Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Improving IT security with bug bounties

Bug bounty hunters

On the hunt for hidden security loopholes

Bug bounty hunters track security loopholes – and get paid for it. ‘Good hackers’ thus help companies improve their IT security. However, it’s not just about the money.

Text: Andreas Heer, Images: Adobe Stock, 25 n

Companies invest a significant proportion of their IT budget in security measures to protect data, applications and systems. But does this protection actually work, and how resistant is the infrastructure to cyber attacks? Security tests are an efficient way to check. With targeted and planned attacks on your own infrastructure, you can find out how secure it really is – before cyber-criminals strike.

 

But it’s not just the in-house security experts who can carry out these attacks. The available expertise and thus the wide range of attack possibilities that such penetration tests offer can be considerably expanded if external specialists also come into play. This is the purpose of ‘bug bounty programmes’ – real competitions with cash prizes for the successful uncovering of security loopholes.

Successful hunters ensure secure businesses

Of course, these attacks must be carried out within a contractually controlled framework. This both legitimises the attacks and protects participants. In addition, the company under attack will require time to close any gaps in security. The bug bounty hunters are rewarded with payments, the extent of which may depend on the work involved in the attack and the severity of the security loophole. ‘Bug bounties help us find and eliminate vulnerabilities which may still exist despite all our security measures,’ explains Florian Badertscher, who is responsible for the Swisscom bug bounty programme.

 

Badertscher had to dip his hand in his pocket several times last year, paying out around CHF 350,000 to participants. In turn, they managed to close around 400 gaps in security. It was money well spent. After all, the costs and reputational damage resulting from a successful attack by cyber-criminals could be many times higher.

It’s about more than just money

But who are these bug bounty hunters, often known as ‘good hackers’ or ‘white hats’? And what motivates them to take part in such programmes? Two participants of the Swisscom Bug Bounty provide some answers. One of them doesn’t really fit the image that society has of hackers (a common view when talking to these people). He’s an 18-year-old student from Hungary called Patrik Fábián who arrived for the interview with short hair and a collared shirt. But appearances can be deceptive; last year he used his expertise to uncover vulnerabilities at Swisscom and earned over a third of the whole bounty sum. Naturally money is an incentive, but it’s not his entire motivation. ‘I can help companies better protect their customer data – which is becoming increasingly important.’ In addition, Fábián voluntarily helps with open-source projects that make the software more secure.

 

Raphaël Arrouas sees it much the same way. ‘I can help increase the security of a company. When it comes to Swisscom, this also involves our own data.’ Arrouas began his career as a professional penetration tester, but now works full-time as an independent bug bounty hunter.

 

Another aspect resonates for them both: the appeal of a challenge and the curiosity of finding loopholes. Or, as Fábián explains it: ‘I love finding new areas of attack that no one has taken advantage of before.’

What constitutes a good bug bounty programme

For Fábián, uncovering security loopholes and the subsequent communication with the person responsible is his favourite part of a bug bounty programme. This exchange is key in fostering trust between participants and organisers and thus significant for the success and acceptance of such a programme. ‘I expect those responsible to respond quickly and on equal terms’, says Arrouas.

 

He also appreciates it when the material reward reflects not just the severity of the loophole but also the amount of work involved in uncovering it. And, of course, he wants to be recognised as the one who uncovered the loophole. ‘This helps to strengthen my reputation.’ Arrouas doesn’t use an alias for bug bounties. ‘Even for white hats, anonymity used to be mandatory to reduce the risks of prosecution. Today, it remains important for privacy reasons, but an important part of the community now prefers to publish articles and vulnerabilities under their real names, to convey trust and reputation.’

Legal safeguards protect the good guys

Penetrating external computer systems is a criminal offence. Under Article 143bis of the Swiss Criminal Code, the punishment could be up to three years in prison. So providing legal protection for bug bounty programmes is crucial in protecting participants from prosecution, as Arrouas emphasises. ‘Since Swiss regulations are so restrictive, a protection clause in the contract provides the necessary security and trust.’ Potential participants could otherwise be scared off. Most importantly, this type of clause protects the good guys, adds Arrouas: ‘Cyber criminals will try to penetrate the systems either way.’

 

This type of protection will also protect participants in the event of any unwanted side effects – for example, if systems crash. In any case, Arrouas is cautious when it comes to bug bounty programmes. ‘I carry out attack attempts manually rather than through automation,’ he says. ‘I wouldn’t want personal data to be accidentally leaked.’

 

Both Arrouas and Fábián are convinced of the benefits of such bug bounty programmes for organisers. ‘This type of crowdsourcing in IT security provides better protection and strengthens customer trust.’ A bug bounty programme is also a good sign that a company takes its IT security seriously.  


