Low Power Network

A network for the Internet of Things

If innumerable devices, machines, buildings and objects are to be interconnect in an Internet of Things, then a reliable, inexpensive and energy efficient mobile network is needed.

Urs Binder

When speaking of the Internet of Things (IoT), people generally think of the much vaunted refrigerator that automatically places an order for more milk – or other gadgets that are connected to the Internet, which are supposed to bring benefits that are not always plain to see.


The intelligent city

The «Internet of Things» is, however, anything but a simple gimmick. Devices, machines, buildings and objects of all types, from letterboxes to bicycles that are equipped with sensors and are interconnected with each other, form the basis for the city of the future: The «Smart City» reacts intelligently to environmental conditions, optimising, for example, the flow of traffic and checking the status of water hydrants and the fill level of recycling containers. The sensors used may be temperature sensors, energy meters, proximity or rotation sensors. The Smart City also encompasses thermostats, switches, dimmers, pumps, valves, motors and other technical equipment that can be controlled electronically and which can intervene in controlled circuits.


Nothing doing without a connection

To ensure all this can function, the devices and buildings require a stable Internet connection. This should be able to be set up as inexpensively as possible, feature the widest range possible and function using as little energy as possible. Cabling is out of the question due to the costs alone – and mobile objects can’t be connected using cables in the first place. While WiFi is inexpensive, its range is limited and we have to remember that this is all about interconnecting countless elements that are distributed right across an entire urban conglomeration. Mobile telecommunications, in turn, require each and every device to be fitted with a costly SIM card, and are comparatively energy hungry – far from optimal for battery-operated sensors. However, WiFi and mobile telecommunications provide a high bandwidth instead.


LPN saves energy and costs

Some processes, such as periodic temperature measurements, for example, function with low data volumes and do not depend on speedy data transmission. A Low Power Wide Area Network (LPN or LPWAN), which operates using frequencies in the radio range and a very low transmission power, are highly suited to applications like these.


There are several types of LPN technology, such as Sigfox, being used at different points. However, a standard that was developed by the LoRa Alliance and which enjoys broad support is now becoming increasing established. LoRaWAN uses the licence-free SRD band, offers bidirectional data communications at 0.3 to 50 kbit/s and enables a range of around 2 to 15 km, depending on the surroundings. The entire data traffic is encrypted using 128-bit AES. A LoRaWAN module for sensors only costs a few Francs, and consumes so little power that the battery will last for up to five years.

The first Smart City in Switzerland is St. Gallen.

The first Smart City in Switzerland could be St. Gallen. The municipal electrical utilities there have been testing a LoRaWAN-based LPN there in cooperation with Effectas and IBM Research Rüschlikon for a period of six months. And successfully too, because a submission was made to the city parliament at the start of July 2016 to cover the entire urban area with the Low Power Network.


And Swisscom has been involved right from the start. The company has been part of the LoRa Alliance since the start of 2015, and has already launched pilot installations in Zurich and Geneva in 2015. Swisscom Broadcast set up the first receiver station on Üetliberg. According to Alexandra Reich, EVP Solution

Centre Mobility Enterprise Customer at Swisscom, there are now more than 35 stations in operation. The aim is to provide at least 80% of the population with outdoor LPN access by the end of 2016. To achieve this, around 300 receiver stations will be required across Switzerland. The outlay for constructing the network can be kept to a minimum, because it is often possible to use existing stations operated by Swisscom Broadcast. Total costs of less than CHF 10 million are expected for basic coverage.

LPN is the solution for the Internet of Things

Versatile applications

The interest in the Swisscom LPN is considerable. Well over 100 companies, public authorities and universities were interested in the pilot test. And a whole series of specific projects have been set up. Two examples:


FeedbackNow is offering a real-time solution for surveying customer satisfaction directly at the sales point. Customers can share their opinion of the quality of service with the help of the «Smiley Box». This voting machine is based on LoRa technology – and for FeedbackNow, it is providing a competitive advantage when it comes to installation and operating costs.


«MyLock» from Swissprime Technologies is an intelligent locking solution for locks on doors, furniture, letterboxes and so forth. The locks are operated from a smartphone by using Bluetooth or NFC. The LoRa technology is being used in a first prototype for the transmission of operations from the lock to the Cloud, and for remote access.


Along with the network itself, Swisscom is offering advisory services and the web-based LPN Connectivity Management Platform (CMP) along with turnkey solutions. For example, «Smart Parking» for operators of car parks. The individual parking spots are equipped with wireless sensors and transmit the occupancy status via LPN. The management platform processes the data and sends it to the car park management or a mobile app, thereby turning the endless search for a parking spot into a drive to a specific space.


Further articles

Attracted attention

St. Gallen is smart and Siri puts the pressure on

St. Gallen is ready for the Internet of Things and Siri is holding sway over your desktop.


Artificial intelligence is networking

AI-based systems and networks are becoming established in households and companies.

Wolf’s test

Virtual reality, or the man with the diving mask

Wolf is testing virtual reality, and it looks completely different de-pending on whether you are the outside or the inside.

Low Power Network

Un réseau pour l’Internet des objets

La mise en réseau d’innombrables machines, bâtiments et objets dans un Internet des objets implique un réseau radio fiable, économique et économe en énergie.

Urs Binder

Lorsque l’on évoque l’Internet des objets (IoT), on imagine habituellement l’incontournable réfrigérateur, qui commande automatiquement du lait – ou tout autre gadget connecté à Internet, dont l’intérêt semble assez peu marqué.

 

La ville intelligente

Ceci dit, l’«Internet of Things» est tout sauf un simple amusement. Les appareils, machines, bâtiments de toute nature, de la boîte aux lettres au vélo, dotés de capteurs et connectés à d’autres à l’aide de services logiciels centraux constituent la base de la ville de demain: la «Smart City» réagit intelligemment aux conditions ambiantes, optimise par exemple le trafic et contrôle le statut des extincteurs à eau et le niveau de remplissage des conteneurs de recyclage. Il peut s’agir de capteurs de température, de compteurs d’énergie, de capteurs de proximité ou de rotation. La Smart City, ce sont également des thermostats, des commutateurs, des interrupteurs crépusculaires, des pompes, des vannes, des moteurs et autres éléments techniques, pilotables à distance et intervenant dans des circuits réglables.

 

Tout est connecté

Pour que tout ceci fonctionne, les appareils et les bâtiments ont besoin d’une connexion Internet stable. La mise en place de cette dernière doit être le plus économique possible, présenter la portée maximum et consommer un minimum d’énergie. Le câblage n’est pas une option, pour une simple raison de coûts, et les appareils mobiles n’autorisent pas non plus le câblage. Le WLAN est certes avantageux mais il a une portée limitée – il s’agit en effet de mettre en réseau un nombre très élevé d’éléments distribués sur toute une zone urbaine. La radio mobile a besoin à son tour d’une carte SIM coûteuse pour chaque appareil individuel et consomme une quantité d’énergie relativement importante – ce qui n’est pas du tout optimal pour les capteurs alimentés par une batterie. Le WLAN et la radio mobile offrent en revanche une bande passante élevée.

 

Le réseau LPN permet des économies d’énergie et de coûts

Certaines opérations comme les mesures de température périodiques se contentent toutefois de volumes de données réduits et n’ont pas besoin de vitesses de transfert importantes. Pour ces applications, un Low Power Wide Area Network (LPN ou LPWAN), utilisant des fréquences dans la plage radio et offrant une puissance d’émission très faible, est adapté. Plusieurs technologies LPN comme Sigfox peuvent être utilisées ponctuellement. Un standard développé par la LoRa Alliance, bien étayé, se généralise de plus en plus: le LoRaWAN utilise la bande SRD non soumise à concession, permet des communications de données bidirectionnelles entre 0,3 et 50 kbit/s et autorise une portée de 2 à 15 km environ, en fonction de l’environnement. L’ensemble des échanges de données est chiffré avec la technologie AES 128 bits. Un module LoRaWAN pour capteurs ne coûte que quelques francs et a une consommation très faible permettant une autonomie de la batterie pouvant atteindre cinq ans.

