Attracted attention

St. Gallen is smart and Siri puts the pressure on


StartUp Challenge

These start-ups will bring Swisscom to Silicon Valley

Lively yet characterised by extreme concentration – this is what the atmosphere was like in the Digital Lab at the EPFL in Lausanne on 16 August. No surprises there! The Top 10 participants in the Swisscom StartUp Challenge all started off with the goal of emerging as the winner. 

I am proud of the five winners, who will be making their way to Silicon Valley in September, together with Swisscom: The winners, from left to right: Hoël Guerin, Xsensio / Phil Lojacono, Advanon / Matthias Dantone, Fashwell / Lisa Pollaro, Nanolive / Patrick Barnert, Qumram / Mathias Wegmüller, Qumram / centre: Roger Wüthrich-Hasenböhler 

Advanon is making it possible for SMEs to finance their outstanding accounts straightforwardly, quickly and transparently.
Fashwell is developing an app which finds the user’s favourite fashion products from online images.
Nanolive uses microchips to make three-dimensional research into living cells possible.
Qumram uses big data to help companies to meet their legal accountability obligations, to uncover fraud and to optimise the customer experience.
Xsensio has developed a wearable that uses the biochemical information on the surface of our skin to obtain information about our state of health.


Internet of Things

Smart City St. Gallen

The pilot project “Smartnet” launched by the city of St. Gallen has been successful thus far. This is why the city parliament is now being asked to approve its full implementation. The Sankt Gallen municipal electrical utilities (SSGW) are confident that this will be viable within just a few months should the politicians make a decision in favour of it. This would make St. Gallen the first Swiss city with a city-wide wireless network specially designed for the so-called Internet of Things – in the most inexpensive and energy-efficient manner possible. Specifically, this would make traffic management much more efficient. Management of the city’s rubbish bins would also be more efficient should these be fitted with networked sensors that indicate the fill level.

Sankt Gallen municipal electrical utilities



More Siri for everyone

This year’s annual Apple developer event in San Francisco was, in fact, rather disappointing – at least for all those who were expecting that the good people of Cupertino would, once again, be presenting something “revolutionary”. The fact is, however, that the virtual language-based user interface Siri is to assume a much stronger presence in the future operating system versions made by the Apple engineers. This applies both to the range of functions for the mobile iOS 10 as well as the new OSX successor, macOS Sierra for desktop and notebook computers. Apple is therefore releasing the kernel and Siri code for third-party developers for this purpose. This is, more likely than not, a good idea, however is leaving a sour taste in the mouths of many Apple aficionados. In any case, the first results will not be visible before autumn, when the final versions officially become available. Those burning with curiosity will, for the time being, have to make do with the recently activated Beta versions, available from However, some caution should be exercised – as is always the case with Beta versions, which tend to conceal a large number of bugs.

Apple Beta Software-Programm OS 10 Beta New Features Hands on: MacOS Sierra



Microsoft is becoming “social”

OK, so Microsoft has already swallowed up Skype and has a highly diversified e-mail program in the form of Outlook. However, questions are still arising in relation to the recently announced acquisition of the job and business social network LinkedIn. Stya Nadella, in his role as CEO of the software giant from Seattle, launched the slogan “Mobile first, Cloud first” at the presentation of the $26 billion deal – the priciest takeover in the history of Microsoft. It sounds good, but even well-informed observers are puzzling over what it actually means. When its comes to mobility, the whole endeavour will make sense should Microsoft succeed in combining LinkedIn contacts with the aforementioned Outlook and Skype contacts in a straightforward, user-friendly way. That would already be a huge gain for business users who are on the move. Exactly how Microsoft intends to become the first in the cloud as well – in other words, ousting Amazon from this coveted position – is the subject of widely dissenting opinions. For the time being, scepticism seems to be prevailing in this regard.


Self-driving cars

Postal vehicles go automatic

First presented at the end of 2015, the two self-driving buses from PostAuto Switzerland in Sion are now in operation. For the first time, they are now able to drive around in public with passengers – however, not all legal provisions have been clarified exhaustively and regulated. Given the recent accidents involving Tesla, it is not unlikely that self-driving vehicles will suffer a practical, and also legal, setback. However, this will change almost nothing about the fact that the corresponding technology – based on networked AI – will continue to make advances. In Sion, at least, the journeys are being carried out with the presence of a safety driver for the time being. Furthermore, the buses can be stopped by remote control at any time, should the supervisory staff in the control centre consider this necessary.

L’idée

Saint-Gall est smart et Siri met la pression

01

StartUp Challenge

Swisscom accompagne ces StartUps dans la Silicon Valley

C’est dans une atmosphère vivante et très concentrée que s’est tenue la rencontre du 16 août au Digital Lab à l’EPFL de Lausanne. Il n’y a rien de surprenant à cela! Les startups du Top 10 du Swisscom StartUp Challenge se sont toutes présentées avec la ferme intention de remporter la victoire.

