The outsider

Marcel F. Komminoth is Mr. Custombike. He runs one of the biggest biker communities in the world. Despite being an outsider, he is now getting involved in the fintech market with a new solution. A portrait of an outsider.

Hansjörg Honegger

Skip in seconds
seconds to go

The meeting at the financial market supervisory authority FINMA is going well, the concept for the duty of care makes sense, the striking tattoos are concealed by the dapper business suit. Marcel F. Komminoth is feeling confident about obtaining the approval for his transaction concept. “We then exchanged business cards, when I suddenly realised: Mine has a skull and crossbones on it! I thought that everything’s over now.” The dream of a transaction platform of his own using digital identification would be over, the dream of complete independence gone.


Komminoth waited 354 days, not knowing whether his biker's insignia had seen his dreams turn to ashes. “I was extremely nervous.” The wait proved to be worthwhile: The native of Grisons is now a major player, not just to more than two million Facebook followers as Mr. CUSTOMBIKE, but also someone who is making an impression in the highly regulated fintech business. With tenacity and the right network, he now has a payment solution that covers all three pillars: Security for retailers and customers, full compliance and digital identification.


The path to this solution, which is currently being introduced at one of the four biggest banks in Switzerland, was however a long one, and as intricate as the tattoos on Komminoth’s arms. First and foremost came his “spirit” for motorcycles, for speed, for design. He converted his first moped at age 12. “Even then, I didn’t have much interest in cookie-cutter machines, I just had to convert it for my own taste.” Design without speed wasn’t an option even then, and the Cilo was pimped to do around 90 km/h. Komminoth never got caught back then, and never got involved in an accident. “I was lucky, I couldn’t afford a helmet back then.”


The courage to take risks didn’t land the 44-year-old Komminoth in a wheelchair like so many others, and instead soon found himself pouring his energy into business. After being an apprentice electrician (“I’ve never been so bored in my life”), he sold real estate and realised: I can do this! He is a salesman, can tell a good story and win people over with his charming and open manner. While he didn’t really like his real estate job, he learned a lot and earned a lot more. He used his network, broadened it and was soon noticed by the right people. He received an offer to start working at Credit Suisse as an agent to recruit wealthy new customers. A whole new world for the biker. “I bought my very first suit for the job interview.” He earned good money in the banking business over the next few years, and the former apprentice electrician kept learning, absorbing information like a sponge, while maintaining his network and remaining faithful to his passion for big motorbikes.


He built his dream machines in his spare time. Customised bikes, fantastic motorcycles, overhauled right down to the chassis – made lower, with new handlebars, all colours and shapes. Everything that wasn't run-of-the-mill. He posted pictures of his creations on Facebook as Mr. CUSTOMBIKE. He was proud to soon have 2,000 followers.


“In 2010 I had the idea of setting up a worldwide motorcycle platform. I prepared a business plan that retains its validity today,” Komminoth explains. He worked, made his bikes, helped his brother-in-law, who runs a motorcycle workshop, in the office and was also there for his family – two children and a wife who supported his plans in full. Komminoth knew: If he wanted to be successful, he needed to establish a faithful community. So Facebook and his alter ego, Mr. CUSTOMBIKE, took centre stage. “I was aiming to have 100,000 followers – I would have been extremely proud of that. Today, he adds 100,000 every month.

“Our identification system is now being introduced by a major bank”

However, it took time to get to this point, the path was rocky and paved with endless work. “I always remained authentic and posted everything myself, no-one was helping.” This isn’t a problem when you have 20,000 followers, however Komminoth’s pictures, posts and his “spirit” – his favourite word – resonated with the community. It grew. By 2015, he had 800,000 followers. He was devoting 10 to 12 hours a day to Facebook. He answered each message personally within 24 hours. Until he noticed: He couldn’t keep doing things that way. But everything was already up and running. He still posts five times a day now, and the community is happy. “You have to be authentic on social media, and that’s what most companies do wrong,” as he is convinced. This authenticity also encompasses around 22,000 motorcycle videos on custom-bike.com – all uploaded by hand. “You’ll find a film for every motorbike on our platform.”


There’s a community, the CUSTOMBIKE platform is running, but a piece was still missing from the puzzle. “There are people from all over the world buying and selling on my platform, and in some cases large sums of money are changing hands. I needed to offer a secure means of payment transaction, Paypal or credit cards just weren’t enough.” Komminoth’s idea: The sale would be processed using a payment platform and company he would create himself. The buyer orders and pays, the seller delivers and receives the money once the buyer has received the bike. Neither of them can access the money between payment and delivery. Komminoth founded CBFS – CB Financial Services AG – for this specific purpose. And realised: If he wanted to offer the requisite security, he would need to comply with regulatory provisions and offer digital identification.


“We can do what a bank does – just better and more inexpensively”

“In theory, I knew what to do. I drafted a duty-of-care concept that I submitted to FINMA.” The skull and crossbones on his CBFS business card would soon go down in history. But he didn't have the technical know-how. He found it two years ago in the form of Roland Rüttimann, a man with many years of experience in the banking industry. At the time, he provided streaming software for event managers. Komminoth quickly realised that this software satisfied his expectations of digital identification. He got Rüttimann on board and together they developed the product on which all his hopes rest today. “By offering payment processing and digital identification, we can offer the same service as a bank with a bank guarantee, just much more straightforwardly and inexpensively.” And: “Whether you’re paying for motorcycles, art or raw materials with our solution doesn’t matter. Security is provided for buyers and sellers.”


Komminoth intends to go a long way with his fintech solution. Rüttimann believes in him: “We trust each other blindly. Marcel is a real rocker: For him, honour and trust are what matters, and he’s a visionary.” Whether Komminoth really will have success in the highly competitive fintech market remains to be seen. The digital identification solution will being going live for the first customer in the next few weeks, and the CBFS solution will also be rolled out soon on his platform over the next few weeks as well. The market might react to the unconventional biker in the same way that the FINMA representative did when he handed over his business card with the skull and crossbones on it. Surprised at first, then delighted: He’d never been given such a cool card before.


Mr. Custombike

Marcel F. Komminoth, 44, is the founder and chief executive of CUSTOMBIKE AG and CB Financial Services AG. His previously worked as a real estate agent, and he spent a number of years working in different positions at Credit Suisse. Komminoth runs one of the biggest bike communities in the world with more than 2 million followers. He is married with two children and lives in Grisons.


Further articles

Low Power Network

A network for the Internet of Things

A Low Power Network makes Smart Cities and the Internet of Things possible. The first pilot projects based on a new standard are off to a good start in Switzerland.

Attracted attention

St. Gallen is smart and Siri puts the pressure on

St. Gallen is ready for the Internet of Things and Siri is holding sway over your desktop.

The Fintech Scene in Switzerland

The young upstarts

The Swiss fintech scene is jumping! Four examples of young new companies working on software for the finance industry.

Portrait

Le nouveau venu

Marcel F. Komminoth est Mr. Custombike. Il anime l’une des plus importantes communautés de motards du monde. Il a décidé à présent d’apporter au marché Fintech son regard neuf avec une nouvelle solution. Portrait d’un nouvel acteur.

Texte: Hansjörg Honegger, Vidéo/Photographie: Crafft

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

La réunion au sein de l’organe de surveillance du marché bancaire FINMA se déroule bien, le concept de l’obligation de diligence est clair, un costume raffiné a pris la place des tatouages voyants. Marcel F. Komminoth se réjouit d’obtenir l’autorisation pour son concept de transaction. «Nous avons ensuite échangé nos cartes de visite et je me suis senti très mal à l’aise: la mienne représente une tête de mort! Je me suis dit que c’en était fini». Je devrais renoncer au rêve d’avoir ma propre plateforme de transaction avec identification numérique et d’être totalement indépendant.

 

Komminoth attend alors 354 jours, sans savoir si ses insignes de motard n’avaient pas finalement détruit son rêve. «J’étais extrêmement nerveux». Mais son attente n’aura pas été vaine. Le Grison est désormais un acteur de premier plan, pas uniquement comme Mr. CUSTOMBIKE, avec plus de deux millions d’abonnés sur Facebook, mais également comme quelqu’un avec lequel il faut compter, dans l’activité Fintech extrêmement régulée. Grâce à sa ténacité et au bon réseau sur lequel il s’appuie, il dispose à présent d’une solution de paiement reposant sur trois piliers: sécurité pour les acheteurs et les vendeurs, compliance pleine et identification numérique.

