On the go

That all-important bit more direct in the processes

With the Apple Watch, wearables are forcing their way into companies. The spectrum of potential business applications is broad. However, the small screen is a major challenge, and not only when it comes to usability.

Daniel Meierhans

“Our most personal technology!” That’s how Apple advertises the watch, thus getting right to the heart of the smart watch: it is a constant companion that is literally always to hand. And it is precisely this that also makes it attractive for business use. With the watch, a tool is available that makes interacting with employees much more direct and reliable as it is not left in a pocket or on their desk. And, with the clever watch, employees can also act immediately in almost any situation without first having to fish a device out of their trousers.


Watch makes wearables a mass phenomenon

According to an international study by the American mobile-computing specialist MobileIron, the majority will do exactly that. 95 per cent of private wearables buyers plan to use them for business purposes as well. And what they want – as smartphone experience has taught us – they will do, with or without the blessing of their employers. Companies should therefore look into the possibilities of smart watches as soon as possible.


Even more so as wearables become a mass phenomenon thanks to the Apple Watch. Based on forecast global sales figures of 10–30 million items, it can be assumed that up to 300,000 Swiss persons will digitally equip their wrists by Christmas. In the longer term, the potential lies at around 1 million smart watch users. Therefore, with watch apps, you can secure access to a quarter of the active population.

“The greatest challenge here is the small screen. The apps need to be adapted precisely to the needs of the users.”

The Swiss know the Swiss better

This makes the clever timepieces interesting not only for customer interactions, in which providers can get very close to their customers – employees can be integrated just as directly into the processes via watch. The greatest challenge here is the small screen. The apps need to be adapted precisely to the needs of the users. Every superfluous function and every additional step has a direct impact in the form of lower usage rates. However, this very factor offers Swiss companies a major opportunity. They are completely familiar with local preferences and habits and can therefore design their apps much more intuitively.


Generally speaking, due to the small space on the “clock face”, action is the key: the focus should be on direct action triggers and notifications. Managers can be alerted immediately in case of need, messages delivered to recipients even in situations that require a certain amount of discretion and employees deployed promptly and reliably.


Master key, guide and gesture control

By means of an app, the personal companion can also be transformed into a master key that can be used not only to open doors and implement user-friendly access restrictions to rooms, machines or computer systems. All types of payment transactions and checkpoint controls can be performed just as efficiently via watch. In addition, times and services in a service environment can be recorded with little effort using the watch.


One great advantage of the watch: hands are free for other tasks. For example, Apple uses what is known as the Haptic Engine, which gently taps the wrist in connection with a card service for left-right instructions. Warehouse employees or freight forwarders can be directed to the destination in the same way.


However, the other sensors and actuators also open up innovative fields of application. For example, gesture control can be implemented for machines or devices by means of acceleration sensors or voice controls realised using Siri. Control via the crown and the screen, which can react differently to varying degrees of pressure, provides additional room for creative solutions.


The faster the better

In addition to all these options, there is a marketing aspect that should not be underestimated: companies that use smart watches are viewed as innovative by both their customers and the employees. But this isn’t the only reason that it is worthwhile for companies to launch watch apps as quickly as possible. The small screen means even greater competition between the apps. The later you wait to bring an application to the wrist, the greater the crowding-out struggle will be.


Seizing opportunities

The Apple Watch opens up any number of new possibilities for companies. Find out how Swiss companies in particular can seize those opportunities, what they need to bear in mind and which first steps they need to implement as soon as possible:

The Apple Watch as a motor for digitisation

En chemin

Une avance décisive dans les processus

Avec l’Apple Watch, les Wearables investissent les entreprises. L’éventail des applications professionnelles possibles est large. Ce petit écran représente un grand défi, et pas seulement en termes d’utilisabilité.

Daniel Meierhans

«Notre technologie la plus personnelle!» Tel est l’argument de vente d’Apple pour sa montre, touchant ainsi du doigt l’essentiel de cet instrument intelligent: c’est un compagnon permanent, qui est littéralement toujours sous la main. Voilà exactement ce qui rend cette montre aussi attrayante pour un usage dans l’entreprise. L’Apple Watch est un outil avec lequel on peut interagir de façon beaucoup plus directe et plus fiable avec les collaborateurs, car elle n’est pas laissée dans une poche ou sur un bureau. Avec cette montre intelligente, les collaborateurs peuvent quant à eux agir immédiatement dans presque n’importe quelle situation, sans devoir extirper un appareil de la poche de leur pantalon.

