Interview with Adrian Bolliger

Carefree, flexible and mobile working – thanks to Enterprise Mobile

Swisscom increases the high-speed roaming data volume for all NATEL® go subscriptions. Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Solutions, explains the advantages of this and provides further details about the offering for enterprise customers. 

Text: Martina Longo, Michael Lieberherr, Images: Unsplash and Swisscom, 25 February 2019


Adrian Bolliger

Adrian Bolliger

What significance does the mobile phone have today and, with this in mind, what do the subscription adjustments mean for today’s way of working?

Today, the mobile phone is a constant companion. Mobile applications are increasingly replacing the desktop computer or laptop. Work and activities that used to require a much larger infrastructure can now be completed in no time on the smartphone, regardless of time and place. It doesn’t matter whether I’m working from home in Zurich or editing documents at Tokyo airport.

As of 1 March 2019, customers with a NATEL® go roaming subscription will receive a significantly higher data allowance when abroad. Why is the subscription being adjusted?

In the past, use of mobile phones abroad was often limited due to roaming costs. Customers had to look for alternatives such as Wi-Fi. We are changing this with our offering and thus supporting our customers to become even more efficient without worrying about how many MB or GB they are consuming abroad. For our customers, it is a great relief - as many have told us. They now no longer have to worry about using their mobile phones.

We also negotiate tariffs with our roaming partners on an ongoing basis. As of 1 March 2019, we will be passing the benefits we achieve here on to our customers. Customers who already use NATEL® go don't have to do anything and will receive the additional allowance automatically. In neighbouring countries and also in Europe, they will receive a 40 GB data allowance from 1 March 2019.

What distinguishes NATEL® go roaming subscriptions from other service providers?

With the 40 GB data allowance, we have one of the most attractive offerings on the market within the EU. We are also one of the few providers to include international calls. One of the subscriptions allows customers to use their mobile phone freely within Europe. This is also an upgrade of Enterprise Mobile, where our customers can purchase additional services such as repair, device-as-a-service, but also fleet management solutions.

For example, we have many customers who live at the border or who are border crossers. Currently, these customers often tend to limit their mobile phone use or even switch off roaming. With our NATEL® go Neighbours tariff, which includes a 40 GB allowance, such customers can also use their device to the full at any time without worrying about whether the network will jump to a foreign provider at the border.

NATEL® go Roaming subscriptions are available in various forms. What is special about NATEL® go Global?

NATEL® go has been deliberately structured into different zones. We have one Swiss zone, one zone for neighbouring countries, one for Europe and one global zone. NATEL® go Global primarily addresses the needs of our globetrotting business customers. It includes countries such as the USA, China, India, Brazil and other countries. Customers on this tariff thus receive a whole 20 GB data allowance both within Europe and the entire global zone. We also consciously select very reliable and high-quality providers for the global zone. Anyone who travels abroad a lot knows that the quality of the networks varies greatly. With almost 700 partners, we have the most roaming agreements in the world. The reason we include 20 GB, and not 40 GB, is mainly because we have different price structures with roaming partners in the global zones.

Let’s take a look at the future: What will be the next big trend for mobile?

There are two big issues for us: the Internet of Things and 5G. Almost everyone now uses mobile phones, be it smartphones, notebooks or other devices. Now, more and more things are being networked to make companies more efficient or make their products and services smarter. New business models are emerging from this. Soon, there will be more ‘things’ networked than smartphones - we're talking about millions of devices. We are already doing this today with technologies such as LoRaWan, CAT-M1, NB-IoT etc. This trend is accelerated by the introduction of 5G. Anyone who thinks that 5G only gives us more speed is mistaken. 5G is one of the technologies that will accelerate digitisation, and we are at the forefront in this. Be it with network expansion or with products and services that will bring customers significant added value.

   

NATEL® go Swisscom

The new world of mobility: Solutions tailored to your mobile communication.

Zum Angebot




Adrian Bolliger

Adrian Bolliger is Head of Mobile Business Solutions and a member of the Executive Board of Swisscom Enterprise Customers. He started his career early at Swisscom and held various key positions. Adrian Bolliger has headed the Solution Center Mobile Business since 2016 and ensures that Swisscom retains its leading role in digitising the Swiss economy.



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Interview mit Adrian Bolliger

Sorglos, flexibel und mobil arbeiten – dank Enterprise Mobile

Swisscom erhöht das Highspeed-Roaming-Datenvolumen für alle NATEL®go Abos. Die Vorteile der Anpassung und weitere Details zum Angebot erklärt Adrian Bolliger, Head of Mobile Business Solutions.

Text: Martina Longo, Michael Lieberherr, Bilder: Unsplash und Swisscom, 25. Februar 2019


Adrian Bolliger

Adrian Bolliger

Welchen Stellenwert hat das Mobiltelefon heute und was bedeutet in diesem Zusammenhang die Anpassung der Abos für die heutige Arbeitsweise?

Das Mobiltelefon ist heute ständiger Begleiter. Immer mehr mobile Applikationen ersetzen den Desktop-Computer oder Laptop. Arbeiten und Tätigkeiten, die früher eine weitaus grössere Infrastruktur benötigten, können heute schnell, unabhängig von Zeit und Ort, auf dem Smartphone erledigt werden. Es spielt dabei keine Rolle, ob ich im Homeoffice in Zürich oder am Flughafen in Tokio Dokumente bearbeite.

Per 1. März 2019 erhalten Kunden mit einem NATEL® go-Roaming-Abo ein Vielfaches mehr an Datenvolumen im Ausland. Warum wird das Abo angepasst?

In der Vergangenheit war der Einsatz des Mobiltelefons im Ausland aufgrund der Roaming-Kosten oft limitiert. Die Kunden haben nach Alternativen wie WLAN gesucht. Wir ändern das mit unserem Angebot und unterstützen so unsere Kunden dabei, noch effizienter zu werden, ohne sich Gedanken über die Anzahl der Megabytes oder Gigabytes machen zu müssen, die im Ausland verbraucht werden. Für unsere Kunden ist dies eine grosse Erleichterung – wie viele Gespräche mit ihnen zeigen. Die Mobiltelefonnutzung im Ausland ist nun kein Problem mehr.

Wir verhandeln mit unseren Roaming-Partnern zudem laufend die Tarife. Die Erfolge, die wir hierbei erreichen, geben wir per 1. März 2019 an unsere Kunden weiter. Kunden, die bereits NATEL® go nutzen, müssen nichts dafür tun und erhalten automatisch mehr Volumen. In unseren Nachbarländern und auch im übrigen Europa stehen ihnen mit dem neuen Angebot ab 1. März 2019 insgesamt 40 GB Inklusivvolumen zur Verfügung.

Was unterscheidet die NATEL® go-Roaming-Abos vom Angebot anderer Anbieter?

Mit den 40 GB haben wir innerhalb der EU eines der attraktivsten Angebote auf dem Markt. Wir sind auch einer der wenigen Anbieter, die internationale Anrufe inkludieren. Wir bieten unseren Kunden ein solches Angebot, damit sie die Möglichkeit haben, das Mobiltelefon innerhalb Europas sorglos nutzen zu können. Dies ist auch eine Aufwertung von Enterprise Mobile, womit unsere Kunden zusätzliche Services wie Reparatur, Device-as-a-Service aber auch Fleet-Management-Lösungen beziehen können.

Wir haben zum Beispiel viele Kunden, die an der Grenze wohnen oder Grenzgänger sind. Diese nutzen das Mobiltelefon heute oft eingeschränkt, indem sie die Nutzung limitieren oder gar das Roaming ausschalten. Mit unserem NATEL® go-Neighbours-Angebot mit 40 GB inklusive können auch diese Kunden ihr Gerät jederzeit voll nutzen. Ausserdem müssen sie sich nicht darum sorgen, ob das Netz an der Grenze zu einem ausländischen Provider springt.

NATEL® go Roaming-Abos gibt es in verschiedenen Ausprägungen. Was ist das Spezielle an NATEL® go Global?

Unser NATEL® go-Angebot wurde bewusst in verschiedene Zonen eingeteilt. Wir haben eine Schweizer Zone, eine Zone für unsere Nachbarländer, eine für Europa und eine Global-Zone. NATEL® go Global adressiert vor allem die Bedürfnisse der Geschäftskunden, die weltweit unterwegs sind. Darin sind unter anderem Länder wie die USA, China, Indien und Brasilien enthalten. Somit bieten wir nicht nur innerhalb Europas, sondern auch global ein Rundum-sorglos-Angebot mit ganzen 20 GB Datenvolumen an. Wir suchen bewusst auch für die Global-Zone sehr zuverlässige und qualitativ hochstehende Provider aus. Wer viel im Ausland reist, weiss, dass die Qualität der Netze sehr unterschiedlich ist. Mit fast 700 Partnern haben wir die weltweit meisten Roaming-Abkommen geschlossen. Der Grund dafür, warum wir 20 und nicht 40 GB inkludieren, besteht vor allem darin, dass wir in den Global-Zonen verschiedene Preisgefüge mit den Roaming-Partnern vereinbart haben.

Blicken wir in die Zukunft: Wie wird der nächste grosse Trend für Mobile heissen?

Da gibt es zwei grosse Themen, die uns beschäftigen werden: das Internet der Dinge und 5G. Inzwischen nutzen fast alle Menschen Mobilgeräte, seien es Smartphones, Notebooks oder andere Geräte. Und es werden immer mehr Dinge vernetzt, um die Unternehmen effizienter oder ihre Produkte und Services smarter zu machen. Daraus entstehen neue Geschäftsmodelle. Es werden sehr bald mehr Dinge als Smartphones vernetzt sein – man spricht von Millionen von Geräten. Wir treiben die Vernetzung voran mit Technologien wie LoRaWan, CAT-M1, NB-IoT usw. Dieser Trend wird vor allem noch beschleunigt durch die Einführung von 5G. Wer glaubt, mit 5G erhielten wir nur mehr Speed, der irrt. 5G ist eine der Technologien, die die Digitalisierung beschleunigen werden, und genau hier sind wir ganz vorne dabei. Sei es mit dem Netzausbau oder mit Produkten und Services, die den Kunden einen grossen Mehrwert bringen werden.


Adrian Bolliger

Adrian Bolliger ist Head of Mobile Business Solutions sowie Mitglied des Executive Boards von Swisscom Enterprise Customers. Er begann seine Karriere bereits früh bei Swisscom und war in verschiedenen Schlüsselpositionen tätig. Seit 2016 führt Adrian Bolliger das Solution Center Mobile Business und stellt sicher, dass Swisscom ihre führende Rolle bei der Digitalisierung der Schweizer Wirtschaft behält.



Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema