Security Analytics – Detect cyber threats early on

Threat Detection

Find the needle in the haystack with Security Analytics


Indications of security threats can easily get lost in the “haystack” of log files and other sources. Security Analytics helps you to find the “needle” in the form of relevant information – and detects correlations which are not seen in manual analysis.


Text: Andreas Heer, Images: iStock by Getty Images, 22




Analysing IT security incidents resembles the proverbial search for a needle in a haystack. Except that in this case, the needle is not in a haystack but in a stack of needles. For example, the log files of network devices – routers, firewalls, computers, proxies and the like – have innumerable entries. Which of them are really relevant to security?

Let’s make the task even harder: you are now no longer searching for a needle in a haystack, but for two identical knitting needles in numerous stacks of needles. A futile endeavour. But this is precisely what is necessary when analysing log files and various other sources: It’s only by correlating incidents from various relevant sources that you can obtain a picture of the effective security threat.


Assess threats better with Security Analytics

Fortunately, you have some help with your search: namely, a Big Data platform as a basis, and an application called Security Analytics which compiles all the relevant information and detects correlations between individual incidents across the entire data volume. Voilà, there are the two knitting needles we were looking for! And even if you don’t know exactly what you are looking for, anomalies are also detected which may indicate cyber attacks.

This is how Security Analytics helps to detect threats early on and to distinguish real dangers from false alarms. The Security Alert result can be used to initiate further analyses and respond appropriately to the threat. The analysis and corresponding response are typically carried out by a security analyst.

For example: an employee reports a phishing e-mail in his or her inbox. The specialists then look at the Security Analytics dashboard to see which other employees have also received this e-mail. The subject entry in the e-mail server’s log file provides this information.

This alone would not be a reason to give this incident priority. However, two employees have unfortunately clicked on the link in the e-mail. The security specialists have detected this because they browsed the log files of the proxy for the known domain of the phishing e-mail in the Security Analytics platform. Through the stored client IP address, it was easy to find the two computers, and therefore identify the employees. In turn, the records on the DHCP server contributed to this. Thanks to the central data storage on the Big Data platform and the Security Analytics tools, the specialists were able to respond to the incident very quickly and initiate further measures.


Various scenarios

Threat detection as in the example above is just one application scenario for Security Analytics. It can be used on different levels. From a technical perspective, Security Analytics supports the detection of cyber attacks and data leakage. Possible threat detection use cases include detection of attacks on terminal devices, suspicious activities when accessing the internet, but also threat recognition by Cloud applications.

In addition, the analysis of different sources can detect company-specific threat scenarios such as this one: Employee S. enters the headquarters in Bern with his badge at 7:53 am. 19 minutes later, the remote desktop environment registers an access by this same employee from the Far East. This triggers an alert from the Security Analytics platform. That’s because it is only the correlation of two pieces of information from the access system and the log files – which are not suspicious in themselves – which points to a possible threat.

This makes Security Analytics an efficient tool for detecting and analysing known and unknown threats and for initiating appropriate steps – so that companies don’t have to hastily cobble together their IT security processes.






Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic


   

Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Go to offer

Security Analytics ou comment détecter à temps les cybermenaces

Threat Detection

Comment retrouver une aiguille dans une botte de foin avec Security Analytics


Les remarques relatives aux menaces pour la sécurité se perdent aisément dans les «bottes de foin» que sont les fichiers de journaux. Security Analytics vous aide à retrouver «l’aiguille» sous la forme d’informations pertinentes et cela, tout en identifiant les interdépendances qui vous auraient échappé avec une analyse manuelle.


Texte: Andreas Heer, Images: iStock by Getty Images, 22




Une analyse d’incidents de sécurité informatique ressemble terriblement à la recherche d’une aiguille dans une botte de foin. Mais cette fois-ci, il s’agit de chercher dans une botte d’aiguilles... Les fichiers de journaux enregistrent un immense volume d’entrées de périphériques de réseau: routeur, pare-feu, ordinateur, serveur proxy, etc. Lesquelles nous intéressent vraiment pour nos questions de sécurité?

Compliquons-nous encore un peu plus la vie: arrêtons de chercher une aiguille dans une botte d’aiguilles mais deux aiguilles identiques dans plusieurs bottes d’aiguilles. Une initiative vouée à l’échec. Pourtant, ceci est exactement la procédure dont vous avez besoin pour analyser les fichiers de journaux et autre sources: une fois les rapprochements faits entre les incidents à partir des différentes sources, vous aurez une idée concrète de ce qui menace votre sécurité.


Comment mieux détecter les menaces avec Security Analytics

Par chance, vous n’êtes pas seul dans vos recherches: une plateforme de mégadonnées comme base et une application nommée Security Analytics collecteront les informations pertinentes tout en identifiant les interactions des différents incidents sur l’ensemble du volume de données. Les voilà, vos deux aiguilles! Et même si vous ne savez pas exactement ce que vous cherchez: les anomalies également détectées peuvent signaler des cyberattaques.

Security Analytics détecte les cybermenaces à temps et fait la différences entre fausses alertes et réels dangers. Le résultat de la «security alert» permet de poursuivre d’autres analyses et d’apporter une réponse correspondant à la menace. L’analyse et la réaction sont du ressort d’un spécialiste de la sécurité.

Prenons un exemple: un collaborateur trouve un courrier de hameçonnage dans sa boîte de réception. Avec le «security analytics dashboard», les spécialistes peuvent voir les collègues qui ont reçu le même courrier. Et cela, par le biais de l’objet dans le journal du serveur de courrier électronique.

Ce n’est pas encore une raison pour traiter l’affaire prioritairement. Mais malheureusement, deux collaborateurs ont déjà cliqué sur le lien. Les spécialistes le savent parce qu’ils ont recherché le domaine du courrier de hameçonnage dans les fichiers de journaux du proxy sur la plateforme Security Analytics. Ce fut facile de retrouver les ordinateurs des deux collaborateurs par leur adresse IP. Les enregistrements du serveur DHCP ont encore une fois apporté leur contribution. Grâce à la sauvegarde centralisée sur la plateforme de mégadonnées et les outils Security Analytics, la réactivité des spécialistes face à l’incident a été excellente; ils ont pu rapidement prendre les mesures adéquates.


Différents scénarios

S’agissant de la détection de menaces («threat detection»), l’exemple ci-dessus n’est qu’un scénario d’application de Security Analytics. L’intervention peut se déployer sur plusieurs niveaux. Techniquement parlant, Security Analytics fournit une assistance dans la détection de cyberattaques et de flux de données. «Threat detection use cases» possibles: détection d’attaques sur terminaux, d’activités suspectes sur les accès à internet, de situations dangereuses sur les applications de cloud.

De plus, l’analyse de différentes sources permet de reconnaître différents scénarios de menace spécifiques à l’entreprise. Voici un exemple: le collaborateur S. est entré avec son badge au siège principal de Berne à 7h53. 19 minutes plus tard l’environnement Remote Desktop constate un accès du même collaborateur à partir de l’Extrême-Orient. La plateforme Security Analytics lance l’alerte. Le recoupement de deux informations — sans importance si on les considère séparément — provenant du système d’accès et des fichiers de journaux a permis de définir une potentielle menace.

Security Analytics est un outil efficace de détection et d’analyse de dangers connus ou inconnus et enfin de prise de mesures adéquates. Pour que votre entreprise ne développe pas ses processus de sécurité informatique à la va-vite.






Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème


Rétrospective Webinar

Security - Threat Detection & Response

Les cybermenaces envers les entreprises et les autorités font partie de la vie quotidienne.



   

Threat Detection & Response

Avoir une vue d’ensemble sur les incidents de sécurité potentiels et obtenir une assistance professionnelle pour les attaques de Cyber Security.

Vers l'offre