Swisscom Blockchain AG

Blockchain Interview with Daniel Haudenschild

«Blockchain technology key to industry and the workplace»


Swisscom is founding Swisscom Blockchain AG to further the development of blockchain applications in and for Switzerland. Their new CEO, Daniel Haudenschild, explains what the company can do and why they are doing it. 


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Images: © Micha Riechsteiner , 21 september 2017




What potential does blockchain technology have from your point of view? 


Blockchain technology will revolutionise business and administration as we know it in the coming years. The reason for this is that it has never been so easy to access products, services or information from anywhere in the world. The Internet and digitalisation make all this possible. The administrative processes that run in the background, such as supply chains, payment flows and contractual relationships, however, are all very conventional still, and often extremely complex, sluggish and expensive. These procedures could be simplified if the parties involved were not forced to keep their own books and a joint database existed that all of them could access. Blockchain technology, which, in simple terms, is made up of distributed databases, could take over this role. All the subscribers would save their data redundantly and it would be backed up constantly.



Daniel Haudenschild, CEO Swisscom Blockchain AG



Why is Swisscom founding Swisscom Blockchain AG? 


We consider this technology to be a key supporting and enabling technology for a variety of industries. Blockchain technology is also a key topic for Switzerland as a location, because it allows us to play a leading role worldwide as an industry and workplace environment. By founding Swisscom Blockchain AG, we can help companies tap into the potential this technology has. At the same time, we are also introducing the highest possible professional standards to the industry.

Daniel Haudenschild

Until the summer of 2017, Daniel Haudenschild worked for EY for 20 years stationed in Vienna, Copenhagen, London and Zurich. He knows well the challenges faced by various industries and dozens of companies from his consulting work. Convinced that blockchain technology is the answer to many of these challenges, he accelerated developments with a team of blockchain specialists at EY Switzerland. Under his leadership, his team hastened the acceptance of EY Bitcoin as a means of payment, with all EY employees around the world now being furnished with a Bitcoin virtual wallet.

> Contact


«It allows us to play a leading role worldwide as an industry and workplace environment.»


How large will Swisscom Blockchain AG be by the end of 2017 or 2018? 


As large as we need to be to successfully complete multidisciplinary projects. Talented people with blockchain experience are in very high demand. But if we instigate ground-breaking projects, we will be able to convince them to join Swisscom Blockchain AG.

What is more, our work does not follow a consulting model, so the size of the new business we are going to grow cannot necessarily be derived from size of the workforce.


«Talented people with blockchain experience are in very high demand.»


Which segments or sectors provide particularly high potential do you think? 


We see very high potential in the financial services sector for providers, in the pharmaceuticals sector, in processing industries and in transport and logistics.


Are there any specific projects in the pipeline already?


Yes, we are currently involved in discussing initial applications with our customers. In concrete terms, we are already working on a digital C-share as a member of the digitalswitzerland network, as well as an initial attempt to create a blockchain solution for the commercial register.


«People will also find out that they can get paid for things that they previously didn't know they could earn money from.»


How will Swisscom customers benefit from Blockchain? 


Our customers will be able access resources that belong to a company which is capable of providing them with a full spectrum of services, ranging from the initial idea to the finished solution. All this will be based on the knowledge and experience housed in a large consulting firm, combined with the technological expertise of Swisscom engineers and an infrastructural environment that is very probably unique in the market. Swisscom is also committed to developing turnkey solutions, which is something we are accustomed to doing as a customer-focussed company to meet the needs of our customers.


Will the man on the street also become a stakeholder in all this in the long term? 


Probably. Processes are becoming faster and some products and services are also becoming cheaper. People will also find out that they can get paid for things that they previously didn't know they could earn money from.






Swisscom intensifies its blockchain activities


Swisscom has been researching and testing blockchain applications since 2015, including a solution for over-the-counter trading. Swisscom is founding Swisscom Blockchain AG to further the development of blockchain applications in and for Switzerland.

> Swisscom Blockchain AG


Newsletter

Subscribe to the newsletter now and stay informed about trends, industry news and benchmarks.





More on the topic

Swisscom Blockchain AG

Blockchain Interview mit Daniel Haudenschild

«Blockchain-Technologie ist auch für Industrie- und Werkplatz wichtig»


Um die Entwicklung von Blockchain-Anwendungen in und für die Schweiz weiter voranzutreiben, gründet Swisscom die Swisscom Blockchain AG. Warum und was sie kann, erklärt ihr neuer CEO, Daniel Haudenschild. 


Text: Matthias Niklowitz, Bilder: © Micha Riechsteiner , 21. September 2017




Was ist aus Ihrer Sicht das Potenzial der Blockchain-Technologie? 


Die Blockchain-Technologie wird in den kommenden Jahren Wirtschaft und Verwaltung revolutionieren. Denn noch nie war es so einfach, überall und jederzeit auf Angebote – seien es Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder Informationen – aus der ganzen Welt zuzugreifen. Das Internet und die Digitalisierung machen es möglich. Die dahinterliegenden, administrativen Prozesse wie Lieferketten, Zahlungsströme oder auch Vertragsbeziehungen sind allerdings noch herkömmlich, oft sehr komplex, träge und teuer. Vereinfachen liessen sich solche Abläufe, wenn nicht alle beteiligten Parteien selber Buch führen müssten, sondern eine gemeinsame Datenbank existierte, auf die alle zugreifen könnten. Die Blockchain-Technologie, das sind stark vereinfacht gesagt verteilt angelegte Datenbanken, können diese Rolle übernehmen. Die Daten werden redundant bei allen Teilnehmern gesichert und laufend abgesichert.



Daniel Haudenschild, CEO Swisscom Blockchain AG



Warum gründet Swisscom die Firma Swisscom Blockchain AG? 


Wir sehen diese Technologie als sehr wichtige unterstützende und befähigende Technologie für verschiedene Industrien. Darüber hinaus ist die Blockchain-Technologie auch als Standort-Thema für die Schweiz wichtig, um als Industrie- und Werkplatz weltweit eine führende Rolle einzunehmen. Mit der Firma Swisscom Blockchain AG unterstützen wir Firmen, das Potenzial dieser Technologie zu erschliessen. Darüber hinaus bringen wir die höchsten möglichen professionellen Standards in dieser Industrie mit.

Daniel Haudenschild

Bis Sommer 2017 war Daniel Haudenschild 20 Jahre für EY in Wien, Kopenhagen, London und Zürich tätig. Aus seiner Beratungstätigkeit kennt er die Herausforderungen verschiedener Branchen und dutzender Unternehmen. In der Überzeugung, dass die Blockchain-Technologie die Antwort auf viele dieser Herausforderungen ist, hat er bei EY Schweiz ein Team von Blockchain-Spezialisten aufgebaut. Unter seiner Leitung haben sie dafür gesorgt, dass EY Bitcoin als Zahlungsmittel akzeptiert und sämtliche Mitarbeitende global mit einer virtuellen Bitcoin-Brieftasche ausgestattet werden.

> Kontakt


«Darüber hinaus ist die Blockchain-Technologie auch als Standort-Thema für die Schweiz wichtig.»


Wie gross wird die Swisscom Blockchain AG Ende 2017 bzw. Ende 2018 sein?


So gross wie nötig, um mehrwertstiftende Projekte zu stemmen. Erfahrene Talente im Blockchain-Thema sind extrem gefragt. Mit sinnvollen Projekten werden wir sie aber für die Swisscom Blockchain AG gewinnen können.

Zudem: Unsere Arbeit folgt nicht dem Consulting-Modell, deshalb lässt sich aufgrund der Zahl der Angestellten auch nicht zwingend die Grösse des neu aufzubauenden Geschäfts ableiten.


«Erfahrene Talente im Blockchain-Thema sind extrem gefragt.»


In welchen Bereichen bzw. Branchen ist das Potenzial besonders hoch? 


Wir sehen ein sehr grosses Potenzial bei Finanzdienstleistern, im Pharmasektor, bei der verarbeitenden Industrie, im Transport und in der Logistik.


Gibt es bereits erste konkrete Projekte? 


Ja, wir sind schon dabei, in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Kunden erste Anwendungsfälle zu diskutieren. Konkret arbeiten wir im digitalswitzerland-Verbund bereits an einer digitalen Aktie (C-Share) und einem ersten Versuch einer Blockchain-Lösung für das Handelsregister. 


«Zudem werden sie es erleben, dass sie für Dinge bezahlt werden, von denen sie zuvor gar nicht gewusst hatten, dass sie damit Geld verdienen können.»


Was haben Swisscom-Firmenkunden davon? 


Diese Kunden haben Zugang zu den Ressourcen eines Unternehmens, das ihnen das ganze Spektrum von den ersten Ideen bis hin zur fertigen Lösung anbieten kann. Das basiert auf dem Wissen und der Erfahrung der grossen Consulting-Firmen in Kombination mit der technologischen Expertise der Ingenieure von Swisscom sowie einer Infrastruktur-Umgebung, die auf dem Markt wohl einzigartig ist. Swisscom steht zudem dafür, fertige Lösungen zu entwickeln – als kundenorientiertes Unternehmen sind wir gewohnt, so die Wünsche der Kunden zu erfüllen.


Wird das auch irgendwann auch die Menschen auf der Strasse (längerfristig) betreffen? 


Ja, Abläufe werden schneller, einige Produkte und Dienstleistungen auch günstiger. Zudem werden sie es erleben, dass sie für Dinge bezahlt werden, von denen sie zuvor gar nicht gewusst hatten, dass sie damit Geld verdienen können. 






Swisscom intensiviert ihre Blockchain-Aktivitäten


Seit 2015 erforscht und erprobt Swisscom Anwendungsfälle von Blockchains, wie beispielsweise einer Lösung für den ausserbörslichen Handel. Um die Entwicklung von Blockchain-Anwendungen in und für die Schweiz weiter voranzutreiben, gründet Swisscom nun die Swisscom Blockchain AG.

> Zu Swisscom Blockchain AG


Newsletter

Jetzt Newsletter abonnieren und über Trends, Branchen-News und Benchmarks informiert bleiben.





Mehr zum Thema