Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Introduction to Robotic Process Automation

Introduction to RPA 

When robots rationalise routine work

Repetitive work is one of the most mundane daily working tasks. But this doesn’t have to be the case in the age of digitisation, where software robots can take care of it, enabling employees to use the time to engage in work of a more fulfilling nature. In this way, Robotic Process Automation bridges missing interfaces and takes digitisation a step further.

Text: Andreas Heer, Images: iStock, 7

Business cards are a prime example of the dilemma faced by digitisation. These relics from an analogue past continue to be used in the age of Xing and LinkedIn. Whenever we meet interesting people, we exchange business cards, only to have to transfer their contact data manually into Outlook or our CRM system. A laborious routine task that involves a high margin of error. And when we finally have the data in one system, we cannot transfer it to another, because the two applications cannot talk to each other, let alone agree on a suitable format in which to exchange the data.

Software robots automate routine tasks

We can employ the aid of a scanner app if we often have to digitise business cards. This scans in the cards with their various designs, converts the contact data using text recognition and inserts it into the correct fields. Ideally, the app even offers suitable export functions so that we can transfer our new contacts into our CRM system and Outlook and are able to invest the time saved in keeping our contacts up to date.

 

This is a prime, albeit very simple, example of Robotic Process Automation (RPA). RPA involves automating recurring routine tasks using software robots that can perform repetitive tasks faster and with far few errors than a human. This saves time and accelerates response times, letting we humans devote ourselves to work that is challenging.

 

RPA is currently experiencing a veritable boom. This is not surprising in times when data volumes are growing rapidly and the market is demanding ever more efficient processes. According to Gartner, RPA is the fastest growing area of business software. Last year, RPA providers registered a whopping 63% increase in revenue over the previous year.

RPA is not BPA

RPA should not be confused with Business Process Optimisation/Automation, which involves the automated handling of entire processes that, for example, use certain keywords to automatically respond to e-mail inquiries sent to customer support. RPA, in contrast, automates individual steps in a process. A software robot can, for example, copy and paste support requests that cannot be answered automatically into another system.

 

Process optimisation is usually part of Business Process Management (BPM). RPA can be an optimisation measure within such a framework. However, RPA is also often used to accelerate an existing manual process without changing the workflow.

A lot of data processed faster

The use of RPA makes sense wherever large amounts of data have to be entered manually or changed on a regular basis. Such work is not only laborious for employees, but also involves a large margin of error. Typing the number of a house the wrong way round means that post arrives late. And typos in an e-mail address generate error messages instead of positive customer feedback. RPA reduces error rates and lets employees devote their time to more meaningful tasks.

 

The examples already provide an indication of where RPA can be put to use: in processing customer data such as inquiries, orders, invoices or changes of address. Software robots accordingly often work in departments that are in direct contact with customers, or at least their data: sales and support, but also marketing and accounting or invoice processing.

 

However, RPA has a lot more to offer than this. Combined with artificial intelligence models, software robots can also automate manual decision-making processes, such as the processing of error messages. Humans are only involved where the next steps require manual intervention.

The more complex the better

A lot of data and systems, some of which lack the appropriate interfaces with each other, are the preferred working environment of software robots. Such environments can be found in companies that have a large customer base: banks and insurance, healthcare, telecommunications and retail companies.

 

Such companies mostly have a heterogenous UT system landscape with a lot of legacy systems. Staff have to duly devote a lot of time to entering data manually or copying data back and forth between different applications. Such a constellation is predestined for RPA because the potential time savings more than offset the costs involved.

 

RPA is becoming an increasing focus of another sector: online retail. The use of software robots is on the rise as sales increase and delivery times get increasingly shorter, cushioning workloads during busy periods, which is in turn further driving the boom in RPA.


Do you have questions?

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Introduction de la Robotic Process Automation

Introduction de la RPA 

Quand les robots rationalisent les travaux de routine

Les tâches répétitives font partie des efforts fastidieux d’un travail quotidien. Pourtant cela n’a plus lieu d’être à l’âge de la numérisation. Les robots logiciels s’en chargent et libèrent du temps que les collaborateurs peuvent consacrer à des travaux plus valorisants. Par conséquent la Robotic Process Automation comble les interfaces manquantes et fait franchir une étape de plus à la numérisation.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Images: iStock, 7

Les cartes de visite résument tout le dilemme de la numérisation. Les reliques d’un passé analogique sont encore présentes à l’âge de Xing et LinkedIn. A l’occasion d’événements, nous rencontrons de nombreuses personnes intéressantes et échangeons des cartes de visite. Nous devons ensuite transférer manuellement les données de contact dans Outlook ou CRM. Une tâche de routine ennuyeuse parsemée de risques d’erreur. Et lorsque nous avons enfin saisi les données dans un système, impossible de les transférer dans un autre. Car les deux applications ne communiquent pas, sans parler du fait de se mettre d’accord sur un format d’échange adéquat.

Les robots logiciels automatisent les tâches de routine 

Lorsque nous devons souvent numériser des cartes de visites, nous appelons rapidement une application de numérisation à la rescousse. Elle lit les petites cartes différemment disposées, transforme les données de contact par reconnaissance de texte et les saisit dans les champs correspondants. Dans l’idéal, l’application offre même les fonctions d’exportation adéquates pour que nous puissions transférer les nouveaux contacts dans CRM et Outlook. Nous investissons ainsi le temps gagné dans la mise à jour des contacts.

 

C’est un exemple très simple de Robotic Process Automation (RPA). On entend par là l’automatisation de tâches de routine récurrentes à l’aide de robots logiciels qui sont en mesure d’effectuer des tâches récurrentes sans erreur et plus rapidement qu’une personne. Du temps est gagné et les temps de réaction sont accélérés. Et nous humains pouvons nous consacrer à des travaux exigeants.

 

La RPA connaît actuellement un fort engouement. Rien d’étonnant à l’heure où les quantités de données croissent à un rythme soutenu et où la pression du marché exige des processus toujours plus efficaces. Selon Gartner, la RPA est le domaine à la plus forte croissance du logiciel commercial. Les chiffres d’affaire des fournisseurs RPA ont progressé de 63% l’année dernière par rapport à l’année précédente.

RPA n’est pas BPA

Il ne faut pas confondre RPA et Business Process Optimization/Automation. Dans ce cas, il s’agit d’effectuer des processus entiers de manière automatique, pour par exemple répondre automatiquement sur la base de certains mots clés à des demandes adressées par e-mail au support client. La RPA par contre automatise des étapes de travail individuelles d’un processus. Ainsi un robot logiciel pourrait par exemple transférer par Copy&Paste d’un système dans un autre des demandes de support auxquelles aucun réponse automatique n’a pu être apportée.

 

L’optimisation de processus fait habituellement partie d’un Business Process Managements (BPM). La RPA peut être une mesure d’optimisation dans un tel cadre. La RPA est toutefois souvent mis en œuvre pour accélérer un processus manuel existant sans pour autant en modifier le déroulement.

Traiter rapidement de nombreuses données

L'utilisation de la RPA est judicieuse partout où de grandes quantités de données doivent être régulièrement manuellement saisies ou mutées. De tels travaux sont non seulement pénibles pour les collaborateurs mais aussi sujets à erreur. Une inversion de chiffres à la saisie du numéro de la maison et le courrier arrivera avec retard. Et les fautes de frappe dans l’adresse e-mail provoquent des messages d’erreur plutôt que des réactions positives de clients. La RPA réduit le taux d’erreur et libèrent du temps que les collaborateurs peuvent consacrer à des travaux plus valorisants.

 

Les exemples donnent déjà la tonalité: le traitement de données clients telles que demandes, commandes, factures ou changements d’adresse est un domaine d’utilisation fréquent de la RPA. Les robots logiciels travaillent par conséquent souvent dans des divisions qui sont directement en contact avec les clients ou du moins avec leurs données: vente et support mais aussi marketing, comptabilité et traitement des factures.

 

Le potentiel de la RPA est par conséquent loin d’être épuisé. Combinés avec des modèles de l’intelligence artificielle, les robots logiciels sont aussi en mesure d’automatiser des processus de décision manuels, par exemple le traitement de messages de dérangement. L’homme n’entre en jeu que lorsque les étapes suivantes nécessitent des interventions manuelles.

Plus c’est complexe meilleur c’est

De nombreuses données et de nombreux systèmes pour lesquels les interfaces adéquates permettant de communiquer entre eux font pour une part défaut sont les environnements préférés des robots logiciels. De tels environnements se rencontrent dans des entreprises qui comportent une importante base de clients: banques, assurances, secteurs de la santé, télécommunication, commerce.

 

Ces entreprises se distinguent la plupart du temps par un paysage informatique hétérogène constitué de nombreux anciens systèmes. L’effort demandé aux collaborateurs pour saisir manuellement les données ou les copier entre différentes applications est considérable. Cette constellation est prédestinée à la RPA, car le potentiel en termes de gain de temps est plus que compensé.

 

Et la RPA attire de plus en plus l’attention d’une autre branche: le commerce en ligne. Les robots logiciels entre en jeu dans le cadre des ventes en progression et des délais de livraison de plus en plus court afin d’atténuer la charge de travail aux heures de pointe. Et ainsi continuer d’alimenter le fort engouement pour la RPA.


Vous avez des questions? Nous sommes à votre disposition.

Martin Gutmann

Head of Analytics & Data Consulting





Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème