Container technologies

Rocket launch for software development


Containers make the development and deployment of software applications in the cloud more flexible and efficient. “Container as a service” (or “Caas”) gives businesses a formidable digitisation booster.


Text: Urs Binder, Image: Unsplash, 




Time to market, agility, digitalisation: A company’s business can develop quickly, often in unexpected directions. New business models have to be formulated and implemented rapidly and peaks in business managed in good time. This requires an organisation with overall agility, and, in particular, an IT that can respond directly to the needs of the business. There just is not time to develop software in month-long projects followed by testing and work-intensive installation in the productive IT infrastructure.

Many companies operate their software in a virtualised environment in the cloud. Legacy applications benefit from the scalability of the cloud infrastructure. The importance of cloud-native, web-based applications for internal use and in the client relationship is growing. They are newly developed right from the start and can thus take advantage of all the benefits the cloud has to offer.


IaaS, PaaS, Legacy and Web apps

There are different aspects to the cloud. Providers of “infrastructure as a service” (IaaS) offer infrastructure services such as processing capacity, storage capacity and network services in a virtualised, scalable environment. Everything else – from the installation of the operating system to middleware and databases and operation of the applications – is taken care of by the IaaS customer directly or is handled by managed services that the IaaS customer also purchases. IaaS is ideally suited for the migration of legacy applications into the cloud and offers a high degree of agility and scalability in the provision of IT resources. For example, resources can be added when requirements demand, or they can be decommissioned when they are no longer needed.

With “platform as a service” (PaaS), the provider makes a complete platform available on which applications are developed, tested and operated and data is maintained. PaaS users only have to take care of their own applications and data. They have no contact with the underlying infrastructure – the PaaS environment provides the resources they need automatically and immediately. PaaS is especially suited for cloud-native software and covers the full life cycle of the applications, in accordance with the principles of DevOps and continuous integration. The Cloud Foundry offers a widely accepted open source standard for PaaS. For instance, the PaaS offering Application Cloud by Swisscom is Cloud Foundry certified.  


Containers offer independence

In the modern development of applications, a gap occurred between the IaaS and PaaS infrastructures. On the one hand, the IaaS model left users wishing for higher productivity of developers and more efficiency in operation. With the PaaS model, on the other hand, users wanted fewer restrictions and less standardisation.

This is where container technology comes into play. It is a further step in virtualisation. Applications are bundled together with all their accessories to form transportable packages that are transferred to the cloud. The whole application, including all the necessary libraries, other components and persistent objects are encapsulated in a “container”. There are no longer any external dependencies; the application runs autonomously within the container. Eliminating these external dependencies gives applications mobility across different systems. This increases the degree of portability and the flexibility of the application.

The software bundled together this way as a total package can be delivered without installation – as long as there is a run-time environment for the container technology on the target platform. Technologies such as Docker, CoreOS rkt and LXC manage the containers and ensure that the individual containers are insulated one from the other. In conjunction with orchestration solutions, applications – in particular, those based on a microservice architecture and distributed across multiple, communicating containers – can be automatically packaged, delivered and managed. In addition to Kubernetes (open source), which has established itself as the industry standard for orchestration, different variants are available, such as Pivotal Container Service and Openshift. Many PaaS platforms, including the Cloud Foundry, offer container support themselves.

In container form, the applications perform as intended by developers and do not have to be adjusted any further. This is true of applications from legacy systems as well as cloud-native apps developed in PaaS environments. Containers are therefore particularly interesting for software vendors (ISV), who can therefore supply the developed applications to their customers as containers, including all the dependencies and persistence requirements.  


Beneficial for all parties

Container technology has advantages for software developers and user companies alike. Developers deliver new software and updates very quickly as containers. They achieve better time-to-market with their solutions and can rapidly respond to customers’ needs. And there is cost savings, because developers’ productivity is heightened. Moreover, the application is certain to operate as it was designed to, because the container holds all the components that are required. The scalability and interchangeability of the containers are another big advantage.

Users no longer have to install anything – the new container integrates itself into the environment practically on its own. Companies thus save time and costs, enhance their operational efficiency, increase the productivity of developers and further facilitate digitalisation.


Container Services from Swisscom


Swisscom provides corporate customers with flexible orchestration services for containerised applications and offers personalised advice for the planning and efficient use of containers.

More information




Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Management von Container-Umgebungen

Mit Container Services schneller bei den Kunden


Container machen die Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von Software in der Cloud agil und effizient. Mit «Container-as-a-Service» – kurz CaaS – vereinfachen Unternehmen das Management der Infrastruktur und verkürzen ihre Reaktionszeit.


Text: Urs Binder, Andreas Heer Bild: Unsplash, erstmals publiziert am 22. Oktober 2018,




Time-to-Market, Agilität, Digitalisierung: Das Geschäft entwickelt sich rasant und oft in unerwartete Richtungen. Die Anforderungen des Marktes – also der Kunden – und neue Geschäftsmodelle müssen rasch konzipiert und umgesetzt werden. Das erfordert eine insgesamt agile Organisation, ganz besonders aber auch eine IT, die unmittelbar auf die Bedürfnisse des Business reagiert. Es bleibt keine Zeit, Software von Drittanbietern in monatelangen Projekten zu testen und mit viel Aufwand die IT-Infrastruktur entsprechend anzupassen. Das gleiche gilt für in-House entwickelte Anwendungen.

Viele Unternehmen haben deshalb bereits einen Teil ihrer Applikationen in die Cloud verlagert. Doch den maximalen Nutzen in Sachen Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität bringen erst Cloud-Native-Anwendungen. Sie sind oft webbasiert und modular aufgebaut mittels Microservices. Als Betriebsumgebung dienen Container-Cluster, Anpassung und Weiterentwicklung erfolgen nach DevOps/DevSecOps-Ansätzen. Automatisierte CI/CD-Prozesse (Continuous Integration and Deployment) beschleunigen Anpassungen und damit die Reaktionsfähigkeit des Unternehmens. Dies unter Einhaltung der Qualität der Applikationen und der Sicherheitsvorgaben. Sehr zur Zufriedenheit des Business.


Container machen unabhängig

Doch was zeichnet die Container-Technologie überhaupt aus? Technisch gesehen sind Container zwischen IaaS (Infrastructure as a Service) und PaaS (Platform as a Service) angesiedelt. Gegenüber IaaS bieten sie einen höheren Abstraktionsgrad und eine stärkere Standardisierung und gleichzeitig mehr Flexibilität im Betrieb. Und im Vergleich zum hochstandardisierten PaaS-Ansatz überwinden Container Einschränkungen wie etwa Datenbank-spezifische Schnittstellen. Das sorgt für mehr Freiheiten bei der Software-Entwicklung, weil die Wahl der Bibliotheken und Komponenten nicht eingeschränkt ist.

Hierzu wird die gesamte Anwendung inklusive aller benötigter Komponenten in einem so genannten «Container» eingekapselt. Es bestehen keine externen Abhängigkeiten, die Applikation läuft innerhalb des Containers autonom. Dadurch lassen sich Applikationen über unterschiedliche Systeme hinwegbewegen. Das erhöht die Flexibilität beim Ressourcenverbrauch und die Verfügbarkeit bei Hardware-Ausfällen.

Orchestrierungslösungen wie Kubernetes automatisieren die Bereitstellung und Verwaltung der Container-Cluster und -Applikationen und ermöglichen die eingangs erwähnten CI/CD-Prozesse.


Mit CaaS die Komplexität delegieren

Damit ist das Business also glücklich. Und die IT? Sie sieht sich gewissermassen mit der Kehrseite von Container-Architekturen konfrontiert: der Verwaltung von vielleicht Hunderten von Containern, verteilt über verschiedene Cluster. Und einem entsprechenden Monitoring und der Verwaltung nicht nur der Container, sondern auch der zugrundeliegenden Systeme. Was das Business glücklich macht, sorgt aufgrund der gestiegenen Komplexität für ein Seufzen bei den IT-Verantwortlichen. Und der Suche nach der nötigen Expertise für den Betrieb der doch recht neuen Container-Infrastruktur.

Doch glücklicherweise hat die Cloud-Evolution vor dem Servicegedanken nicht halt gemacht. Genau wie bei Virtualisierung und PaaS können Unternehmen den Betrieb der Container-Plattform entsprechenden Providern überlassen. Bei diesem Container-as-a-Service-Ansatz (CaaS) muss sich das Unternehmen nur um die Verwaltung der Container kümmern, während der Betrieb der zugrundeliegenden Infrastruktur vom CaaS-Provider übernommen wird. Dieser kümmert sich um die gesamte Ressourcenverwaltung und übernimmt diejenigen «Commodity»-Aufgaben, mit denen sich ein Unternehmen am Markt ohnehin nicht differenzieren kann. Dieses handhabt die Ressourcen wie Kubernetes-Cluster und Worker bequem über ein Web-Portal oder wahlweise über standardisierte API.


Mit Container-Services den Umstieg vereinfachen

Damit können sich Unternehmen auf die Vorteile der Container-Technologie fokussieren: Eigene Entwickler und Software-Anbieter liefern neue Applikationen und Updates sehr rasch als Container aus. Unternehmen erreichen eine bessere Time-to-Market ihrer Lösungen und können schnell auf Kundenbedürfnisse reagieren. Und sie sparen Kosten, da die Produktivität der Entwickler steigt und der Aufwand der IT fürs System-Management sinkt. CaaS erleichtert zudem den Umstieg von On-Premises- oder «klassischen» Cloud-Umgebungen. Unternehmen können sich auf Design und Betrieb der Applikationslandschaft konzentrieren, ohne sich mit dem aufwändigen Betrieb der Infrastruktur zu beschäftigen.

Im Service inbegriffen sind zudem die komplexen Themen Sicherheit und Verfügbarkeit. Diese stellt der Provider sicher, der genaue Umfang der Massnahmen wird in einem SLA festgehalten. Unternehmen profitieren hierbei von der Expertise des Anbieters, ohne vertieftes eigenes Know-how aufbauen zu müssen.

Damit stellen Container Services alle zufrieden: Das Business, weil es dank zeitgemässer Infrastruktur und agilen, automatisierten Betriebsmodellen wie DevOps/DevSecOps neue Funktionen und Updates in Applikationen schnell ausrollen kann – entsprechend den Bedürfnissen des Marktes. Und die IT, weil sie sich nicht um den Betrieb der Cloud-Grundinfrastruktur kümmern muss.


Container Services von Swisscom


Swisscom offeriert Unternehmenskunden flexible Orchestrierungsservices für containerisierte Anwendungen und bietet persönliche Beratung für die Planung und den effizienten Einsatz von Containern.

Mehr Informationen




Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?




Mehr zum Thema