5G in industry

5G in industry

At Ypsomed, 5G is already a reality


The future of the factory was already clear in March, in Solothurn. In collaboration with medical technology manufacturer Ypsomed, Swisscom is testing the use of 5G in industrial environments.





Ypsomed is the leading developer and manufacturer of pens, auto-injectors and pump systems for administration of liquid medication. Ypsomed was the first industry partner of Swisscom to test the new 5G mobile communications generation in ongoing production. As part of the pilot project, Ypsomed has digitalised its production processes for injection pens across the entire value chain.

Ypsomed uses the 5G technology to digitalise goods tracking throughout the production process. This is made possible by indoor localisation. Further applications include real-time evaluation of machine data, virtualisation of computer resources and quality inspection by means of augmented reality technologies.


Getting jobs back to Switzerland

In Mexico, production requires several hundred employees and a huge area. Thanks to the possibilities that 5G has to offer, the same performance can be achieved with a fraction of the resources. Ypsomed’s production generates an enormous amount of data which needs to be processed immediately. “To be able to bear the costs in Switzerland, the machine has to run without interruption around the clock, or it would not pay off,” explains Ypsomed CEO Simon Michel.

Simon Michel makes no secret of it: fully automated production calls for fewer but better qualified employees. That is why productions which were outsourced in the 1980s and 1990s are being moved back from low-cost developing countries to highly developed industrialised countries. “It’s the last chance for Swiss industry,” says the CEO.


Specific applications with 5G

Localisation in the production chain

Ypsomed’s machines produce, for example, insulin pens for people with diabetes. These ballpoint pen-sized syringes undergo an automated process, are localised in real time during the production steps and are available in SAP. Sensors on the crates and a local 5G Mobile Edge Cloud make this possible at Ypsomed. If a product is not in the correct location, the system will raise an alarm. A formerly tedious process which involved scanning bar codes now runs automatically and in real time.



Positionsdaten werden in Cloud weitergeleitet

The position data of raw materials, semi-finished products and completed products is processed on a reserved network slice and forwarded to SAP in the Mobile Edge Cloud.



Real-time data analysis

Ypsomed’s production machines must run without interruption to produce to as high a quality and as cost-effectively as possible. Owing to a software solution implemented in the local Mobile Edge Cloud, 5G generates huge data volumes (such as temperature and production data) on the production machines in real time. Predictive management can also be carried out by analysing the data: for example, it is possible to predict when a particular part of a production plant will need to be replaced or repaired. This can prevent failures and makes it possible to schedule replacement or revision of a machine.



Spritzgussmaschine produziert Daten

The injection moulding machine produces data.



Virtualisation

Until now, each machine has had its own integrated computer. In a production environment networked via 5G, the software no longer runs in the machine, but is virtualised on the Mobile Edge Cloud. This enables employees to gain access to every machine via a tablet and move freely in the production hall. Ypsomed therefore saves on hardware, software and maintenance costs.



Software visualisiert auf Mobile Edge Cloud

In a production environment networked via 5G, the software no longer runs in the large machine, but is virtualised on the Mobile Edge Cloud.



Quality assurance with augmented reality

Ypsomed regularly conducts quality assurance tests. Until now, employees would test products at a test centre and subsequently enter the data in the SAP in the office. Using augmented reality glasses, employees now check quality directly in the hall. This development has simplified and accelerated the quality assurance process immensely.



Qualitätskontrolle mit Augmented Reality

Augmented Reality simplifies visual quality controls, such as with holographic glasses (HoloLens).



brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Developing 5G together

“Cooperation with companies is very important in the development of 5G. It requires mobile communication knowledge and software knowledge, both of which Swisscom has. It also requires domain knowledge, which the customer has. Only together can they develop promising 5G solutions. 5G is the next major step in technology, which, in addition to more efficient processes, will enable completely new applications,” states Simon Michel, CEO of Ypsomed.



brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

«5G will be the next major step in technology.»


Simon Michel, CEO of Ypsomed


“The results we have achieved in production at Ypsomed with 5G have exceeded our expectations and given us a first impression of what the future will bring,” says Heinz Herren, CIO and CTO of Swisscom.


«The results have exceeded our expectations.»


Heinz Herren, CIO and CTO of Swisscom


 5G Gateway

5G Gateway. What is more, a 5G base station, of which there are only a handful in Switzerland, offers something which still fills entire basements in many places: the entire IT department. 5G also enables seamless operation directly from the Cloud.



“5G opens up unimaginable possibilities for Switzerland’s digitization.”



Julian Dömer

Business Developer 5G




5G Glossary

Mobile Edge Computing

Network Slicing

Response time or latency

Virtualisation




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

5G dans l’industrie

5G dans l’industrie

Chez Ypsomed, la 5G est déjà une réalité


À Soleure, en mars, on a déjà pu avoir un avant-goût de l’usine du futur. En collaboration avec le fabricant de matériel médical Ypsomed, Swisscom teste l’utilisation de la 5G en milieu industriel.





Ypsomed est à la pointe du développement et de la fabrication de stylos, d’auto-injecteurs et de systèmes de perfusion pour l’administration de médicaments liquides. Ypsomed est désormais le premier partenaire industriel de Swisscom à tester la nouvelle génération de téléphonie mobile 5G au niveau de la production. Dans le cadre du projet pilote, les processus de production des stylos injecteurs d’Ypsomed ont été numérisés sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de création de valeur.

Ypsomed utilise la technologie 5G pour numériser le suivi des marchandises tout au long du processus de production. Ce qui est possible grâce à la géolocalisation indoor. Les autres applications sont l’évaluation en temps réel des données machine, la virtualisation des ressources informatiques ainsi que le contrôle de qualité utilisant les technologies de réalité augmentée.


Rapatrier des emplois en Suisse

Au Mexique, la production nécessite plusieurs centaines d’ouvriers et occupe une superficie immense. Grâce aux capacités de la 5G, les mêmes performances peuvent être obtenues avec seulement une fraction de ces ressources. La production d’Ypsomed génère une énorme quantité de données qui doivent être traitées immédiatement. «Pour que les coûts puissent être supportés en Suisse, la machine doit fonctionner sans interruption 24 heures sur 24, faute de quoi elle ne serait pas rentable», explique Simon Michel, CEO d’Ypsomed.

Simon Michel n’en fait pas secret: des productions entièrement automatisées nécessitent moins d’employés, mais plus qualifiés. C’est précisément la raison pour laquelle la production, externalisée dans les années 80 et 90, est retransférée des pays en développement à faible coût vers les pays industrialisés très développés. «C’est la dernière chance pour l’industrie suisse», déclare le CEO.


Applications concrètes basées sur la 5G

Localisation au sein de la chaîne de production

Les machines d’Ypsomed produisent notamment les stylos à insuline dont les diabétiques ont besoin. Ces seringues de la taille d’un stylo suivent un processus automatisé, sont localisées en temps réel pendant les étapes de production et sont accessibles dans SAP. C’est possible grâce à la présence de capteurs sur les caisses de marchandises et à un Mobile Edge Cloud 5G local chez Ypsomed. Si un produit n’est pas au bon endroit, le système déclenche une alarme. Ce qui représentait par le passé un processus fastidieux de lecture des codes-barres se déroule maintenant automatiquement et en temps réel grâce à la 5G.



Positionsdaten werden in Cloud weitergeleitet

Les données de position des matières premières et des produits semi-finis et finis sont traitées sur une Network Slice réservée et transmises à SAP dans le Mobile Edge Cloud.



Analyse des données en temps réel

Les machines de production d’Ypsomed doivent fonctionner sans interruption afin d’assurer la meilleure qualité et la plus grande rentabilité possible. Grâce à une solution logicielle implémentée dans le Mobile Edge Cloud local, des quantités énormes de données sont collectées grâce à la 5G sur les machines de production, en temps réel (par exemple la température et les données de production). L’analyse de ces données autorise également une gestion prédictive: par exemple, il est possible de prévoir à quel moment une partie déterminée d’une installation de production devra être remplacée ou réparée. Cela permet d’éviter les pannes et de planifier le remplacement ou la révision d’une machine.



Spritzgussmaschine produziert Daten

La machine de moulage par injection produit des données.



Virtualisation

Jusqu’à présent, chaque machine avait son propre ordinateur intégré. Dans un environnement de production en réseau 5G, le logiciel ne tourne plus sur la machine, mais virtuellement, sur le Mobile Edge Cloud. Les collaborateurs peuvent accéder à chaque machine via une tablette et se déplacer librement dans le hall de production. Ypsomed réalise ainsi des économies sur les coûts de matériel, de logiciel et de maintenance.



Software visualisiert auf Mobile Edge Cloud

Dans un environnement de production en réseau 5G, le logiciel ne tourne plus sur la grosse machine, mais virtuellement, sur le Mobile Edge Cloud.



Assurance qualité avec la réalité augmentée

Ypsomed effectue régulièrement des tests d’assurance qualité. Auparavant, les employés vérifiaient les produits dans un centre de test, puis enregistraient les données dans SAP au bureau. À l’aide de lunettes de réalité augmentée, les employés peuvent maintenant contrôler la qualité directement dans le hall. Grâce à ce développement, le processus d’assurance qualité est grandement simplifié et accéléré.



Qualitätskontrolle mit Augmented Reality

La réalité augmentée simplifie le contrôle de la qualité visuelle, par exemple avec des lunettes holographiques (HoloLens).



brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal


Développer la 5G ensemble

«La coopération avec des entreprises est cruciale pour le développement de la 5G. Car il nécessite des connaissances en téléphonie mobile et des compétences logicielles; Swisscom a les deux. Mais il faut aussi connaître le domaine, ce qui est l’apanage du client. Seul le travail conjoint permet de développer des solutions 5G prometteuses. La 5G sera la prochaine grande étape technologique, qui fera naître non seulement des procédés encore plus efficaces, mais aussi de nouvelles applications», déclare Simon Michel, CEO d’Ypsomed.



brightcoveVideo_skipAdTitle
brightcoveVideo_skipAdCountdown
brightcoveVideo_skipAdRest
brightcoveVideo_skipAdForReal

«La 5G sera la prochaine grande étape technologique.»


Simon Michel, CEO d’Ypsomed


«Les résultats que nous avons obtenus avec la 5G en production chez Ypsomed ont dépassé nos attentes et donnent une première idée de ce que l’avenir nous réserve», déclare Heinz Herren, CIO et CTO de Swisscom.


«Les résultats ont dépassé nos attentes.»


Heinz Herren, CIO et CTO de Swisscom


 5G Gateway

Passerelle 5G. Une station de base 5G, dont il existe seulement une poignée en Suisse, offre également ce qui remplit encore, en bien des endroits, des caves entières: un système informatique complet. C’est ce que la 5G permet également - un fonctionnement sans rupture directement à partir du cloud.



«Avec ses caractéristiques, la 5G crée des possibilités insoupçonnées pour la numérisation de la Suisse.»



Julian Dömer

Business Developer 5G




Glossaire 5G

Mobile Edge Computing

Network Slicing

Temps de réaction ou latence

Virtualisation




Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème