Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Incident Detection & Response

Combating cyber attacks

Prevention alone is no longer enough

Nowadays, companies need to assume that they will be attacked, so preventive measures are no longer enough. Safety officers need to develop a strategy for incident detection and response – despite the challenges that implementation brings.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Unsplash,

“Assume the breach.” When it comes to IT security strategies, this is the paradigm that safety officers need to follow today. Growing numbers of increasingly sophisticated attacks are forcing companies to improve their safety measures. After all, how long will it take for the Drovorub Linux rootkit, which was recently discovered by the US National Security Agency and is presumed to be of Russian origin, to breach our (cloud) servers?


Drovorub is attributed to the Russian APT28 group of hackers, also known as Fancy Bear or STRONTIUM. They are suspected of working on behalf of the Russian government. APT28 and many other cyber criminals, such as the hackers behind Emotet, have proven that cybercrime has long since become a professional business. Today, given the effort and financial resources that go into these activities, it’s no longer a question of whether or not a company will be attacked, but when. That means safety officers need to assume that the attacker has already breached their networks.

Detection and response: the next logical step

With this in mind, solely relying on preventive measures is no longer sufficient. While prevention is still important in repelling most attacks, current conditions mean that incident detection and response are increasingly important factors in counteracting successful breaches. To put it another way: the more sophisticated an attack, the more mature a company’s IT security has to be.

 

The NIST Cybersecurity Framework describes methods and best practices for cyber defence. It divides IT security into five phases: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond and Recover. As the third and fourth phases, detection and response are concerned with incident handling in the event of an attack

Technology meets security specialists

In addition to automated measures such as identifying and blocking malicious network traffic, detection also includes a large number of manual methods. These methods are used to uncover attack patterns that are too complex for automated defensive measures. IT security specialists use a variety of tools for this purpose. With the situation changing so rapidly, procurement of information is key. Security blogs, knowledge databases such as the Mitre ATT&CK Framework, and forums on the Darknet are just as important as regular discussions with other specialists. This is the only way for a company to ensure that they are even familiar with the indicators of an attack and can therefore recognise these indicators in their own infrastructure.


One strategy for recognising attack indicators is referred to as “threat hunting”. IT security specialists scan their internal corporate network for patterns that indicate an ongoing cyberattack. This task requires in-depth expertise. But it allows specialists to uncover anomalies that cannot be detected by security systems.


Once they uncover a successful attack using these detection measures, an appropriate response is required. This response needs to be not only fast and agile, meaning adapted to the situation at hand; it also needs to follow a defined procedure, ideally one that is based on best-practice strategies. As with incident detection, the response to these attacks combines a number of measures at both the technical and communicative levels. One proven strategy is to create a Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) that is made up of IT security specialists with in-depth knowledge in this field.

Addressing the shortage of skilled workers through outsourcing

If the idea of recruiting these security specialists is not enough to give a company’s security officer grey hairs, then the budget discussion certainly will. After all, IT security measures are like an insurance policy. If everything goes well, it could be thanks to the skill and expertise of the specialists and the use of the right technical measures. Or it could just be because the company has not yet been attacked. The unpredictability of cyberattacks in particular makes it difficult for the CISO to properly allocate resources and discuss budgets with the CFO.


One elegant, financially transparent measure is to outsource detection and response to a managed security service provider (MSSP). Furthermore, this approach is easier to scale because the resources can be used as needed, making the costs easier to calculate. After all, you don’t need to be clairvoyant to predict that, given the complexity of cyberattacks, uncovering and combating these attacks will only increase in importance as time goes on. Partial outsourcing, also referred to as outtasking, offers security officers an answer to these challenges.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Incident Detection & Response

Lutte contre les cyberattaques

La prévention seule ne suffit plus

Les entreprises doivent désormais partir du principe que les cyberattaques réussissent. Dès lors, les mesures préventives ne suffisent plus. Les responsables de la sécurité doivent élaborer une stratégie de détection et de réponse aux incidents, quelles qu’en soient les difficultés d’implémentation.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Unsplash,

«S’attendre à l’intrusion»: tel est le paradigme que doivent suivre désormais les responsables informatiques pour leur stratégie de sécurité. Au vu du nombre croissant des attaques, qui s’avèrent toujours plus sophistiquées, les entreprises doivent elles aussi perfectionner leurs dispositifs de sécurité. En effet: combien de temps avons-nous encore avant que le root-kit «Drovorub» pour Linux, vraisemblablement d’origine russe et récemment découvert par la NSA (National Security Agency) américaine, n’infeste également des serveurs (cloud) locaux?


La NSA attribue le malware au collectif de piratage russe APT28, alias «Fancy Bear» ou «Strontium». Le collectif est soupçonné de soutenir les intérêts du gouvernement à travers ses campagnes. APT28 et de nombreux autres criminels dont les auteurs d’Emotet sont la preuve que la cybercriminalité s’est professionnalisée depuis longtemps. Cette activité bénéficie de telles ressources en termes financiers et de personnel que la question aujourd’hui n’est plus de savoir si une entreprise risque d’être attaquée, mais à quel moment une attaque de ce genre réussira. En d’autres termes, les responsables sécurité doivent partir du principe que l’assaillant se trouve déjà dans le réseau.

Detection & Response: l’étape logique suivante

Dans ces conditions, s’en remettre uniquement à de simples mesures préventives ne suffit plus. Celles-ci demeurent importantes pour parer une grande part des attaques. Mais dans le contexte actuel, la détection et la réponse aux incidents (Incident Detection & Response) sont de plus en plus indispensables pour contrer les attaques réussies. Autrement dit, le niveau de maturité de la sécurité informatique doit progresser au fur et à mesure que les assaillants se perfectionnent.


Le Cybersecurity Framework du NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) décrit un ensemble de méthodes et de meilleures pratiques de cyberdéfense. Il structure la sécurité informatique en cinq phases: Identification (Identify), Protection (Protect), Détection (Detect), Réponse (Respond) et Restauration (Recover). Les phases trois et quatre de détection et de réponse visent précisément à gérer les incidents en cas d’attaques réussies.

Synergie entre la technique et les spécialistes de la sécurité

La détection englobe des mesures automatisées, notamment pour déceler et bloquer le trafic réseau malveillant, ainsi que de nombreuses méthodes manuelles. Ces dernières doivent permettre de débusquer les modèles d’attaques trop complexes pour les dispositifs de défense automatisés. Dans ce cadre, les spécialistes de la sécurité informatique exploitent différents outils. Le recueil d’informations est crucial compte tenu de la dynamique à l’œuvre. Les blogs de sécurité, les bases de connaissances comme le framework Mitre ATT&CK et les forums de discussion sur le Darknet comptent parmi les sources d’information, de même que les échanges réguliers avec d’autres spécialistes. C’est la seule façon pour les entreprises de connaître à coup sûr les signes d’attaque et d’arriver ensuite à les dépister dans leur propre infrastructure réseau.

 

Cette approche qui vise à reconnaître les signes d’attaque relève du threat hunting. Il s’agit pour les spécialistes de la sécurité informatique d’examiner le réseau d’entreprise à la recherche de modèles de cyberattaques actuelles. La tâche nécessite une expertise approfondie. Cependant, elle permet de déceler des anomalies qui n’ont pas été repérées par les systèmes de sécurité.


Lorsque ces mesures de détection révèlent une attaque réussie, une réponse adéquate est requise. Celle-ci doit être rapide et agile, c’est-à-dire adaptée à la situation concrète. Toutefois, elle doit aussi respecter un certain mode opératoire idéalement inspiré des meilleures pratiques. Comme la détection d’incidents, la réponse repose sur différentes mesures impliquant à la fois la technique et la communication. La mise en place d’une équipe CSIRT (Computer Security Incident Response Team) composée de spécialistes de la sécurité informatique extrêmement compétents représente une approche éprouvée.

L’externalisation, une solution au manque de personnel qualifié

Entre la difficulté de recruter les spécialistes qualifiés et de défendre le budget requis, le responsable de la sécurité est confronté à un véritable casse-tête. En effet, les mesures de sécurité informatique fonctionnent comme une assurance. Quand tout va bien, cela peut tenir à l’efficacité des spécialistes et des mesures techniques. Ou simplement à l’absence d’attaque. Les cyberattaques sont précisément imprévisibles. D’où la complexité, pour le CISO, de planifier les ressources et d’argumenter auprès du CFO.


Déléguer la mission de détection et de réponse aux incidents à un prestataire de Managed Security Services (MSSP) peut donc représenter une approche intelligente, car transparente sur le plan du financement. En outre, cette approche est plus évolutive car elle permet de mobiliser des effectifs en fonction des besoins et donc de budgéter les coûts correspondants. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’être devin pour comprendre que la sophistication croissante des cyberattaques rend la détection et la résolution des incidents d’autant plus indispensables. L’externalisation partielle peut être une bonne solution pour le responsable de la sécurité.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème: