Newsletter Partner Login Contact
Newsletter Partner Login Contact

Enduring protection against cyber risks

Cybercrime prevention

Using swarm intelligence against hackers

The criminal threat on the net is growing. Surrender is not an option. On the contrary: the more organisations recognise the risks, invest in security and coordinate their responses, the better their chances of achieving enduring protection.

Text: Robert Wildi, first published in the NZZ supplement of 7.11.2019, Image: Adobe Stock,

The downsides of rapid digital advances are well known: criminals are also hard at it, shamelessly exploiting the latest technology and playing the keyboard of disruptive possibilities with as much virtuosity as the cleverest programmers from leading technology companies. The result? An exponential race to see who can bend and break the most. Ever newer interlocks for increasingly efficient IT systems on the one hand; on the other, a continuous quest for the tiniest gaps through which systems can be infiltrated.

 

It is no use minimising the harm: "The risks are growing all the time," says Marco Wyrsch who, as Security Officer at Swisscom Business Customers, is the man in charge of combating cybercrime at the ICT provider. Internet criminals' current preferred means of attack are malware and targeted ransomware trojans. The methods they use vary: recent years have seen hackers repeatedly use ransomware to paralyse organisations' entire computer systems. Attacks like this can result in production losses that quickly run into the millions. "Organisations often have to contend with blackmail: they're forced to pay big sums in order to regain control over their data."

From protection to prevention

Alongside visible attacks, hackers are increasingly sneaking into the virtual nerve centres of organisations and even state apparatuses. Unnoticed, they introduce their malicious software into the victims' systems, sometimes managing to access important data for months or even years. The theft of intellectual property mainly occurs in the realm of industrial espionage and can result in the thieves applying for patents for the innovations they have stolen. "While prevention provides effective safeguards against the malevolent encryption of data and accompanying blackmail, technological hardware is needed to detect data theft," says Wyrsch.

"Many companies feel powerless in the face of attacks and blackmail."

Marco Wyrsch, Swisscom

For Wyrsch, the rapid development of digital technologies is not the only aspect driving the growth of online criminality: "You have to bear in mind that cybercrime is one of the most attractive and lucrative forms of illegality because the perpetrators not only remain concealed, but are able to scale up their activities at will.

 

Businesses need to quickly change how they think in order to counter the danger effectively. "Many companies, feeling powerless in the face of attacks and blackmail, are debating whether to make financial provisions or obtain expensive insurance in case they have to make a claim," an attitude that Wyrsch condemns as short-sighted. Technological progress is such that inadequately protected companies can fall victim time and time again: "The only solution is to radically change strategy from protection to active prevention through targeted investment."

Healthy mix needed

Although organisations talk about taking the requisite steps, all too often too little is still being done, observes Cyrill Peter, Head of Enterprise Security Services at Swisscom Business Customers: more often than not, the lack of (or unbudgeted) funds – a particular problem for SMEs – means that the idea that organisations should develop and maintain their own digital high-security approach is neither realistic nor affordable. According to Peter, a viable alternative is targeted outsourcing to an external partner with the requisite know-how and capacities.

"Our aim is to achieve a steep learning curve in the race between 'good' and 'evil'."

Cyrill Peter, Swisscom

Swisscom's round-the-clock Security Operations Centre in Zurich's Binz district offers business customers a range of cybercrime prevention services. "We're currently experiencing increased demand for detection-related services, i.e. the detection of attacks that have already occurred," observes Marco Wyrsch. Swisscom's experts recommend a healthy mix of prevention, detection and response measures: "This combination has long been the basis in healthcare; digital security needs to do the same thing, and quickly."

WYRSCH PETER

Swisscom experts Marco Wyrsch (right) and Cyrill Peter at the ICT provider's Security Operations Centre. (Image: Michele Limina)

Organisations need to redouble their efforts, especially as the hacker scene is not asleep: "Our aim is to achieve a steep learning curve with our customers in this non-stop race between 'good' and 'evil'," says Cyrill Peter. Swisscom's approach in this regard makes use of a kind of swarm intelligence, whereby every single security experience of the current cohort of 1000-plus business customers is gathered together and immediately made available to all the others. "This know-how boosts significantly the learning ability of our systems and security analysts, something that ultimately benefits each individual customer.

WEF: cyber risks are urgent

The two Swisscom experts believe that if businesses manage to sensitise themselves to the issue of cybercrime and organise themselves as fast-learning "security communities", the battle against the digital underworld can be won in the long term. "The fact that every application has hacker-friendly vulnerabilities remains a problem going forward," says Wyrsch. He thinks the coming years will see companies, especially in the manufacturing sector, continue to suffer losses running into the millions: "At some point, though, the level of suffering is likely to be so high that huge investment will be made in online security."

 

Accordingly, more and more industries will regard protection against digital threats as a decisive competitive advantage. The World Economic Forum (WEF) recognised this urgency and put cyber risk at the top of its agenda at the beginning of the year. It is a logical consequence that telecoms and technology groups such as Swisscom are increasingly focusing their services and infrastructures on the prevention and detection of cybercrime. Demand is expected to increase exponentially in the near future. "We're ready to go 24/7," says Marco Wyrsch.


The commonest cyber risks

The Federal Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI) identifies a large number of cyber threats to which companies are exposed:

  • (Cyber) espionage

    Vulnerabilities in the digital infrastructure – e.g. lack of internet encryption or weak passwords – are exploited by cyber criminals to access confidential information and prepare further attacks. This affects government agencies as well as businesses, whose know-how is stolen and misused.

  • Data flows

    Confidential information is stolen, then the attacker blackmails the victim by threatening to publish, copy or distribute it. It is hard to evaluate the veracity of the claim, which is why many companies affected in this way play safe by paying the extorted sum.

  • DDoS

    Distributed denial of service attacks are aimed at limiting the availability of an IT service such as a website or web shop and causing it to crash. These attacks can come with threats of blackmail. This tends to happen to IT services with limited resilience or no data traffic monitoring.

  • Social Engineering

    Psychological tricks are deployed to deceive users and lead them to reveal personal information. Social engineering exploits the weak point, i.e. the human being. Tricks include putting the target under time pressure, e.g. by exhorting them to "log in immediately or your account will be blocked".

  • Phishing

    A phishing attack tries to obtain the target's access data by assuming a false identity, e.g. that of the target's bank. If they get hold of the login details, the cybercriminals have access to the target's online bank account.

  • Malware

    Damaging malware is used in many cyber attacks. IT systems are manipulated and information obtained, altered or even deleted. An attack of this nature on a business can involve the loss of confidentiality, integrity and availability of the data.

  • Ransomware

    Here, encryption trojans encrypt the target's data, thus rendering it unusable. The cyber criminals demand money in return for unencrypting the data – which may or may not occur.



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


Other readers were also interested in:

   

Threat Detection & Response

Obtain an overview of potential security incidents and get professional support in the event of cyber security attacks.

Go to offer

Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt
Login Partner Netzstatus Newsletter Kontakt

Nachhaltiger Schutz vor Cyber-Gefahren

Cybercrime-Prävention

Mit Schwarmintelligenz gegen Hacker

Die kriminelle Bedrohung aus dem Netz wächst. Vor solchen Machenschaften zu kapitulieren ist keine Option. Im Gegenteil: Je mehr Unternehmen die Risiken erkennen, in Sicherheit investieren und koordiniert vorgehen, desto aussichtsreicher sind die Chancen auf nachhaltigen Schutz.

Text: Robert Wildi, erstmals erschienen in NZZ Beilage vom 7.11.2019, Bild: Adobe Stock,

Die Kehrseite des rasenden digitalen Fortschritts ist hinlänglich bekannt. Auch die «Bad Guys» sind hell auf der Festplatte, bedienen sich schamlos der modernsten Technik und spielen auf der Klaviatur der disruptiven Möglichkeiten ebenso virtuos wie die cleversten Programmierer von führenden Technologieunternehmen. Die Folge davon ist ein exponentieller Wettlauf auf Biegen und Brechen. Immer neue Sicherheitsschleusen für immer leistungsfähigere IT-Systeme auf der einen Seite, die permanente Jagd nach minimalsten Lücken, durch die Systeme infiltriert werden können, auf der anderen Seite.

 

Verharmlosung ist zwecklos. «Die Risiken werden immer grösser», sagt Marco Wyrsch, Security Officer bei Swisscom Business Customers und damit oberster Wächter gegen Cybercrime beim ICT-Provider. Die aktuell am häufigsten benutzten Angriffsmittel der Internetkriminellen sind sogenannte Schadprogramme (Malware) oder spezifische Erpressungstrojaner (Ransomware). Die angewendeten Maschen sind unterschiedlich. So haben es Hacker in den letzten Jahren immer wieder geschafft, mittels Ransomware ganze Rechnersysteme von Firmen lahmzulegen. Für Industriebetriebe beispielsweise resultieren aus solchen Attacken Produktionsausfälle, die schnell in die Millionenhöhe gehen. «Oft werden die Unternehmen erpresst. Nur gegen hohe Geldzahlungen lassen die Cyber-Kriminellen von ihnen ab und geben die Daten wieder frei.»

Von Absicherung zu Prävention

Neben sichtbaren Attacken schleichen sich immer mehr Hacker auf leisen Sohlen in die virtuellen Nervenzentren von Konzernen oder gar Staatsapparaten. Unbemerkt schleusen sie ihre Schad-Softwares in die Systeme und greifen manchmal über Monate oder gar Jahre wichtigen Daten ab. Der Diebstahl von «Intellectual Property» wird vor allem in der Industriespionage angewendet. So melden Dritte plötzlich Patente an für Innovationen, die sie nicht selbst entwickelt, sondern schlicht geklaut haben. «Während gegen die Verschlüsselung von Daten und damit einhergehende Erpressungsversuche in erster Linie präventive Massnahmen wirksam schützen, braucht es im Fall von Datendiebstahl zusätzlich das technologische Rüstzeug, um einen solchen überhaupt aufzudecken », gibt Wyrsch zu bedenken.

«Heute fühlen sich viele Unternehmen den Angriffen und Erpressungsversuchen hilflos ausgeliefert.»

Marco Wyrsch, Swisscom

Für die künftig wachsende Gefahr von derartigen Angriffen sieht Wyrsch nicht nur die rasante Entwicklung der digitalen Technologien als treibenden Grund. «Wir müssen bedenken, dass Cyber-Kriminalität einer der attraktivsten wie auch lukrativsten Verbrechermärkte überhaupt ist, weil die Täter nicht nur im Schutz der Verborgenheit agieren, sondern ihre dunklen Machenschaften sogar beliebig skalieren können.»

 

Um der Gefahr wirksam zu begegnen, müsse die Wirtschaft rasch umdenken. «Heute fühlen sich viele Unternehmen den Angriffen und Erpressungsversuchen hilflos ausgeliefert und beschäftigen sich vornehmlich mit der Frage, ob sie für den Schadensfall finanzielle Rückstellungen machen oder teure Versicherungen abschliessen sollen ». Diese Haltung greift für Wyrsch zu kurz. Der technologische Fortschritt sei dermassen rasant, dass ungenügend geschützte Firmen nicht nur einmal, sondern immer wieder zu Opfern würden. «Das einzige Mittel dagegen ist eine radikale Änderung der Strategie von Absicherung hin zu aktiver Prävention mithilfe von gezielten Investitionen.»

Es braucht einen gesunden Mix

Oft werde heute über entsprechende Massnahmen gesprochen, aber noch zu wenig gehandelt, beobachtet Cyrill Peter, Head of Enterprise Security Services bei Swisscom Business Customers. Nicht selten liegt es ihm zufolge an den fehlenden oder nicht budgetierten Mitteln, die gerade bei KMU häufig gar nicht vorhanden sind – dass jedes Unternehmen einen eigenen digitalen Hochsicherheitstrakt baut und unterhält, ist deshalb weder realistisch noch bezahlbar. Eine sinnvolle Alternative sei die gezielte Auslagerung an einen externen Partner mit den notwendigen Kenntnissen und Kapazitäten, so Peter.

«Unser Anspruch ist es, im Wettlauf zwischen ‹Gut› und ‹Böse› eine steile Lernkurve zu erzielen.»

Cyrill Peter, Swisscom

Im rund um die Uhr betriebenen Security Operation Center von Swisscom in der Zürcher Binz werden Firmenkunden diverse Dienstleistungen zur Cybercrime-Prävention offeriert. «Aktuell immer stärker nachgefragt werden Dienstleistungen rund um die Detektion, also der Aufdeckung von bereits erfolgten Attacken», beobachtet Marco Wyrsch. Die Swisscom-Experten empfehlen den Kunden daher einen gesunden Mix von Massnahmen für Prävention, Detektion sowie Response (Antwort). «Für unsere physische Gesundheit ist die Kombination längst eine Selbstverständlichkeit, bei der digitalen Sicherheit herrscht diesbezüglich oft noch Ratlosigkeit und deshalb dringender Nachholbedarf.»

WYRSCH PETER

Die beiden Swisscom-Experten Marco Wyrsch (rechts) und Cyrill Peter im Security Operation Center des ICT-Providers. (Bild: Michele Limina)

Ein forsches Tempo wäre indes angezeigt, zumal die Hackerszene nicht schläft. «Unser Anspruch ist es, in diesem permanenten Wettlauf zwischen ‹Gut› und ‹Böse› gemeinsam mit unseren Kunden eine steile Lernkurve zu erzielen », sagt Cyrill Peter. Zunutze macht sich Swisscom diesbezüglich eine Art Schwarmintelligenz, die jede einzelne Erfahrung der heute über 1000 Firmenkunden im Security-Bereich im Detail sammelt und allen übrigen sofort zugänglich macht. «Dieses Know-how beschleunigt die Lernfähigkeit unserer Systeme und Security-Analysten markant, wovon letztlich jeder einzelne Kunde profitiert.»

