Title topic: Application Cloud

On cloud PaaS: get new software quickly and flexibly

Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is the tool of the moment. But what does this mean for the future of software development?

Urs Binder

The need for a quick market launch is increasingly also being felt in software development. Application Platform as a Service (PaaS for short) is therefore the tool of the moment. The cloud-based solutions provide a complete platform for developing and executing software applications, complete with an operating system, middleware and runtime environment. The user companies do not need to create their own infrastructure and gain time and reliability at lower costs. Despite this, for a long time PaaS services were a niche product. But this has now changed.

 

Christof Marti, lecturer and Technical Lead of Cloud Platforms at the ICCLab of the ZHAW School of Engineering, notes: “PaaS services have not been used frequently in Swiss business until now. We have been receiving more enquiries about PaaS for a good year. Previously, companies were primarily interested in infrastructure services when it came to cloud computing. Now they are asking themselves how they can bring their applications directly to the cloud.” His colleague Michael Bohnert, Head of Service Engineering at the Institute of Applied Information Technology, confirms: “At the ZHAW School of engineering, around 30 people work on cloud computing. Research into the topic of infrastructure is almost complete. Platforms are also closer to adding value for software providers and users – money is being earned through applications, and no longer through the infrastructure.”

 

Platforms en route to success

PaaS platforms are therefore used more broadly today and increasingly also for operating the developed software. For example, at AXA Winterthur, as Urs Stoob reports: “AXA is in the process of setting up PaaS capability for Java and .Net applications to relieve the software developers of administrative tasks.” As Director of Sales & Digital Business Applications, Urs Stoob is responsible for around 100 applications.

 

Until now, AXA Winterthur operated the PaaS platform as a private PaaS in its own data center. “Generally, I am seeing a real transition today: Thanks to the providers of public PaaS services, Platform as a Service is becoming commonplace. The question is: Should you do it yourself or rely on a provider?” According to Stoob, for data-protection reasons, in reality a hybrid approach is often used, combining PaaS services from the company’s own private cloud and the public cloud. A general challenge with all variants is the integration with core IT.

 

The provider – be it the company’s own data center or a cloud provider – has sole responsibility for managing, maintaining and operating a PaaS environment and the underlying infrastructure. The developer can concentrate fully on his core competences and immediately put his project into practice. He configures the required environment via a self-service portal in just a few clicks. The platform provides the required resources automatically. All the developer needs on site is a computer with a Web browser and an Internet connection.

 

Benefits for companies

From the company’s perspective, PaaS supports modern, combined development and operation concepts such as DevOps and continuous delivery. Improvements and adjustments to the software are continuously brought into operation with the aid of automated test and provision procedures. This benefits agility, accelerates the time to market, promotes the standardisation and transparency of the development and operating processes and ultimately also reduces costs.

 

Investments in the infrastructure are no longer necessary. The PaaS services are paid for based on the current need for resources, in accordance with the pay-per-use principle. This makes PaaS particularly attractive for start-ups, which do not have the budget for their own infrastructure with high availability and scalability.

“PaaS platforms have so many benefits that we simply cannot be indifferent to them”

Urs Stoob, Director of Sales & Digital Business Applications, AXA Winterthur

Urs Stoob’s conclusion: “The key is not to use cloud computing to tease out a few efficiency benefits, as we did in the past. It’s about providing real application platforms. The actual value will only emerge through the automated mechanisms.”

 

Christof Marti highlights another aspect: “With PaaS, you can try out new things very quickly and return to the previous version without problems if something doesn’t work. The entire innovation cycle is shortened, because you no longer have to take care of the infrastructure and can concentrate entirely on the functionality of the software.” Marti sees a need to enhance the tools that are required for monitoring, operating, production handover and updating the applications: “When it comes to tooling, the PaaS providers are still in the development phase. This is also an interesting topic for us, in research. And it has market potential for developers who provide such tools.”

“Platforms are also closer to adding value – money is being earned through applications, and not through the infrastructure”

Prof. Thomas Michael Bohnert, ZHAW School of Engineering 

The future of software development

Market researchers see a rosy future for PaaS solutions in general – as well as aPaaS, integration and governance platforms (iPaaS) are also provided as cloud services. IDC, for example, forecasts revenues of 14 billion dollars for 2017, based on an annual increase of 30 percent. More than 10 percent of the total expenses for developing and operating applications are expected to be spent on PaaS services. In its “Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2015 ”, the Experton Group came to the conclusion that aPaaS was the hotspot for 2014 and will become a commodity faster than expected.

 

“After gathering initial experience regarding what PaaS means for application development, we are planning an aggressive migration strategy for the coming year,” says Urs Stoob, describing AXA’s plans. “PaaS is more fun for the developers, has a positive effect on costs, and is more flexible and scalable – these cloud platforms have so many benefits that we simply cannot be indifferent to them.” The forecast from the university is similar: “In five years, more than half of newly developed software will run on the basis of PaaS,” says Christof Marti. 

 

The cloud within the cloud

Swisscom operates an integrated cloud platform with infrastructure services (IaaS), such as processor capacity, memory, network and security elements, which serves as a basis for a number of managed services. The basis for the PaaS services of the Swisscom Application Cloud is a Cloud Foundry environment, which itself is based on Swisscom infrastructure services. As the largest Swiss provider of telecommunications and cloud services, Swisscom can provide its customers with a complete technology platform from a single source.

The Application Cloud is the first Swisscom cloud product that is also specifically aimed at developers and start-ups from Switzerland and across Europe. The company is thus serving a new customer segment. As is usual with other PaaS providers, the Application Cloud services can be ordered via a Web portal with ease and paid for by credit card – a first for Swisscom. As of 2016, corporate customers will also be able to use the Application Cloud in a virtual, private version with an individual portal and the option to pay upon receipt of an invoice.

 
Agile IT from the cloud

Zero time to market

Find out more about the Application Cloud

Workshop: free introduction to the topic of the cloud

Gain an insight into the current cloud solutions offered by Swisscom, experience a live demonstration of a data center in action and discover concrete application possibilities for your own company.

Find out more and make an appointment now

Cloud Knowledge Center

Current study result, exciting trends, practical application examples and checklists relating to the cloud are available to download free of charge in our Knowledge Center.

Go to the Knowledge Center

Further Focus articles

HackZurich

Ready, set, develop!

More fun for developers, low costs, flexible and scalable – Swisscom tested its own PaaS solution for the first time at HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

From the product to the services business

dorma+kaba relies on the Swisscom Application Cloud to develop new, high-availability access solutions with greater agility and bring them to market more quickly.

Portrait

The heart and soul of the Swiss start-up scene

Beat Schillig has been influencing the Swiss start-up scene for 25 years. A look at his CV shows why.

Thème du titre: Application Cloud

PaaS: accéder de façon rapide aux nouveaux logiciels

Les offres Application Platform as a Service (PaaS) sont les outils du moment. Mais que signifient-elles pour l’avenir du développement de logiciels?

Urs Binder

Sortir rapidement sur le marché – cette exigence s’impose également de plus en plus dans le domaine du développement de logiciels. Les offres Application Platform as a Service (aPaaS ou PaaS) sont donc l’outil du moment. Ces services basés sur le Cloud proposent une plate-forme complète de développement et d’exécution d’applications logicielles, système d’exploitation, intergiciels et environnement d’exécution compris. La mise en place de sa propre infrastructure n’a plus lieu d’être, les entreprises utilisatrices se voient offrir du temps et de la fiabilité, à un coût inférieur. Malgré tout, les services PaaS se sont longtemps contentés d’une place de niche. Mais les choses ont changé.

 

Christof Marti, chargé de cours et responsable technique de la thématique Plates-formes de Cloud au ICCLab de la ZHAW School of Engineering, constate: «Dans l’économie suisse, les services de PaaS n’ont pas été très utilisés jusqu’ici. Depuis plus d’un an, nous recevons davantage de demandes portant sur les PaaS. Autrefois, les entreprises s’intéressaient surtout aux services d’infrastructure en termes de Cloud Computing. Aujourd’hui, elles se demandent comment elles peuvent amener leurs applications directement dans le Cloud.» Son collègue Thomas Michael Bohnert, responsable Service Engineering à l’Institut de technologie appliquée de l’information, confirme: «A la ZHAW, près de 30 personnes se consacrent au Cloud Computing. La thématique de l’infrastructure est pratiquement totalement traitée dans la recherche. De plus, les plates-formes sont plus proches de la création de valeur pour les producteurs et utilisateurs de logiciels – on gagne de l’argent avec des applications et non pas avec des infrastructures.»

 

Les plates-formes sur la voie du succès

Les plates-formes PaaS sont donc aujourd’hui utilisées plus largement et de façon croissante aussi pour l’exploitation des logiciels développés. C’est le cas chez AXA Winterthur, comme le rapporte Urs Stoob: «AXA est en train d’établir une PaaS-Capability pour les applications Java et .NET, de sorte à décharger les développeurs de logiciels des tâches administratives.» Dans son rôle de Director Sales & Digital Business Applications, U. Stoob est responsable de quelque 100 applications.

 

Jusqu’ici, AXA Winterthur exploitait sa plate-forme PaaS comme une PaaS privée dans son propre centre de calcul. «A titre général, je vois ici un véritable bouleversement: en raison du nombre de fournisseurs de services Public-PaaS, la Platform as a Service est monnaie courante. La question est ici de savoir si on la fait soi-même ou si l’on mise sur un fournisseur.» Pour des raisons de protection des données, poursuit U. Stoob, on a plutôt tendance à recourir à une approche hybride, avec des services PaaS combinés depuis le propre Cloud privé et le Public Cloud. Avec toutes les variantes, l’intégration avec le Core IT demeure un défi de taille.

 

Seul le prestataire est responsable de la gestion, l’entretien et l’exploitation d’un environnement PaaS et de l’infrastructure sous-jacente, qu’il s’agisse du propre centre de calcul ou d’un fournisseur de Cloud. Le développeur peut donc entièrement se concentrer sur ses compétences phares et concrétiser immédiatement son projet. Il configure l’environnement souhaité en quelques clics, au moyen d’un portail libre-service. La plate-forme met automatiquement à disposition les ressources nécessaires. Sur place, le développeur n’a besoin que d’un ordinateur avec un navigateur Web et une connexion Internet.

 

Avantage aux entreprises

Du point de vue des entreprises, la PaaS soutient les concepts combinés de développement et d’exploitation, tels que DevOps et Continuous Delivery. Les améliorations et adaptations des logiciels sont alors reprises en continu durant l’exploitation, à l’aide de procédures automatisées de test et d’approvisionnement. Cela accroît l’agilité, accélère le Time-to-Market, favorise la standardisation et la transparence des processus de développement et d’exploitation, tout en réduisant les coûts.

 

Il n’est plus nécessaire d’investir dans l’infrastructure. Les services PaaS sont payés selon le principe du Pay-per-Use, en fonction des besoins actuels en ressources. C’est ce qui fait tout l’attrait de la PaaS pour les start-up qui n’ont pas de budget à consacrer à une infrastructure propre dotée d’une forte disponibilité et d’une grande évolutivité.

«Les plates-formes PaaS ont tant d’avantages que l’on ne saurait rester indifférent»

Urs Stoob, Director Sales & Digital Business Applications, AXA Winterthur

Urs Stoob en vient à la conclusion suivante: «La clé du succès ne consiste pas, comme par le passé, à obtenir avec le Cloud Computing quelques gains d’efficacité sur le plan de l’infrastructure, mais de mettre à disposition de véritables plates-formes d’applications. La véritable valeur apparaît seulement grâce aux mécanismes automatisés.»

 

Christof Marti souligne un autre aspect: «Avec la PaaS, on peut tester très rapidement de nouvelles choses et retourner sans difficultés à la version précédente si cela ne fonctionne pas. L’ensemble du cycle d’innovation se raccourcit, car on n’a plus à se préoccuper de l’infrastructure et on peut se consacrer totalement à la fonctionnalité du logiciel.» C. Marti considère que les outils utilisés dédiés à la surveillance, l’exploitation, la mise en production et l’actualisation des applications doivent être améliorés: «Au niveau du Tooling, les fournisseurs de PaaS en sont encore en phase de développement. Pour nous aussi dans la recherche, c’est un sujet intéressant, qui recèle un potentiel commercial pour les développeurs qui proposent de tels outils.»

«Les plates-formes sont plus proches de la création de valeur – on gagne de l’argent avec des applications et non pas avec des infrastructures»

Prof. Thomas Michael Bohnert, ZHAW School of Engineering 

L’avenir du développement de logiciels

Les analystes du marché prédisent un avenir réjouissant aux offres de PaaS à titre général – outre les aPaaS, des plates-formes d’intégration et de gouvernance (iPaaS) sont également proposées sous la forme de services en nuage. IDC, par exemple, prévoit, avec une croissance annuelle de 30% pour 2017, des chiffres d’affaires de 14 milliards de dollars dans le monde. Plus de 10% des dépenses totales en développement et exploitation d’applications devraient alors porter sur des services PaaS. Dans son «Cloud Vendor Benchmark 2015», Experton Group en tire la conclusion que l’aPaaS est le hot spot 2014 et qu’elle sera une Commodity plus vite qu’on ne pourrait s’y attendre.

 

«Une fois réalisée une série de premières expériences sur ce que la PaaS signifie pour le développement d’applications, nous nous attelons à une stratégie agressive pour les prochaines années», commente Urs Stoob en détaillant les projets d’AXA. «La PaaS est plus plaisante pour les développeurs, elle se répercute positivement sur les coûts, elle est plus flexible et évolutive – ces plates-formes de Cloud ont tellement d’avantages que l’on ne saurait rester indifférent.» Les prévisions de la haute école vont dans la même direction: «Dans cinq ans, plus de la moitié des nouveaux logiciels développés fonctionneront sur une base PaaS», commente Christof Marti. 

 

Le Cloud dans le Cloud

Swisscom exploite sa propre plate-forme de Cloud intégrée, avec des services d’infrastructure (IaaS) comme performance du processeur, mémoire, réseau et éléments de sécurité, à la base de nombreux Managed Services. Les services PaaS de l’Application Cloud de Swisscom s’appuient sur un environnement Cloud Foundry, qui repose pour sa part sur les services d’infrastructure de Swisscom. Dans son rôle de plus grand prestataire suisse de services de télécommunication et de Cloud, Swisscom peut proposer à ses clients une plate-forme technologique complète, sous un même toit.

L’Application Cloud est le premier produit nuagier de Swisscom qui s’adresse expressément aussi aux développeurs et start-up de Suisse et de toute l’Europe. L’entreprise s’attaque ainsi à un nouveau segment de clientèle. Comme cela est courant chez d’autres fournisseurs de PaaS, les services d’Application Cloud peuvent être commandés aisément via un portail Web et réglés par carte de crédit – une nouveauté pour Swisscom. A partir de 2016, les entreprises clientes pourront également utiliser l’Application Cloud dans une version privée virtuelle, avec un portail dédié et un décompte des coûts sur facture.

 
Informatique agile depuis le cloud

Arriver sur le marché sans perdre de temps

En savoir plus sur l’Application Cloud

Knowledge Center Cloud

Vous trouverez gratuitement des résultats d’études actuels, tendances intéressantes, exemples d’applications pratiques et check-lists se rapportant au Cloud à télécharger dans notre Knowledge Center.

Accéder au Knowledge Center

Plus dʼarticles Focus

HackZurich

Attention, prêts, développez!

Plus agréable à développer, faibles coûts, flexibilité et évolutivité – Swisscom a testé pour la première fois sa propre offre PaaS lors du HackZurich.

dorma+kaba

Passer des produits aux affaires de service

dorma+kaba mise sur le Swisscom Application Cloud pour développer de nouvelles solutions d’accès ultradisponibles et les introduire plus rapidement sur le marché.

Portrait

L’âme de la scène suisse des start-up

Depuis 25 ans, Beat Schillig marque de son empreinte la scène suisse des start-up. Un coup d’œil sur sa carrière permet de voir pourquoi il en est ainsi.