The pressure to be smart

Singapore is the world leader when it comes to “smart cities”. But the Lion City on the equator is not resting on its laurels because of this – on the contrary, it is already planning the next steps.

Beat Hochuli

Fifty years since the island, which lacks raw materials and is located at the southern corner of the Malaysian peninsula, gained its independence, Singapore is now a model when it comes to the concept of the “smart city”. This is astonishing when one considers that, in 1965, the city was poor and underdeveloped – and thus did not want to leave the newly created state of Malaysia, which had gained independence from Great Britain in 1963. On the contrary: disagreements with the government in Kuala Lumpur led to Singapore being expelled against its will in 1965.


Number one in the world

That was the history. Let us now look at the present and to the future prospects, not only for Singapore, but for all cities that have placed the word “smart” on their agendas – and that is just about all of them; after all, no urban centre wants to be known as “not smart”. Today, that would be synonymous with underdeveloped. 

Singapore wants to clearly define the term smart city – in its own interests as well

The fact is, Singapore has made it. In their recently published study on the smart city situation in the Asia-Pacific region, analysts from the American market research company IDC came to an unambiguous conclusion: Singapore is clearly number one. They are followed by the Chinese mainland cities Hangzhou, Chengdu and Hong Kong. Further places are occupied by Taipei (Taiwan), Christchurch and Auckland in New Zealand and Gold Coast City in eastern Australia.


What are the reasons for the Lion City State’s exceptionally good performance? IDC lists the following: the intelligent transport systems initiative (traffic and transport category), smart water sensors for fresh water and waste water management, smart mapping for the prevention and control of the dangerous tropical disease dengue fever (land use and environmental management) and the Future Schools initiative (education). 

Education and traffic

The latter was launched in 2006 by the Infocomm Development Authority (IDA), which is responsible for ICT development and promotion. The strategy involves integrating as many public, semi-public and private learning institutions as possible into the programme for the purpose of achieving performance-oriented education goals. Here, special emphasis is placed on ICT-based learning methods – in other words, e-learning, including multimedia skills and interactive methods. 


When it comes to traffic and transport, Singapore was already able to bring home the “C40 & Siemens Climate Leadership Award” in 2013 thanks to the results of the Intelligent Transport System (ITS). The top priority for those responsible for the ITS is to keep traffic moving as fluidly and with as few emissions as possible. This includes an electronic road-pricing and parking system, real-time traffic information and a highly integrated public transport network. As well as meticulous public transport planning, the basis for this includes GPS-based positioning systems and sensor-controlled information services. 


Good planning, GPS-based positioning systems and sensors make Singapore’s public transport system one of the best in the world.


Last but not least, the Singapore government relies on e-government “without limitations”. Of course, there are always limitations in this regard – but that’s just it: in the city state, people should only have to go to a counter when it’s absolutely necessary.


Developing criteria in a smart manner

These are certainly all helpful criteria for determining whether an urban space is more or less “smart”. However, what is really smart is the fact that Singapore is serious about implementing the label. After all, the expression “smart city” is currently more of a vague issue than a clearly defined term. And the IDA, mentioned above, knows this, too. The authority responsible for developing the ICT infrastructure, above all with regard to business interests, announced on 13 October this year that it would be participating in a two-year pilot project for the International Telecommunication Union. The goal of this international initiative is to work out verifiable criteria – known as key performance indicators (KPI) – which can be used as an aid for defining what a smart, sustainable city really is and what does not deserve this title.


The pressure to be smart

Speaking of sustainability: this label will certainly be subject to much misuse. Singapore is taking it seriously – also because it has to. The small island, which is home to a good seven million inhabitants, simply cannot afford to waste resources and pollute the environment. Thus, energy efficiency – and continuous improvement of this – is not simply a buzzword in Singapore, but a simple necessity. The Singaporeans know: just like with individuals, being smart is not a personality trait but an ongoing process.


Beat Hochuli

is a freelance ICT journalist and lives in Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia.

Trendscout

De la nécessité d’être smart

Singapour est en tête des «Smart Cities» à l’échelle mondiale. Mais la Cité du Lion équatoriale ne se repose pas pour autant sur ses lauriers. Bien au contraire, puisqu’elle s’attaque déjà aux prochaines étapes.

Beat Hochuli

Cinquante ans après l’indépendance de cette petite île du sud de la péninsule malaise pauvre en matières premières, Singapour est une référence mondiale en matière de «Smart City». Une situation d’autant plus étonnante qu’en 1965, la ville était pauvre et sous-développée et ne voulait donc pas se séparer du nouvel Etat malaisien qui avait obtenu son indépendance de la Grande-Bretagne en 1963. Toutefois, Singapour a été exclue de la Malaisie contre sa volonté en 1965, du fait de désaccords avec le gouvernement de Kuala Lumpur.

 

Pointure mondiale

Voici pour l’histoire. Revenons au présent et aux perspectives d’avenir de Singapour, mais aussi de toutes les villes qui ont inscrit le label «smart» sur leur bannière – soit à peu près toutes, car quel centre urbain voudrait être qualifié de «non smart»? Cela équivaudrait aujourd’hui à dire sous-développé. 

Singapour veut définir clairement la notion de Smart City – entre autres dans son propre intérêt

Le fait est que Singapour a vraiment réussi. Les analystes de l’institut américain d’études de marché IDC concluent, dans leur dernière étude sur la situation des smart cities dans la région Asie-Pacifique, que Singapour est clairement en première place, suivie par les villes chinoises de Hangzhou, Chengdu et Hongkong. On trouve ensuite Taipei (Taïwan), Christchurch et Auckland en Nouvelle-Zélande et Gold Coast City dans l’Est de l’Australie.

 

Comment expliquer le succès extraordinaire de la ville-Etat? IDC cite l’initiative en faveur de systèmes de transport intelligents (catégorie transports), les capteurs d’eau intelligents pour la gestion de l’eau fraîche et des eaux usées, le smart mapping pour la prévention et le contrôle de la dengue, maladie tropicale dangereuse (utilisation du territoire et gestion de l’environnement) et l’initiative Future Schools (formation). 

 

Formation et transports

Cette dernière initiative a vu le jour en 2006, sous l’impulsion de l’Infocomm Development Authority (IDA), en charge du développement et de la promotion des TIC. La stratégie consiste à associer le plus grand nombre possible d’instituts d’enseignement publics, semi-publics et privés pour atteindre des objectifs de formation axés sur la performance. Un accent particulier est mis sur les méthodes d’apprentissage reposant sur les TIC, à savoir l’e-learning avec compétences multimédias et méthodes interactives. 

 

En matière de transports, Singapour avait déjà remporté le «C40 & Siemens Climate Leadership Award» en 2013 sur la base des résultats de l’Intelligent Transport System (ITS). Les responsables de l’ITS cherchent à fluidifier le trafic au maximum, avec le moins d’émissions possible. D’où un système électronique de Road Pricing et Parking, des informations sur le trafic en temps réel et un réseau de transports publics hautement intégré. Le dispositif repose sur une planification minutieuse des transports publics ainsi que sur des systèmes de localisation basés sur le GPS et des services d’information pilotés par capteurs. 

 

Une bonne planification, des systèmes de localisation basés sur GPS et des capteurs font que les transports publics de Singapour figurent parmi les meilleurs au monde.

 

Last but not least, le gouvernement de Singapour mise sur l’e-government «sans frontières». Bien sûr, il y a toujours des limites mais, dans la ville-Etat, on cherche à ce que le public ne se déplace à un guichet qu’en cas de nécessité absolue.

 

Une mise au point smart des critères

Voici donc des critères très certainement bien utiles pour évaluer si un espace urbain est plus ou moins «smart». Ce qui est vraiment smart, c’est le sérieux avec lequel Singapour s’applique à mettre en œuvre le label. Car, pour le moment, les contours de la notion «Smart City» sont encore flous. L’IDA susmentionnée le sait. L’autorité en charge du développement de l’infrastructure TIC, en vue notamment des intérêts commerciaux, a annoncé le 13 octobre dernier sa participation à un projet pilote de deux ans de l’International Telecommunication Union (ITU). Objectif de ce projet international: mettre au point des critères, appelés Key Performance Indicators (KPI), pour définir ce qu’est vraiment une ville smart durable.

 

De la nécessité d’être smart 

Question développement durable, ce label sera certainement galvaudé. Singapour le prend au sérieux parce qu’elle y est obligée. La petite île aux sept millions d’habitants ne peut tout simplement pas se permettre de gaspiller ses ressources et de polluer. L’efficacité énergétique (et son amélioration continue) n’est pas un vain mot pour Singapour, mais une pure nécessité. Les Singapouriens le savent: être smart n’est pas une qualité acquise, c’est un processus qui ne s’achève jamais.

 

0214_Tre_Tre_Aut
Beat Hochuli

est journaliste indépendant spécialiste TIC. Il vit à Kota Kinabalu, en Malaisie.