Give a T-shirt as a gift!

Does the crowd mean the end of capitalism or is it more a trick to increase exploitation? Or is the whole thing really a dream?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

“Finally! Capitalism is on its way out. This crowd thing will change everything. The banks have served their purpose, financial capital is being shared out among the working masses and knowledge and research is being crowdsourced and opened up. Sugar?,” asked Karl Marx and poured the tea. He didn’t really like Vladimir, but neither of them had many friends anymore, so Karl and Vladi occasionally met for tea under a cloud that was lit by a perpetual sunset.


“Yes please!,” Lenin replied and looked angrily at the pink cloud. “You’ll always be a dreamer. This crowd thing is just a trick to increase exploitation. And anyway: power grows out of the barrel of a gun.”


The incorrectly attributed quote awakened me from my pink cloudy dream. Should I make an appointment with my therapist?


On the other hand, maybe my subconscious was trying to draw my attention to an economic megatrend? Banks need to think about their future if people are starting to procure loans and risk capital on an Internet platform from just anybody. Taxi companies, hotel chains, tourist offices, market research companies, bicycle courier associations, development departments and cohorts of well-paid software testers and documenters: all of these are unnecessary because everything can be crowdsourced and “share-economy-ed”.

“This crowd thing is just a trick to increase exploitation.”

Your company needs to develop new products? Ask your customer crowd and you can save at least half of your expensive developers. You need to provide a large number of customers with support? Form a user community, give the user who solves the most customer problems a T-shirt, and your support costs will sink. You have developed a mobile payment solution and now need to test it? No problem: give every test user 100 francs and they will occupy themselves with your app in their free time for weeks. You want to produce a film, write a book, become the next Bill Gates or provide a hip new housing estate with vegan food by bike? Forget the months of working on a business plan, the degrading trips to the banks, where tie-wearing youngsters sweep your sure-fire venture from the table. Publish your project on the crowdfunding platform of your choice and make sure you select the right one. The vegan food bike is best placed with the hipsters on RonOrp, the app with global market potential is most at home on the crowd platform provided by a bank platform’s VC platform, the start-up for a small brewery in beautiful Passau on and the film, of course, with


The psychiatrist reassured me: “Dreaming about Karl Marx is not a symptom of illness. At least not always.” Relieved, I thought: “Karl, you are a dreamer.”

Christoph Hugenschmidt

founded the online newspaper eleven years ago and works for it as a journalist and publisher. The 57 year old is half glad that decent journalism cannot be crowdsourced.

Further Focus articles

Title topic: Collectively creative

The crowd goes professional

Crowdsourcing is developing from a marketing tool into a strategic innovation tool and – if used correctly – has a real leverage effect.


Hacks as a challenge, dance as a passion

At a hackathon, Marica Bertarini easily bashes out hundreds of lines of code on her keyboard for 40 hours – with style, heart and soul.


“Co-creation also means giving up control”

According to Frank Seifert and Thomas Robinson, Customer Experience specialists at Swisscom, companies need to open up to customers if they are to develop good products.

Chronique

Offrez un t-shirt!

La crowd signifiera-t-elle la fin du capitalisme ou, au contraire, est-ce un moyen de plus pour se faire exploiter? Ou tout n’est-il au final qu’un rêve?

Christoph Hugenschmidt

«Nous y voilà! Le capitalisme va rendre son dernier souffle. Cette histoire de crowd change tout. Les banques ont fait leur temps, le capital financier est redistribué entre les travailleurs, les connaissances ainsi que la recherche sont crowdsourcées et ouvertes. Du sucre?», demande Karl Marx, en servant le thé. Il n’apprécie pas vraiment Vladimir, mais comme aucun d’eux n’a plus beaucoup d’amis, ils se retrouvent parfois pour un thé, sur un nuage rougi par le soleil couchant.

 

«Oui, merci!», lui répond Lénine, en regardant avec amertume les petits nuages roses. «Tu es et tu resteras un doux rêveur. Cette histoire de crowd n’est qu’un moyen de plus pour se faire exploiter. Et n’oublie pas que le pouvoir vient des canons de fusil.»

 

Cette phrase, que Lénine n’a jamais pu prononcer, me tira de mon rêve. Dois-je prendre rendez-vous chez mon thérapeute?

 

A moins que mon subconscient n’ait voulu attirer mon attention sur une mégatendance économique? Les banques ont du souci à se faire si leurs clients commencent à se procurer crédits et capital-risque auprès de n’importe qui par le biais d’une plate-forme Internet. Entreprises de taxi, chaînes hôtelières, offices de tourisme, entreprises d’étude de marché, coopératives de messagerie à vélo, services de développement et cohortes de testeurs de logiciels bien payés: leurs jours sont bel et bien comptés si tout peut être crowdsourcé et share-économisé.

 

«Cette histoire de crowd n’est qu’un moyen de plus pour se faire exploiter.»

Votre entreprise doit développer de nouveaux produits? Sollicitez votre crowd clients et économisez au moins la moitié des coûts de développement. Vous devez proposer un service d’assistance? Formez une communauté d’utilisateurs et offrez un t-shirt à l’utilisateur qui aura résolu le plus de problèmes clients: vos coûts d’assistance baisseront forcément. Vous avez développé une solution de paiement mobile et devez la tester? Pas de problème: donnez 100 francs à chaque testeur et, durant son temps libre, il passera votre appli au crible. Vous voulez produire un film, écrire un livre, devenir le prochain Bill Gates, faire livrer à vélo des plats végétaliens à un quartier branché? Oubliez les mois de peaufinage de votre business plan et les rendez-vous humiliants avec les banques, où des jeunots en cravate condamnent d’emblée votre projet à l’échec. Publiez votre projet sur la plate-forme de crowdfunding de votre choix, après l’avoir minutieusement choisie. Le projet vélo pour végétaliens plutôt auprès de RonOrp, l’appli qui va conquérir le monde sur la plate-forme crowd d’une plate-forme VC d’une plate-forme bancaire, la petite brasserie dynamique dans la jolie région de Passau sur krautstarter.de et le film, bien entendu, sur wemakeit.com.

 

Mon psychiatre m’a rassuré: «Rêver de Karl Marx n’est pas symptomatique. Enfin, pas toujours.» Karl, tu es un doux rêveur.

 

0115_Fok_Kol_Aut
Christoph Hugenschmidt

a fondé le journal en ligne inside-it.ch il y a onze ans, où il travaille comme journaliste et éditeur. A 57 ans, il est moitié content moitié triste que l’on ne puisse pas faire du journalisme utile en crowdfunding.

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Thème du titre: Le collectif créatif

La foule se professionnalise

D’outil marketing, le crowdsourcing devient outil d’innovation stratégique. Utilisé correctement, il génère un énorme effet de levier.

Portrait

Les Hackathons comme défi, la danse comme passion

Durant un hackathon, Marica Bertarini peut taper sans problème des centaines de lignes de code sur son clavier 40 heures durant – avec style et énergie.

Interview

«La co-création, c’est aussi renoncer à tout contrôler»

Pour Frank Seifert et Thomas Robinson, spécialistes en Customer Experience chez Swisscom, les entreprises doivent s’ouvrir aux clients afin de développer de bons produits.