Cyberrisk laut WEF dringlich

Gelingt es, die Sensibilität von Unternehmen für das Thema Cyber-Kriminalität konsequent zu steigern und sie vermehrt zu schnell lernenden «Security Communities » zusammenzufassen, ist der Kampf gegen die digitale Unterwelt auf Dauer zu gewinnen, glauben die beiden Swisscom-Experten. «Dass jede Software über gewisse Schwachstellen verfügt, die Hackern Einstiegsmöglichkeiten eröffnet, wird sich auch in Zukunft nicht so schnell ändern», gibt Wyrsch zu bedenken. Er geht davon aus, dass es in den nächsten Jahren noch zu diversen Fällen mit hohen Millionenschäden kommen werde, gerade im produzierenden Gewerbe. «Irgendwann dürfte der Leidensdruck aber so hoch sein, dass es zu massiven Investitionen in die Internetsicherheit kommen wird.»

Entsprechend wird der Schutz vor digitalen Gefahren in immer mehr Industrien zum matchentscheidenden Wettbewerbsvorteil heranreifen. Diese Dringlichkeit hat auch das World Economic Forum (WEF) erkannt und Cyberrisk Anfang Jahr zuoberst auf seine Themenagenda genommen. Dass gerade Telekom- und Technologiekonzerne wie Swisscom ihre Dienstleistungen und Infrastrukturen ebenfalls immer stärker auf das Thema Prävention und Detektion von Cyber-Kriminalität ausrichten, ist eine logische Konsequenz. Die Nachfrage dürfte in naher Zukunft exponentiell zunehmen. «Wir sind gerüstet, und zwar im 24/7-Modus», sagt Marco Wyrsch.


Die häufigsten Cyber-Gefahren

Die Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung des Bundes (Melani) macht eine Vielzahl von Cyber-Gefahren aus, denen Unternehmen ausgesetzt sind:

  • (Cyber-)Spionage

    Schwachstellen in der digitalen Infrastruktur – fehlende Verschlüsselung bei einer Internetverbindung oder schwache Passwörter beispielsweise – werden von Cyberkriminellen ausgenutzt, um vertrauliche Informationen abzugreifen und weitere Angriffe vorzubereiten. Betroffen sind nicht nur staatliche Betriebe, sondern auch Unternehmen, deren Know-how gestohlen und missbraucht wird.

  • Datenabflüsse

    Vertrauliche Daten werden gestohlen. Der externe Angreifer erpresst in der Folge das Unternehmen damit, diese zu veröffentlichen beziehungsweise zu kopieren und weiterzuverbreiten. Ob die Behauptung stimmt oder nicht, ist schwer zu eruieren, deshalb bezahlen viele betroffene Unternehmen im Zweifelsfall die erpresste Summe.

  • DDoS

    Bezeichnete Attacken zielen darauf ab, die Verfügbarkeit eines IT-Services wie einer Website oder eines Webshops einzuschränken und den IT-Service abstürzen zu lassen. Diese Attacke kann auch mit Erpressung verknüpft sein. Ausgenutzt werden hauptsächlich IT-Services mit eingeschränkter Belastbarkeit oder fehlender Überwachung des Datenverkehrs.

  • Social Engineering

    Nutzer werden mit psychologischen Tricks getäuscht und zu gefährlichen IT-Aktivitäten verleitet. Social Engineering nutzt die «Schwachstelle» Mensch aus. Dazu gehört, Opfer zeitlich unter Druck zu setzen, etwa mit «Loggen Sie sich sofort ein, da sonst Ihr Konto gesperrt wird».

  • Phishing

    Eine Phishing-Attacke verfolgt das Ziel, die Zugangsdaten der Zielperson auszuspähen, indem eine falsche Identität vorgegaukelt wird, zum Beispiel jene der Hausbank. Mittels des erschlichenen Passworts können sich die Cyberkriminellen Zugang zum Online-Banking des Opfers verschaffen.

  • Malware

    Bei vielen Cyberattacken kommt Schadsoftware, sogenannte Malware, zum Einsatz. IT-Systeme werden manipuliert, Daten ausgespäht, verändert oder gar zerstört. Für das betroffene Unternehmen geht ein solcher Angriff mit dem Verlust von Vertraulichkeit, Integrität und Verfügbarkeit der Daten einher.

  • Ransomware

    Mittels Verschlüsselungstrojanern, sogenannter Ransomware, werden die Daten des Opfers verschlüsselt und so unbrauchbar gemacht. Die Cyberkriminellen verlangen Geld und bieten im Gegenzug die Entschlüsselung der Daten an, welche nicht garantiert ist.



Newsletter

Möchten Sie regelmässig spannende Artikel und Whitepaper zu aktuellen ICT-Themen erhalten?


Andere Leser interessierte auch: