Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

A bridge between industry and academia: The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab 

Industry 4.0, IoT, Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence and Blockchain are the latest technologies that many companies are keen to take advantage of. But how can you integrate these technologies at your company without the necessary specialist expertise or background? This is where Swisscom's IoT/5G Innovation Lab comes in.

Text: Martina Longo / Alexandru Rusu, 31 may 2019

New technologies are developing apace and offer great opportunities in a world where efficiency is becoming increasingly important. In line with this, Swisscom continues to invest in research into innovative concepts and develop instruments that help the industry to successfully integrate new technologies. We employ teams of experts to support our customers in the digitisation process. The latest technologies are researched in collaboration with leading universities and implemented in research and development projects. The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab is one such place of innovation.

Open and spacious rooms in the IoT /5G Innovation Lab make innovative work possible.  

Swisscom has set up the Innovation Lab as part of the IoT department to provide access to the latest technologies with the help of science. Swisscom’s IoT/5G Innovation Lab is based in the Innovation Park of the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL). It serves as a bridge between the industry and academia. Alexandru Rusu manages the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab and collaborates with a broad network of master students, post-doc students and professors on research projects that combine both professional and academic interests.

The IoT/5G Innovation Lab is also used for events and workshops.  

The main research topics in the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab are:

 

  • Localisation algorithms
  • 5G and low power network architectures
  • Power management for efficient data transmission
  • Privacy preserving and decentralised data sharing systems
  • Data analytics using machine learning and artificial intelligence

 

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offers consulting and rapid prototyping based on IoT applications. IoT connects things such as devices, sensors and machines to the Internet and thus generates data. With the help of this data, applications are fed and trained to improve processes, develop new services or create innovative business models.

 

Innovation from the IoT/5G Innovations Labs efficiently improves processes, as this example shows:

 

In order to optimise transport routes within a construction site, several odometers and presence sensors were installed on the machines that transport the goods. The distance data and load status of the machine were recorded while the machine was moving and then transferred to the cloud via LoRa communication. There, the trip statistics were calculated, and possible route improvements were suggested. Use of the IoT permitted the efficient use of routes on the construction site and the swift transportation of material from A to B. The system was able to use the data of the construction site to calculate the route statistics and propose possible route improvements.

Everywhere you look you see innovation: Drones are used for various LoRaWAN projects.  

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offers all the advantages of collaboration between science and industry. Innovative ideas are developed in the laboratory, new technologies are researched, and their application is put into practice. Customers gain insights into the latest technology trends and experience how the introduction of new methods can optimise and improve the efficiency of processes in their company.


About the Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab 

The Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab was founded in 2016. The innovation platform is dedicated to the latest digitisation trends and offers consulting for large companies to develop projects for digital transformation. Would you like to make your company fit for a digital future? Contact our expert.




Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Pont entre industrie et académie: le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Industrie 4.0, IdO, Machine Learning, intelligence artificielle, blockchain – de nouvelles technologies convoitées par de nombreuses entreprises. Mais comment intégrer ces technologies sans l’expertise technique requise en interne? C’est là tout l’intérêt du Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab. 

Texte: Martina Longo / Alexandru Rusu, 31 mai 2019

Les nouvelles technologies évoluent très rapidement et offrent des opportunités uniques dans un monde où l’efficacité devient de plus en plus essentielle. Swisscom en est consciente et c’est pourquoi nous continuons à investir dans la recherche de concepts novateurs et à développer des outils qui aident l’industrie à intégrer avec succès les nouvelles technologies au sein de l’entreprise. Différentes équipes d’experts accompagnent nos clients dans leur numérisation. Les nouvelles technologies font l’objet de recherches avec la collaboration de grandes universités et sont mises en œuvre au sein de projets de recherche et de développement. Et parmi ces hauts lieux de l’innovation, nous pouvons citer le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab.

Les salles ouvertes et spacieuses du IoT/5G Innovation Lab permettent un travail innovant.

Swisscom a mis sur pied l’IoT/5G Lab au sein du département IoT afin d’accéder aux dernières technologies par le biais de la science. Situé dans le Parc de l’Innovation de l’École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), il sert de pont entre l’industrie et le monde académique de la recherche. Alexandru Rusu conduit le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab et collabore avec un vaste réseau d’étudiants en Master, de post-doctorants et de professeurs sur des projets de recherche qui combinent intérêts professionnels et universitaires.

L'IoT/5G Innovation Lab est également utilisé pour des événements et des ateliers.  

Principaux domaines de recherche du Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab:

 

  • Algorithmes de localisation (tels que LoRa-WAN)
  • Architectures réseau 5G et Low Power
  • Gestion de l’énergie pour une transmission efficace des données
  • Systèmes décentralisés d’échange de données
  • Analyse de données avec apprentissage mécanique et intelligence artificielle

 

Le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offre des conseils et propose des services de prototypage rapide, à partir d’applications IdO. L’IdO connecte des appareils, des capteurs et des machines à Internet, générant du même coup des données. Ces données viennent alimenter les applications et servent à améliorer les processus, à développer de nouveaux services ou à créer des business models innovants.

 

L’innovation proposée par l’IoT/5G Innovation Lab permet d’améliorer avec efficacité les processus, comme le montre cet exemple:

 

Afin d’optimiser les voies de déplacement sur un chantier, plusieurs compteurs kilométriques et détecteurs de présence ont été installés sur les machines qui transportent les marchandises. Les données de distance et l’état de charge de la machine ont été enregistrés tout au long du déplacement puis transmis dans le cloud par communication LoRa. Les statistiques de déplacement y ont ensuite été calculées, avec à la clé des propositions d’amélioration de l’itinéraire. L’IdO a aidé à mieux utiliser les voies de déplacement sur le chantier et à transporter rapidement le matériel d’un point A à un point B.

Partout où vous regardez, vous voyez l'innovation : Les drones sont utilisés pour divers projets LoRa WAN.  

Le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab offre tous les avantages de la collaboration entre science et industrie. Le laboratoire donne naissance à des idées innovantes, réalise des recherches sur les nouvelles technologies et met en pratique leur application. Les clients découvrent ainsi les dernières tendances technologiques et voient comment les processus de leur entreprise peuvent être optimisés et rendus plus efficaces en utilisant de nouvelles méthodes.


À propos du Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab

Le Swisscom IoT/5G Innovation Lab a été créé en 2016. La plateforme d’innovation est dédiée aux dernières tendances de la numérisation et propose des conseils aux grandes entreprises afin de développer des projets de transformation numérique. Envie d’engager la transition numérique de votre entreprise? Contactez-nous.




Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème