Comparison of interactive whiteboards

Interactive whiteboards

Screen giants for meeting room and informal group work


Putting an end to old-fashioned meeting rooms and complicated video conferences, multi-touch whiteboards encourage group discussion and activate skills that are gaining importance in everyday work.


Text: Urs Binder,




A Forrester survey carried out in the autumn of 2016 found that more than half of all employees demand collaboration tools that are fun to use. At the same time, every third employee avoids conventional meeting rooms. The reasons for this include poor room design, outdated connections, complicated video conference systems and inadequate tools.

 

Today, the tools for collaboration are a great deal better than they once were. Consequently, a conference room is also used differently. It used to be a place where employees physically met and held a meeting, simply recording the content discussed on whiteboards or flipcharts. This was followed by video conferences, and now people work together there more on the basis of laptops. The teams are able to use communication tools such as Skype for Business, while employees have access to content from the cloud and use digital tools such as digital sticky notes or post-its for making comments and brainstorming. The problem is that the meeting rooms themselves have hardly changed. Traditional conference rooms or “meeting rooms”, as they are still often called even today, are not equipped for the digital manner of working.

 

However, participants would like to work in the same collaborative manner that they are used to in their everyday jobs. They would like to combine physical conferences with digital applications – something that is hardly possible in traditional rooms. After all, simple brainstorming in the team is impossible there using purely laptop-based tools. For this reason, employees are even less keen on using the meeting rooms.

It is therefore high time for something new. Two large multi-touch screens are now entering the collaboration arena in the form of the Surface Hub from Microsoft and the Spark Board from Cisco. They offer much more and are substantially easier to operate than conventional video conference systems. These solutions are designed to provide optimum support for teamwork. Participants join in a conference in a straightforward manner, making comments with a pen directly on the screen. Tools for arranging appointments, workflow integration and cloud storage form integral components. What’s more, the screens are sufficiently large for users to write and draw on them easily.


Microsoft Surface Hub

The Surface Hub is considered to be the first of its kind and was launched in early 2016. Available with a choice of 55-inch or 84-inch diagonal for HD or UHD respectively, the device accommodates not only the multi-touch screen, but also a complete Windows 10 PC, which however relies on the special operating system version Windows 10 Team. The Surface Hub is intended to be used as a whiteboard for spontaneous group work. Participants can use the integrated applications without the need to log on and incorporate elements from other applications or websites directly into the whiteboard from their Windows or Android mobile devices. Moreover, this can be done cable-free, for example via Near Field Communication (NFC) or Miracast.

 

External participants take part in the discussion using Skype for Business. For this purpose, the Surface Hub comprises two HD cameras with a 100-degree field of view, four microphones and a stereo loudspeaker. It also includes Office 365 and OneDrive.



Microsoft’s Surface Hub is suitable for spontaneous, cross-site group work. There is no need to log on.


Using the Surface Hub, a team distributed across several sites can “put their heads together” and work on the same whiteboard. This allows creative, cross-site collaboration in real time. Participants design, create, draw, highlight, comment and share contents in a straightforward manner – teamwork has never before been so simple.

 

Although the Surface Hub does have local memory, all new content that arises during the course of a meeting must be stored in the cloud before ending the session. This can be done with OneNote or OneDrive. Apart from that, the Surface Hub also works without a cloud connection, and the participants in a purely local meeting do not require their own cloud access. Nevertheless, this is most likely a purely theoretical issue, as Office 365 and OneDrive have become established in many companies as standard for all employees.


Cisco Spark Board

In early 2017, Cisco launched the Spark Board, also available in two sizes with a 55-inch or 70-inch diagonal, both with UHD resolution. The basic idea is the same as for the Surface Hub: spontaneous, straightforward group meetings, whiteboard functions and video conferencing. Cisco, however, consistently uses its collaboration solution Spark for this, with each participant requiring a Spark account and even the Board itself requiring a separate Spark license. All applications and contents are cloud-based. This means that Spark and a cloud connection are indispensable.



In the case of the Cisco Spark Board, all applications and contents are cloud-based.


The process of logging on for Spark Board is quite straightforward. With “proximity pairing”, the mobile device connects itself fully automatically via ultrasound when the user approaches the Spark Board. Once participants have logged on, all the content of their Spark area is available for use on the Board – in a sense, the Board becomes their own Spark device. Everything that is created or changed during a meeting ends up in the user’s personal Spark area, without the need for any further action, and does not need to be explicitly saved. For video conferences – with external participants also communicating via the Spark service – the Spark Board offers a 4K camera and an “acoustic antenna” (microphone array) with twelve elements. In this way, the voices of participants are clearly recorded, regardless of their position, and transmitted in high quality.


Google Jamboard

Google has announced a comparable product called Jamboard, which, however, will not become available until 2018. The Jamboard integrates comparable features such as a whiteboard, direct access to cloud storage and video conferencing. Just like the Surface Hub and the Spark Board, the Jamboard, too, is part of a comprehensive ecosystem – in this case the Google G-Suite. The Jamboard is based on this, meaning that it is not suitable for users with a Cisco or Microsoft infrastructure.


Overview of collaboration tools




Summary

The meeting room itself hasn’t changed much, but the way in which it is used certainly has. Cloud-based applications make it possible to enter the room with a personal tablet, launch straight into cross-site collaboration and make full use of the large screen area. Team members can sketch and share their ideas quite easily using a pen. With Skype for Business, Cisco Spark and Google Hangouts, this works not only on site in the meeting room, but also globally.

 

The interactive whiteboards constitute a vital evolutionary step along the path towards a modern working environment for any tasks that require joint project work, idea finding and communication with colleagues.






More on the topic


Microsoft Surface Hub

Microsoft Surface Hub Service is the ideal Work Smart device to allow you to turn interactive collaboration into the most productive aspect of your everyday work.

Interactive Whiteboards en comparaison

Interactive Whiteboards

Ecrans géants pour salle de réunion et travail de groupe informel


Finies les salles de réunion d’hier et les visioconférences complexes! Les whiteboards multitouch facilitent la discussion en groupe et activent des skills essentiels dans le monde du travail.


Texte: Urs Binder,  




Les outils de collaboration doivent être plaisants à utiliser. C’est ce qu’attendent plus de la moitié des collaborateurs, si l’on en croit une étude Forrester menée à l’automne 2016. Dans le même temps, un tiers d’entre eux évite les salles de réunions traditionnelles, en raison d’une mauvaise conception de la pièce, de raccordements obsolètes, de systèmes de visioconférence compliqués et d’un nombre d’outils insuffisant.

 

Aujourd’hui, les outils de collaboration sont nettement meilleurs qu’ils n’étaient autrefois. De ce fait, une salle de conférence s’utilise aussi différemment. Par le passé, il s’agissait d’une pièce où des collaborateurs se retrouvaient physiquement et tenaient une réunion où ils consignaient uniquement les contenus traités sur des whiteboards ou des flipcharts. Ont alors suivi les visioconférences, dans le cadre desquelles on collabore aujourd’hui de plus en plus en s’aidant d’ordinateurs portables. Les équipes disposent d’outils de communication tels que Skype for Business, les collaborateurs ont accès aux contenus du cloud et utilisent des instruments numériques tels que des notes digitales – qu’il s’agisse de Sticky Notes ou de Post-its – pour les commentaires ou le brainstorming. Problème: les salles de réunion elles-mêmes n’ont guère changé. Les salles de conférence ou «salles de réunion», comme on les appelle encore souvent aujourd’hui, ne sont pas équipées pour des modes de travail numériques.

 

Pourtant, les participants souhaitent y profiter de la même méthode que celle qu’ils appliquent dans leur quotidien. Ils désirent combiner conférences physiques et applications numériques, ce qui n’est guère envisageable dans les salles traditionnelles, car un simple brainstorming avec l’équipe à l’aide d’outils exclusivement basés sur des ordinateurs portables est impossible. Ainsi, les collaborateurs apprécient d’autant moins les salles de réunion.

 

Il est donc grand temps d’agir: avec le Surface Hub de Microsoft et le Spark Board de Cisco, ce sont deux grands écrans multitouch qui font leur apparition dans le domaine de la collaboration. Ils offrent bien davantage et sont nettement plus simples à utiliser que les systèmes classiques de visioconférence. Ces solutions sont conçues pour soutenir au mieux le travail d’équipe. Les participants s’enregistrent aisément dans une conférence et font part de leurs remarques directement à l’écran à l’aide d’un stylet. Les outils de prise de rendez-vous, l’intégration de workflow et la mémoire au sein du cloud sont intégrés d’emblée. De plus, les écrans sont assez grands pour que l’on puisse y écrire et y dessiner confortablement.


Microsoft Surface Hub

Disponible depuis début 2016, le Surface Hub est le premier en son genre. Il existe en version diagonale 55 ou 84 pouces pour HD ou UHD et accueille, outre l’écran multitouch, un PC complet Windows 10, qui fonctionne avec la version spéciale du système d’exploitation Windows 10 Team: le Surface Hub est un whiteboard destiné au travail de groupe spontané. Les participants peuvent utiliser les applications intégrées sans enregistrement préalable et insérer dans le whiteboard des éléments d’autres applications ou sites Web directement depuis leur appareil mobile Windows ou Android. Et cela sans fil, par exemple à l’aide de la Near Field Communication (NFC) ou de Miracast.

Les participants externes prennent part à la discussion au moyen de Skype for Business. Le Surface Hub dispose pour cela de deux caméras HD avec champ visuel 100 degrés, de quatre micros et de haut-parleurs stéréo. Office 365 et OneDrive font aussi partie du lot.



Microsofts Surface Hub est prévu pour le travail de groupe spontané entre les différents sites. Il n’est pas nécessaire de s’enregistrer.


Le Surface Hub permet de «regrouper les têtes» d’une équipe répartie entre différents sites et de les faire travailler sur le même whiteboard. Une collaboration créative intersites est donc possible en temps réel: les participants conçoivent, créent, dessinent, annotent, commentent et partagent des contenus de façon aisée – le travail d’équipe n’a jamais été aussi simple.

 

Même si le Surface Hub dispose d’une mémoire locale, tous les contenus générés au cours d’une réunion doivent être sauvegardés dans le cloud avant la fin de la session, ce qui peut se faire avec OneNote ou OneDrive. Indépendamment de cela, le Surface Hub fonctionne également sans liaison au cloud et les participants d’une réunion purement locale n’ont pas besoin de leurs propres accès au cloud. Cela ne devrait toutefois jouer un rôle qu’en théorie, car Office 365 et OneDrive se sont déjà imposés en standard pour tous les collaborateurs dans de nombreuses entreprises.


Cisco Spark Board

Cisco a lancé le Spark Board début 2017, également disponible en deux tailles avec des diagonales 55 et 70 pouces, toutes deux en résolution UHD. L’idée de base est la même que celle du Surface Hub: permettre des réunions de groupe spontanées et aisées, des fonctions de whiteboard et de visioconférence. Pour ce faire, Cisco mise toutefois exclusivement sur sa solution de collaboration Spark: Chaque participant doit disposer d’un compte Spark et le Board lui-même doit posséder sa propre licence Spark. L’ensemble des applications et des contenus sont basés sur le cloud. Par conséquent, rien ne fonctionne sans Spark ni liaison au cloud.



Avec le Spark Board de Cisco, l’ensemble des applications et contenus sont basés sur le cloud.


Comme on peut s’y attendre, le raccordement au Spark Board s’effectue très simplement. À l’aide d’un «Proximity Pairing», l’appareil se connecte automatiquement par ultrason lorsque l’on s’approche du Spark Board. Une fois la communication établie, tous les contenus du domaine Spark d’un participant sont disponibles pour l’utilisation sur le Board – qui devient en quelque sorte un appareil Spark à part entière. Tout ce qui est modifié ou créé au cours de la réunion atterrit, sans qu’il soit nécessaire d’intervenir, dans la zone Spark personnelle et n’a pas besoin d’être sauvegardé explicitement. Pour les visioconférences – des participants externes communiquent également via le service Spark – le Spark Board propose une caméra 4K et une «antenne acoustique» (réseau de microphones) avec douze éléments. Quel que soit le positionnement, les voix des participants sont ainsi saisies clairement et transmises dans une haute qualité.


Google Jamboard

Google a annoncé un produit comparable sous le nom de Jamboard, mais celui-ci ne sera disponible qu’en 2018. Le Jamboard intègre des fonctionnalités comparables telles que whiteboard, accès direct à la mémoire cloud et visioconférence. Comme le Surface Hub et le Spark Board, le Jamboard fait partie d’un écosystème de plus grande envergure – ici la Google G-Suite. Il repose sur celle-ci, si bien qu’il ne convient pas aux utilisateurs dotés d’une infrastructure Cisco ou Microsoft.


Aperçu des outils de collaboration




Conclusion

Ce n’est pas la salle de réunion en elle-même qui a beaucoup changé, mais la façon dont on l’utilise. Les applications basées sur le cloud permettent de pénétrer dans la salle avec sa tablette personnelle, de démarrer immédiatement une collaboration entre les différents sites et de profiter pleinement de la grande taille d’écran. Les membres de l’équipe peuvent esquisser et partager leurs idées aisément avec un stylet. Avec Skype for Business, Cisco Spark et Google Hangouts, cette possibilité est donnée non seulement sur place dans la salle de réunion, mais aussi à l’échelle mondiale.

 

Les whiteboards interactifs sont une véritable évolution sur la voie d’un environnement de travail moderne, dès lors qu’il s’agit de travailler à des projets communs, de dénicher des idées et de communiquer avec des collègues.








En savoir plus sur ce thème


Microsoft Surface Hub

Microsoft Surface Hub est l’appareil Work Smart idéal, avec lequel la collaboration interactive deviendra l’aspect le plus productif de votre quotidien.