Caught our eye

Help for hi-fi enthusiasts and poor linguists


Chromecast Audio

Wi-Fi for hi-fi enthusiasts

Following the success of the first Chromecast sticks – by its own account, Google has sold more than 20 million of them – the second generation is now available. As well as the improved Chromecast 2, which makes “mindless” TV devices Wi-Fi capable and feeds them with Internet offers, Google is now bringing out a very interesting twin, Chromecast Audio. This transforms older but high-quality hi-fi systems into intelligently networked music terminals. It can be connected to a receiver or speakers via a 3.5 mm jack plug, a conventional audio cable or an optical cable.

Control via mobile devices

Chromecast Audio is controlled via Android or iOS-capable smartphones and tablets with the corresponding Chromecast app. Windows laptops and, of course, Google’s own Chromebooks are also supported. A key point is the price: at 39 francs, Chromecast Audio is significantly cheaper than alternatives, for example from Apple (Airplay) and Sonos (Connect).

The new Chromecast Audio Video


Drone technology

Drones are reforesting

The start-up BioCarbon has set itself the goal of planting up to one billion trees per year for the purpose of reforestation – fully automatically. This corresponds to around one tenth of the trees that are felled or fall victim to fire clearance each year across the world.

Many regions of the planet that are in need of reforestation are extremely difficult to reach. BioCarbon’s drone-controlled initiative first plans to gather data regarding the topography, nutrient content of the soil and biodiversity using reconnaissance drones. This information will be fed into a self-learning algorithm to generate a “precision planting platform”.

The precision planting itself will be performed by remote-controlled quadrocopters that have been fed the results of these calculations. They will sow germinated seeds embedded in a biodegradable, nutrition-rich gel. According to BioCarbon, the nutritional gel guarantees a greater chance of success for the seedlings than dry planting by hand, for example.

Automatic reforestation: here is how it works


Mobile payment

“Mobile payment is the beginning of completely new shopping experiences.”

People carry their smartphones with them all the time and they are often closer to hand than their wallets. So it seems logical that paying via smartphone is fast becoming commonplace. All you need is an app such as Paymit, which SIX, UBS, ZKB and Swisscom want to develop jointly as a mobile payment standard. At present, Paymit can be used to transfer money between private individuals. Payment is charged directly to the individual’s bank account. The solution is impressive: at this year’s Best of Swiss Apps Award, the jury and public gave the app multiple awards. Starting in 2016, it will also be possible to use it to make retail payments.

Why will Paymit be successful on the Swiss mobile payment market?

Simon Zwahlen, Head of Paymit Initiatives, Swisscom: because the open system and broad-based support from SIX, Swisscom and the banks – currently UBS, ZKB and soon also Raiffeisen as well as the Geneva, Lucerne and Vaud cantonal banks – guarantee widespread use very quickly. We have 140,000 Paymit users already. Furthermore, we pay close attention to the user experience during development. Paymit should be simple, fast and secure for private users – and in the future for the retail trade, too. An example: Paymit payments should be charged directly to the user’s bank account. The title “Master of Swiss Apps” confirmed to us that we are well on the right track in terms of user experience.

Why do we need mobile payment solutions – are cash and credit cards not enough?

Mobile payment will not replace cash and credit cards, it will supplement them. We want to create a convenient alternative for payments that are primarily made in cash. People always have their smartphones with them and mobile payment is faster than paying by cash or card. For example, if we think of a self-service farm shop or a mobile snack stand that serves dozens of customers at lunchtime: up to now, cash has been a necessary but inconvenient evil. Furthermore, offline and online purchases are merging together more and more. We can simplify these processes with Paymit, too. Mobile payment is the beginning of completely new customer experiences. 

Paymit has been a P2P solution up to now. Will this continue?

From early 2016, we will be gradually bringing out Paymit solutions for retail. We will be starting with retailers that previously worked without payment terminals. Later in the year, we will add to the offering for retailers and online retailers on an ongoing basis. The payment function will then be enhanced to include functions that mediate between retailers and customers. These will be location-based, customised offers or collecting loyalty points. Back to the farm shop example: a farmer may not even know me now, but in the future, he will be able to communicate with me directly when my favourite jam is back in stock.

More about Paymit  


El Capitan and iOS 9

Focus on business customers

Apple CEO Tim Cook assured his company at the last dazzling presentation that he does not have any plans to merge the desktop and laptop operating system OS X with the mobile driver iOS. This may be true, and goes against the strategy of arch-rival Microsoft, who have declared Windows 10 the benchmark for all hardware platforms. However, the fact is that the latest version of OS X, named after the prominent cliff El Capitan in California’s Yosemite Park, clearly borrows from the iOS inventory and that El Capitan and the latest version of the mobile operating system, iOS 9, are working ever more closely together.

Attack on Microsoft

The “apple growers” from Cupertino are no longer focussing on home users who are used to luxury or the creative types who work with graphics, film and sound. Tim Cook came straight to the point when presenting the iPad Pro: with this tablet, it is already possible to complete 80 per cent of the business tasks that can also be performed on a PC – but more flexibly, creatively and having more fun in the process. It may remain to be seen whether this typical Apple vocabulary is still up to date – but it is clear that the i-manufacturer is directly targeting Microsoft and its Windows-10-based Surface tablets with this strategy. Moreover, the interaction of the iWorks productivity suite across El Capitan, iOS 9 and iCloud does indeed push Apple closer towards the business world.

New features of the El Capitan OS
The new functions of iOS 9 Video


Digital transformation

The six digitisation trends to focus on in 2016

In 2015, new digitisation projects were launched, digital strategies formulated, mobile apps designed and new Web experiences created. According to PAC, digital transformation will really gather momentum in 2016. It is important for companies to develop fundamentally new business models, which may cannibalise previous models, and make basic adjustments to the organisation and corporate culture.

PAC forecasts the following six developments for 2016:

1. Analysis of customer interaction will move towards data-based business models.

2. The Internet of Things will make integrated cyber security strategies vital in 2016.

3. Customer experiences will become more holistic in 2016.

4. Processes are likely to become less driven by efficiency, but more agile and customer oriented.

5. Organisational structures with divisions of labour will become collaborative working worlds.

6. And last, but not least: rigid control mechanisms will be replaced by lively and learning company cultures.

You can download the entire report here (only in German and French)  


Skype Translator

Do you speak Mandarin?

Users of Skype for Windows 7, 8.x and 10 can now enjoy the simultaneous translation function Skype Translator. The software add-on is being integrated automatically in phases via updates, so if you see a globe symbol in the top right of the screen following an update, this means you have the interpreting app. Skype Translator initially supports live calls in German, English, French, Italian, Mandarin and Spanish, in both directions. Further languages are to follow.

Not perfect – but capable of learning

Lilian Rincon, who is responsible for the development of Skype Translator at Microsoft, admits that the results are sometimes funny during the live translation. However, she emphasises that the system is capable of learning and will thus become more and more reliable through continuous use. Admittedly, the pauses that the speaker has to insert to allow the Translator to follow take some getting used to, and German-speaking Swiss people are advised to use the high German that they learned at school. And this is set to remain the case: there are no plans to include Swiss German.

Key information on Skype Translator Video

Trend

De l’aide pour les nostalgiques du hi-fi et pour les paresseux en langues

01

Chromecast Audio

Le Wi-Fi pour les nostalgiques du hi-fi

Après le succès des premières clés Chromecast – selon ses propres dires, Google en a vendu plus de 20 millions – la deuxième génération est désormais disponible. En plus de la Chromecast 2 améliorée, qui, comme la version précédente, assure la compatibilité Wi-Fi de téléviseurs «obtus» et les alimente en offres issues de l’Internet, Google sort maintenant, avec le Chromecast Audio, une jumelle très intéressante. Celle-ci transforme les chaînes hi-fi vieillissantes, mais de grande qualité, en terminaux musicaux interconnectés de façon intelligente. Elle peut être raccordée à un ampli-syntoniseur ou à des haut-parleurs via un jack de 3,5 mm, un câble audio traditionnel ou un câble optique.

Commandée via les appareils mobiles

Chromecast Audio est commandée via des smartphones ou des tablettes compatibles Android ou iOS, au moyen de l’appli Chromecast correspondante. Bien entendu, les notebooks Windows et les Chromebooks maison sont aussi supportés. Aspect important: le prix. Coûtant 39 francs, la Chromecast Audio est passablement plus avantageuse que les alternatives d’Apple (Airplay) et de Sonos (Connect).

La nouvelle Chromecast Audio Video

04

Technologie de drones

Les drones reboisent

La start-up BioCarbon a entrepris de planter chaque année dans le monde jusqu’à un milliard d’arbres pour le reboisement, et ce de façon entièrement automatique. Ce chiffre représente environ un dixième des arbres coupés chaque année mondialement ou victimes de défrichage par le feu.

De nombreuses régions nécessitant un reboisement sur notre planète sont très difficilement accessibles. Le projet de drones télécommandés de BioCarbon prévoit de recenser tout d’abord, à l’aide de drones de reconnaissance, la topographie, la teneur en nutriments du sol et la biodiversité. Ces informations alimenteront un algorithme auto-adaptatif, de sorte à créer une «precision planting platform».

La plantation précise sera ensuite confiée à des quadricoptères télécommandés, sur la base des résultats de ces calculs. Ils sèmeront une plantule intégrée dans un gel nutritif biodégradable. Selon BioCarbon, ce gel garantit des chances de succès bien supérieures à celles offertes par les semis manuels à sec.

Reboisement automatique: comment cela fonctionne

06

Mobile Payment

«Le paiement mobile ouvre la voie à de toutes nouvelles expériences d’achat.»

Nous avons notre portable constamment avec nous et souvent davantage à portée de main que notre portefeuille. Il semble donc logique que le paiement par téléphone mobile s’établisse rapidement. Pour cela, il suffit d’une appli telle que Paymit, que SIX, UBS, ZKB et Swisscom souhaitent développer ensemble pour en faire le standard de paiement mobile. Aujourd’hui, Paymit permet de transférer de l’argent entre particuliers. Le paiement est alors directement débité sur le compte bancaire. Cette solution n’a pas manqué de convaincre: à l’occasion du Best of Swiss Apps Award de l’an dernier, le jury et le public ont distingué cette application à plusieurs reprises. A partir de 2016, elle permettra également de payer dans les commerces.

Pourquoi Paymit va-t-elle s’imposer sur le marché suisse du paiement mobile?

Simon Zwahlen, Head of Paymit Initiatives, Swisscom: Parce que le système ouvert et la vaste assise offerte par SIX, Swisscom et les banques – actuellement UBS, la Banque cantonale de Zurich et bientôt aussi Raiffeisen tout comme les Banques cantonales de Genève, Lucerne et vaudoise – assurent une diffusion rapide. Aujourd’hui, nous comptons déjà 140 000 utilisateurs Paymit. Lors du développement, nous attachons par ailleurs une grande importance à l’expérience des utilisateurs. Paymit doit être simple, rapide et sûr, pour les utilisateurs privés comme pour le commerce qui va venir s’ajouter. Un exemple: les paiements via Paymit doivent être débités directement sur le compte. Notre titre de «Master of Swiss Apps» nous a confirmé que nous sommes en bonne voie au niveau de l’expérience client offerte.

Pourquoi avons-nous besoin de solutions de paiement mobile – les espèces et les cartes de crédit ne suffisent-elles pas?

Les paiements mobiles ne vont pas remplacer les espèces et les cartes de crédit, mais les compléter. Nous voulons créer une alternative pratique aux paiements qui s’effectuent aujourd’hui principalement en espèces. Nous avons toujours avec nous des téléphones portables, et le paiement mobile est plus rapide qu’un règlement en espèces ou par carte. On peut par exemple penser à une boutique libre-service d’une ferme ou à un snack mobile qui sert le midi des dizaines de clients: jusqu’ici, l’argent était nécessaire, mais laborieux à manier. De plus, les achats hors ligne et en ligne fusionnent de plus en plus. Paymit permet également de simplifier ces processus. Les paiements mobiles ne sont que le début d’expériences clients tout à fait inédites. 

Jusqu’ici, Paymit est une solution P2P. Comment cela va-t-il évoluer?

A partir de début 2016, nous lancerons progressivement des solutions Paymit pour le commerce. Nous commencerons par les commerçants qui fonctionnaient jusque-là sans terminal de paiement. Durant le reste de l’année, nous compléterons l’offre en continu pour les commerçants de plus grande envergure et également pour le commerce en ligne. La fonction de paiement se verra complétée de fonctions faisant la liaison entre commerçants et clients. Il s’agit ici d’offres individualisées et liées au site, ou de la collecte de points de fidélité. Pour en revenir à l’exemple de la ferme: alors que le fermier ne me connaît peut-être même pas aujourd’hui, il pourra s’adresser à moi directement à l’avenir, pour me dire quand mon confit préféré sera à nouveau disponible. 

Plus d’informations sur Paymit 

02

El Capitan et iOS 9

Les clients commerciaux en ligne de mire

A l’occasion de la dernière pléiade de présentations de son entreprise, le CEO d’Apple Tim Cook a assuré qu’il n’était pas prévu de fusionner le système d’exploitation de desktop et de notebook OS X avec son équivalent mobile iOS. Cela peut être vrai, et aller ainsi à l’encontre de la stratégie de l’éternel concurrent Microsoft, qui a fait de Windows 10 la mesure de toute chose sur toutes les plates-formes matérielles. Mais le fait est que la toute dernière version d’OS X, baptisée d’après le nom du rocher caractéristique El Capitan dans le parc national californien de Yosemite, se sert assez franchement dans l’inventaire d’iOS et que El Capitan et la dernière version du système d’exploitation mobile, iOS 9, fonctionnent de plus en plus étroitement.

Une attaque de Microsoft

La marque à la pomme de Cupertino ne se contente plus de cibler les utilisateurs privés habitués au luxe ou les créatifs en termes de graphisme, de film et de son. Tim Cook a tiré les choses au clair lors de la présentation de l’iPad Pro: cette tablette permettrait d’exécuter 80% des tâches commerciales que l’on peut réaliser sur PC – mais avec plus de souplesse, de créativité et de facteur plaisir. Reste à savoir si ce vocabulaire caractéristique d’Apple demeure au goût du jour. Une chose est claire cependant: à travers sa stratégie, l’i-fabricant vise directement Microsoft et ses tablettes Surface basées sur Windows 10. Et effectivement, l’interaction de la suite de productivité pour iWorks, avec El Capitan, iOS 9 et iCloud, donne à Apple une impulsion supplémentaire notable en direction de l’univers commercial.

Les nouveautés de l’OS El Capitan
Les nouvelles fonctions d’iOS 9 Video

03

Transformation numérique

Les six tendances de numérisation sur lesquelles nous travaillerons en 2016

En 2015, de nouveaux projets de numérisation ont vu le jour, des stratégies numériques ont été formulées, des applis mobiles conçues et de nouvelles expériences du Web créées. Selon PAC, nous allons passer aux choses sérieuses en 2016 en termes de transformation numérique. Pour les entreprises, il s’agit de développer des modèles commerciaux totalement nouveaux, qui cannibaliseront peut-être les modèles en place, et de procéder à des ajustements fondamentaux de l’organisation et à des modifications de la culture de l’entreprise.

PAC entrevoit les six évolutions suivantes pour 2016:

1. En partant de l’analyse de l’interaction avec les clients, on va vers des modèles commerciaux basés sur les données.

2. Du fait de l’Internet des objets, les stratégies intégrées de cybersécurité seront incontournables en 2016.

3. En 2016, les expériences clients seront plus globales.

4. Les processus devraient être moins orientés vers l’efficacité, mais plus souples et axés sur les clients.

5. Les structures organisationnelles pratiquant la division du travail deviendront des univers de travail collaboratifs.

6. Last, but not least: les mécanismes de pilotage rigides seront remplacés par des cultures d’entreprises vivantes et capables d’apprendre.

Vous pouvez télécharger ici l’ensemble du rapport

05

Skype Translator

Parlez-vous mandarin?

Les utilisateurs de Skype pour Windows 7, 8.x et 10 profitent dorénavant de la fonction d’interprétation simultanée Skype Translator. Cet ajout logiciel sera intégré progressivement et automatiquement à l’aide de mises à jour. Les personnes voyant ainsi s’afficher, en haut à droite, un symbole de mappemonde après la mise à jour disposent de l’appli de traduction. Pour l’instant, Skype Translator supporte les appels téléphoniques en temps réel en allemand, en anglais, en français, en italien, en mandarin et en espagnol dans les deux directions. D’autres langues devraient venir s’ajouter.

Pas encore parfait – mais capable d’apprendre

Lilian Rincon, responsable du développement de Skype Translator chez Microsoft, concède que l’on obtient encore parfois des résultats amusants lors de la traduction en direct. Mais elle souligne que le système est capable d’apprendre et qu’il sera donc de plus en plus fiable en cas d’utilisation continue. Les interlocuteurs doivent s’habituer à marquer des pauses que le Translator soit capable de suivre. De plus, les Suisses alémaniques sont tenus de parler un allemand scolaire pur. Et il devrait en rester ainsi: le suisse allemand n’est pas envisagé.

L’essentiel sur Skype Translator Video