 

Watch transforme les Wearables en phénomène de masse

Selon une étude internationale du spécialiste américain de l’informatique mobile MobileIron, c’est exactement ce que fera une grande majorité. 95% des acheteurs privés de Wearables prévoient en effet de les utiliser également à des fins professionnelles. Et ce qu’ils souhaitent, comme l’a montré l’expérience du smartphone, ils le feront avec ou sans la bénédiction de leur employeur. Les entreprises feraient donc mieux de se pencher au plus vite sur les possibilités des montres intelligentes.

 

D’autant plus qu’avec l’Apple Watch, les Wearables deviennent un phénomène de masse. Sur la base des chiffres de ventes mondiaux pronostiqués de 10 à 30 millions d’unité, jusqu’à 300’000 Suisses devraient arborer au poignet un instrument numérique d’ici à Noël. A long terme, le potentiel est de quelque 1 million d’utilisateurs de Smart Watch. Les Watch Apps ouvrent un accès à un quart de la population active.

 

«Le plus grand défi réside ici dans la petite taille de l’écran. Les apps doivent convenir précisément aux besoins des utilisateurs.»

Ce sont les Suisses qui connaissent le mieux les Suisses

Cet outil intelligent n’est pas uniquement intéressant pour les interactions avec la clientèle, avec des fournisseurs qui s’approchent au plus près de leurs acheteurs. Cette montre permet tout autant d’intégrer les collaborateurs dans les processus. Le plus grand défi réside ici dans la petite taille de l’écran. Les apps doivent convenir précisément aux besoins des utilisateurs. Chaque fonction superflue et chaque étape supplémentaire se répercuteront directement par un taux d’utilisation inférieur. Pour les entreprises suisses, c’est précisément là que se situe la grande opportunité. Elles connaissent les préférences et habitudes locales et peuvent ainsi concevoir leurs apps sous une forme d’autant plus intuitive.

 

Un principe s’applique: du fait du peu de place disponible sur le «cadran», l’action est de mise: les déclenchements d’actions directs et les messages sont au premier plan. Au besoin, les responsables peuvent être alertés immédiatement, les messages peuvent parvenir à leurs destinataires même dans les situations qui exigent une certaine discrétion, ou les collaborateurs peuvent être affectés rapidement et de façon fiable.

 

Passe-partout, pilotage et commande gestuelle

Avec les apps, ce compagnon personnel se transforme aussi en un passe-partout, qui fait non seulement s’ouvrir les portes mais aussi s’appliquer les restrictions d’accès aux salles, installations et systèmes informatiques, sous une forme conviviale. La montre permet de traiter tout aussi efficacement tous les types de transactions de paiement ou de contrôles de check-point. Vient également s’ajouter la possibilité de saisir, dans le domaine du service après-vente, les heures et les prestations avec un minimum d’effort.

 

Grand avantage de la montre: on peut toujours utiliser sa main pour autre chose. Apple s’appuie sur un «Haptic Engine», qui toque doucement au niveau du poignet, associé au service de cartes pour les instructions gauche-droite. De la même manière, on peut guider à destination les collaborateurs des entrepôts ou les transporteurs.

 

Les autres capteurs et actuateurs ouvrent également des domaines d’applications novateurs. Les capteurs d’accélération permettent ainsi de mettre en place des commandes gestuelles pour les machines ou appareils et des commandes vocales peuvent être passées via Siri. De plus, la commande via la couronne et l’écran, capable de réagir à une pression plus ou moins forte, ouvre une marge pour les solutions créatives.

 

Plus c’est rapide, mieux c’est

A toutes ces possibilités vient s’ajouter un aspect marketing qu’il convient de ne pas sous-estimer: les entreprises utilisant des Smart Watches sont considérées comme innovantes, tant par leurs clients que par leurs collaborateurs. Mais ce n’est pas là la seule raison pour les entreprises de sortir le plus rapidement possible des Watch Apps. La petite taille de l’écran implique une concurrence d’autant plus grande entre les apps. Plus on attend pour lancer une application, plus la lutte d’éviction de la concurrence sera rude.

 

Saisir sa chance

L’Apple Watch ouvre une pléiade de nouvelles possibilités aux entreprises. Découvrez comment les entreprises suisses, tout particulièrement, peuvent saisir leur chance, ce qu’elles devraient alors prendre en compte et quelles premières étapes elles devraient engager au plus vite:

L’Apple Watch, moteur de la numérisation