«La première Smart City de Suisse est la ville de Saint-Gall» 

La première Smart City de Suisse pourrait être la ville de Saint-Gall. Les services industriels de cette ville ont testé pendant un semestre un LPN basé sur LoRaWAN, dans le cadre d’une coopération avec Effectas et IBM Research Rüschlikon. Le résultat était concluant: le Parlement de cette ville a soumis début juillet 2016 un projet de réseau Low Power Network pour couvrir la totalité de la ville.

 

Swisscom est à fond dans ce projet. L’entreprise a rejoint début 2015 la LoRa Alliance et lancé dès 2015 des installations pilote à Zurich et à Genève. Swisscom Broadcast a construit la première station de réception au sommet sur l’Üetliberg. Alexandra Reich, EVP Solution Center Mobility Enterprise Customer au sein de Swisscom, précise que plus de 35 stations sont actuellement en service. L’objectif d’ici fin 2016, est d’assurer un accès LPN à l’extérieur à au moins 80% de la population. Ceci implique le déploiement de près de 300 stations de réception dans toute la Suisse. Le coût lié à la construction du réseau reste limité car il est souvent possible d’utiliser les stations existantes de Swisscom. Le coût global pour la fourniture de base devrait être inférieur à 10 millions de francs.

«Le LPN est la solution pour l’Internet des objets»

Applications diverses

L’intérêt pour le réseau LPN de Swisscom est très important. Plus de 100 entreprises, administrations et hautes écoles ont manifesté leur intérêt pour le test pilote. Par ailleurs, de nombreux projets concrets ont vu le jour. Deux exemples:

 

FeedbackNow offre une solution en temps réel permettant de déterminer la satisfaction de la clientèle directement sur le point de vente. Les clients peuvent donner leur opinion sur la qualité du service à l’aide de la «Smiley Box». Cet appareil de vote est basé sur la technologie LoRa – ceci constitue pour FeedbackNow un avantage concurrentiel sur le plan des coûts d’installation et d’exploitation..

 

«My Lock» de Swissprime Technologies est une solution de fermeture intelligente pour les serrures de portes, les meubles, les boîtes aux lettres, etc. Les serrures sont pilotées par smartphone via Bluetooth ou NFC. La transmission des opérations entre la serrure et le Cloud et l’accès à distance font appel à la technologie LoRa dans un premier prototype.

 

Swisscom offre des solutions clés en main parallèlement au réseau, aux services de conseil et à la Connectivity Management Platform (CMP) LPN basée sur le Web. On peut citer comme exemple une solution de «Smart Parking» pour les exploitants de parkings: les différents parkings sont dotés de capteurs radio et transmettent le statut d’occupation en LPN. La plateforme de gestion traite les données et les présente au système de signalisation des parkings ou à une application mobile, de manière à résoudre le problème de la recherche interminable d’une place de stationnement grâce à une localisation ciblée.

 

Plus dʼarticles Focus

L’idée

Saint-Gall est smart et Siri met la pression

Saint-Gall est prêt pour l’Internet des objets et Siri prend ses marques sur le Bureau.

Intelligence artificielle

L’intelligence artificielle se met en réseau

Les systèmes et les réseaux IA entrent dans les foyers et les entreprises.

Wolf en phase de test

La réalité virtuelle ou l’homme aux lunettes de plongée

Wolf teste la réalité virtuelle. Celle-ci change du tout au tout, selon que l’on est dedans ou dehors.