See more clearly – and hear less – as a superhuman

Electronics raise human capabilities to a new level. For example, we will soon be equipped with eagle eyes and magnetic senses. And the richer people among us will simply be able to block out what they don’t like.

Beat Hochuli

Do you also sometimes think it would be nice to be a Cyborg? To stay yourself, but simply be better – much, much better? See more clearly, hear better, and sense magnetic fields like certain insects, birds and sharks can? Welcome to the realm of human enhancement technology! According to Yuval Noah Harari, history professor at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem, we are all programmed to want to continuously improve our abilities. He is convinced that, in 200 years, Homo sapiens will in fact be a genetically modified and electronically enhanced Cyborg – a combination of organic and inorganic materials that will be, if not immortal, then at least extremely long-lived. However, according to the author of “Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind”, only the rich will be able to enjoy the promise of becoming Cyborgs. Poor people, Harari pronounces, will simply die out.


Magnetic skin, ...

Perhaps this conclusion is a little simplistic. However, it is a fact that the field of human enhancement is being researched diligently. For example, German and Japanese scientists have developed a “magnetic skin” that allows the wearer to perceive static and dynamic magnetic fields. The sensor film, which is extremely thin at 1.5 micrometres and based on a polymer layer, allows contactless control of magnetic switches, for example by moving a hand, and thus opens up far-reaching perspectives with regard to the use of future wearable technology solutions.

“In 200 years, Homo sapiens will be a genetically modified and electronically enhanced Cyborg.”

Yuval Noah Harari, history professor at the Hebrew University in Jerusalem

... zoom lenses ...

The Swiss researchers at ETH Lausanne are concerned with visual capabilities. They have developed a contact lens with a zoom function that allows magnification by a ratio of 2.8 by winking the right eye. Currently, the lens requires an additional pair of glasses that uses a light sensor to distinguish intentional winking from simple blinking. The project was financed by the research department of the US military and was originally intended for soldiers in the field. However, the Lausanne-based researchers see great potential in the medical sector, in particular for the visually impaired.


... and acoustic filters

However, human enhancement technologies not only help us to feel more and see better, but also to hear less. Yes, you read that right – the motto of the California company Doppler Labs is: “The world is much too loud!” Here, a pair of intelligent earplugs that, when connected to an iPhone, regulate the volume and the high and low pitches of the acoustic environment, promises to provide help with the omnipresent acoustic environmental pollution. In addition – and this is Here’s real trick – annoying sounds can be filtered out, such as the screeching of underground trains or trams, but also the squealing and shouting of small children.

So, for those who can afford it, efforts are being made to ensure that technological human enhancement is rapidly moving forward – even if we won’t be able to gain the status of a complete, immortal Cyborg any time soon.

Beat Hochuli

is a freelance ICT journalist and lives in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia.

Trendscout

Des surhommes qui voient mieux – et entendent moins

L’électronique élève les capacités humaines à un nouveau degré. Bientôt, nous aurons ainsi des yeux d’aigle et des sens magnétiques. Et les plus riches de l’humanité pourront escamoter ce qui ne leur plaît pas.

Beat Hochuli

Aimeriez-vous parfois être un cyborg? En restant vous-même, mais dans une version améliorée – très améliorée? Mieux voir, entendre plus distinctement, sentir les champs magnétiques comme certains insectes, oiseaux et requins? Bienvenue dans le monde des Human Enhancement Technologies! Selon Yuval Noah Harari, professeur d’histoire à l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem, nous sommes tous programmés pour vouloir améliorer en permanence nos capacités. Il est convaincu que dans 200 ans, l’Homo sapiens sera effectivement un cyborg génétiquement modifié et enrichi d’électronique – une combinaison d’organique et d’inorganique, qui, si elle n’est pas immortelle, pourra malgré tout vivre extrêmement longtemps. Toutefois, selon l’auteur de «Sapiens: une brève histoire de l’humanité», seuls les riches pourront profiter de ces promesses cyborgiennes. Les pauvres, annonce Harari – vont tout simplement disparaître.

 

Une peau magnétique, ...

Cette conclusion est peut-être trop simple. Mais le fait est que, dans le domaine du Human Enhancement, la recherche est assidue. Des scientifiques allemands et japonais ont ainsi développé une «peau magnétique» permettant à son porteur de percevoir les champs magnétiques statiques et dynamiques. La pellicule sensorisée extrêmement fine de 1,5 micromètre et basée sur une couche polymère permet également une commande sans contact d’interrupteurs magnétiques, par un mouvement de la main par exemple. Elle ouvre ainsi de vastes perspectives pour l’utilisation de futures solutions de Wearable Technology.

 

«Dans 200 ans, l’Homo sapiens sera un cyborg génétiquement modifié et enrichi d’électronique.»

Yuval Noah Harari, professeur d’histoire à l’Université hébraïque de Jérusalem

... des lentilles zoomantes...

Les chercheurs suisses de l’EPF Lausanne planchent quant à eux sur des aptitudes visuelles accrues. Ils ont développé une lentille de contact dotée d’une fonction de zoom permettant un grossissement de 2,8 en clignant l’œil droit. En l’état actuel des choses, cette lentille nécessite encore le port de lunettes supplémentaires, capables de différencier, à l’aide d’un capteur de lumière, le clignement volontaire de l’œil d’un simple papillotement des yeux. Le projet a été financé par le département de recherche de l’armée américaine et initialement prévu pour les soldats lors des opérations de combats. L’équipe lausannoise entrevoit cependant un grand potentiel dans le domaine médical, en particulier pour les personnes malvoyantes.

 

... et des filtres acoustiques

Mais les technologies de Human Enhancement n’aident pas seulement à percevoir davantage et à mieux voir, elles permettent aussi de moins entendre. Oui, vous avez bien lu, car le credo de l’entreprise californienne Doppler Labs est la suivante: «Le monde est bien trop bruyant!» «Here», des bouchons d’oreille intelligents, ont pour objet de remédier à la pollution sonore omniprésente. Associés à un iPhone, ils régulent le volume, les aigus et les graves de l’environnement sonore. De plus – et c’est là la véritable astuce de Here – il est possible de filtrer les bruits énervants, comme le grincement des rames de métro ou des trams, ou encore les cris et les braillements des jeunes enfants.

Le Human Enhancement technologique est donc appelé à progresser rapidement, pour ceux qui peuvent se le permettre – même si nous ne devrions pas de sitôt acquérir le statut de véritables cyborgs immortels.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

est journaliste indépendant spécialiste TIC et vit à Kota Kinabalu, en Malaisie.