Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Network status Contact

Mobility insights data, Smartuse

Smartuse

Smart City: How mobility data, space and architecture interact

How can public space be used more efficiently? cividi provides the answer with its platform Smartuse, which is based on the combination and analysis of different, anonymized data. Swisscom supports as a partner.

Text: Martina Longo, Images: Unsplash, Smartuse,

Public space in change

Many questions concerning the optimal use of space are strongly linked to social and socio-political issues. How and why the ever-scarcer public space is being used is a reflection of broader changes, such as increasing technologisation, globalisation, and more flexible forms of work and life. Political guidelines, such as internal compaction and dense construction, are also central in Switzerland: existing building zones must be used more densely in order to minimise land consumption and the associated urban sprawl. Moreover, the design of public space is no longer exclusively in the hands of planners, authorities or politicians, but is increasingly influenced by participatory projects involving the population. Awareness of the immediate environment, its function and development is increasing and users are demanding co-determination. But what criteria should be used to design public space when so many factors play a role? Who should determine and evaluate the factors? And who then evaluates the success of projects?

“Smart” data provide insights

The design of public space and infrastructure is still mostly a matter of trial and error. In many cases, great projects are created, but also often oversized street spaces, poorly functioning town centres or unused squares are the result. Mistakes are usually not analysed. Planning is not yet evidence-based. In order to prevent negative spatial developments and to make them more efficient, Smartuse uses anonymised data sets from various sources, sometimes also from Swisscom’s “Mobility Insights” platform. Markus Schaefer, co-founder of Smartuse, explains the principle behind it: “Just like a doctor who uses an imaging procedure to see where he has to operate, we use data to gain important insights and see where optimizations are possible in order to make better use of space and make it more meaningful”.

Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

Time-dependent use using the example of public space in Frauenfeld (in German)

From pilot project to “Gemeindescan”

How do people behave between places of residence, work and leisure in the Zurich area? How often and intensively are certain streets used? Why are certain places not used at all or only used a little? Smartuse emerged from a pilot project of the Zurich Metropolitan Conference that focused on the analysis of such fundamental questions. Smartuse has further developed the resulting findings in the “Gemeindescan”. “With the “Gemeindescan”, actors receive a user-friendly tool for spatial development, new insights and concrete tips that they can take into account when planning and implementing their own measures,” explains Markus Schaefer. The “Gemeindescan” is constantly being further developed, further tools and products from cividi are planned. cividi is made possible through the commitment of Migros, the development fund of the Migros Group.

Do you have questions about Smartuse? Get in touch


More on the topic

   

Mobility Insights

Decide, don’t guess! Mobility Insights changes the way we make decisions by providing a deeper understanding of human mobility within Switzerland.

Go to offer

Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Netzstatus Kontakt

Mobility insights data, Smartuse

Smartuse

So spielen Mobilitätsdaten, Raum und Architektur zusammen

Wie kann der öffentliche Raum effizienter genutzt werden? Die Antwort liefert cividi mit ihrer Plattform Smartuse, die auf der Zusammenfügung und Analyse unterschiedlicher, anonymisierter Daten basiert. Swisscom unterstützt dabei als Partner.

Text: Martina Longo, Bilder: Unsplash, Smartuse,

Öffentlicher Raum im Wandel

Viele Fragestellungen, die sich um die optimale Raumnutzung drehen, sind stark an gesellschaftliche und sozialpolitische Fragen gekoppelt. Wie und warum der immer knapper werdende öffentliche Raum genutzt wird, ist Spiegelbild von umfassenderen Veränderungen, wie etwa steigender Technologisierung, Globalisierung sowie flexibleren Arbeits- und Lebensformen. Auch politische Vorgaben, wie die Innenverdichtung und verdichtetes Bauen sind in der Schweiz zentral: bestehende Bauzonen müssen dichter genutzt werden, um den Bodenverbrauch und die damit einhergehende Zersiedelung zu minimieren. Die Gestaltung des öffentlichen Raums liegt zudem nicht mehr ausschliesslich in der Hand von Planenden, Behörden oder Politik, sondern wird zunehmend durch Partizipationsprojekte aus der Bevölkerung beeinflusst. Das Bewusstsein für die unmittelbare Umgebung, deren Funktion und Entwicklung steigt und Nutzer fordern Mitbestimmung. Doch nach welchen Kriterien soll der öffentliche Raum gestaltet werden, wenn so viele Faktoren mitspielen? Wer soll die Faktoren bestimmen und auswerten? Und wer evaluiert anschliessend den Erfolg von Projekten?

«Smarte» Daten liefern Erkenntnisse

Die Gestaltung von öffentlichem Raum und Infrastruktur erfolgt meist noch immer nach Versuch und Irrtum. Vielfach entstehen tolle Projekte, oft aber auch überdimensionierte Strassenräume, schlecht funktionierende Ortszentren oder ungenutzte Plätze. Fehler werden meist nicht analysiert. Die Planung erfolgt noch nicht evidenzbasiert. Um negative Raumentwicklungen zu verhindern und effizienter zu gestalten, nutzt Smartuse anonymisierte Datensätze aus unterschiedlichen Quellen, mitunter auch der Plattform “Mobility Insights” von Swisscom. Markus Schaefer, Mitgründer von Smartuse, erklärt das Prinzip dahinter: “Wie ein Arzt, der ein bildgebendes Verfahren einsetzt, um zu sehen wo er operieren muss, so gewinnen wir dank Daten wichtige Erkenntnisse und sehen wo Optimierungen möglich sind, um den Raum besser zu nutzen und sinnvoller zu gestalten”.

Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?

> zur Anmeldung

Zeitabhängige Nutzung am Beispiel des öffentlichen Raums in Frauenfeld

Vom Pilotprojekt zum «Gemeindescan»

Wie verhalten sich Menschen zwischen Wohn-, Arbeits- und Freizeitorten im Raum Zürich? Wie oft und intensiv werden bestimmte Strassen genutzt? Weshalb werden bestimmte Plätze gar nicht oder nur wenig genutzt? Smartuse ist aus einem Pilotprojekt der Metropolitankonferenz Zürich entstanden, das auf die Analyse solch grundlegender Fragestellungen fokussierte. Die daraus resultierenden Erkenntnisse hat Smartuse im “Gemeindescan” weiterentwickelt. “Mit dem Gemeindescan erhalten Akteure ein benutzerfreundliches Tool für die Raumentwicklung, neue Einsichten und konkrete Hinweise, die sie bei der Planung und Umsetzung eigener Massnahmen berücksichtigen können”, erklärt Markus Schaefer. Der “Gemeindescan” wird stetig weiterentwickelt, weiterführende Tools und Produkte von cividi sind in Planung. cividi wird durch Engagement Migros, dem Förderfonds der Migros-Gruppe, ermöglicht.

Haben Sie Fragen zu Smartuse? Kontakt


Andere Leser interessierte auch:

   

Mobility Insights

Mobility Insights vermittelt ein klares Verständnis der individuellen Mobilität in der Schweiz und ermöglicht fundierte Entscheidungen.

Zum Angebot