10 million for fintech companies

10 million for shares in fintech companies: How Swisscom intends to equip itself for changes to the banking sector knows Johannes Höhener, Head of Fintech Cluster.

Hansjörg Honegger

Dialogue Magazin: Swisscom is setting up a fintech investment fund totalling CHF 10 million. Why would a telecommunications service provider do this?

Johannes Höhener: At first glance, it might come as a surprise. Swisscom Enterprise has, however, been providing comprehensive services for banks for many years now. More than 200 banks are Swisscom customers, and we operate platforms for more than 80 banks. However, the banking industry is going through upheavals, and is just starting its digital transformation. Fintechs create solutions to help this transformation and these are very disruptive. We want to be involved, help with development, and create solutions for the banks. We can do so with our new fintech unit in the Swisscom Digital Business division.


A 10 million stake so you can try out a few new things?

No, not at all! Our Banking Think Tank e-foresight deals with trends in banking on a daily basis. We therefore know exactly what is going on and are able to assess developments accurately. Furthermore, 10 million is a sustainable investment which must yield a profit, a so-called evergreen fund. What we earn is reinvested. There’s not simply a budget that can be topped up again once the money’s gone.

“10 million is an investment which must yield a profit” 


Who decides in which companies investments will be made?

The final decision is the prerogative of the investment board of Swisscom Ventures, which is the venture capital arm of Swisscom Ltd. Since being founded in 2007, it has invested in more than 40 companies (20 in Switzerland, 20 overseas, primarily in the USA). The team has a lot of experience. At the fintech cluster, we apply for investments, issue recommendations and advocate our ideas.


Major companies are not likely to be possible with 10 million.

That's true, it’s not an overly high sum. As a strategic investor, we not only offer companies financial support, but also access to our technical infrastructure and to our sales channels. Our fintech fund is therefore primarily focussed on fintechs that are still in the early stage of development.


Companies from Switzerland only?

No, we also have an international focus. We have good fintech companies in Switzerland, all of which operate internationally. Only operating on the Swiss market is practically impossible. Switzerland is simply too small.


What are the criteria that allow a company to attract your attention?

The management team and existing investors need to convince us. We are looking for experienced start-up entrepreneurs who are pursuing new, disruptive solutions for existing problems, and when possible have already founded a company – and maybe even failed with it. The “young upstarts” usually have more innovative capacity and entrepreneurial staying power than former bankers who have founded a fintech company or invested in one. By the way, we will be publishing a fintech radar on a quarterly basis in future, showing which fintech start-ups are the most promising from our point of view.



However, trust alone isn't enough...

Of course, expert competence is also very important, a business plan that makes sense, and there must already be a lead investor on board.



A lead investor must always make an active commitment to a company, and help steer it. We don’t want to do that, and we can’t. We are concentrating on cooperating on the same topics with a start-up, and want to use it to create added value for both companies. Another key criterion is that a start-up is solving a problem.


That is the very least we expect.

That might sound simple, but it isn’t. For instance: There are numerous innovative payment solutions. Only: Did you have a problem paying at the supermarket today? Probably not. Real added value would require the integration of additional services that extend way beyond a pay-only function. This is why the payment apps have failed to be successful so far.


Not even Apple Pay?

Of course, it’s wonderfully simple and convenient, focussed on customers' needs.


That brings us to an important point: Large software companies are also involved in the fintech sector, and they have billions in their coffers. Does a local payment system have a chance at all?

Yes. Paying for something is still very much a local activity. People in Scandinavia pay differently to people in Vienna, and in Zurich it’s different to New York. This is where it comes down to finding the local requirements and satisfying them in order for a Swiss payment system to have a chance.



What do your strategic objectives in the fintech sector look like?

We are aiming to be a leading entity in topics related to selected areas: We have identified collaborative economy as a major trend on which we wish to focus. Peer-to-peer lending is the key issue. The second area is blockchain applications in the finance industry. This technology affects Swisscom itself, as blockchain will result in a change to the basic infrastructure. The third area is access and identity, which is about secure access to information and verifying identity. The last area is the digitisation of interfaces to the SMEs, which is a very important focus for us.


Do you have partners, or is Swisscom going it alone?

We are looking to work together with the fintech start-ups and to support young entrepreneurs with our start-up challenge. There are always a number of highly promising fintech start-ups participating in this competition. Furthermore, we are an important partner to Digital Zurich 2025. What I’m particularly happy about: In the last few years, most digital banking innovations emerged by working with start-ups. We have learned a lot and been able to demonstrate that good cooperation can function well. To improve this cooperation, the fintech cluster has now been formed at the Swisscom Digital Business unit.


So there are already specific examples?

Of course! We have just procured software from “wemakeit”, made it suitable for banks and are now marketing it together with the Basellandschaftliche Kantonalbank as a software as a service product. We have learned a lot from this crowd funding project, and have positioned ourselves well. A second example is video identification and digital signature, which allows an account at Valiant to be opened from home. This involved teaming up with WebID, a fintech from Germany. The digital trustee as a service for banks, also already in use at Valiant, is being implemented with a solution from RunMyAccounts. We are also successfully working together with a start-up on our product, We are calling for – and promoting – this type of close cooperation.


Where does Switzerland stand in the international comparison in fintech-related matters? Zug is already being talked about as a blockchain hotspot.

It always depends on what you compare it with. The growth of fintechs in Switzerland has, to date, been slower than it has been overseas. It feels like Switzerland is not even present in the international fintech competition. In Europe, London, Berlin and Scandinavia are the leaders. Tel Aviv is important in the security area. And of course, the USA – and more importantly: Asia. Athens is also a newcomer on the European field. That’s where it's happening. Less than 1% of domestic venture capital has been invested in fintech start-ups to date. Boosting Switzerland as a location for fintechs would be a more-than-welcome development. Initiatives like the planned Innovation Park in Zurich, or “Digital Zurich 2025”, can only support this growth.

“Switzerland will be a leading player in the fintech industry in 10 years’ time.” 

Why doesn’t Switzerland, with its large banking centre, play a larger role?

The answer is in the question: Digitalisation is granting completely new players access to the banking industry. Switzerland, as a traditional banking centre with excellent service, currently lacks the pressure to innovate. I am, however, convinced that Switzerland will be a leading player in the fintech industry in ten years’ time. The innovative companies, our reliable regulations, and the stable political situation all speak for that.


Johannes Höhener

Johannes Höhener is responsible for digital banking at Swisscom. He assumed responsibility for setting up e-research AG in 2012, a new cooperation between the cantonal banks in the field of digital technology and integrated this company into Swisscom in 2014 as e-foresight Trend Scouting Services. He was a partner at COMIT AG and was subsequently a member of the management board of Swisscom IT Services Finance AG and CEO of Sourcag AG.

Further Focus articles

The Fintech Scene in Switzerland

The young upstarts

The Swiss fintech scene is jumping! Four examples of young new companies working on software for the finance industry.

General Conditions for Swiss Fintech

The difficult road to a fintech hub

Switzerland has the opportunity to become an internationally recognised fintech hub. It's now high time to step on the gas!

Digitalisation of the bank

Banks: One third have a digital strategy

The level of digitisation of Swiss banks varies enormously. An overview of the status quo, and future prospects.

Interview

10 millions pour les sociétés Fintech

10 millions pour les participations dans les sociétés Fintech du monde entier. Johannes Höhener, Head of Fintech Cluster, explique comment Swisscom se prépare en vue des changements intervenant dans le monde bancaire.

Hansjörg Honegger

Magazine Dialogue: Swisscom crée un fonds d’investissement Fintech de 10 millions de francs. Pourquoi un opérateur de télécommunications fait-il cela?

Johannes Höhener: Ceci peut paraître surprenant à première vue. Swisscom Enterprise assure depuis de nombreuses années des services complets pour les banques. Plus de 200 banques font partie des clients de Swisscom et nous gérons la plateforme de plus de 80 banques. Le secteur bancaire est toutefois en pleine mutation et en est au tout début de la transformation numérique. Les entreprises Fintech créent des solutions permettant de soutenir cette transformation. Elles sont extrêmement disruptives. Nous voulons être présents, participer au développement et créer des solutions pour les banques. Ceci est possible à partir de la nouvelle unité Fintech dans le secteur Swisscom Digital Business.

 

10 millions sont mis en jeu pour tester quelques nouveautés?

Non, absolument pas! Notre Banking Think Tank e-foresight se préoccupe quotidiennement des tendances dans le secteur Banking. Nous savons donc très précisément ce qui fonctionne, de manière à bien apprécier les développements. Par ailleurs, les 10 millions constituent un investissement durable, qui doit aussi valoir la peine, à la manière d’un fonds Evergreen. Nous réinvestissons nos recettes. Nous n’avons pas un budget que l’on peut ensuite simplement augmenter lorsqu’il n’y a plus d’argent.

«Les 10 millions représentent un investissement qui doit aussi valoir la peine» 

 

Qui décide dans quelles entreprises réaliser des investissements?

La décision revient toujours à l’Investment Board de Swisscom Ventures, qui est la branche capital risque de Swisscom SA. Depuis sa création en 2007, elle a investi dans plus de 40 entreprises (20 en Suisse, 20 à l’étranger, principalement aux États-Unis). L’équipe est très expérimentée. Au sein du cluster Fintech, nous faisons des demandes d’investissements, formulons des recommandations et nous nous impliquons dans la mise en œuvre de nos idées.

 

Pour autant, 10 millions ne suffisent pas pour les reprises importantes.

Ce n’est pas en fait une somme excessivement importante. Nous sommes un investisseur stratégique, qui offre aux entreprises un soutien financier ainsi que l’accès à notre infrastructure technique et à nos canaux de distribution. Notre fonds FinTech s’adresse donc en premier lieu aux FinTechs qui en sont à un stade de développement initial.

 

Des entreprises exclusivement suisses?

Non, nous nous intéressons aux entreprises internationales. Nous avons en Suisse de bonnes entreprises FinTech, mais qui sont toutes présentes à l’international. Il est pratiquement impossible d’intervenir exclusivement sur le marché suisse. Le pays est tout simplement trop petit.

 

Quels sont les critères pour qu’une entreprise mérite votre attention?

L’équipe de management et les investisseurs actuels doivent nous convaincre. Nous recherchons des entrepreneurs de startup expérimentés, suivant des solutions disruptives pour les problèmes existants, ayant de préférence déjà créé une entreprise – et ayant peut-être échoué à cette occasion. Les «Jeunes Fauves» ont généralement une capacité d’innovation et une persévérance plus importantes que les anciens banquiers créant une entreprise Fintech ou participant à des FinTechs. Nous publierons à l’avenir un FinTech Radar trimestriel, qui présentera les startups FinTech que nous considérons comme les plus prometteuses.

 


Mais la confiance, seule, n’est pas suffisante...

La compétence spécialisée est, bien entendu, extrêmement importante. Il faut également un business plan qui tienne la route et la présence d’un Lead-Investor est indispensable.

 

Pourquoi?

Un Lead-Investor doit toujours avoir un engagement actif et une participation active dans une entreprise. C’est quelque chose que nous ne voulons pas et ne pouvons pas. Nous nous concentrons sur la collaboration thématique avec une startup et nous créons ainsi une valeur ajoutée directe pour les deux entreprises. Le fait que la startup puisse résoudre un problème est un critère supplémentaire important.

 

C’est le minimum.

Ceci semble simple, mais ce n’est pas le cas. Un exemple: les solutions de paiement innovantes sont nombreuses. Malgré cela: avez-vous actuellement des difficultés pour régler à la caisse de votre Migros? Pas vraiment. La véritable plus-value serait d’intégrer dans un premier temps des services supplémentaires allant plus loin qu’une simple fonction de paiement. Ceci explique pourquoi les applications de paiement n’ont pas encore de succès.

 

Mais cela inclut-il Apple Pay?

Bien sûr, c’est génial en termes de simplicité et de confort tout en étant adapté aux besoins des clients.

 

Ceci nous amène à un point important: le secteur Fintech est investi par des géants logiciels dont le trésor de guerre se chiffre en milliards. Un système de paiement local a-t-il une chance dans ces conditions?

Oui. L’acte de payer reste pour l’essentiel un acte local. En Scandinavie, les habitudes de paiement ne sont pas les mêmes qu’à Vienne et Zurich ne ressemble pas à New York. Il s’agit à présent d’identifier et de satisfaire les besoins locaux. Un système de paiement suisse aura alors certainement des chances.

 

 

Qu’en est-il de vos objectifs stratégiques dans le secteur Fintech?

Nous visons à prendre la tête du thème dans un certain nombre de secteurs sélectionnés. La Collaboration Economy constitue une tendance importante pour nous, sur laquelle nous restons concentrés. Citons par exemple le Peer-to-Peer-Lending. Le deuxième secteur concerne les applications Blockchain dans le secteur financier. Cette technologie concerne aussi Swisscom, dans la mesure où Blockchain modifie l’infrastructure de base. Le troisième secteur, Access et Identity, permet d’accéder de manière sécurisée aux informations et à contrôler l’identité. Le troisième secteur concerne la numérisation des interfaces avec les PME, qui constitue un axe fondamentale pour nous.

 

Avez-vous des partenaires ou Swisscom gère-t-il cela tout seul?

Nous cherchons à être partenaires des startups Fintech et nous soutenons les jeunes entreprises avec notre StartUp Challenge. Plusieurs startups Fintech prometteuses participent également à ce concours. Nous sommes par ailleurs un partenaire important de Digital Zurich 2025. J’apprécie tout particulièrement une chose: la plupart des innovations Digital Banking ont vu le jour ces dernières années parallèlement aux startups. Nous avons beaucoup appris et nous pouvons montrer qu’une collaboration est parfaitement viable. Le cluster FinTech a été créé au sein de Swisscom Digital Business, précisément pour améliorer cette collaboration.

 

Y a-t-il déjà des exemples concrets?

Sans aucun doute. Nous avons repris le logiciel de «wemakeit», nous l’avons rendu utilisable dans un contexte bancaire et nous l’avons commercialisé avec la Banque cantonale de Bâle-Campagne, sous forme de produit Software-as-a-Service. Nous avons énormément appris avec ce projet de crowdfunding, qui nous permet de nous positionner. L’identification vidéo et la signature numérique, qui permet chez Valiant l’ouverture de compte de chez soi, constitue un deuxième exemple. Nous nous sommes associés pour ce faire avec WebID, une entreprise FinTech allemande. Nous appliquons également avec une solution de RunMyAccounts le fiduciaire numérique comme service pour les banques, également en service au sein de Valiant. Nous travaillons aussi dans de bonnes conditions avec la startup RaiseNow sur notre produit letshelp.ch. Nous encourageons et soutenons ce partenariat étroit.

 

Où la Suisse se situe-t-elle à l’échelle internationale dans le domaine Fintech? Il est déjà question d’un hotspot Blockchain à Zoug par exemple.

La question est de savoir ce qui est utilisé comme critère de comparaison. Le développement des entreprises FinTech en Suisse a été jusqu’à présent plus lent qu’à l’étranger. La Suisse n’est pas perçue comme un acteur actif dans la concurrence Fintech internationale. En Europe, on pense en premier lieu à Londres, Berlin et la Scandinavie. Dans le domaine de la sécurité, Tel Aviv est important, sans parler des États-Unis et bien entendu, de l’Asie. On peut également évoquer Athènes en Europe, parmi les nouveaux acteurs. Ce sont les lieux qui comptent. Moins de 1% du capital-risque suisse bénéficiait jusqu’à présent aux startups FinTech. Le renforcement de la place suisse pour les FinTechs mériterait d’être salué. Des initiatives comme le projet de parc d’innovation de Zurich ou encore «Digital Zurich 2025» peuvent soutenir cette évolution.

«La Suisse sera en tête du secteur Fintech dans 10 ans.» 

Pourquoi la Suisse ne joue-t-elle pas un rôle plus important avec son importante place bancaire?

La réponse est dans la question: la numérisation permet à des acteurs totalement nouveaux d’accéder à l’industrie bancaire. La pression en faveur de l’innovation fait actuellement défaut en Suisse, qui se repose sur sa tradition de place bancaire. Je suis toutefois convaincu que la Suisse rejoindra le peloton de tête du secteur Fintech d’ici à dix ans. Une évolution que laissent présager les entreprises innovantes, la fiabilité de la régulation et la stabilité de la situation politique.

 

Johannes Höhener

Johannes Höhener est responsable, au sein de Swisscom, des initiatives Digital Banking. Il a repris en 2012 la responsabilité de la construction de l’e-research AG, une nouvelle coopération des banques cantonales dans le domaine de l’univers numérique et a intégré cette entreprise en 2014 au sein de Swisscom, en tant que e-foresight Trend Scouting Services. Il était partenaire de COMIT AG puis a été membre de la direction de Swisscom IT Services Finance AG et CEO de Sourcag AG.

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Scène Fintech suisse

Les jeunes fauves

La scène Fintech suisse est vivante! Quatre exemples de jeunes entreprises s’intéressant aux logiciels de finance.

Conditions cadre des Fintech suisses

Les défis du hub Fintech

La Suisse a des chances de devenir un hub Fintech reconnu dans le monde entier. Il est grand temps de donner un coup d’accélérateur.

La numérisation de la banque

Banques: un tiers d’entre elles ont une stratégie numérique

Le degré de numérisation des banques suisses est extrêmement variable. Observation du statut quo et de l’avenir.