The bug bounty hunters

Raphaël Arrouas

Raphaël Arrouas has been involved in cyber security and hacking since his youth. During his studies, he deepened his specialist knowledge and subsequently began working as a penetration tester. He recently turned his career focus to freelance bug bounty hunting.

Patrik Fábián

Fábián has been using computers since early childhood. He acquired his knowledge through online programmes and YouTube videos of proofs of concept (which demonstrate how security loopholes can be exploited) during his free time. Once he completes his education, he would like to continue working in the field of cyber security, and to start his own web security company.


Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt
Newsletter Partner Login Kontakt

Mit Bug Bounties die IT-Sicherheit verbessern

Bug-Bounty-Jäger

Auf der Jagd nach verborgenen Sicherheitslücken

Bug-Bounty-Jäger spüren Sicherheitslücken auf und werden dafür erst noch bezahlt. Denn damit helfen die «guten Hacker» Unternehmen, ihre IT-Sicherheit zu verbessern. Doch es geht nicht nur ums Geld.

Text: Andreas Heer, Bilder: Adobe Stock, 25

Unternehmen investieren einen erheblichen Teil ihres IT-Budgets in Sicherheitsmassnahmen, um Daten, Anwendungen und Systeme zu schützen. Doch funktioniert dieser Schutz auch, und wie resistent ist die Infrastruktur gegen Cyberangriffe? Ein effizientes Mittel, um dies zu prüfen, sind Sicherheitstests. Gezielte und beabsichtigte Angriffe auf die eigene Infrastruktur zeigen, wie sicher diese wirklich ist – bevor Cyberkriminelle zuschlagen.

 

Solche kontrollierten Angriffe können nicht nur die eigenen Security-Experten durchführen. Das verfügbare Know-how und damit die Vielfalt der Angriffsformen solcher Penetration Tests lässt sich beträchtlich erweitern, wenn zusätzlich externe Spezialisten ins Spiel kommen. Das ist der Zweck sogenannter Bug-Bounty-Programme, eigentlicher Wettbewerbe mit Preisgeldern für das erfolgreiche Aufdecken von Sicherheitslücken.

Erfolgreiche Jäger sorgen für sichere Unternehmen

Natürlich müssen diese Angriffe in einem vertraglich kontrollierten Rahmen erfolgen. Dabei geht es einerseits darum, die Angriffe zu legitimieren und damit die Teilnehmenden zu schützen. Und andererseits benötigt das angegriffene Unternehmen Zeit, um die Lücke zu stopfen. Als Belohnung winken den Bug Bounty Huntern Prämien, deren Höhe vom Aufwand für eine Attacke und der Schwere der Sicherheitslücke abhängen kann. «Bug Bounties helfen uns, Schwachstellen zu finden und zu schliessen, die trotz aller Massnahmen noch vorhanden sein können», beschreibt Florian Badertscher, verantwortlich fürs Bug-Bounty-Programm von Swisscom, Ziel und Nutzen.

 

Badertscher musste letztes Jahr öfters ins Portemonnaie greifen. Rund 350’000 Franken hat er den Teilnehmenden ausgezahlt. Im Gegenzug konnten gut 400 Lücken geschlossen werden. Das lohnt sich. Denn die Kosten und der Reputationsschaden bei einem erfolgreichen Angriff von Cyberkriminellen dürfte ein Vielfaches höher liegen.

Es geht um mehr als nur Geld

Doch wer sind diese Bug-Bounty-Jäger, oft auch als «gute Hacker» oder «White Hats» bezeichnet? Und was motiviert sie, an solchen Programmen mitzumachen? Die Antworten geben zwei Teilnehmer der Swisscom Bug Bounty gleich selbst. Der eine von ihnen will nicht so recht ins Bild passen, das sich die Öffentlichkeit von einem «Hacker» macht (ein Ausdruck, der im Gespräch mit diesen Personen übrigens nicht fällt): Ein 18-jähriger Student aus Ungarn namens Patrik Fábián, der mit Kurzhaarfrisur und Hemd zum Interview erscheint. Und doch letztes Jahr mit seinem Wissen und den aufgedeckten Schwachstellen bei Swisscom über einen Drittel der gesamten Bounty-Summe verdient hat. Natürlich ist Geld ein Anreiz, aber nicht die einzige Motivation: «Ich kann Unternehmen helfen, ihre Kundendaten besser zu schützen, was immer wichtiger wird.» Daneben unterstützt Fábián ehrenamtlich Open-Source-Projekte, um deren Software sicherer zu machen.

 

Ähnlich tönt es bei Raphaël Arrouas: «Ich kann damit helfen, die Sicherheit eines Unternehmens steigern. Und bei Swisscom betrifft es auch unsere Daten.» Arrouas, der seine berufliche Laufbahn als professioneller Penetration-Tester begonnen hatte, arbeitet mittlerweile hauptberuflich als selbständiger Bug-Bounty-Jäger.

 

Bei beiden schwingt noch ein weiterer Aspekt mit: der Reiz von Herausforderungen und die Neugierde, Lücken zu finden. Oder wie sich Fábián ausdrückt: «Ich liebe es, neue Angriffsflächen zu finden, die noch nie jemand vorher genutzt hat.»

Was ein gutes Bug-Bounty-Programm ausmacht

Für Fábián ist das Aufdecken von Sicherheitslücken und die anschliessende Kommunikation mit den Verantwortlichen der bevorzugte Teil eines Bug-Bounty-Programms. Dieser Austausch ist zentral, um das Vertrauen zwischen Teilnehmenden und Veranstalter zu fördern und damit entscheidend für den Erfolg und die Akzeptanz eines solchen Programms. «Ich erwarte, dass die Verantwortlichen schnell und auf Augenhöhe reagieren», sagt Arrouas.

 

Zudem schätze er es, wenn sich die materielle Akzeptanz nicht nur nach der Schwere der Lücke richte, sondern auch der Aufwand fürs Aufspüren honoriert werde. Und selbstverständlich er als Entdecker der Lücke gewürdigt wird. «Das hilft mir auch, meinen Ruf zu festigen». Arrouas verzichtet bei Bug Bounties auf Decknamen: «Früher war Anonymität nötig als Schutz vor Strafverfolgung, heute zum Schutz der Privatsphäre. Aber immer mehr Mitglieder der Community publizieren Artikel und entdeckte Schwachstellen unter ihrem richtigen Namen, um Vertrauen und Reputation zu vermitteln.»

Rechtliche Absicherung schützt die Guten

Wer in fremde Computersysteme eindringt, macht sich strafbar. Gemäss Artikel 143bis des Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuchs (StGB) drohen dafür bis zu drei Jahre Gefängnis. Umso wichtiger ist eine rechtliche Absicherung in Bug-Bounty-Programmen, die die Teilnehmenden vor Strafverfolgung schützt, wie Arrouas betont: «Weil die Schweizer Gesetzgebung sehr restriktiv ist, sorgt eine Schutzklausel im Vertrag für die nötige Sicherheit und Vertrauen.» Ansonsten könnten potenzielle Teilnehmer abgeschreckt werden. Eine solche Klausel schütze vor allem die Guten, ergänzt Arrouas: «Cyberkriminelle versuchen so oder so, in die Systeme einzudringen.»

 

Eine solche Absicherung sollte die Teilnehmenden auch schützen, wenn unerwünschte Nebeneffekte auftreten – etwa, wenn Systeme abstürzen. Arrouas geht bei Bug-Bounty-Programmen ohnehin vorsichtig vor: «Ich mache die Angriffsversuche manuell und nicht automatisiert», sagt er. «Ich möchte nicht, dass dabei versehentlich persönliche Daten geleakt werden.»

 

Sowohl Arrouas als auch Fábián sind vom Nutzen solcher Bug-Bounty-Programme für den Veranstalter überzeugt: «Ein solches ‹Crowdsourcing› der IT-Sicherheit sorgt für besseren Schutz und stärkt damit das Vertrauen der Kunden.» Damit ist ein Bug-Bounty-Programm auch ein Zeichen, dass ein Unternehmen die IT-Sicherheit ernst nimmt.


Die Bug-Bounty-Jäger

Raphaël Arrouas

Mit Cybersecurity respektive dem Hacken beschäftigte sich Raphaël Arrouas bereits in seiner Jugend. Während des Studiums vertiefte er sein Fachwissen und arbeitete anschliessend als Penetration-Tester. Seit kurzem fokussiert er sich beruflich auf die selbständige Tätigkeit als Bug-Bounty-Jäger.

Patrik Fábián

Mit Computern beschäftigt sich Fábián seit frühester Kindheit. Sein Wissen hat er sich in der Freizeit angeeignet, mit Online-Programmen und YouTube-Videos von Proofs of Concept (Beweisen, wie Sicherheitslücken ausgenutzt werden können). Nach Abschluss seiner Ausbildung will er auf dem Gebiet der Cybersecurity weiterarbeiten, unter anderem mit seinem eigenen Unternehmen für Web-Sicherheit.


Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch:

Download

Security Prävention

Mit Security Prävention ein solides Fundament für die IT-Sicherheit aufbauen.