Business Model Hackathon 

The Power of Business Model Innovation 

Though often neglected, business model innovation can unleash enormous benefits for business sustainability. Failing to shape your business for the digital age will ultimately pose a significant survival risk. 

Text: Thomas Zasowski and Egon Steinkasserer, Pictures: Swisscom and Adobe Stock,

To support our business model innovation approach, we adapted the hackathon concept from the software developer’s world to the business model domain. It was here that the idea of a Swisscom business model hackathon was born. Our first effort with taking a business model hackathon approach resulted in a strategic realignment of the Swisscom Open Business Hub.

 

Business model innovation is one of the most exciting areas of innovation. In essence, the business model for a given product or service describes how profit is ultimately generated – in other words how an offering is transformed into cash. Hence it is no surprise, that changing the business model can have a major impact. In fact, business model innovation is one of the most value creating innovation types. Still it is often neglected even though it requires the lowest volume in effort when compared with product or process innovation.

 

A business model can be defined as a plan for the successful operation of a business, identifying sources of revenue, the intended customer base needs, products, and details of financing. The terms profit model and business model are mostly synonyms.

 

To innovate around a business model a deep understanding of what motivates customers when they consider buying a product or service is essential. Digitalization in the last 20 years has enabled new business models while on the other hand, new business models are often a mandatory foundation for digitalization. Furthermore, entire industries such as video entertainment and retail were turned upside down. Business model innovation, hence, is a catalyst for disruption. Companies like Netflix, Uber, Airbnb, eBay, or Google would not have become as successful and would possibly even cease to exist without new business models. Business model innovation is becoming increasingly important as profit models become obsolete faster than ever due to the exponential speed of global competition. Companies must be able to continuously innovate and explore new business models to reinvent themselves.


If businesses neglect to learn how to question and improve their successful profit model assumptions on a regular basis, they risk becoming obsolete quickly.

man_walking_over_slackline

Fig. 1: Business Model Innovation is essential to survive

Not everyone is familiar with the term hackathon: Essentially it is an event with a specific focus that spans from multiple hours to a few days wherein computer programmers and/or hardware engineers and others involved in the product development collaborate intensively on software or hardware projects. The goal of a hackathon is to create functioning software or hardware by the end of the event. Hackathons in the last years have become very popular with Swisscom organizing and supporting countless internal and external hackathons.

 

Hence it might not be too surprising that we adopted the hackathon concept for an adjacent domain: business model innovation. In the following we would like to share with you the insights from our Swisscom business model hackathon for business-to-business (B2B) products and services.

Goals and Ideas 

There were plenty of topics we were considering and some secondary goals we aimed to achieve as well. As there are a number of different units and customer segments that Swisscom interacts with regularly, we focused primarily on products and services for Swisscom business customers. In the beginning the following questions were top of mind:

  • How can we make products more profitable driven by customer appreciation?
  • How do we educate colleagues about existing business models elsewhere?
  • How can we push the innovation mindset inside Swisscom and in particular among product managers?
  • How can we foster and improve the collaboration and fruitful exchange between people with varying expertise and backgrounds?

These questions are of particular importance due to the unique scope of Swisscom’s business product portfolio and the intrinsic complexity associated with having this number of domains covered. Inspired by an engineering background and positive experiences, it was obvious to us that we should adapt the concept of a hackathon. However, the existing business model hackathon concepts did not fit our needs as they usually focus on developing new business model from scratch. In contrast, we wanted to revise current profit models of existing products and ideally reuse and adapt proven business models for the digital age. Hence, we had to elaborate our own concept for a business model hackathon.

Preparation 

We began with agreeing to limit the number of participants to 25 employees. On top we invited a few experienced innovation managers from other parts of the company to enrich the discussion with unbiased views from outside our specific organization which included product managers from different product domains (mobile connectivity, IoT and banking) who volunteered to present their products and current business models and/or ideas. To encourage the out of the box thinking we decided to do the business model hackathon outside the usual office buildings in an environment stimulating creativity. At Swisscom, we have several modern creative spaces available, and our event took place in the so-called Bounty which makes you feel like you're in a big sailing ship instead of the regular office interior. 

people_in_big_room

Fig. 2: Picture from the event on the Bounty

The participants had a very diverse background; therefore as we wanted to reuse proven profit models, we also needed to provide a bit of theory and introduced the Business Model Navigator (O. Gassmann et. al.), the Business Model Canvas (A. Osterwalder et. al.) and the Lean Canvas (A. Maurya) as common tools supporting the business model generation. Although all three models use different approaches, they have the following four main questions in common:

 

Who is your target customer and market segment?

What do you offer to your customers and what is your value proposition?

Why is the business model profitable and what are the drivers for revenue and cost?

How is the value proposition created and what partners, resources or activities are needed?

graphic_questions_business_model

Fig. 3: The four main questions defining a business model

Well elaborated and detailed answers to those relatively obvious questions help to reduce the risks associated with creating or changing a business. In particular, it is crucial that customers are interested in the offering, that the service or product can actually be built and delivered and that there is solid financial planning with costs, revenues and profitability in mind.

 

With help of a business model canvas, an entire business model can be mapped into a pre-structured canvas comprising of nine essential building blocks. Different business model variants can be run through and examined in a structured and comprehensive way. The basic building blocks are:

 

  • Value propositions: the customer problems that are solved as well as the value that is delivered to customers, e.g. cost reduction, performance increase, etc.
  • Customer segments: people and organizations for which value is created, e.g. consumer market, niche market, industry vertical, etc.
  • Customer relationships: the kind of relationship with the customers, e.g. self-service, personal assistance, co-creation, etc.
  • Channels: touch points to interact with customers and deliver value, e.g. online, shop, distribution network, etc.
  • Key activities: everything you need to execute, e.g. production facility, software platform, etc.
  • Key partners: the ones you need to help you, e.g. suppliers, outsourcing partners, etc.
  • Key resources: indispensable assets to create value, e.g. intellectual property rights, financials, experienced team, etc.
  • Revenue streams: pricing mechanisms through which value is captured, e.g. subscription fee, one-of-payment, etc.
  • Cost structure: costs associated for running the business, e.g. most expensive key resources and activities

 

More details as well as specific examples for the different blocks can be found in the whitepaper on the business model canvas.

 

The Lean Canvas is an adaption of the Business Model Canvas for startups. It supports company founders by putting the customers’ problem into focus with potential solutions. Additionally, questions on the unique value proposition as well as on the unfair advantage can be elaborated. This way, the risk for startups of being easily copied by large corporates or other competitors can be reduced.

 

The Business Model Navigator is an approach to business model development and innovation developed by the University of St. Gallen. They have analyzed the most successful business models of the last decades and found that the majority of all business model innovations can be traced back to the combination of a number of basic patterns of successful business model innovations which is shown in an interactive way here.

 

These patterns can be used as templates to innovate your own business model by combining them and answering the four main questions concerning your business.

 

As the Business Model Canvas is very comprehensive and as the Lean Canvas targets startups mainly, we decided on the Business Model Navigator for the hackathon. It is constructed in a simpler way compared to the two aforementioned models and the business model patterns support a more structured ideation phase and foster reuse.

D-Day 

We decided to invest one day for our first business model hackathon. We kicked-off the day with a short education session where we presented the above-mentioned methods. To further get the attendees in the mood and to motivate and challenge them on out-of-the-box thinking, we presented some successful examples of radical business model innovation, from companies such as Nespresso and Hilti. After an overview of the three products by their respective product managers we formed three hackathon teams – one per product. The idea generation in the three teams took most of the time and the outcomes were very different for each team. The selected approaches ranged from going through the business model patterns one by one up to having less structured brainstorming-like discussions. Using white boards and flip charts to discuss, combining and discarding ideas, each team came up with several potential business models.


In controversial discussions within the teams and also in the plenum, the pros and cons of the different proposals were debated, and the teams selected their preferred business model. One team even realized the need to pivot on their product as it did not solve the customers main pain points. Hence the team came up with a new value proposition as well as a new business model.


In the following pitch session, the teams presented their new business model to the whole audience. Many critical questions were asked on the proposals as well as on the underlying assumptions. On top, the audience enriched the presented business models with additional ideas and gave valuable feedback. This feedback was included by the teams which they used to refine their work hypothesis in a short session. In the final pitch session, the product managers showed the refined business models. Then they further explained what next steps would be necessary to implement the required changes.

Open Business Hub 

One example for an idea that has been generated during the Business Model Hackathon and that has been successfully realized afterwards is the strategic realignment of the Open Banking Hub towards the Open Business Hub (OBH), which has gone live in the beginning of this year. The OBH is addressing two key challenges: the lack of standardization when it comes to integrating third-party providers into the systems of financial services providers, and the inability to connect multiple third-party providers for the same use case in a scalable manner. Swisscom offers an integration layer to support this, which companies can use to connect their systems efficiently with Swisscom’s Open Business Hub. To foster our commitment to the API economy we moved the Swisscom Open Business Hub as a B2B offering on the same platform as the Swisscom OneAPI Management exposed via the Swisscom Digital Marketplace. We are convinced that in business ecosystems the co-existence of different hubs is essential. Thus we launched a first partnership with SIX.

Learnings 

The Business Model Hackathon format worked very well in general, and was also later confirmed by the positive feedback from all participants. The preparation and team discipline fostered by a good moderation paid off once again. Nevertheless, we also made some learnings that we want to share with you.


On the positive side, we stimulated the awareness for innovative business models, and we showed the participants methods on how to revise or create new business models. Also, we supported the product managers by creating three new business models for existing products, where most of the participants believed that they would be both beneficial for customers and more profitable for Swisscom than the current ones.


Reserving enough time is crucial. We did the whole hackathon in one day, which resulted in a need to hurry in most of the sessions to maintain the schedule. Distributing the sessions over two days would probably resolve this time pressure, while also leaving more time for elaboration of the business models in informal discussions breaks or ending the day with an apero. In addition, it is well known that for complex creative tasks, a night’s sleep increases the chance that we will wake up with a clearer view of the problem. The writer John Steinbeck stated that “a problem difficult at night is resolved in the morning after the committee of sleep has worked on it.”


The incorporation of the new and refined business models into the daily business was the most difficult part. As the products were in different maturity stages, it was more or less difficult for the product managers to adapt their product business models in a bottom-up way only. Some ideas could be realized as pitched during the hackathon while others were partly included and considered for the roadmap. In a next business model hackathon, we might also involve selected senior executives to have their buy in and have them take on a Godfather-type role for the immanent decisions and changes required. This would lead to a higher awareness and better support towards the implementation of the new business models.


While the setup was considered good for an initial business model hackathon, it needs to be adapted for future ones. For instance, for the level of education, it should be considered whether most of the participants have already participated such a hackathon or whether they are new to it.


We also made up our minds about scaling the business model hackathon idea. One idea that popped up was to establish business model ambassadors. These ambassadors should be previous hackathon participants supporting the generation of new business model ideas and (depending on their role in the organization) also aid with removing impediments or acting as a sparring partner and/or mentor to the product manager.


Thanks to the diversified composition of participants from across the company, the event also offers the added opportunity for team building. In the end, a great experience and overall success.

In Technology Insights, the Swisscom B2B CTO Office regularly reports and comments on current issues from the world of technology and innovation, demonstrates their importance for Swisscom customers and highlights relevant offers. 



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic:

Business Model Hackathon 

Business Model Innovation kreativ umsetzen 

Business Model Innovation bietet enorme Vorteile, wird aber häufig vernachlässigt. Wir haben das Hackathon-Konzept aus der Welt der Softwareentwicklung auf das Gebiet der Geschäftsmodelle übertragen. Der Swisscom Business Model Hackathon war geboren – und hat gleich konkrete Resultate gebracht. 

Text: Thomas Zasowski und Egon Steinkasserer, Bild: Swisscom und Adobe Stock,

Business Model Innovation gehört zu den aufregendsten Innovationsfeldern. Das Geschäftsmodell (Business Model) beschreibt grundsätzlich, wie mit einem bestimmten Produkt oder einer Dienstleistung Gewinn erwirtschaftet wird. Es ist daher keine Überraschung, dass eine Veränderung des Geschäftsmodells erhebliche Auswirkungen hat. Tatsächlich zählt Business Model Innovation zu den Innovationstypen mit der grössten Wertschöpfung. Trotzdem wird sie noch zu wenig genutzt, obwohl sie im Vergleich zur Produkt- oder Prozessinnovation weniger aufwändig ist.

 

Ein Geschäftsmodell kann man als einen Plan für den erfolgreichen Betrieb eines Unternehmens definieren, in dem die Umsatzquellen, die Bedürfnisse des angestrebten Kundenstamms, Produkte und Finanzierungsdetails festgelegt sind. Die Begriffe Ertragsmodell und Geschäftsmodell sind weitestgehend synonym.

 

Für Innovationen rund um das Geschäftsmodell ist ein fundiertes Verständnis zu den Motiven von Kunden, die den Kauf eines Produktes oder einer Dienstleistung erwägen, unabdingbar. Die Digitalisierung hat in den letzten zwanzig Jahren zahlreiche neue Geschäftsmodelle hervorgebracht. Diese sind häufig eine zwingende Voraussetzung für die Digitalisierung. Ganze Branchen wie der Filmvertrieb oder der Detailhandel wurden vollkommen auf den Kopf gestellt. Business Model Innovation ist somit ein Katalysator für Umbrüche. Unternehmen wie Netflix, Uber, Airbnb, eBay oder Google wären ohne ein neues Geschäftsmodell nicht so erfolgreich geworden oder gar gescheitert.

 

Business Model Innovation wird zunehmend wichtiger, da Ertragsmodelle aufgrund der exponentiellen Beschleunigung des globalen Wettbewerbs immer schneller obsolet werden. Unternehmen müssen Innovationen ständig vorantreiben und neue Geschäftsmodelle erkunden, um sich neu zu erfinden.

 

Unternehmen müssen lernen, die Annahmen hinter ihren erfolgreichen Geschäftsmodellen regelmässig zu hinterfragen und zu verbessern. Sonst laufen sie Gefahr, schnell überflüssig zu werden.

mann_laeuft_ueber_slackline

Abb. 1: Business Model Innovation ist unerlässlich für das erfolgreiche Fortbestehen von Unternehmen

Bei einem Hackathon handelt es sich um eine Veranstaltung mit einem thematischen Schwerpunkt, die einige Stunden oder sogar Tage dauern kann. In diesem Rahmen arbeiten Programmierer, Hardwareingenieure und andere an der Produktentwicklung beteiligte Personen gemeinsam intensiv an Software- oder Hardwareprojekten. Ziel eines Hackathons ist es, bis zum Ende der Veranstaltung eine funktionierende Software oder Hardware zu entwickeln. In den letzten Jahren sind Hackathons sehr populär geworden. Swisscom selbst hat zahlreiche interne und externe Hackathons organisiert und unterstützt.

Wir haben das erfolgreiche Konzept des Hackathons für den angrenzenden Bereich der Business Modell Innovation übernommen. Im Folgenden möchten wir die Erkenntnisse aus unserem Swisscom Business Model Hackathon für B2B-Produkte und -Dienstleistungen mit Ihnen teilen.

Ziele und Idee 

Im Hackathon haben wir zahlreiche Themen erörtert und auch versucht, einige zweitrangige Ziele zu erreichen Aufgrund einer Vielzahl von angebotenen Produkten interagiert Swisscom mit verschiedenen Kundensegmenten. Wir haben uns im Rahmen des Hackathons in erster Linie auf Produkte und Dienstleistungen für Geschäftskunden konzentriert. Anfangs haben uns die folgenden Fragen beschäftigt:

  • Wie können wir Produkte durch die Wertschätzung der Kunden profitabler machen?
  • Wie können wir Kolleginnen und Kollegen über anderweitig bestehende Geschäftsmodelle aufklären?
  • Wie können wir innovationsorientiertes Denken bei Swisscom fördern, insbesondere bei den Produktverantwortlichen?
  • Wie lassen sich die Zusammenarbeit und der Austausch zwischen Personen mit unterschiedlichen Kompetenzen und Hintergründen fördern und verbessern?

Angesichts der umfassenden Breite des Swisscom Produktportfolios für Geschäftskunden und der Komplexität, die unweigerlich damit einhergeht, sind diese Fragen von besonderer Bedeutung.


Aufgrund unseres technischen Hintergrunds und von den positiven Erfahrungen inspiriert, lag es für uns auf der Hand, das Hackathon-Konzept zu übernehmen. Jedoch waren die bestehenden Business Model Hackathon-Konzepte für unsere Bedürfnisse nicht geeignet. Sie fokussieren sich zu stark darauf, von Grund auf ein neues Geschäftsmodell zu entwickeln. Wir hingegen wollten aktuelle Ertragsmodelle von bereits bestehenden Produkten überarbeiten. Idealerweise wollten wir dabei bewährte Geschäftsmodelle wiederverwenden und für das digitale Zeitalter anpassen. Daher mussten wir unser eigenes Konzept für einen Business Model Hackathon entwickeln.

Die Vorbereitung 

Zunächst haben wir die Teilnehmerzahl auf 25 Mitarbeitende begrenzt. Darunter waren Produktverantwortliche aus den Bereichen Mobile Connectivity, IoT und Banking. Sie haben ihre Produkte und aktuellen Geschäftsmodelle und -ideen vorgestellt. Zusätzlich haben wir einige erfahrene Innovationsmanager aus anderen Unternehmensbereichen eingeladen. Diese Personen sollten mit der unvoreingenommenen Perspektive von Aussenstehenden die Diskussion bereichern. Um die Teilnehmenden zum Denken ausserhalb festgefahrener Denkmuster anzuregen, haben wir den Hackathon nicht in den üblichen Büroräumlichkeiten abgehalten, sondern in einer kreativitätsfördernden Umgebung. Bei Swisscom stehen uns dazu mehrere moderne Kreativbereiche zur Verfügung. Unsere Veranstaltung fand in der sogenannten Bounty statt. Hier hat man das Gefühl, man befinde sich nicht in einem gewöhnlichen Büro, sondern auf einem grossen Segelschiff. 

mesnchen_in_grossem_raum

Abb. 2: Foto des Hackathons auf der Bounty

Da wir bewährte Ertragsmodelle wiederverwenden wollten, mussten wir zunächst eine gemeinsame theoretische Grundlage schaffen. Dazu haben wir den Business Model Navigator (O. Gassmann et. al.), das Business Model Canvas (A. Osterwalder et. al.) und das Lean Canvas (A. Maurya) als gängige Tools eingeführt, die bei der Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen hilfreich sind. Obwohl sich die drei Modelle unterschiedlicher Ansätze bedienen, haben sie die folgenden vier zentralen Fragen gemeinsam:

 

Wer ist Ihre Zielkundschaft und Ihr Marktsegment?

Was bieten Sie Ihren Kunden an, und was ist Ihr Leistungsversprechen?

Warum ist das Geschäftsmodell profitabel, und was sind die Umsatz- und Kostentreiber?

Wie wird das Leistungsversprechen erzielt, und welche Partner, Ressourcen oder Aktivitäten werden benötigt?

grafik_fragen_business_modell

Abb. 3: Die vier wesentlichen Fragen, mit denen sich ein Geschäftsmodell definieren lässt

Gut ausformulierte, detaillierte Antworten auf diese relativ naheliegenden Fragen helfen, die mit der Gründung oder der Veränderung eines Unternehmens einhergehenden Risiken zu reduzieren. Entscheidend ist insbesondere, dass die Kunden am Angebot interessiert sind, dass die Dienstleistung oder das Produkt tatsächlich erbracht respektive hergestellt und geliefert werden kann und dass eine solide Finanzplanung vorliegt. Sie berücksichtigt Kosten, Einnahmen und Ertragskraft.

 

Mithilfe des Business Model Canvas lässt sich ein ganzes Geschäftsmodell auf einer vorstrukturierten «Leinwand» (englisch «canvas») abbilden, die aus neun wesentlichen Bausteinen besteht. Damit können verschiedene Varianten eines Geschäftsmodells strukturiert und umfassend durchgespielt und geprüft werden. Diese wesentlichen Bausteine sind:

 

  • Leistungsversprechen: die Kundenprobleme, die gelöst werden, sowie der Nutzen, der den Kunden geboten wird, z.B. Kostensenkung oder verbesserte Leistung.
  • Kundensegmente: Personen und Organisationen, für die Nutzen geschaffen wird, z.B. Konsumgütermarkt, Nischenmarkt oder Branche.
  • Kundenbeziehungen: die Art von Beziehung, die zu den Kunden unterhalten wird, z.B. Self-Service, persönliche Betreuung oder Co-Creation.
  • Kanäle: Touchpoints, an denen mit Kunden interagiert und ein Nutzen geliefert wird, z.B. Online, Ladengeschäft oder Vertriebsnetz.
  • Schlüsselaktivitäten: alles, was zur Umsetzung benötigt wird, z.B. Fertigungseinrichtung oder Softwareplattform.
  • Schlüsselpartnerschaften: diejenigen, deren Hilfe benötigt wird, z.B. Lieferanten oder Outsourcing-Partner.
  • Schlüsselressourcen: für die Wertschöpfung unverzichtbare Mittel, z.B. geistiges Eigentum, Finanzen oder erfahrenes Team.
  • Einnahmequellen: Preismechanismen, mit denen Nutzen erfasst wird, z.B. Abogebühr oder einmalige Zahlung.
  • Kostenstruktur: die Kosten, die durch den Betrieb des Unternehmens anfallen, z B. die teuersten Schlüsselressourcen und -aktivitäten.

 

Weitere Informationen sowie konkrete Beispiele zu den verschiedenen Bausteinen finden Sie im Whitepaper zum Business Model Canvas.

 

Das Lean Canvas ist eine an die Bedürfnisse von Start-ups angepasste Variante des Business Model Canvas. Es hilft Unternehmensgründern, sich auf das Problem der Kunden sowie auf mögliche Lösungen zu fokussieren. Darüber hinaus ist es hilfreich, um Fragen zum Alleinstellungsmerkmal sowie zum unfairen Vorteil zu erörtern. So können Start-ups das Risiko reduzieren, von grossen Unternehmen und anderen Wettbewerbern einfach kopiert zu werden.

 

Der Business Model Navigator ist ein von der Universität St. Gallen entwickelter Ansatz zur Entwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen und Innovationen. Dort hat man die erfolgreichsten Geschäftsmodelle der letzten Jahrzehnte analysiert. Dabei wurde festgestellt, dass die meisten Geschäftsmodellinnovationen auf eine Kombination mehrerer grundlegender Muster zurückgeführt werden können, die hier interaktiv dargestellt werden. Durch Kombination dieser Muster und durch die Beantwortung der vier wesentlichen Business Modell Fragen für das eigene Unternehmen lässt sich das bestehende Geschäftsmodell auf innovative Weise anpassen.

 

Weil das Business Model Canvas sehr umfangreich und das Lean Canvas vor allem auf Start-ups ausgerichtet ist, haben wir uns entschlossen, für den Hackathon den Business Model Navigator zu verwenden. Dieser ist im Vergleich zu den beiden oben genannten Modellen einfacher aufgebaut. Die Geschäftsmodellmuster unterstützen ausserdem eine strukturierte Ideengenerierungsphase und fördern die Wiederverwendung.

Der Tag X 

Für unseren ersten Business Modell Hackathon haben wir einen ganzen Tag veranschlagt. Er begann mit einer kurzen Einführungssession, in der wir die oben genannten Methoden vorgestellt haben. Um die Teilnehmenden weiter einzustimmen und sie zu unkonventionellem Denken anzuregen, haben wir einige erfolgreiche Beispiele für radikale Geschäftsmodellinnovationen von Firmen wie Nespresso und Hilti vorgestellt.

 

Ziel des Hackathons war, innovative Geschäftsmodelle für drei bestehende Produkte zu finden. Nachdem die Produkte von den jeweiligen Verantwortlichen vorgestellt wurden, haben wir drei Hackathon-Teams (eines für jedes Produkt) gebildet. Die Ideengenerierung in den drei Teams nahm den grössten Teil der Zeit in Anspruch. Die gewählten Ansätze und die Ergebnisse der einzelnen Teams unterschieden sich stark. Einige sind die Geschäftsmodellmuster nacheinander durchgegangen, andere haben weniger strukturierte Diskussionen geführt im Stil eines Brainstormings. Auf Whiteboards und Flipcharts haben die Teams Ideen diskutiert, kombiniert sowie wieder verworfen und jeweils mehrere potenzielle Geschäftsmodelle entworfen.

 

In kontroversen Diskussionen innerhalb der Teams, aber auch im Plenum, wurde erörtert, was für und was gegen die verschiedenen Vorschläge spricht. Anschliessend haben die Teams das von ihnen bevorzugte Geschäftsmodell ausgewählt. Ein Team musste sogar erkennen, dass sie ihr Produkt deutlich anpassen sollten, weil es keine Lösung für die wichtigsten Probleme der Kunden bot. Daraufhin hat das Team ein neues Leistungsversprechen wie auch ein neues Geschäftsmodell vorgestellt.

 

In der anschliessenden Pitch Session haben die Teams ihr neues Geschäftsmodell dem versammelten Publikum präsentiert. Es wurden viele kritische Fragen zu den Vorschlägen sowie den zugrundeliegenden Annahmen gestellt. Die Zuhörenden steuerten ausserdem weitere Ideen zu den vorgestellten Geschäftsmodellen bei und gaben wertvolles Feedback. Dieses wurde von den Teams aufgegriffen und half in einer kurzen Session, die Arbeitshypothese zu verbessern.

 

In der abschliessenden Pitch Session stellten die jeweiligen Produktmanager die verbesserten Geschäftsmodelle vor. Anschliessend erklärten sie, welche nächsten Schritte zur Umsetzung der erforderlichen Änderungen notwendig wären.

Open Business Hub

Ein Beispiel für eine Idee, die beim Business Model Hackathon entwickelt und anschliessend erfolgreich umgesetzt wurde, ist die strategische Neuausrichtung des Open Banking Hub als Open Business Hub (OBH), der Anfang des Jahres live ging. Der OBH adressiert zwei wesentliche Herausforderungen: einerseits die fehlende Standardisierung bei der Integration von Drittanbietern in die Systeme von Finanzdienstleistern, andererseits die fehlende Möglichkeit, mehrere Drittanbieter für denselben Anwendungsfall skalierbar anzubinden. Hierfür stellt Swisscom eine Integrationsebene zur Verfügung, über die Unternehmen ihre Systeme effizient mit dem Open Business Hub verbinden können. Um unsere Verpflichtung gegenüber dem API-Ökosystem zu bekräftigen, haben wir den Open Business Hub als B2B-Angebot auf dieselbe Plattform wie das Swisscom OneAPI Management portiert und über den Swisscom Digital Marketplace bereitgestellt. Wir sind überzeugt, dass in Business-Ökosystemen die Koexistenz verschiedener Hubs besonders wichtig ist. Deshalb sind wir eine erste Partnerschaft mit SIX eingegangen.

Erkenntnisse 

Das Format Business Model Hackathon hat im Grossen und Ganzen sehr gut funktioniert, was auch durch das positive Feedback aller Teilnehmenden bestätigt wird. Eine gute Vorbereitung sowie Disziplin im Team, die auch durch eine gute Moderation gefördert wurde, haben sich wieder einmal bezahlt gemacht. Trotzdem haben wir einige Erkenntnisse gewonnen, die wir mit Ihnen teilen möchten.


Positiv ist zu vermerken, dass wir das Bewusstsein für innovative Geschäftsmodelle geschärft und den Teilnehmenden Methoden zur Überarbeitung oder Neuentwicklung von Geschäftsmodellen gezeigt haben. Ausserdem haben wir den Produktmanagern geholfen, indem wir drei neue Geschäftsmodelle für bestehende Produkte entwickelt haben. Die meisten Teilnehmenden waren überzeugt, dass diese sowohl für die Kunden nützlicher als auch für Swisscom profitabler als die bisherigen wären.


Es ist enorm wichtig, sich genug Zeit zu reservieren. Wir haben den gesamten Hackathon an einem Tag durchgeführt, weshalb wir uns in den meisten Sessions beeilen mussten, um den Zeitplan einzuhalten. Wenn man die Sessions auf zwei Tage aufteilen könnte, würde dieser Zeitdruck wegfallen. Gleichzeitig gäbe es mehr Zeit, um in zwanglosen Diskussionspausen über die Geschäftsmodelle zu sprechen oder den Tag mit einem Apéro abzurunden. Ausserdem ist allgemein bekannt, dass es bei komplexen kreativen Aufgaben hilfreich ist, über das Problem zu schlafen. Am nächsten Tag erkennt man die Probleme meist viel deutlicher. Der Schriftsteller John Steinbeck hat einmal gesagt: «Es ist eine allgemeine Erfahrung, dass ein Problem, schwierig in der Nacht, am Morgen gelöst ist, nachdem das Schlafkomitee daran gearbeitet hat».


Die schwierigste Aufgabe war die Integration der neuen und verbesserten Geschäftsmodelle in das Alltagsgeschäft. Da sich die Produkte in verschiedenen Reifephasen befinden, war es für die Produktmanager unterschiedlich schwierig, ihre Geschäftsmodelle lediglich mittels Bottom-up-Prozess anzupassen. Einige Ideen konnten wie im Hackathon gepitcht umgesetzt werden, andere wurden teilweise berücksichtigt und für die Roadmap vorgemerkt.


Für den nächsten Business Model Hackathon überlegen wir, ausgewählte Bereichsleitungsmitglieder und Führungskräfte einzubeziehen. Durch dieses frühzeitige Involvieren könnten sie als Paten für die erstellten Businessmodelle an den erforderlichen Entscheidungen und Änderungen mitwirken. So könnte das Bewusstsein für neue Geschäftsmodelle geschärft und deren Umsetzung besser unterstützt werden.


Während Teilnehmerzusammensetzung und Ablauf für einen ersten Business Model Hackathon sehr gut waren, sollte diese für weitere Hackathons in der Zukunft angepasst werden. Zum Beispiel sollte der Wissensstand der Teilnehmenden berücksichtigt werden, d.h. ob sie schon einmal an einem solchen Anlass teilgenommen haben oder ob es für sie eine neue Materie ist.


Wir haben uns auch damit beschäftigt, wie sich die Idee eines Business Model Hackathon skalieren lässt. Ein Vorschlag war die Ernennung sogenannter Business Model Ambassadors. Bei diesen sollte es sich um Mitarbeitende handeln, die bereits an Hackathons teilgenommen haben und die Entwicklung von Ideen für neue Geschäftsmodelle unterstützen. Abhängig von ihrer Rolle im Unternehmen könnten sie auch helfen, Hindernisse bei der Umsetzung zu beseitigen, oder als Botschafter, Sparringspartner oder Mentoren des Produktmanagers fungieren.


Da die Teilnehmenden aus ganz unterschiedlichen Unternehmensbereichen kamen, bot der Event auch eine hervorragende Gelegenheit für Teambuilding.

In «Technology Insights» berichtet das B2B CTO Office von Swisscom regelmässig über aktuelle Themen aus der Welt der Technologie und Innovation, nimmt dazu Stellung und zeigt die Bedeutung und das Angebot für Swisscom Kunden auf. 



Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Mehr zum Thema: