General Conditions for Swiss Fintech

The difficult road to a fintech hub

The conditions still aren’t ideal: A lack of entrepreneurial spirit, tax and stock corporation laws that hinder start-ups and legislative obstacles. The train leading to Switzerland as a fintech hub has not yet left the station.

Urs Binder

The “Swiss Fintech Ecosystem Map” issued by Swiss FinteCH lists more than 200 Swiss finance technology companies. “There is so much momentum at the moment, and that’s a positive thing,” says Urs Haeusler, co-founder of the industry association Swiss Finance Startups, and founder of the private equity marketplace DealMarket. Daniel Heinzmann, IT strategist at the Zürcher Kantonalbank and president of “Swiss Fintech Innovations”, is also inspired by the current fintech scene: “It is gratifying to see how it is growing. Just one year ago, there were maybe 135 start-ups.”


Subdued optimism

And yet: “In an international comparison, we are unlikely to be ranked at the top,” as Rino Borini dampens the unbridled fintech enthusiasm. “It's a pity, because Switzerland remains relevant as a financial centre.” And this is true: According to the Global Finance Center Index, Zurich takes 6th place among worldwide financial centres. Borini directs the media company financialmedia AG, which specialises in financial topics, and organises the largest fintech event in Switzerland, “Finance 2.0”.


Daniel Heinzmann shares a similar opinion: “Compared to hubs like London or Berlin, the Swiss fintech scene still seems rather modest.” For Marc P. Bernegger, the internationally renowned “Serial Web Entrepreneur” and fintech investor, Switzerland is, in proportion to its population, “undoubtedly world number 1 in fintech concentration. But when we leave out the companies that have already been operating for 5 or 10 years, not many are left which are relevant in terms of revenue and profit.”


A lack of entrepreneurial spirit

For Rino Borini, it is the lack of entrepreneurial spirit, among other things, which has prevented Switzerland being considered an internationally significant fintech hub, despite being an outstanding financial centre. Another reason that Borini names is a certain scepticism towards technology: “Technology is often considered a cost factor rather than a future opportunity.”


Marc P. Bernegger describes most Swiss companies as having “too little vision, too little ambition, too little will to take risks”. We're doing too well, in contrast to other countries where your existence depends on having success with your own company. “There’s little incentive to start a business after studying.”


Urs Haeusler sees things a little differently. “We have a lot of successful young start-ups now. It’s not as cool as it was 15 years ago to go work in a bank after getting a degree, earning a lot of money, but being told what to do by someone else all the time. Nowadays, many young people are prepared to take a risk and put all their efforts into building something up even if there's almost no pay.” His conclusion: “In Switzerland, we’re usually not the first and not the fastest. But we do things well and thoroughly.”


Government hostility to fintech

All opinions agree on one thing: If Switzerland is to transform itself into a fintech hub, then regulations need to change. Rino Borini formulates it more keenly: “Politics and regulators have been asleep at the wheel. Switzerland is currently bringing up the rear in this regard.” However, the wake-up call has been heard. Company director Mark Branson admits: “Swiss legislation is not fit for fintech.”


The company is therefore proposing a simplified approval process for fintech start-ups that only accept deposits from the general public and do not operate an interest-earning business. A regulation-free space for start-ups, a so-called sandbox, will also be introduced. The devil is in the detail, as Urs Haeusler points out: “We like the idea with the innovator licences and the sandbox. However, Finma has set the limits so low that it is difficult to build up a proof-of-concept to attract investors. We are still negotiating this.”


The train still hasn’t left the station, but time is short. This is something else the experts agree on. “The government in Bern doesn’t need to promise money, but simply put general conditions in place that allow fintech to move ahead,” as Borini accentuates. The efforts are being made, however it still needs to be passed by parliament first – that really needs to happen this year. “We’re all hoping that the National Council and Council of States give this priority.”


However, overhauled regulations will still see Swiss fintechs that wish to expand into the EU being disadvantaged. Passporting applies in the EU – meaning when a fintech company has an approval valid in one country, this automatically applies for all the others. Swiss fintechs can only dream of this. International growth is also important, because the Swiss market is far too small. The “IFZ Fintech Study 2016” authored by Dr Thomas Ankenbrand from Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts also comes to this conclusion. “If long-term fintech jobs are to stay, and be created, in Switzerland, then the fintech companies must position themselves internationally and venture into overseas markets.”


Tax practices and stock corporation laws

Good general conditions include more than just simplified regulation of financial markets. Other legislative areas could be more encouraging for start-ups. Vitus Ammann, head of marketing at the Zug-based Monetas AG, is critical: “To ensure that you really can take the money promised by investors, the respective financing round must have been finalised in full. So if you are aiming to obtain five million and you already have two million of them, you still have to wait until the full sum has come together.” And employee shares, one of the best incentives to attract and keep talent, can only be issued by a Swiss stock company when it makes a profit – and for a start-up this is, by definition, not the case.


The different tax laws that apply in the various cantons have also earned criticism. Zurich, in particular, makes a negative impression. As Urs Haeusler explains, following a financing round, start-ups in Zurich are assessed at levels which are far too high, having being based on a fictive evaluation geared to future growth. “The capital tax can suddenly be much higher than total income.” Other cantons, such as

Basel City, instead use the mean value method to assess the company, as is usually the case for companies not listed on the stock exchange.


Too many cooks

There are, in best Swiss manner, meanwhile numerous fintech trade associations. “Swiss Finance Startups” (SFS) is the name of a very active industry organisation with more than 90 members. It considers itself a platform for fintech companies to share experiences, and to create networks between start-ups and decision-makers of the major financial industry players, “so that banks and insurance companies now promoting digitisation do not think they have to move to Silicon Valley, but see that a lot can be done in Switzerland as well,” which is how board member Urs Haeusler puts it. “Swiss Fintech Innovations” wants to get the dialogue between start-ups and banks and insurance companies back on the rails and concentrates its workgroup activities on five specific key topics of interest to the financial services providers while working in close cooperation with the Swiss Fintech Innovation lab at the University of Zurich. The “Swiss Finance and Technology Association” (Swiss FinteCH) presided over by John Hucker positions itself as a “centre of gravity for fintech in Switzerland” and intends to promote the evolution of our country into a world-class fintech hub.

“These fintech efforts are not being coordinated, there's too much petty-mindedness –an egosystem instead of an ecosystem.”

Rino Borini, Co-Founder & CEO financialmedia AG

Several specialist publications, many blogs, innumerable events from developer meet-ups to large conferences, start-up accelerators here and there. For some, however, this is too much of a good thing. As Rino Borini says: “We have countless associations, initiatives, accelerators. Everyone wants to make a contribution. But these efforts are not being coordinated, there's too much petty-mindedness –an egosystem instead of an ecosystem.” And it’s all talk and no action. Borini knows a way to describe this too: “Less paper, more pepper!”


Concentrating on the essentials

The scene has confidence in Switzerland as a fintech hub. Urs Haeusler: “In five years’ time, we will be one of the top 5 hubs globally. We have all the prerequisites: a stable currency, a banking centre with tradition and a solid image in terms of dependency, quality and security.” However, as Rino Borini points out, Switzerland needs to concentrate on certain areas. “You can’t do everything. Switzerland stands for wealth management – not least because we have the world’s largest asset management bank in the UBS. Switzerland should also assume a leading role there when it comes to fintech too.” Switzerland, as a stable country, also has a lot to contribute to security and identity technologies. When it comes to cryptofinance and blockchain technology, Switzerland is already well positioned with Cryptovalley and is internationally renowned. Switzerland could, however, also lose ground in this area, because the general conditions are sub-optimal. Borini mentions applications related to the insurance business as a fourth key topic, which is known as insurtech in industry jargon.


Daniel Heinzmann largely agrees. He also sees good opportunities for cryptofinancial technologies, and mentions insurtech as a factor for future success. “It’s still in its infancy – the digital insurance broker Knip is just one example. When it comes to insurtech, Switzerland can absolutely take the lead.”


A study titled “The Digital Future of Switzerland”, prepared by the EPFL on behalf of Swisscom and Six, estimates that the potential offered by the fintech infrastructure does not have a leading position like London, Singapore, Hong Kong and the USA, but nevertheless competitive. Innovative capability is therefore top in Switzerland, data protection and data security is good, however the market activity for start-ups is only assessed as “rising”. Just like the start-up associations, the EPFL study comes to the same conclusion: “Start-ups should obtain better financing, and tax legislation that caters to their needs.” The “Swiss Fintech Report 2016” by EY strikes a similar tone: “When it comes to fintech, Switzerland has, to date, failed to profit from its strong position as a financial centre, and in terms of support from the state, there is plenty of room for improvement.”


Thomas Ankenbrand from the University of Lucerne draws the following conclusion from his IFZ Fintech Study 2016: “Substantial efforts still need to be made in Switzerland to create attractive general conditions and to hold its own in global competition.” The conclusion the authors of the study does, however, end with a positive note: The Swiss fintech market is internationally competitive and has positioned itself well for further growth.


