ISG Provider Lens

ISG Provider Lens (Cloud Transformation/Operation Services & Xaas)

Cloud Study from ISG: “In 2017, there’s no way of avoiding Swisscom”


The global market research company ISG has taken a close look at the cloud market in Switzerland. In three categories, Swisscom was rated as the leader with its attractive portfolio and strong competitive position. These were: Cloud Transformation with Consulting and Integration, Unified Communication as Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) and Cloud Infrastructure.


Text: Information Services Group (ISG) / Ann-Kristin Koch, Images: Information Services Group (ISG), 30. June 2017




The cloud will constitute around one third of the Swiss IT market in 2030, according to the experts from the market research company, ISG. The cloud has now grown out of its “infant shoes”, and can offer companies agility and cost benefits. In the current study, “ISG Provider Lens – Switzerland 2017 Cloud Transformation/Operation Service & XaaS”, ISG investigated all relevant cloud service providers in Switzerland in five categories: Cloud Transformation, Cloud Operations, SaaS-ERP, SaaS-Unified Communications and Infrastructure from the Cloud (IaaS). In three of these categories, Swisscom was clearly the leader for the market researchers. With regard to Cloud Transformation, SaaS-Unified Communications and Cloud Infrastructure, ISG confirmed that Swisscom has a very attractive range of products and services as well as a definitively strong market and competitive position. Heiko Henkes, author of the ISG study: “In relation to the cloud, Swisscom sets the strategic pace and is also the driving force for innovation and stability.”


Journey to the cloud: Swisscom on every shortlist for cloud transformations

Especially in relation to consultations and comprehensive integration with local delivery, there’s no way of avoiding Swisscom in 2017. Some of the convincing aspects included the bundled expertise, which is needed for preparing the journey to the cloud, the proven local consultation and integration expertise, a dedicated consultant team for cloud security, and the long-term trust that is placed in Swisscom as a reliable partner.


IaaS: safe, available and close by.

Swisscom is also the leader when it comes to infrastructure resources. With its Dynamic Computing portfolio and the Enterprise Cloud, Swisscom offers flexible, scalable and highly reliable solutions in this area. Data storage in Switzerland, expertise in outsourcing and comprehensive managed services resulted in the experts coming to the following conclusion in the ISG study: “Swisscom focuses on security, availability, local services and proximity to the customer, which is combined with outstanding connectivity and fair prices.”



Quadrant für Transformation (Consulting & Integration)

Quadrant for transformation (consulting & integration)


Unified Communication (UCC) from the Cloud: stable and via own network

“Swisscom can also transfer its successful position in the Swiss telecommunications market to UCaaS business”, according to the bottom line of the ISG study regarding Unified Communication from the Cloud. Swisscom scored well here thanks to its differentiated Managed Communications offer, with a wide variety of technologies such as Microsoft, Cisco, Unify and Broadsoft. The solutions are offered via Swisscom’s own data centres. And end-to-end security and stability can be ensured as everything runs via the Swisscom network.


Swisscom Cloud for Digitisation

Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud at Swisscom Enterprise Customers says: “The rating as leader in three categories is a confirmation of our strategy. We have learned a lot on our journey to the cloud. We view ourselves as a companion, who helps to shape the journey to the cloud with the customers while generating added value for them on a permanent basis. And this, in turn, is helping to speed up the digitisation of the Swiss economy. Over the past few years, Swisscom has launched numerous services from the cloud. More than 270 companies are already using infrastructures from the cloud with dynamic computing services. Around 3,000 developers use the modern development environment in the Cloud and myCloud applications, and the cloud storage for multimedia formats currently has around 150,000 residential customers.








More on the topic

ISG Provider Lens

ISG Provider Lens (Cloud Transformation/Operation Services & Xaas)

Cloud-Studie von ISG: «An Swisscom führt 2017 nichts vorbei»


Das globale Marktforschungsunternehmen ISG hat den Cloud-Markt Schweiz unter die Lupe genommen. In drei Kategorien bewerteten sie Swisscom als Leader mit attraktivem Portfolio und starker Wettbewerbsposition. Diese waren: Cloud Transformation mit Beratung und Integration, Unified Communication als Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) und Cloud-Infrastruktur.


Text: Information Services Group (ISG) / Ann-Kristin Koch, Bilder: Information Services Group (ISG), 30. Juni 2017




Cloud werde in 2030 ein Drittel des Schweizer IT-Markts ausmachen, so die Experten des Marktforschungshauses ISG. Bei den Unternehmen sei Cloud den Kinderschuhen entwachsen und würde ihnen Agilität und Kostenvorteile sichern. In der aktuellen Studie «ISG Provider Lens – Switzerland 2017 Cloud Transformation/Operation Service & XaaS» untersuchte ISG alle relevanten Cloud-Dienstleister im Schweizer Markt in fünf Kategorien: Cloud Transformation, Cloud Operations, SaaS-ERP, SaaS-Unified Communications sowie Infrastruktur aus der Cloud (IaaS). In drei dieser Kategorien ordneten die Marktforscher Swisscom als Leader ein. ISG attestierte Swisscom bei Cloud Transformation, SaaS-Unified Communications und Cloud-Infrastruktur ein hoch attraktives Produkt- und Serviceangebot sowie eine ausgeprägte starke Markt- und Wettbewerbsposition. Heiko Henkes, Autor der ISG Untersuchung sagt: «Swisscom ist bei der Cloud strategischer Taktgeber und Garant für Innovationskraft sowie Stabilität.»


Reise in die Cloud: Swisscom auf jeder Shortlist für Cloud-Transformation

Gerade bei der Beratung und umfassenden Integration mit lokalem Delivery führe 2017 nichts an Swisscom vorbei. Überzeugt haben dabei die gebündelten Kompetenzen, um die Reise in die Cloud zu gestalten, ausgewiesene lokale Beratungs- und Integrationskompetenzen, ein dediziertes Berater-Team für Cloud Security sowie das langjährige Vertrauen in Swisscom als zuverlässigen Partner.


IaaS: sicher, verfügbar und nah

Bei Infrastruktur-Ressourcen ist Swisscom ebenfalls führend. Swisscom bietet hier mit ihrem Dynamic Computing-Portfolio und der Enterprise Cloud flexible, skalierbare und hoch verfügbare Lösungen an. Die Datenhaltung in der Schweiz, Expertise im Outsourcing sowie umfassende Managed Services liessen die Experten in der ISG-Studie zu folgendem Fazit kommen: «Swisscom setzt auf Sicherheit, Verfügbarkeit, lokale Services und Kundennähe bei sagenhafter Connectivity und fairen Preisen.»



Quadrant für Transformation (Consulting & Integration)

Quadrant für Transformation (Consulting & Integration)


Unified Communication (UCC) aus der Cloud: stabil und über eigenes Netz

«Die Stellung im Schweizer Telekommunikationsmarkt kann Swisscom auch erfolgreich auf das UCaaS-Geschäft übertragen», so die Quintessenz der ISG Untersuchung hinsichtlich Unified Communication aus der Cloud. Swisscom punktete mit dem einem differenzierten Managed Communications-Angebot auf vielfältigen Technologien wie Microsoft, Cisco, Unify und Broadsoft. Der Betrieb erfolgt aus Swisscom eigenen Rechenzentren. Über das Swisscom Netz ist eine durchgängige Sicherheit und Stabilität gewährleistet.


Swisscom Cloud für Digitalisierung

Marcel Walker, Head of Network & Cloud bei Swisscom Enterprise Customers sagt: «Die Bewertung als Leader in gleich drei Kategorien bestätigt unsere Strategie. Wir haben auf unserem eigenen Weg in die Cloud viel gelernt. Wir sehen uns als Begleiter, um die Reise in die Cloud mit unseren Kunden zu gestalten und dauerhaft Mehrwert für unsere Kunden zu schaffen. Damit beschleunigen wir die Digitalisierung der Schweizer Wirtschaft.» Swisscom hat in den letzten Jahren in unterschiedlichen Bereichen Services aus der Cloud lanciert. Über 270 Unternehmen beziehen bereits Infrastruktur aus der Cloud mit Dynamic Computing Services. Knapp 3'000 Entwickler nutzen die moderne Entwicklungsumgebung in der Application Cloud und myCloud, der Cloud-Speicher für multimediale Formate, zählt derzeit rund 150'000 Privatkunden.








Mehr zum Thema