Cohesity Global Service Provider of the Year

Cohesity selects Swisscom as one of the Top Service Providers of 2021

Each year, Cohesity selects one partner per business region as the best performing service provider. For the Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) region, this year's award goes to Swisscom. The partnerships with Cohesity creates new opportunities to support organisations needing e.g. protection with a 100% API-first approach, VMware integration and simple architectures.

“We would like to recognise our valued partners who have provided exceptional contributions to the Cohesity ecosystem, and most importantly to our customers in FY21,” said Mike Houghton, vice president, global partner organisation, Cohesity. “As a 100% partner-focused company, our partners are instrumental in serving and growing our joint customers by providing tremendous value and choice. We are closely aligned and deeply invested in our partner ecosystem, and it’s exciting to work with our partners to help them grow their businesses.”

 

Cohesity was founded with the long-term vision of building an enterprise solutions-focused business. The board includes several experienced industry professionals and all investors are committed to the development of a self-sustaining, private company.

 

In 2019, Swisscom reassessed the area of backup (data protection) as part of the entire lifecycle process of the Enterprise Service Cloud. Various technical challenges also arose with existing suppliers, which reinforced the need for a better solution. In the evaluation process, the decision was made in favour of Cohesity, with the Cohesity data protection solution, DataProtect, being thoroughly tested in a PoC at the beginning of 2020. The results were convincing and after successful negotiations, a long-term partnership was entered into in June 2020.

 

In Switzerland, Swisscom hosts four Cohesity clusters, one each in the Bern-Wankdorf, Zollikofen, Olten and Zurich computing centres, actively with over 50 nodes. Today, over 9500 VMs (virtual machines) are backed up daily there using Cohesity DataProtect.

High Level Architecture new Swisscom managed Backup Solution

Swisscom managed Backup Solution

The uncomplicated architecture makes the platform easy to manage and offers great potential for cost savings in the data protection environment. The partnership1 enables local support in Switzerland as well as new opportunities in 100% API First approaches and VMware integration. In addition, thanks to a robust and stable architecture, the micro code update process can now be ensured without interruption.

 

 

"Customers find the service intuitive and self-explanatory," says Donat Kaeser, Product & Portfolio Manager Cloud & Storage Services at Swisscom. "They are particularly satisfied with the quick restore, even for large VMs, the possibility to develop new features and the uninterrupted maintenance."

 

 

We would like to thank Cohesity once again for the FY21 EMEA Service Provider of the Year Award and look forward to a long-term and successful cooperation.

High Level Architecture new Swisscom managed Backup Solution

[1] Cohesity is also available as an OnPrem solution via Swisscom.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Cohesity Global Service Provider of the Year

Cohesity wählt Swisscom zu einem der Top Service Providers des Jahres 2021

Jedes Jahr wählt Cohesity einen Partner pro Geschäftsregion zum leistungsstärksten Service Provider. Für die Region Europa, Naher Osten und Afrika (EMEA) geht der Preis dieses Jahr an Swisscom. Die Partnerschaft mit Cohesity schafft neue Chancen, um Organisationen zu unterstützen, die z. B. Schutz mit einem 100% API-first-Ansatz, VMware Integration und einfache Architekturen benötigen.

"Wir möchten unsere geschätzten Partner auszeichnen, die im FY21 einen aussergewöhnlichen Beitrag zum Ökosystem von Cohesity und vor allem zu unseren Kunden geleistet haben", sagte Mike Houghton, Vizepräsident, Global Partner Organisation, Cohesity. "Als ein zu 100 % partnerorientiertes Unternehmen tragen unsere Partner entscheidend dazu bei, unsere gemeinsamen Kunden zu bedienen und zu vergrössern, indem sie ihnen einen enormen Wert und eine grosse Auswahl bieten. Wir sind eng mit unserem Partner-Ökosystem verbunden und investieren stark in dieses, und wir freuen uns, mit unseren Partnern zusammenzuarbeiten, um sie beim Wachstum ihres Geschäfts zu unterstützen."

 

 

Cohesity wurde mit der langfristigen Vision gegründet, ein auf Unternehmenslösungen ausgerichtetes Geschäft aufzubauen. Dem Vorstand gehören mehrere erfahrene Branchenexperten an und alle Investoren engagieren sich für die Entwicklung eines selbsttragenden, privaten Unternehmens.

 

 

Im Jahr 2019 hat Swisscom den Bereich Backup (Data Protection) im Rahmen des ganzen Lifecycle-Prozess der Enterprise Service Cloud neu beurteilt. Diverse technische Herausforderungen sind zudem mit bestehenden Lieferanten aufgetaucht, welche das Bedürfnis nach einer besseren Lösung verstärkt haben. In dem Evaluationsprozess fiel die Entscheidung auf Cohesity, wobei anfangs 2020 die Cohesity Data Protection Solution im Rahmen eines PoCs eingehend getestet wurde. Die Resultate waren überzeugend und nach erfolgreichen Verhandlungen wurde im Juni 2020 eine langfristige Partnerschaft eingegangen.

 

 

In der Schweiz hostet Swisscom vier Cohesity Cluster, je einer in den Rechnenzentren Bern-Wankdorf, Zollikofen, Olten und Zürich, aktiv mit über 50 Nodes. Heute werden täglich über 9500 VMs (Virtual Machines) mittels der Data Protection Solution von Cohesity dort gesichert.

High Level Architecture new Swisscom managed Backup Solution

Swisscom managed Backup Solution

Die unkomplizierte Architektur macht die Plattform einfach zu verwalten und grosses Potential für Kosteneinsparungen im Data Protection Umfeld. Die Partnerschaft1 ermöglicht nebst lokalem Support in der Schweiz auch neue Chancen in 100% API-First Ansätzen sowie Integration von VMware. Zudem kann, dank einer robusten und stabilen Architektur, der Micro Code Update-Prozess nun ununterbrochen sichergestellt werden.

 

"Kunden empfinden den Service als intuitiv und selbsterklärend", erzählt Donat Kaeser, Product & Portfolio Manager Cloud & Storage Services bei Swisscom. "Besonders zufrieden sind sie mit dem raschen Restore auch bei grossen VMS, der Möglichkeit zur Entwicklung neuer Features und der unterbrechungsfreien Maintenance."

 

Wir bedanken uns nochmals herzlich für den FY21 EMEA Service Provider of the Year Award bei Cohesity und freuen uns auf eine langfristige und erfolgreiche Zusammenarbeit.

High Level Architecture new Swisscom managed Backup Solution

[1] Cohesity ist auch als OnPrem Lösung über Swisscom verfügbar.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: