Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Managed Security Services

IT security in distributed environments

Plugging the holes in the security wall

Think you can still protect your company’s IT with a security cordon? Things have moved on. There’s no clear-cut perimeter any more. But that doesn’t spell the end for IT security. Think of it instead as a new beginning, where the right security provider can play a pivotal role.

Text: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

‘The perimeter is dead.’ As a statement this is nothing new – it’s something IT experts have been saying for a long time now. This article in the US CSO magazine was already talking about the end of the perimeter as we knew it and the search for a new one back in 2011. There are various, well-known reasons behind this change. Mobile devices such as smartphones and tablets and flexible forms of working that aren’t tied to a specific location have challenged the limits of the classic, local infrastructure. The perimeter has been worn away. As a result, IT managers can no longer draw a cybersecurity cordon around their entire IT infrastructure. We also have to recognise that cyberattacks in the form of phishing e-mails and bogus websites often simply bypass in-house security measures anyway.

No trust without a cordon

This doesn’t mean that there is no longer a need for the traditional firewall and IDS/IPS protection. But it no longer protects the company’s entire infrastructure – just the local network environment. This is because today’s corporate IT centres around the cloud. Geographically speaking, ‘centres’ isn’t quite the right term, given that the cloud is often outside the perimeter in an external provider’s data centre.

 

The company’s cloud-based applications can, of course, be accessed via monitored and managed devices inside the company’s security cordon, but they can also be accessed  from anywhere outside the cordon. Mobile employees can access and use the company applications online, wherever they are. And, for a long time now, systems have digitally integrated suppliers and partners via different interfaces. On top of this, we have customers accessing the increasing number of online services via a web browser or app. This kind of connectivity is essential for efficient, digital processes. So what options do security managers looking to control all of these connections and devices have? None. Or, to put it another way, zero.

 

‘Zero Trust policy’ is one of the approaches being used to maintain a high level of IT security. Here, there is no longer a distinction between ‘good’ traffic within the cordon and ‘bad’ traffic from outside. Instead, reflecting the kind of paranoia an IT security specialist needs, all data traffic is seen as potentially ‘bad’. In short: no cordon, no trust.

Logs to keep everything under control

The consequence of this situation is that all data traffic has to be monitored for malicious activities. Every time a system is accessed from a device, the event has to be logged and centrally evaluated using a threat detection system. It is a good idea for a company to integrate the physical access systems here too, since vulnerabilities sometimes only become apparent when different data sources are combined – for example, if Mr Smith enters the office and then logs on to the ERP five minutes later some significant geographical distance away.

 

Measures that have replaced the simple perimeter protection extend from a central monitoring system to a complete security operation centre (SOC). Tiered security zones instead of a thick cordon with a central monitoring system. All of which makes eminent sense. But where to find the specialists who can de-escalate ‘false positives’ and intervene where the monitoring systems reach their limits?

Outsourcing as a solution

One effective approach is the use of managed security services (MSS). Outsourcing parts of IT security to a specialist provider can help bridge gaps in the company’s in-house expertise. Or simply offer an economical alternative to establishing your own comprehensive security infrastructure. Hybrid forms are a perfectly feasible option. Perhaps it makes sense for systems in the local network and in your own data centre to be monitored in-house, while the security of the outsourced cloud environments is delegated to the cloud provider. So, to a certain extent, the elements that lay inside the former perimeter would continue to be controlled as before and only the extensions would be outsourced.

 

And, last but not least, some good news: even if we declare the perimeter dead, certain security concepts still remain valid. IT security still requires a balanced mix of prevention, recognition of attempted attacks and an appropriate reaction. With the right security provider, companies can outsource certain security responsibilities and focus more on raising awareness among the workforce.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Etat du réseau Contact

Managed Security Services

Sécurité IT en environnement décentralisé

Colmater les brèches de la barrière de sécurité

Protéger l’IT de l’entreprise avec une barrière de protection? Dépassé: les frontières du périmètre sont effacées depuis longtemps. Il ne s’agit toutefois pas de la fin de la sécurité informatique, mais d’un nouveau départ, dans lequel un fournisseur de sécurité adapté a un rôle important à jouer.

Texte: Andreas Heer, Image: Adobe Stock,

«Le périmètre n’est plus.» Cette conclusion n’est pas nouvelle; elle circule depuis une éternité parmi les milieux spécialisés en informatique. Ainsi, dès 2011, cet article du magazine américain CSO évoquait la fin du périmètre connu ou la recherche d’un nouveau. Les raisons en sont aussi diverses que connues. Les appareils mobiles, tels que les smartphones et tablettes, et les formes de travail flexibles et mobiles font sauter les frontières de l’infrastructure locale classique. Le périmètre s’effiloche, ce qui empêche les responsables IT d’étendre une barrière de cybersécurité sur l’ensemble de l’infrastructure. A cela s’ajoutent les cyberattaques à base d’e-mails de phishing et de sites Web spécialement préparés, qui franchissent souvent sans peine la barrière.

Pas de confiance sans barrière

Cela ne veut pas dire que la protection du périmètre classique par firewall et IDS/IPS n’est plus nécessaire. Elle ne protège toutefois plus l’intégralité de l’infrastructure d’une entreprise, mais uniquement l’environnement de réseau local. Car, au centre d’une IT d’entreprise moderne se trouve le cloud. Ou même, du point de vue géographique, non pas au centre mais souvent à l’extérieur du périmètre, dans le centre de calcul d’un fournisseur.

 

L’accès aux applications de l’entreprise dans le cloud ne passe pas seulement par des appareils bien contrôlés et gérés dans le périmètre protégé par la barrière de l’entreprise, mais de partout. Les collaborateurs mobiles utilisent les applications de l’entreprise en déplacement à partir de n’importe quel accès Internet. Et les fournisseurs et partenaires sont depuis longtemps reliés numériquement sur différentes interfaces. Pendant ce temps, par l’intermédiaire d’un navigateur Web ou d’une application, les clients ont accès à des services en ligne toujours plus nombreux. Cette mise en réseau est la condition préalable pour des processus numériques efficaces. Quelles possibilités de contrôle sur toutes ces connexions et tous ces appareils existe-t-il pour les responsables de sécurité? Aucune. Zéro.

 

La «Zero Trust Policy» fait donc également partie des approches permettant de préserver malgré tout la sécurité informatique. Il n’existe plus de différence entre le «bon» trafic dans le périmètre de la barrière et le «mauvais» trafic venu de l’extérieur. Au lieu de ça, avec la paranoïa nécessaire d’un spécialiste de la sécurité informatique, chaque trafic de données est considéré comme potentiellement «mauvais». Ou, pour résumer: pas de barrière, pas de confiance.

Tout sous contrôle avec tous les logs

La conséquence de cette situation est que tous les trafics de données d’activités malveillantes doivent être surveillés. Chaque accès à chaque système via chaque appareil doit être consigné et évalué en un point central à l’aide d’un système de détection des menaces. Dans le meilleur des cas, une entreprise doit intégrer également les systèmes d’accès physiques. Parfois, en effet, les anomalies apparaissent quand on combine différentes sources de données. Par exemple, quand M. Meier arrive au bureau et se connecte cinq minutes plus tard à l’ERP à une grande distance géographique.

 

Les mesures de surveillance qui remplacent le simple périmètre de sécurité vont d’une surveillance centrale à un Security Operation Center (SOC) complet. Des zones de sécurité progressives plutôt qu’une barrière épaisse, avec une surveillance centrale. Jusqu’ici, tout est clair. Mais où trouver les spécialistes qui désamorcent les «faux positifs» et interviennent là où les automatismes du système de surveillance atteignent leurs limites?

La solution? L’externalisation

Une approche efficace consiste à utiliser les Managed Security Services (MSS). Ce type d’externalisation d’une partie de la sécurité informatique vers un fournisseur spécialisé peut pallier les manques d’effectifs internes. Ou simplement représenter une alternative économique à la mise en place d’une infrastructure de sécurité interne complète. Les formes mixtes sont ici tout à fait envisageables. Pourquoi ne pas surveiller les systèmes dans le réseau local et le centre de calcul interne tout en déléguant judicieusement la sécurité des environnements cloud au fournisseur de cloud? Finalement, ce qui restait au sein du précédent périmètre est contrôlé comme avant, et seules les extensions sont externalisées.

 

Enfin, une bonne nouvelle: même si le périmètre est présumé mort, certains concepts de sécurité restent valables. La sécurité informatique exige toujours un mélange équilibré de prévention, de détection des tentatives d’attaque et de réaction adaptée à celles-ci. En collaborant avec un prestataire de sécurité adapté, les entreprises peuvent externaliser certaines tâches liées à la sécurité et se concentrer davantage sur la sensibilisation des collaborateurs.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème