Background to cloud certificates

Background to cloud certificates

What a trustworthy cloud provider needs to offer


Cloud certificates are an indication of quality and security. But only regular audits provide reliable information about all relevant aspects, from password management to disaster recovery.


Text: Urs Binder,




Trust, but check all the same. This Russian saying is particularly appropriate when talking about the security and reliability of cloud providers and cloud services. Let us take a commercial enterprise as an example: Master data and customer-specific transactions must be treated confidentially and may not fall into the wrong hands – otherwise customers will go elsewhere. Price calculations and agreements with suppliers are only the business of the parties involved. The same applies to personnel files and salary information. And there is no way that companies can do without IT for days at a time or that data might go missing. IT systems are simply too important to the business.


The same applies, of course, when the systems are held in a company's own data centres. If you hand your IT – in whole or in part – over to the cloud, you need a guarantee that the provider has also drawn up and implemented all necessary measures with regard to IT security, data protection and system availability. 


Certification of data centres and cloud services

Certificates provide proof of the trustworthiness of cloud providers, their data centres and their individual cloud services. Here are four examples:

 

  • The “Star Audit ECSA” and the “Star Audit Swiss” with additional Switzerland-specific characteristics from eurocloud.org. However, the ECSA website currently lists only a few certified providers.
  • The “Trusted Cloud” certificate from TÜV Rheinland confirms that a comprehensive range of tests for all relevant aspects has been passed successfully. Familiar SaaS providers such as Salesforce.com or box.com have been certified.
  • The Tier IV Certificate from the Uptime Institute is considered the top quality award worldwide and guarantees the availability, efficiency and security of data centres. The Swisscom data centre in Wankdorf was the first in Switzerland to receive this certificate, in 2014.
  • For PaaS platforms such as the Swisscom Application Cloud, there is a certificate from the Cloud Foundry Foundation.

 

Certificates such as these take into account standards and provisions for various areas of the design and operation of data centres, complemented with cloud-specific features and controls with regard to confidentiality and functionality.


Certificates, however, are only ever a snapshot and do not provide ongoing monitoring of the systems and services. They also do not tell us much about individual customers who took advantage of the services, or their needs.



Tobias Langbein

Tobias Langbein, Security Architect at Swisscom


Transparency and visibility

Regular audits are, however, just what cloud customers really need, according to Tobias Langbein, Security Architect at Swisscom: “The aim is to give customers transparency and visibility across all system characteristics.” If a provider were able to offer this, he says, the customer would benefit in two ways: “Customers can satisfy themselves of the quality and adequate implementation of the services and security measures. They can also use the certifications and reports to demonstrate that they are fulfilling their own due diligence.”


Swisscom as a cloud provider has placed its trust in four pillars:

 

  • The entire company is ISO 27001-certified: This guarantees that a documented information security management system is in place and is maintained, and also describes how security risks are evaluated and treated.
  • An externally audited infrastructure report as per SOC2/ISAE3402: A control system regularly checks and documents various checkpoints such as the execution of backups and the issuing of administrator privileges. At the end of the reporting period, the customer receives a report from one of the “Big 4” auditing firms who evaluate the control system and the measurements taken independently.
  • The Business Continuity Report, which is also audited externally: This certifies the implementation of disaster recovery measures for particularly business-critical applications. This offers the customer accountability regarding the observance of the agreed performance characteristics, such as the time until service is restored in the event of a fault or the maximum duration of a loss of data.
  • Security reporting provides information about the security of managed services: Here, there is a particular focus on patch management, anti-malware measures and the increased robustness of the systems. The customer has a guarantee that the managed services are operated with the highest possible level of security.






Agiles Business und effiziente IT


Swisscom begleitet Sie mit optimalen Data Center- & Cloud-IT-Lösungen.  

 

Zum Angebot




More on the topic

Contexte des certificats dans le cloud

Contexte des certificats dans le cloud

Ce qu’un fournisseur de confiance dans le cloud doit offrir


Les certificats dans le cloud sont un indice de qualité et de sécurité. Toutefois, seuls les audits réguliers donnent un avis fiable sur tous les aspects pertinents allant de la gestion des mots de passe à la Disaster Recovery.


Texte: Urs Binder,




Faites confiance mais vérifiez. Ce proverbe russe est parfaitement indiqué lorsqu’il est question de sécurité et de fiabilité des fournisseurs et des services dans le cloud. Prenons l’exemple d’une entreprise commerciale: les données de base et les transactions spécifiques aux clients doivent être traitées de manière confidentielle et ne doivent en aucun cas tomber en de mauvaises mains – afin d’éviter que les clients ne se détournent. Les calculs de prix et les accords avec les fournisseurs concernent exclusivement les parties concernées. Il en est de même pour les dossiers personnels et les données salariales. Un dysfonctionnement de l’informatique pendant plusieurs jours ou des pertes de données sont hors de question. Les systèmes informatiques sont trop importants pour l’activité.


Tout ceci semble évident, y compris lorsque les systèmes se trouvent dans le centre de calcul interne à l’entreprise. Lorsque l’on confie son informatique, totalement ou partiellement au cloud, on doit avoir l’assurance que le fournisseur a pris et appliqué toutes les mesures requises pour assurer la sécurité informatique, la protection des données et la disponibilité des systèmes.


Certification des centres de calcul et des services dans le cloud

Les certificats fournissent une attestation de la fiabilité des fournisseurs dans le cloud, de leurs centres de calcul et des différents services dans le cloud. Quatre exemples:

  • Le «Star Audit ECSA» et le «Star Audit Swiss» avec des caractéristiques supplémentaires spécifiques à la Suisse par eurocloud.org. Toutefois, le site Web ECSA référence actuellement un très petit nombre de fournisseurs certifiés
  • Le «certificat Trusted Cloud» de TÜV Rheinland atteste de la réussite d’une batterie complète de contrôles couvrant tous les aspects pertinents. Les fournisseurs SaaS connus comme Salesforce.com ou box.com sont certifiés.
  • La certification Tier IV de l’Uptime Institute est considérée comme la plus haute distinction en matière de qualité au monde. Elle garantit la disponibilité, l’efficacité et la sécurité des centres de calcul. Le Swisscom-Data-Center de Wankdorf est le premier centre de calcul suisse à avoir reçu ce certificat en 2014.
  • Les plateformes PaaS ainsi que le Swisscom Application Cloud utilisent un certificat de la Cloud Foundry Foundation.


Ces certificats prennent en compte les normes et les exigences pour différents aspects du design et de l’exploitation des centres de calcul. Ils sont complétés par des caractéristiques et par des contrôles spécifiques au cloud en termes de fiabilité et de fonctionnalités.


Les certificats ne représentent toujours qu’un instantané, mais n’assurent pas de supervision continue des systèmes et des services et ne détaillent pas les différents clients des services assurés et leurs besoins individuels.



Tobias Langbein

Tobias Langbein, Security Architect chéz Swisscom


Transparence et visibilité

Les audits réguliers sont précisément ce qui aide réellement les clients du cloud, explique Tobias Langbein, Security Architect auprès de Swisscom: «L’objectif est de créer de la transparence et de la visibilité sur toutes les caractéristiques du système». Si un fournisseur peut offrir cela, le client en profite doublement: «Il peut se convaincre de la qualité et de la mise en œuvre adéquate des services et des mesures de sécurité. Il peut également attester, à l’aide des certifications et des rapports, qu’il satisfait à sa propre obligation de diligence». En tant que fournisseur de cloud, Swisscom repose pour cela sur ses quatre pieds:


Toute l’entreprise est certifiée ISO 27001: ceci apporte la garantie de la présence et du maintien d’un système d’Information-Security-Management documenté et décrit les modalités d’évaluation et de traitement des risques de sécurité.

  • Un rapport d’infrastructure audité externe selon SOC2/ISAE3402: un système de contrôle supervise et documente régulièrement différents points de contrôle comme la réalisation des backups et l’attribution de privilèges administrateur. Le client reçoit à la fin de la période de reporting un rapport de la part d’un des cabinets d’audit «Big 4», chargé d’évaluer indépendamment le système de contrôle et les mesures réalisées.
  • Le Business Continuity Report fait également l’objet d’un audit externe: il atteste de la mise en œuvre des mesures de Disaster Recovery pour les applications particulièrement importantes pour la société. Le client reçoit un compte-rendu du respect des caractéristiques de performances accordées, comme le délai de rétablissement du service en cas de défaillance ou la durée maximum d’une perte de données.
  • Le Security Reporting informe sur la sécurité des Managed Services: la priorité est donnée à la gestion des patchs, aux mesures anti-malware et au durcissement des systèmes. Le client est assuré de l’exploitation en toute sécurité des Managed Services.





Cloud & Data Center Services


Nous vous accompagnons avec des solutions optimales pour Data Center et le Cloud.

 

Vers l'offre




En savoir plus sur ce thème