Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Platform as a Service provides a whole host of benefits for companies. Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

Urs Binder

Skip in seconds
seconds to go


Enough pizza to fill a tennis court, 20,280 working hours, almost 30 million keyboard strokes: HackZurich is the largest event of its kind in Europe and was sold out in 2015. More than 500 mostly young and extremely enthusiastic developers got together in the Zurich Technopark at the beginning of October; more than 1,200 had applied.


In a 40-hour, non-stop tour de force, the participants transformed their ideas into program codes – and the entire lobby of the Technopark into a hectic beehive with laptops, network cables, backpacks and sleeping mats. The programming was performed in small teams of two to four people.

The participants had little chance to relax between Friday evening and Sunday morning. Only with the help of a lot of caffeine could the 123 submitted projects be transformed into functioning software within the short timeframe. No wonder most of the hackers were almost impatient waiting for the hacking marathon to begin – not least because attractive prizes were awarded for the best projects.


1/5 Before the 40-hour hacking marathon gets under way, the participants seem really fresh. Pascal Reichmuth is taking part in HackZurich because of his passion for development – and because it gives him the opportunity to focus and achieve something for which he has no time in his day-to-day work.

2/5 Architecture and design are central elements of every software project. For planning, the HackZurich participants used all conceivable methods, from hand-drawn diagrams or Kanban boards through to project management software tools.

3/5 Intensive thinking requires sustenance for the body and mind. Thanks to sponsors, the HackZurich teams were well provided for. Over 4,000 square metres of pizza, thousands of sandwiches and huge volumes of Red Bull and coffee were consumed.

4/5 Code, build, test, review… a cycle that was repeated thousands of times during the Hackathon. The organisers recorded 29.7 million keystrokes, 2.18 terabytes of Internet traffic and six kilometres of Ethernet cable.

5/5 Very special Internet of Things on the periphery of HackZurich: Software-controlled mixing of drinks. Needless to say, the spirits didn’t come out until after the project had been completed.

1/5 Before the 40-hour hacking marathon gets under way, the participants seem really fresh. Pascal Reichmuth is taking part in HackZurich because of his passion for development – and because it gives him the opportunity to focus and achieve something for which he has no time in his day-to-day work.
Ready, set, develop!

The user experience specialist Pascal Reichmuth took part in HackZurich for the first time with three colleagues. “We just really enjoy developing and can do something here beyond everyday working life that we otherwise never find time for,” he says, explaining what motivated them to take part. The four already knew each other; they all work at the same company. “We already have an idea, but we want to gain additional inspiration from the sponsors’ workshops. Then we will decide what we want to develop and with which platform.” Reichmuth also emphasises that the point of a hackathon is not to create a market-ready, polished solution. The aim is to build an initial prototype so that people can see what the team has achieved.


New development and operating models

Very little time from the first line of code until the finished solution – a similar situation to that at HackZurich can also be found in business. Companies have to respond with agility to market requirements and cannot wait months until the project is implemented. The IT department, in turn, can provide the required agility only if it is relieved of the burden of routine tasks. Instead of spending a lot of time setting up servers first, they should complete such tasks immediately, not worry about operational details, and be able to scale the performance to the currently required level at any time.


Application Platform as a Service solutions (PaaS) promise to solve precisely this problem. They are cloud-based solutions that provide a complete platform for developing and executing software applications, complete with an operating system, middleware and runtime environment. Initially, PaaS services were used almost exclusively as development and test environments and were a niche in the market for a long time.


A Swiss premiere

Back to HackZurich. A new PaaS solution premiered here: The Swisscom Application Cloud was available to a broad group of users for the first time following a long test phase. Marco Hochstrasser, Head of Application Cloud at Swisscom, was very satisfied: “The platform was available to all HackZurich participants free of charge. The solution was extremely well received – more than 300 developers registered for the app cloud and the topic was actively discussed on Twitter and other social media channels.”


The basis for the Swisscom Application Cloud is the open source platform Cloud Foundry, which is a decisive criterion for Marco Hochstrasser: “Cloud Foundry is experiencing great momentum on the market. And because it is an open standard, customers using Cloud Foundry-based PaaS services can choose and switch between providers more easily than with proprietary platforms.”



According to Hochstrasser, Switzerland is around two to three years behind the USA when it comes to PaaS. “However, we are now seeing that many developers have been waiting for precisely what we are now providing – the interest is there and the market is now ready.” However, so is the competition: The Swisscom Application Cloud is not the first and not the only PaaS solution that Swiss developers can use. As well as industry giants such as Google, Amazon and Microsoft, some smaller providers in Switzerland are also providing PaaS services.


The Swisscom solution nonetheless compares favourably with the competition. In contrast to the global players, Swisscom can guarantee customers that all applications and data are stored exclusively in highly secure Swiss data centers. The costs are invoiced in Swiss francs, so there are no currency rate fluctuations to plan for. And, compared to smaller providers, customers enjoy the benefits of a highly scalable, multiple redundancy infrastructure with high service availability.


For developers and companies

Before the public launch, Swisscom tested the Application Cloud thoroughly and is already using it itself, as Marco Hochstrasser emphasises: “We not only want to promote the digitisation of Swiss companies with this solution, but also use the platform ourselves internally. It is important to us to transfer our own applications to this operating model more and more.” A number of business customers have also had the opportunity to test the Application Cloud already and will use it in the future, including an industrial company and an insurance company that do not want to serve the Swiss market only. “It is therefore essential that our solution also works globally,” Hochstrasser concludes.


A tired team, an objective achieved

“We didn’t win, but we had fun and learned a lot,” says Pascal Reichmuth, summarising his team’s experiences at HackZurich after the closing ceremony. “Along the way, we realised time and again that something extra was needed. By the end, we had integrated around ten different services into our application.”

“Taking part in HackZurich was definitely worthwhile, for the atmosphere alone, if nothing else”

Pascal Reichmuth, User Experience Architect 

The team developed an intelligent housing search, which takes into account not only the size of the property, but also personal preferences as well as the ability to reach various destinations with a focus on public transport. “We built two Node.js apps and used a MongoDB. We chose Swisscom Cloud for operation, initially mainly because we wanted to try something new – we were already familiar with the IBM and Microsoft clouds.” The fact that Swisscom had a large number of specialist personnel on site turned out to be a stroke of luck for Reichmuth’s team: “We had no experience with the Swisscom Cloud and made errors in our thinking process at first. Together with the Swisscom experts, we were able to solve the problem quickly.”


Reichmuth’s conclusion is that taking part in HackZurich was definitely worthwhile: “For the atmosphere alone, if nothing else. I also found it amusing that all the clichés about developers were fulfilled. It started with pizza, we drank litres of Red Bull and slept for a total of four hours.”


On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

To the article  

Swisscom Developer Portal

The Swisscom Developer Portal is where you register for the Application Cloud and find valuable information about technology and prices.



All about HackZurich 2015, including the program, list of winners, press review, photos and videos.


Further Focus articles


From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Application Platform as a Service

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?


“This is a first for Swisscom”

The Swisscom Application Cloud is an ambitious project. It was set up by 29-year-old Marco Hochstrasser in Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Attention, prêts, développez!

Plus agréable à développer, faibles coûts, flexibilité et évolutivité – la Platform as a Service réserve de nombreux avantages aux entreprises. Pour la première fois, Swisscom a testé sa propre offre PaaS dans le cadre du HackZurich.

Urs Binder

brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

 

Des pizzas correspondant à la surface d’un court de tennis, 20’280 heures de travail, près de 30 millions de frappes clavier: le HackZurich, plus grande manifestation de son genre en Europe, s’est déroulé à guichets fermés en 2015. Plus de 500 développeurs, jeunes pour la plupart et extrêmement enthousiastes, se sont retrouvés début octobre au Technopark de Zurich; plus de 1200 s’étaient portés candidats.

 

A raison d’un tour de force non-stop de 40 heures, les participants ont transformé leurs idées en codes de programmes et tout le hall du Technopark en une ruche frénétique d’ordinateurs portables, de câbles de réseau, de sacs à dos et de tapis de sol. La programmation s’est effectuée par petites équipes de 2 à 4 personnes.

Les participants n’ont guère pu s’accorder beaucoup de repos entre le vendredi soir et le dimanche matin. Dans des délais aussi courts, seule une bonne dose de caféine a permis de convertir les 123 projets déposés en logiciels fonctionnels. Rien d’étonnant donc à ce que la plupart des hackers attendent presque impatiemment le coup d’envoi de ce Hacking Marathon, ne serait-ce que parce que les meilleurs projets se voyaient récompensés par des prix attrayants.

 

1/5 Avant que le Hacking Marathon de 40 heures ne débute, les participants donnent l’impression d’être en pleine forme. Pascal Reichmuth participe au HackZurich par passion pour le développement – et parce qu’il peut y réaliser, sur une période très concentrée, ce qu’il n’a plus le temps de faire dans son quotidien professionnel.

2/5 L’architecture et le design sont les éléments principaux des projets de logiciels. Pour la planification, les participants au HackZurich recourent à toutes les méthodes imaginables, des diagrammes dessinés à la main aux outils de gestion de projet sous forme logicielle, en passant par les tableaux Kanban.

3/5 Une réflexion intense nécessite une nourriture adéquate pour le corps et l’esprit. Grâce aux sponsors, les équipes du HackZurich étaient bien prises en charge. Plus de 4000 mètres carrés de pizzas, des milliers de sandwiches et des quantités énormes de Red Bull et de café y ont été consommés.

4/5 Code, Build, Test, Review… Ce cycle devrait aussi s’être déroulé pour la énième fois au Hackathon. Les organisateurs ont compté 29,7 millions de frappes clavier, 2,18 téraoctets de trafic Internet et six kilomètres de câbles Ethernet.

5/5 L’Internet of Things sous une forme très particulière en marge du HackZurich: mixer des cocktails par commande logicielle. Les boissons alcoolisées ne sont bien entendu entrées en jeu qu’à l’achèvement des projets.

1/5 Avant que le Hacking Marathon de 40 heures ne débute, les participants donnent l’impression d’être en pleine forme. Pascal Reichmuth participe au HackZurich par passion pour le développement – et parce qu’il peut y réaliser, sur une période très concentrée, ce qu’il n’a plus le temps de faire dans son quotidien professionnel.
Attention, prêts, développez!

Pascal Reichmuth, spécialiste en User Experience, a participé pour la première fois au HackZurich avec trois collègues. «Développer est pour nous un plaisir et nous pouvons faire ici, en dehors de notre quotidien, une chose pour laquelle nous ne trouvons pas de temps sinon», précise-t-il pour expliquer ce qui l’a motivé à participer. Ces quatre-là se connaissaient déjà, ils travaillent tous pour la même entreprise. «Nous avons déjà une idée mais nous voulons aussi chercher l’inspiration dans les ateliers des sponsors. Nous déciderons alors ce que nous souhaitons développer, et avec quelles plates-formes.» P. Reichmuth souligne également qu’un Hackathon n’est pas conçu pour créer une solution parfaite prête à être commercialisée. L’objectif consiste plutôt à construire un premier prototype afin de voir ce à quoi l’équipe est parvenue.

 

De nouveaux modèles de développement et d’exploitation

Un laps de temps très court sépare la première ligne de code et la solution terminée – une évolution semblable à celle du HackZurich se constate aussi dans l’économie. Les entreprises doivent réagir avec flexibilité aux exigences du marché et ne peuvent attendre des mois pour que le projet soit mis en œuvre. Le service informatique, pour sa part, ne peut offrir l’agilité requise que s’il est déchargé des opérations de routine. Au lieu de se lancer dans un travail de longue haleine sur les serveurs, il devrait tout d’abord pouvoir réaliser immédiatement et brièvement l’installation, ensuite ne pas avoir à s’occuper des détails de l’exploitation et enfin pouvoir faire évoluer la performance à tout moment au niveau alors nécessaire.

 

Les offres Application Platform as a Service (PaaS) promettent de résoudre précisément ce problème. Il s’agit ici de services basés sur le Cloud qui proposent une plate-forme complète de développement et d’exécution d’applications logicielles, systèmes d’exploitation, intergiciels et environnement d’exécution compris. Au début, les services PaaS se présentaient presque exclusivement sous la forme d’environnement de développement et de test et se sont longtemps contentés d’une place de niche.

 

Une première en Suisse

Revenons au HackZurich. Une nouvelle offre PaaS y a été présentée en grande première: après une longue phase de test, l’Application Cloud de Swisscom y a été proposée à un large cercle d’utilisateurs. Marco Hochstrasser, Head of Application Cloud chez Swisscom, s’est montré très satisfait: «La plate-forme était mise gratuitement à la disposition de tous les participants du HackZurich. Cette offre a été très bien accueillie, plus de 300 développeurs se sont inscrits pour l’App Cloud, et le sujet a été vivement discuté sur Twitter et sur d’autres réseaux sociaux.»

 

L’Application Cloud de Swisscom repose sur la plate-forme open source Cloud Foundry. Pour Marco Hochstrasser, il s’agit-là d’un critère essentiel: «Cloud Foundry connaît un véritable boom sur le marché. Comme il s’agit d’un standard ouvert, les clients de services PaaS basés sur Cloud Foundry peuvent jongler plus aisément entre les fournisseurs qu’avec les plates-formes propriétaires.»

 

 

En matière d’Paas, la Suisse est en retard sur les Etats-Unis de deux à trois ans, selon M. Hochstrasser. «Mais nous voyons que de nombreux développeurs attendaient exactement ce que nous proposons actuellement – l’intérêt est là, le marché est maintenant prêt.» La concurrence aussi: l’Application Cloud de Swisscom n’est pas la première ni la seule offre d’PaaS pouvant être utilisée par les développeurs suisses. Outre les grands du secteur tels que Google, Amazon ou Microsoft, quelques petits fournisseurs suisses proposent aussi des services PaaS.

 

Néanmoins, l’offre de Swisscom est en bonne position. A la différence des acteurs mondiaux, Swisscom peut garantir à ses clients que l’ensemble des applications et des données sont exclusivement hébergées dans des centres de calcul suisses ultrasécurisés. Les coûts sont facturés en francs suisses, donc il n’y a pas de fluctuation de devises. De plus, comparé aux plus petits fournisseurs, les clients profitent des avantages d’une infrastructure hautement évolutive, conçue sous une forme à redondance multiple, avec une haute disponibilité du service.

 

Pour les développeurs et les entreprises

Avant le lancement officiel, Swisscom a abondamment testé l’Application Cloud et l’utilise déjà elle-même, comme le souligne Marco Hochstrasser: «Par ce biais, nous ne nous contentons pas de favoriser la numérisation des entreprises suisses, nous utilisons aussi la plate-forme en interne. Il nous tient à cœur d’amener de plus en plus nos propres applications dans ce modèle d’exploitation.» Quelques clients commerciaux ont déjà pu tester l’Application Cloud et l’utiliseront à l’avenir, dont une entreprise industrielle et une assurance, qui veulent proposer leurs services au-delà de la Suisse. «Notre offre doit donc aussi impérativement fonctionner à l’échelle mondiale», retient M. Hochstrasser.

 

Equipe fatiguée, objectif atteint

«Nous n’avons pas gagné, mais nous nous sommes fait plaisir et nous avons beaucoup appris», déclare Pascal Reichmuth après la cérémonie de clôture, en résumant les expériences de son équipe au HackZurich. «En chemin, nous avons sans cesse constaté qu’il fallait encore un nouvel élément. Pour finir, nous avons intégré près de dix services différents dans notre application.»

«Ne serait-ce que pour l’esprit qui y règne, il a valu la peine de participer au HackZurich»

Pascal Reichmuth, User Experience Architect 

L’équipe a développé une recherche de logement intelligente qui, en plus de la taille du bien, tient compte de préférences personnelles et de l’accessibilité de différentes destinations, en se focalisant sur les transports publics. «Nous avons mis en place deux applis Node.js et utilisons une MongoDB. Pour l’exploitation, nous avons choisi le Cloud Swisscom, avant tout parce que nous voulions essayer quelque chose de nouveau – nous connaissions déjà les Clouds d’IBM et de Microsoft.» Le fait que Swisscom ait beaucoup de personnel spécialisé sur place s’est avéré être un coup de chance pour l’équipe de P. Reichmuth: «Nous n’avions pas la moindre expérience du Cloud de Swisscom et nous avons commis une erreur de raisonnement au début. En tandem avec les experts de Swisscom, nous avons pu résoudre rapidement le problème.»

 

En définitive, cette participation au HackZurich en a valu la peine, conclut P. Reichmuth, «ne serait-ce que pour l’esprit qui y règne. J’ai aussi trouvé amusant que tous les clichés sur les développeurs s’y trouvent confirmés. Cela a commencé par la pizza, nous avons bu des litres de Red Bull et dormi seulement quatre heures au total.»

 

PaaS: ce à quoi ressemble le développement de logiciels de l’avenir.

Les offres Application Platform as a Service (PaaS) sont les outils du moment. Mais que signifient-elles pour l’avenir du développement de logiciels?

Accéder à l’article 

Swisscom Developer Portal

Le Swisscom Developer Portal permet de s’enregistrer pour l’Application Cloud et d’apprendre tout ce qu’il faut savoir sur la technique et les prix.

developer.swisscom.com

HackZurich

Tout sur le HackZurich 2015 avec programme, liste des gagnants, revue de presse, photos et vidéos.

www.hackzurich.com

Plus dʼarticles Focus

dorma+kaba

Passer des produits aux affaires de service

dorma+kaba mise sur le Swisscom Application Cloud pour développer de nouvelles solutions d’accès ultradisponibles et les introduire plus rapidement sur le marché.

Thème du titre: Application Cloud

PaaS: accéder de façon rapide aux nouveaux logiciels

Les offres Application Platform as a Service (en bref PaaS) sont les outils du moment. Mais que signifient-elles pour l’avenir du développement de logiciels?

Interview

«Swisscom ne l’a encore jamais fait»

Le Swisscom Application Cloud est un projet ambitieux. Il a été initié par Marco Hochstrasser, 29 ans, dans la Silicon Valley.