Column

Bringing Shadow IT into the light

Do shadow IT users belong in prison at once? On security, trench warfare and the reigns of IT.

Andreas Heer

The handcuffs snapped shut with a metallic “click”. The police officer who led me to a civilian police car was muttering something about “risk of absconding”. In the meantime, his colleague was struggling to carry my big monitor – 34 inch, curved – down the steps of the stairwell.

 

In the car that drove me to the police station, my three laptops had already been neatly packed in the boot. The police officer took off my handcuffs in the car. I rubbed my wrists and began to rack my brain. Was it the product presentation for the planned innovative new development? Or the business plan that I had secretly passed on to my colleague via my private online storage space? 

 

It all began so innocently. Shortly after I had started my new job in product marketing, it became too much effort to establish a VPN connection on the move every time I wanted to store the documents for the planned new introduction on the internal company server. It was much more convenient to work straight from my private online storage space. And I could do it in the evening on my stylish private design laptop and not on the old clatter box, as I had christened my company laptop. 

“Outdated technology and generally, those not using these modern cloud services are done for anyway, said the young colleague from IT.”

Appointments, to-dos and even business e-mails were also much easier to process when I used my cloud account. A young colleague from IT had shown me the tool. After four beers on that Monday evening, he had poured his heart out to me about how boring his day-to-day life was. Outdated technology and generally, how those not using these modern cloud services were done for anyway. And over our final schnapps, he showed me how he believed people nowadays should work.

 

When he got fired a couple of months later, I had long forgotten that I had released a few confidential documents for him on my online storage space to try out the sharing function and joint document editing. I could not have known that he had secretly passed on these documents to his new employer – our biggest competitor. The first I heard about it was from the investigating officer who revealed to me in a starkly furnished office room that legal proceedings had been initiated against me for industrial espionage.

 

“No, that’s far too drastic”, I thought as I saved my presentation for the internal security workshop. I decided to think up a more positive story the next day. I would discuss the idea first thing in the morning with the Chief Security Officer via a chat on the cloud service that we both used a lot as it was very user friendly. I also resolved to initiate a discussion straight away about how we could better support users of this shadow IT in the future. It is better to loosen the reigns of IT than to end up in handcuffs for real.

Andreas Heer

As an experienced IT journalist, he is familiar with the various shades of business IT and currently supports the Swisscom SME Business World. He is convinced that his life would be much more complicated without cloud services.

Further Focus articles

Interview

“This is a first for Swisscom”

The Swisscom Application Cloud is an ambitious project. It was set up by 29-year-old Marco Hochstrasser in Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Chronique

L’IT de l’ombre en lumière

Les utilisateurs du «Shadow IT» doivent-ils être emprisonnés au plus vite? De la sécurité, des guerres de tranchées et de l’IT stricte.

Andreas Heer

D’un «clic» métallique, les menottes se sont refermées. Le policier qui m’a conduit au véhicule de service banalisé a marmonné quelque chose comme «risque de fuite». Pendant ce temps, son collègue s’est efforcé de faire descendre les marches de l’escalier à mon grand moniteur incurvé de 34 pouces.

 

Dans la voiture qui me conduisait au poste de police, mes trois notebooks étaient déjà soigneusement emballés dans le coffre. Le policier m’a retiré les menottes. Je me suis frotté les poignets et j’ai laissé mes pensées tourner dans ma tête. S’agissait-il de la présentation produit concernant le développement novateur prévu? Ou bien du business plan que j’avais enregistré sur ma mémoire en ligne privée en me cachant de mon collègue? 

 

Pourtant, tout avait commencé très innocemment. Peu après avoir pris mes nouvelles fonctions au service de marketing produit, j’avais trouvé très fastidieux de toujours devoir me connecter au VPN lors de mes déplacements pour archiver sur le serveur interne de l’entreprise les documents concernant le nouveau lancement prévu. Il était bien plus pratique de travailler directement par le biais de ma mémoire en ligne privée. Et ce le soir, depuis mon élégant notebook privé et non pas sur mon tas de ferraille, comme j’avais appelé mon notebook professionnel. 

«Une technique dépassée et puis de toute façon, ceux qui ne misaient pas sur ces services modernes de Cloud n’avaient aucune chance, disait mon jeune collègue de l’IT.»

Et puis les rendez-vous, les listes de choses à faire et même les mails professionnels étaient bien plus faciles à traiter lorsque je le faisais sur mon propre compte de Cloud. L’outil m’avait été montré par un jeune collègue de l’IT. Au bout de la quatrième bière bue un lundi soir, il avait pleurniché devant moi en disant que son quotidien était vraiment ennuyeux. Une technique dépassée et puis de toute façon, ceux qui ne misaient pas sur ces services modernes de Cloud n’avaient aucune chance. Et lors du schnaps d’après, il m’avait montré comment on devait travailler aujourd’hui – selon lui.

 

Lorsqu’il a été licencié quelques mois plus tard, j’avais oublié depuis longtemps que je lui avais donné accès à quelques documents confidentiels sur ma mémoire en ligne afin de tester la fonction de partage et le traitement commun de documents. Je ne pouvais pas savoir qu’il avait transmis ces documents, à mon insu, à son nouvel employeur – notre principal concurrent. Je l’ai seulement appris par l’enquêteur qui m’a annoncé dans un bureau chichement meublé qu’une procédure avait été engagée à mon encontre pour espionnage économique.

 

«Non, c’est beaucoup trop dramatique», ai-je pensé en enregistrant mon exposé destiné à l’atelier interne sur la sécurité. J’ai décidé alors de réfléchir le lendemain à une histoire un peu plus positive. Je pourrai alors discuter de cette idée dès le matin par Chat avec le Chief Security Officer sur le service de Cloud, que nous utilisions tous deux beaucoup en raison de sa convivialité. Je me promettais de lancer alors tout de suite la discussion sur la façon dont nous pourrions mieux soutenir à l’avenir les utilisateurs du «Shadow IT». Mieux vaut assouplir les règles de l’IT que de finir réellement sous les menottes. 

Andreas Heer

Longtemps journaliste dans l’informatique, il a appris à connaître les différentes nuances du Business IT et il encadre aujourd’hui le Swisscom KMU Business World. Sans les services de Cloud, sa vie serait nettement plus compliquée, il en est convaincu.

Plus dʼarticles Focus

Interview

«Swisscom ne l’a encore jamais fait»

Le Swisscom Application Cloud est un projet ambitieux. Il a été initié par Marco Hochstrasser, 29 ans, dans la Silicon Valley.

HackZurich

Attention, prêts, développez!

Plus agréable à développer, faibles coûts, flexibilité et évolutivité – Swisscom a testé pour la première fois sa propre offre PaaS lors du HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

Passer des produits aux affaires de service

dorma+kaba mise sur le Swisscom Application Cloud pour développer de nouvelles solutions d’accès ultradisponibles et les introduire plus rapidement sur le marché.