Caught our eye

Of perfect steaks and transparent trucks

01

Personal transporter

The Segway’s long-awaited children

Sometimes revolutions take a bit longer. In 2001, the Segway Personal Transporter promised a completely new form of mobility. However, since then only around 50,000 of the self-balancing, two-wheeled city rollers that you occasionally bump into transporting tourist groups have been sold. However, with the unchecked growth of metropolises, the concept seems to be becoming more attractive again and the Segway is having children late in life, so to speak. After Toyota brought out a direct Segway competitor with the Wiglet in 2013, Volkswagen is now also launching a convenient electric scooter for the “last mile”.

The next Christmas bestseller?

The VW model may have three wheels, but it is much more compact than its parents. Various fun versions without handles are even being released, such as PhunkeeDuck, Hovertrax or Solowheel, which are poised to be great Christmas bestsellers. However, they also require a certain sense of balance. The same is also likely to apply to the futuristic Lexushover board. It hovers over metallic surfaces using the force of magnets. However, the nitrogen-cooled, superconductivity miracle is currently just a technology study that is not available to buy.

The Volkswagen scooter for the car bootThe new fun riders in a Wired test

Lexus gets the board hovering

“Thanks to flat screens on the back of trucks, drivers can avoid taking dangerous overtaking manoeuvres to gain an overview. However, whether the glass truck will ever become an on-road reality remains unclear.”

04

Project 365d

New flatmates come to the ICT flat

For 365 days Thomas (l.), Daniel (m.) and Johannes lived together in the Swisscom flat share and, during this time, they had to get on both as flatmates and work colleagues. During their time in the “Flat share of the future” they tested numerous Smart Home products and networked their household. Some things were successful but other things went wrong.

Among other things, the three young professionals in their first job were able to make contacts and think of their life after the flat share. Both Thomas and Daniel have found a permanent position at Swisscom. Johannes has opted for a job at a start-up in Zurich, where he will be involved in creating an online market place. “As this is a joint project between Swisscom and Coop, I am not finding ‘goodbye’ quite so hard,” adds the IT specialist.

Explore the many options

The young men see the previous year in a positive light and feel they have the necessary experience for their new tasks. On 1 October new flatmates will move into the ICT flat share for the project, and the three have already met them. They hope that their successors will be able to create a better connection between the themes behind the flat share projects and innovation projects within the company: “By doing this, the project could offer even greater potential,” is the opinion of the designer Thomas.

The advice the three give to the new flatmates – Abi, Oli and George – is to approach the project with an open and active mind. “Have the courage to try out new things, make lots of mistakes, learn from them and explore the many options creatively” is how Daniel encourages his successors.

All contributions can be read again on the blogThe flat share’s Instagram channel

02

Barbecuing for nerds

The ultimate high-tech smoker

No more burnt or dried-out steaks. This is what Harvard engineering students resolved to achieve, and built the ultimate smoker. Thanks to its optimised shape, which allows air to circulate in a similar way to a nuclear power plant’s cooling tower, and clever algorithms controlled by a Raspberry Pi, the temperature of the meat remains optimal for hours. Whether millions of hobby barbecue experts will take pleasure in it is another matter. After all, the BBQ that they celebrate so much is reduced to child’s play with the Hightech Smoker.

Cooling tower dynamics for the perfect steak

03

Safety truck

The glass truck

Trucks are large and they slow down private transport. This tests the patience of some car drivers, tempting them into risky overtaking manoeuvres. The South Korean electronics giant wants to bring an end to the view-blocking trucks with its display technology. This is done with four large combined screens on the back of the Samsung Safety Truck. They show the drivers behind the truck what is happening and moving on the road in front. This way, there is no need for the dangerous overtaking manoeuvres that were once required to see what’s out ahead. However, whether the glass truck will ever become an on-road reality remains unclear. For now, it only exists in an Argentinean advertising film from the Leo Burnett agency.

The Safety Truck advertising spot

05

Minirobot

Robot origami for use in the body

A robot does things independently. Now a new minibot from MIT in the US and the Technical University of Munich is making this principle its “motto for life”, so to speak. Not only can it swim, move objects and walk across skin – the barely one centimetre sized machine also folds itself into its active shape and then dissolves once its work is complete. This is made possible by a three-layer construction, in which a PVC layer is sandwiched between two polystyrene or paper layers. Heating causes the PVC to contract, and in the process the shape is folded automatically based on the cutting pattern. A magnet produces the movement. To dissolve itself, the cute crawling machine goes off to an acetone bath. Only the magnet is left over. The researchers are now planning a water-soluble version. In addition, they want to reduce the size of the construction even further. The aim is medical minirobots that can be specifically activated within the body and then dismantled.

The sweet origami bot in action

En lumière

Steaks parfaits et camions transparents

01

Personal Transporter

Les enfants tardifs du Segway

Les révolutions se laissent parfois un peu de temps. En 2001, le Segway Personal Transporter promettait une mobilité radicalement nouvelle. Depuis, seuls 50’000 de ces moyens de locomotion urbains à balancement sur deux roues se sont vendus, que l’on voit de temps à autre utilisés par des groupes de touristes. Avec la croissance ininterrompue des métropoles, le concept semble cependant connaître un regain d’intérêt et le Segway donne naissance à des «enfants tardifs». Après le lancement du Winglet, concurrent direct du Segway, par Toyota dès 2013, Volkswagen lance elle aussi un gyropode électrique maniable pour progresser habilement et rapidement sur le «dernier kilomètre».

La prochaine meilleure vente de Noël?