Je suis fière des cinq lauréats qui accompagneront Swisscom en septembre dans la Silicon Valley: Les gagnants (de gauche à droite): Hoël Guerin, Xsensio / Phil Lojacono, Advanon / Matthias Dantone, Fashwell / Lisa Pollaro, Nanolive / Patrick Barnert, Qumram / Mathias Wegmüller, Qumram / Au centre: Roger Wüthrich-Hasenböhler

Xsensio a développé une technologie portable utilisant les informations biochimiques de notre épiderme pour renseigner sur notre état de santé.

Advanon permet aux PME de financer de manière simple, rapide et transparente leurs factures en cours.

Fashwell développe une application permettant de trouver en ligne ses articles de mode préférés à partir d’images.

Nanolive permet d’étudier en 3D les cellules vivantes à l’aide d’un microscope.

Qumram utilise le Big Data pour aider les entreprises à s’acquitter de leurs obligations réglementaires de certification, à détecter les fraudes et à optimiser l’expérience client.

Penny Schiffer travaille en tant que conseillère et mentor pour les start-up, elle siège dans différents jurys. Elle est constamment à la recherche d’innovations pour Swisscom et se déplace donc régulièrement à travers la Silicon Valley en tant que trend scout.

04

Internet of Things

Smart City Saint-Gall

Le projet pilote «Smartnet» de la ville de Saint-Gall s’est déroulé de manière satisfaisante. Il revient désormais au Parlement de cette ville de donner son accord à l’extension complète. Les services industriels de la ville de Saint-Gall (SGSW) ne doutent pas que celle-ci pourra être réalisée dans un délai de quelques mois après une décision positive

des représentants politiques. Saint-Gall sera ainsi la première ville suisse dotée d’un réseau de radiocommunication à couverture globale, conçu spécialement pour l’Internet des objets – et qui plus est, économique et efficace énergiquement. Ceci serait possible concrètement grâce à une gestion sensiblement plus efficace du trafic. Cette amélioration s’appliquerait par ailleurs à la gestion des poubelles de la ville, après les avoir dotées de capteurs indiquant leur niveau de remplissage.

Services industriels de Saint-Gall

02

Apple

Plus de Siri pour tous

L’événement annuel organisé par Apple à San Francisco a été plutôt décevant – en tout cas pour tous ceux qui espéraient une annonce révolutionnaire de la part des gens de Cupertino. Le fait est toutefois que l’Assistant vocal virtuel Siri doit être sensiblement étendu dans les prochaines versions du système d’exploitation à la pomme. Tant en termes de fonctionnalités pour le système mobile iOS 10 que pour le successeur d’OSX macOS Sierra destiné aux ordinateurs de bureau et portables. Pour ce faire, Apple a décidé de libérer le code du noyau et de Siri auprès des développeurs tiers. C’est sans doute une bonne idée, même si elle ne manque pas de choquer nombre d’inconditionnels de la marque à la pomme. Dans tous les cas, les premiers résultats seront visibles au plus tôt à l’automne prochain, avec la disponibilité des versions finales. Les plus curieux devront pour l’instant se contenter des versions beta récemment libérées et disponibles sous beta.apple.com. Des versions à prendre avec des pincettes comme toute version beta, en raison du nombre de bugs traditionnellement élevé.

Apple Beta Software-Program

iOS 10 Beta New Features

Hands on: MacOS Sierra

03

LinkedIn

Microsoft devient «social»

Microsoft a bien avalé Skype et dispose avec Outlook d’un logiciel de messagerie très largement utilisé. Ceci amène toutefois à se poser des questions sur le rachat annoncé dernièrement du réseau social d’offres d’emploi et professionnel LinkedIn. Satya Nadella, le CEO de l’éditeur de logiciels de Seattle, a lancé le slogan «Mobile first, Cloud first» lors de la présentation du deal à 26 milliards de dollars – le rachat le plus coûteux de toute l’histoire du géant Microsoft. Un slogan qui semble positif mais dont la signification ne manque pas d’interpeller les connaisseurs. Concernant les usages mobiles, l’opération est certainement pertinente si Microsoft parvient à créer de manière simple et conviviale le lien entre les contacts LinkedIn et les contacts Outlook et Skype. Ce serait déjà un plus pour les utilisateurs commerciaux lors de leurs déplacements. Les avis diffèrent sur la manière dont Microsoft parviendra à être le numéro un dans le Cloud, et donc à reprendre cette position enviée à Amazon. Pour l’heure, l’opération est loin d’avoir convaincu les observateurs.

05

Véhicules autonomes

PostAuto mise à fond sur l’autonomie

Après une présentation fin 2015, les deux bus autonomes de PostAuto Suisse sont en service à Sion. Ils viennent d’être autorisés à transporter des passagers dans l’espace public, même si les dispositions légales restent à clarifier et à réglementer. Suite aux récents accidents subis par Tesla, il n’est pas exclu que les véhicules autonomes connaissent un ralentissement pratique voire légal. Toutefois, ceci ne changera rien aux progrès que continuera à faire la technologie basée sur l’IA en réseau. À Sion en tout cas, les courses nécessiteront la présence d’un conducteur de sécurité. Par ailleurs, les bus pourront être immobilisés à distance dès lors que le personnel de surveillance le jugera nécessaire.