring» – ou coloration. Il permet de traiter l’ensemble des transactions numériques possibles de façon sûre et digne de confiance. Il sera ainsi possible de réaliser un voting basé sur Blockchain qui dépasse de loin les solutions existant jusque-là en termes de sécurité. La correction du vote peut être vérifiée dans la chaîne à posteriori et malgré tout, l’anonymat reste garanti – même pour le sulfureux Darkleaks.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

est journaliste indépendant spécialiste TIC et vit à Kota Kinabalu, en Malaisie.