Further Focus articles

The Fintech Scene in Switzerland

The young upstarts

The Swiss fintech scene is jumping! Four examples of young new companies working on software for the finance industry.


10 million for fintech companies

Swisscom is founding a fintech cluster and providing funds of CHF 10 million in total to purchase of fintech companies. A competitor to banks?


The outsider

First the community, now the fintech solution. How the Swiss operator of a bike platform with big plans is getting involved in the banking business.

Conditions cadre des Fintech suisses

Les défis du hub Fintech

Toutefois, les conditions ne sont pas encore idéales avec un esprit d’entreprise insuffisant, une législation fiscale et sur les actions peu favorable aux startups et des contraintes législatives. Le sort du hub Fintech suisse n’est pas encore scellé pour autant.

Urs Binder

La «Swiss Fintech Ecosystem Map» de Swiss FinteCH enregistre plus de 200 sociétés de technologies financières suisses. «Il y a actuellement énormément de choses en cours, c’est très positif», explique Urs Haeusler, le co-fondateur de l’association professionnelle Swiss Finance Startups et le fondateur de la place de marché Private Equity DealMarket. Daniel Heinzmann, stratège IT de la banque cantonale de Zurich et président de «Swiss Fintech Innovations», exprime, lui aussi, son enthousiasme pour la scène Fintech actuelle: «C’est extrêmement réjouissant de voir comment elle se développe. Il y avait peut-être 135 startups il y a un an.»

 

 

Un optimisme mesuré

Pourtant, pour Rino Borini, il convient de nuancer l’enthousiasme pour les Fintech: «Nous ne sommes certainement pas en tête sur le plan international». «C’est d’autant plus dommage que la place financière suisse a toujours eu autant d’attraits». C’est un fait: le Global Finance Center Index classe Zurich à la 6e place derrière les grandes places financières mondiales. Borini est à la direction de financialmedia AG, un groupe médiatique spécialisé dans le domaine financier. Il y organise avec «Finance 2.0» les plus importantes manifestations Fintech de Suisse.

 

Une opinion partagée par Daniel Heinzmann: «Le milieu des Fintech suisses apparaît encore modeste comparé aux hubs de Londres ou Berlin.» Pour Marc P. Bernegger, le «Serial Web Entrepreneur» et investisseur Fintech à la renommée internationale, rapporté à son nombre d’habitants, la Suisse est «sans doute le numéro un en termes de concentration de Fintech. Mais si l’on met de côté les entreprises existant depuis 5 ou 10 ans, il n’en reste pas beaucoup, qui soient notables, en termes de chiffres d’affaires et de bénéfices.»

 

 

Un esprit d’entreprise insuffisant

Pour Rino Borini, la Suisse, qui est pourtant une place financière de premier plan, n’est toujours pas reconnue comme un hub Fintech important sur le plan international, notamment en raison d’un esprit d’entreprise insuffisamment développé. Borini évoque une autre raison, le scepticisme technologique: «La technologie est souvent considérée comme un facteur de coût plutôt qu’une option d’avenir.»

 

Marc P. Bernegger considère que la plupart des entrepreneurs suisses «manquent de vision, d’ambitions, de capacité à prendre des risques». Nous allons trop bien, contrairement à d’autres pays, où l’on meurt de faim si l’on ne réussit pas avec sa propre entreprise. «Il n’y a pas suffisamment d’incitations pour se lancer dans le monde de l’entreprise une fois ses études terminées.»

 

Urs Haeusler voit les choses différemment. «Nous avons aujourd’hui de nombreux jeunes entrepreneurs qui réussissent. Travailler dans une banque une fois son diplôme en poche pour gagner beaucoup d’argent tout en dépendant totalement d’un patron: c’était une perspective qui était encore sympathique il y a 15 ans. À présent, la situation a changé et de nombreux jeunes sont prêts à prendre des risques et à construire quelque chose en travaillant énormément et avec pratiquement aucun salaire.» Son constat: «En Suisse, nous ne sommes ni les premiers ni les plus rapides, comme c’est souvent le cas. En revanche, nous misons sur la qualité et l’implication.»

 

La réglementation peu propice aux Fintech

Tous sont d’accord sur un point : pour que la Suisse se transforme en hub Fintech, il convient de changer la réglementation. C’est ce que Rino Borini formule nettement: «La politique et le législateur ont laissé passer les occasions lorsqu’elles se présentaient, à tel point que la Suisse est désormais à la traîne». Pourtant, le Wake-up-Call a été manifestement entendu. Le directeur de Finma Mark Branson concède: «La législation en Suisse n’est pas prête pour les Fintech.»

 

La Finma propose par conséquent un régime d’autorisation simplifié pour les startups Fintech, qui se contentera de recevoir les dépôts publics sans gérer les intérêts. Nous avons besoin pour cela d’un espace libre de toute régulation pour les startups, à la manière d’un sandbox. Pour Urs Haeusler, le problème se situe au niveau des détails: «Nous pensons que la licence pour les innovateurs et la sandbox sont de bonnes idées. Mais la Finma fixe un niveau de limites tellement bas qu’il est pratiquement impossible de créer un Proof-of-Concept capable d’attirer les investisseurs. Nous sommes encore en négociation.»

 

Les dés ne sont pas encore jetés mais le temps presse. Les experts sont également d’accord sur ce point. «La capitale fédérale ne doit pas légiférer sur les conditions financières mais fixer le cadre légal pour permettre au secteur Fintech d’avancer», explique Borini. Des efforts sont en cours, mais le processus législatif doit passer tout d’abord par le Parlement – nécessairement cette année. «Nous espérons tous que le Conseil national et le Conseil des États accélèrent à présent ce processus.»

 

Même lorsque la régulation sera adaptée, les Fintechs suisses souhaitant se développer en direction de l’UE seront désavantagées. On applique en effet dans l’UE le passporting, grâce auquel une entreprise Fintech ayant reçu une permission dans un pays de l’UE en bénéficie automatiquement dans tous les autres pays. Un rêve qui n’est pas accessible aux Fintechs suisses. Pourtant, le marché suisse étant bien trop réduit, la croissance internationale est un atout. C’est ce que constate la «IFZ Fintech Study 2016» de Thomas Ankenbrand, de la Haute École de Lucerne: «Pour maintenir et créer à long terme des emplois FinTech en Suisse, les entreprises de ce secteur doivent se positionner à l’international et prendre l’initiative de conquérir les marchés internationaux».

 

Pratique fiscale et législation sur les actions

La simplification de la régulation du marché financier n’est pas suffisante pour améliorer les conditions cadre. D’autres aspects de la législation pourraient également être plus favorables aux startups. Vitus Ammann, responsable du marketing au sein de la société Monetas AG, de Zoug, est critique: «Le tour de table doit être complètement terminé afin de pouvoir réellement toucher l’argent promis par les investisseurs. Ainsi, si l’on vise cinq millions et que l’on dispose déjà de deux millions, il faut patienter jusqu’à ce que la totalité de la somme ait été rassemblée.» Par ailleurs, une SA suisse ne peut dépenser les actions du personnel, qui sont l’un des meilleurs incentives pour attirer les talents, que si elle dégage des bénéfices – ce qui n’est pas le cas pour une startup, conformément à sa définition.

 

De même, les différences observées d’un canton à l’autre en termes de réglementation fiscale sont aussi critiquées. En la matière, Zurich est particulièrement mal placé. D’après Urs Haeusler, l’estimation qui y est faite des startups est trop élevée, après un tour de table, en raison d’une valorisation fictive s’orientant sur l’évolution à venir. «Dans ces conditions, l’impôt sur la fortune peut soudain dépasser le montant total des revenus.» D’autres cantons comme Bâle Ville appliquent à la place la méthode pratique d’évaluation, habituelle pour les entreprises qui ne sont pas cotées en bourse.

 

Trop de parties prenantes

De manière typique pour la Suisse, de nombreuses associations s’intéressent au secteur Fintech. Les «Swiss Finance Startups» (SFS) sont une organisation sectorielle très active comptant plus de 90 membres. Il s’agit d’une plateforme permettant l’échange d’expériences entre les entreprises Fintech et pour la mise en réseau entre les startups et les décideurs parmi les grands du secteur financier, «afin d’éviter que les banques et les assurances, qui ont mis en chantier leur numérisation, ne pensent pas être obligées de se diriger vers la Silicon Valley mais pour qu’elles puissent constater que les choses bougent énormément en Suisse», explique le membre du Directoire Urs Haeusler. «Swiss Fintech Innovations» souhaite orienter le dialogue avec les startups Fintech depuis les banques et les assurances, concentre les activités dans des groupes de travail autour de cinq thèmes centraux intéressant spécialement les Fintech prestataires de services financiers et travaille en partenariat étroit avec l’Innovation Lab de l’Université de Zurich. La «Swiss Finance and Technology Association» (Swiss FinteCH) présidée par John Hucker se positionne comme un «centre de gravité pour les Fintech en Suisse» et s’emploie à encourager le développement de notre pays comme un hub Fintech de premier plan.