Si le modèle de VW possède trois roues, il est bien plus compact que ses prédécesseurs. Les diverses versions fantaisistes à la PhunkeeDuck, Hovertrax ou Solowheel sont mêmes proposées sans guidon et appelées à devenir de grands succès des ventes à Noël. Mais tous supposent un certain sens de l’équilibre. Cela devrait aussi être le cas du Lexushover Board futuriste. A l’aide de forces magnétiques, il flotte au-dessus des surfaces métalliques. Cette petite merveille de supraconductivité refroidie à l’azote n’est toutefois qu’une étude technologique qui n’est pas encore proposée à la vente.

Le gyropode Volkswagen pour le coffre de voiture Les nouveaux Fun Riders dans le test Wired

Lexus fait flotter la planche

«Grâce aux écrans plats à l’arrière des camions, les automobilistes peuvent éviter les déboîtements dangereux effectués pour estimer la situation. On ne sait encore si les camions de verre seront un jour réalité dans le trafic.»

04

Project 365d

Après la colocation TIC

Pendant 365 jours, Thomas (g.), Daniel (m.) et Johannes ont dû se supporter en tant que colocataires mais aussi collègues de travail dans la colocation Swisscom. Durant cette période passée dans la «colocation de l’avenir», ils ont testé de nombreux produits de Smart Home et interconnecté leur logement. Beaucoup de choses ont réussi, certaines ont échoué.

Les trois jeunes professionnels ont notamment pu nouer de nombreux contacts et réfléchir à la période suivant la sortie de la colocation. Thomas et Daniel ont trouvé un poste fixe chez Swisscom. Johannes a accepté un emploi dans une start-up zurichoise, où il aidera à concevoir une place de marché en ligne. «Comme il s’agit d’un projet commun de Swisscom et de Coop, il ne m’est pas trop difficile de partir», précise l’informaticien.

Puiser dans l’offre variée

Les jeunes gens aiment à se rappeler l’année qui vient de s’écouler et ils se sentent bien armés pour les nouvelles tâches qui les attendent. Pour la colocation TIC, dont les nouveaux habitants débuteront le projet le 1er octobre et dont ils ont déjà fait la connaissance, les trois anciens souhaitent un lien thématique plus fort des projets de la colocation avec des projets d’innovation au sein de l’entreprise: «On pourrait ainsi exploiter encore davantage le potentiel des projets», commente le designer Thomas.

Les trois ex-collègues conseillent aux nouveaux habitants Abi, Oli et George d’aborder le projet de façon ouverte et active. «Ayez le courage d’essayer des choses nouvelles, faites de nombreuses erreurs, tirez-en des enseignements et puisez dans l’offre créative», les incite Daniel.

Toutes les contributions sur le blog à relireCanal Instagram de la colocation

02

Le barbecue pour les nerds

Le smoker high-tech ultime

Dire adieu aux steaks carbonisés ou desséchés: telle était l’ambition d’étudiants ingénieurs de Harvard qui ont construit le smoker ultime. Grâce à sa forme optimisée qui fait circuler l’air automatiquement comme dans une tour de refroidissement d’une centrale nucléaire, et à des algorithmes intelligents pilotés par un Raspberry Pi, la température de la viande reste optimale pendant des heures. Reste à savoir si les millions de rois des grillades amateurs apprécieront. Avec ce smoker high-tech, l’art du barbecue qu’ils célèbrent deviendra en effet un jeu d’enfant.

Une dynamique de tour de refroidissement pour le steak parfait

03

Safety Truck

Le camion de verre

Les camions sont encombrants et ralentissent le trafic individuel. Ils mettent à rude épreuve la patience de nombreux automobilistes et conduisent régulièrement à des manœuvres de dépassement risquées. Le géant de l’électronique sud-coréen Samsung veut à présent mettre fin à la gêne visuelle que constituent les camions à l’aide de sa technologie de moniteurs. Pour y parvenir, elle a recours à quatre grands écrans plats assemblés au dos du Samsung Safety Truck. Ces écrans montrent aux automobilistes bouchonnant derrière ce qui se passe devant sur la route. Ces derniers peuvent ainsi éviter les déboîtements dangereux jusqu’ici nécessaires pour estimer la situation. On ne sait cependant si le camion de verre sera un jour réalité dans le trafic. Pour l’instant, il n’existe que dans un film publicitaire argentin de l’agence Leo Burnett.

Le spot publicitaire du Safety Truck

05

Mini-robots

Un robot origami pour la médecine

Un robot fait des choses de façon autonome. Le nouveau Mini-Bot du MIT américain et de l’Université technique de Munich fait quasiment de ce principe sa «maxime de vie». Il ne se contente pas de savoir nager, déplacer des objets et se promener sur la peau. Cette petite machine de tout juste un centimètre se déploie elle-même sous sa forme active et se replie une fois le travail accompli. Pour ce faire, elle dispose d’une structure en trois couches dans laquelle une couche de PVC est prise en sandwich entre deux feuilles de polystyrène ou de papier. Sous l’effet de la chaleur, le PVC se rétracte, amenant la forme à se déployer automatiquement sur la base du modèle. Un aimant assure le déplacement. Pour l’auto-dissolution, ce mignon petit robot rampant se plonge dans un bain d’acétone. Il ne reste alors plus que l’aimant. Les chercheurs prévoient à présent une version soluble dans l’eau. De plus, ils souhaitent encore réduire la taille de la construction. Cela, dans l’objectif de créer des mini-robots pouvant être activés directement dans le corps et décomposés ensuite.

Le mignon robot origami en action