 

L’approche visant à cette solution, qui est introduite dans l’une des quatre principales banques de Suisse, était longue et aussi peu voyante que les tatouages sur le bras de Komminoth. Il s’agissait tout d’abord et avant tout du «Spirit» pour les motards, la vitesse, le design. À 12 ans, il a transformé son premier boguet. «À l’époque, je n’étais pas satisfait des machines disponibles dans le commerce, et il me fallait les transformer selon mes goûts.» Le design sans la vitesse n’était jamais une option, le Cilo a été trafiqué pour atteindre 90 km/h environ. Komminoth n’a jamais été pincé, et il n’a pas eu d’accident. «J’ai eu de la chance, je ne pouvais pas me payer de casque à l’époque».

 

Désormais âgé de 44 ans, Komminoth n’a pas perdu le goût du risque en finissant dans une chaise roulante mais il a rapidement mobilisé son énergie dans le business. Après un apprentissage d’électricien («la période la plus ennuyeuse de ma vie»), il a vendu des biens immobiliers et a alors constaté que c’était dans ses cordes! C’est un vendeur, il sait raconter des histoires et persuader ses interlocuteurs avec ses manières charmantes et ouvertes. Même si son travail dans l’immobilier ne lui plaisait pas, il a beaucoup appris et a gagné encore plus d’argent. Il a utilisé son réseau, l’a développé et a rapidement été remarqué par les bonnes personnes. Il a eu l’opportunité de passer à Credit Suisse, en tant que prospecteur auprès de nouveaux clients aisés. Un nouvel univers pour le motard. «Pour la première fois, il m’a fallu acheter un costume pour l’entretien d’embauche». Au cours des années qui ont suivi, il a bien gagné sa vie dans le secteur bancaire. L’ancien apprenti électricien a poursuivi sa formation, en assimilant tout, à la manière d’une éponge, il a entretenu son réseau – tout en restant fidèle à sa passion pour les gros cubes.

 

Son temps libre était consacré à transformer ses machines de rêve. Des Customized Bikes, ces motos fantastiques, entièrement modifiées jusqu’au châssis – surbaissées, avec de nouveaux guidons, de toutes les couleurs et toutes les formes. Tout, à condition de sortir de la normalité. Il a partagé sur Facebook les photos de ses créations, sous l’identité de Mr. CUSTOMBIKE. Il a rapidement totalisé 2000 abonnés, ce dont il n’est pas peu fier.

 

«En 2010, j’ai imaginé mettre en place une plateforme mondiale sur la moto. J’ai fait un plan d’affaires, qui reste encore valable aujourd’hui», explique Komminoth. Il travaillait, construisait ses bikes, aidait son beau-frère, qui a un garage moto, au bureau et trouvait encore le temps pour sa famille – deux enfants et sa femme, qui le soutient pleinement dans ses projets. Komminoth était convaincu que s’il voulait réussir, il devait constituer une communauté fidèle. C’est ainsi que Facebook et son personnage fictif, Mr. CUSTOMBIKE, ont pris le dessus. «Mon objectif était de trouver 100 000 abonnés, cela aurait été une fierté immense. Aujourd’hui, il obtient ce nombre d’abonnés en un mois environ.

«Dans les médias sociaux, il faut être authentique, la plupart des entreprises ne savent pas s’y prendre»

La tâche était fastidieuse et longue, elle comptait de nombreux obstacles et a nécessité énormément de travail. «J’ai toujours été authentique et j’ai tout publié moi-même, je ne me suis jamais fait aider». Avec 20 000 abonnés, ce n’est pas encore un problème insurmontable, mais Komminoth a saisi l’esprit de la communauté, avec ses photos, ses publications et son «Spirit», comme il aime à le désigner. Une communauté qui n’a cessé de croître. En 2015, elle totalisait 800 000 abonnés. Il consacrait 10 à 12 heures par jour à Facebook. Il répondait en personne à chaque message sous 24 heures. Puis est venu le constat: ce n’est pas comme ça que ça marche. Mais la machine était déjà lancée. Il publie aujourd’hui cinq fois par jour et la communauté est satisfaite. Sa certitude: «Dans les médias sociaux, il faut être authentique, la plupart des entreprises ne savent pas s’y prendre». Cette authenticité, c’est aussi près de 22 000 vidéos de motos sur custom-bike.com – toutes réalisées à la main. «Chez nous, il y a un film pour chaque moto».

 

La communauté a trouvé son rythme, la plateforme CUSTOMBIKE fonctionne, mais il manquait encore une pièce du puzzle. «Ma plateforme réunit des vendeurs et des acheteurs du monde entier et les sommes en jeu sont parfois très élevées. Il a donc été nécessaire d’assurer plus de sécurité dans le trafic des paiements, Paypal ou les cartes de crédit ne suffisaient plus.» L’idée de Komminoth: organiser l’achat à l’aide d’une plateforme de paiement et d’une entreprise dédiées. L’acheteur commande et paie, le vendeur livre et reçoit l’argent lorsque l’acheteur a reçu la moto. Ni l’un ni l’autre n’a accès à l’argent entre le versement et la livraison. Komminoth a créé à cette fin la CBFS – CB Financial Services AG. Il a alors fait un constat: pour offrir la sécurité requise, il devait respecter la réglementation et proposer une identification numérique.

«Nous pouvons faire ce que fait une banque – mais mieux et moins cher»

«Je savais en théorie ce qu’il fallait faire. J’ai développé un concept d’obligation de diligence, que j’ai présenté à la FINMA.» La tête de mort sur sa carte de visite CBFS devait rapidement entrer dans l’histoire. Il lui manquait toutefois l’expertise technique. Il l’a trouvée il y a deux ans, en la personne de Roland Rüttimann, qui avait une grande expérience de la banque. Il proposait alors un logiciel de streaming pour les organisateurs d’événements. Komminoth a vite observé que ce logiciel répondait aux contraintes imposées par l’identification numérique. C’est ainsi qu’il a sollicité Rüttimann et qu’ils ont développé ensemble le produit sur lequel reposent aujourd’hui tous les espoirs. «Notre offre de procédure de versement et d’identification numérique nous permet de proposer la même chose qu’une banque avec une garantie bancaire, tout en étant beaucoup plus simple et moins cher.» Autre point: «Peu importe que notre solution soit utilisée pour payer des motos, de l’art ou des matières premières. Le vendeur et l’acheteur sont protégés.»

 

Komminoth a de grands projets avec sa solution Fintech. Rüttimann croit en lui: «Nous avons une confiance absolue l’un en l’autre. Marcel est un authentique rocker: ce qui compte pour lui, c’est l’honneur, la confiance. C’est un visionnaire». L’avenir dira si Komminoth réussira réellement dans ce marché extrêmement concurrentiel. La solution d’identification numérique sera utilisée en direct par les clients dans quelques semaines. La solution CBFS sera elle aussi déployée prochainement sur sa plateforme. Qui sait, peut-être le marché réagira-t-il au motard peu conventionnel comme l’avait fait le représentant FINMA en recevant la carte de visite à la tête de mort. Tout d’abord surpris puis satisfait: il n’avait encore jamais reçu de carte aussi originale.

 

Mr. Custombike

Marcel F. Komminoth, est, à 44 ans, le créateur et le directeur de CUSTOMBIKE AG et de CB Financial Services AG. Il était précédemment agent immobilier et a occupé différents postes au sein de Credit Suisse. Komminoth anime l’une des plus importantes communautés sur la moto dans le monde, forte de plus de 2 millions d’abonnés. Il est marié, a deux enfants et vit dans le canton des Grisons.

www.custom-bike.com

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Low Power Network

Un réseau pour l’Internet des objets

Un réseau Low Power Network pour les Smart Cities et l’Internet des objets. La Suisse assiste au développement des premiers projets pilote conçus sur un nouveau standard.

L’idée

Saint-Gall est smart et Siri met la pression

Saint-Gall est prêt pour l’Internet des objets et Siri prend ses marques sur le Bureau.

Scène Fintech suisse

Les jeunes fauves

La scène Fintech suisse est vivante! Quatre exemples de jeunes entreprises s’intéressant aux logiciels de finance.