«Les efforts du secteur Fintech ne sont pas coordonnés, chacun travaille seul dans son coin – c’est l’égosystème plutôt que l’écosystème»

Rino Borini, Co-Founder & CEO financialmedia AG

Plusieurs publications spécialisées, de nombreux blogs, d’innombrables manifestations, du meetup de développeurs à la grande conférence, des accélérateurs de startups ici et là. Une profusion qui peut sembler excessive. Pour Rino Borini: «Nous avons d’innombrables associations, initiatives et accélérateurs. Chacun veut apporter sa contribution. Le problème est que ces efforts ne sont pas coordonnés, chacun travaille seul dans son coin – c’est l’égosystème plutôt que l’écosystème». Par ailleurs, on privilégie les discours aux actions. Borini a pour cela un slogan: «Less paper, more pepper!»

 

Concentration sur l’essentiel

Les acteurs concernés considèrent qu’un hub Fintech suisse est en bonne voie. Urs Haeusler: «D’ici à cinq ans, nous ferons partie des 5 premiers hubs globaux. Nous avons les ingrédients qu’il faut pour cela: une monnaie stable, une place bancaire riche de ses traditions et de son image forte en termes de confiance, de qualité et de sécurité». Rino Borini estime toutefois que la Suisse doit se concentrer sur certains domaines. «Il n’est pas possible de tout faire. La Suisse est responsable du Wealth Management – UBS est en effet la plus grande banque gestionnaire de fortune à l’échelle mondiale. La Suisse devrait occuper un rôle central dans le secteur Fintech pour ce domaine également». La Suisse, pays stable, peut apporter beaucoup de choses dans les technologies de sécurité et d’identité. Avec la Cryptovalley, elle est très bien placée dans les technologies de cryptofinance et Blockchain et elle jouit d’une renommée internationale. En revanche, en l’absence de cadre optimal, la Suisse pourrait perdre beaucoup à l’avenir. Pour Borini, le quatrième thème central concerne les applications dans le domaine des assurances, ou Insurtech.

 

Daniel Heinzmann rejoint cette analyse. Il considère que les technologies de cryptofinance ont de bonnes perspectives et qu’Insurtech est un facteur d’avenir: «Nous en sommes encore au tout début – le courtier en assurances numérique Knip n’est qu’un premier exemple. La Suisse peut absolument prendre la tête du secteur Insurtech».

 

L’étude «L’avenir numérique de la Suisse», réalisée par l’EPFL pour le compte de Swisscom et Six, ne considère pas que les performances des infrastructures Fintech sont en tête comme pour Londres, Singapour, Hong Kong et les USA, mais qu’elles restent compétitives. La capacité d’innovation est d’un excellent niveau en Suisse, la protection et la sécurité des données sont bonnes mais l’attrait du marché pour les startups est juste jugé «en progression». L’étude de l’EPFL conclut, à l’instar des associations de startup elles-mêmes: «Les startups ont besoin de meilleurs financements et d’une législation fiscale adaptée à leurs besoins.» Une position que l’on retrouve dans le «Swiss Fintech Report 2016» d’EY: «La Suisse n’a pas encore profité à ce jour de sa position forte comme place financière et le soutien de l’État mérite d’être renforcé.»

 

Thomas Ankenbrand, de la Haute École de Lucerne, formule la conclusion de son IFZ Fintech Study 2016: «Des efforts importants restent nécessaires en Suisse pour créer des conditions cadre attrayantes et pouvoir faire face à la concurrence globale». La conclusion des auteurs de l’étude se termine toutefois sur une note positive: le marché Fintech suisse est capable d’affronter la concurrence internationale et est bien placé pour poursuivre sa croissance.

 

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Scène Fintech suisse

Les jeunes fauves

La scène Fintech suisse est vivante! Quatre exemples de jeunes entreprises s’intéressant aux logiciels de finance.

Interview

10 millions pour les sociétés Fintech

Swisscom crée un cluster Fintech et mobilise 10 millions de francs pour l’achat de sociétés Fintech. Une concurrence pour les banques?

Portrait

Le nouveau venu

La communauté d’abord, et à présent la solution Fintech. Comment l’opérateur d’une plateforme pour la moto aborde l’activité bancaire avec des projets ambitieux.