Comparison of interactive whiteboards

Interactive whiteboards

Screen giants for meeting room and informal group work


Putting an end to old-fashioned meeting rooms and complicated video conferences, multi-touch whiteboards encourage group discussion and activate skills that are gaining importance in everyday work.


Text: Urs Binder,




A Forrester survey carried out in the autumn of 2016 found that more than half of all employees demand collaboration tools that are fun to use. At the same time, every third employee avoids conventional meeting rooms. The reasons for this include poor room design, outdated connections, complicated video conference systems and inadequate tools.

 

Today, the tools for collaboration are a great deal better than they once were. Consequently, a conference room is also used differently. It used to be a place where employees physically met and held a meeting, simply recording the content discussed on whiteboards or flipcharts. This was followed by video conferences, and now people work together there more on the basis of laptops. The teams are able to use communication tools such as Skype for Business, while employees have access to content from the cloud and use digital tools such as digital sticky notes or post-its for making comments and brainstorming. The problem is that the meeting rooms themselves have hardly changed. Traditional conference rooms or “meeting rooms”, as they are still often called even today, are not equipped for the digital manner of working.

 

However, participants would like to work in the same collaborative manner that they are used to in their everyday jobs. They would like to combine physical conferences with digital applications – something that is hardly possible in traditional rooms. After all, simple brainstorming in the team is impossible there using purely laptop-based tools. For this reason, employees are even less keen on using the meeting rooms.

It is therefore high time for something new. Two large multi-touch screens are now entering the collaboration arena in the form of the Surface Hub from Microsoft and the Spark Board from Cisco. They offer much more and are substantially easier to operate than conventional video conference systems. These solutions are designed to provide optimum support for teamwork. Participants join in a conference in a straightforward manner, making comments with a pen directly on the screen. Tools for arranging appointments, workflow integration and cloud storage form integral components. What’s more, the screens are sufficiently large for users to write and draw on them easily.


Microsoft Surface Hub

The Surface Hub is considered to be the first of its kind and was launched in early 2016. Available with a choice of 55-inch or 84-inch diagonal for HD or UHD respectively, the device accommodates not only the multi-touch screen, but also a complete Windows 10 PC, which however relies on the special operating system version Windows 10 Team. The Surface Hub is intended to be used as a whiteboard for spontaneous group work. Participants can use the integrated applications without the need to log on and incorporate elements from other applications or websites directly into the whiteboard from their Windows or Android mobile devices. Moreover, this can be done cable-free, for example via Near Field Communication (NFC) or Miracast.

 

External participants take part in the discussion using Skype for Business. For this purpose, the Surface Hub comprises two HD cameras with a 100-degree field of view, four microphones and a stereo loudspeaker. It also includes Office 365 and OneDrive.



Microsoft’s Surface Hub is suitable for spontaneous, cross-site group work. There is no need to log on.


Using the Surface Hub, a team distributed across several sites can “put their heads together” and work on the same whiteboard. This allows creative, cross-site collaboration in real time. Participants design, create, draw, highlight, comment and share contents in a straightforward manner – teamwork has never before been so simple.

 

Although the Surface Hub does have local memory, all new content that arises during the course of a meeting must be stored in the cloud before ending the session. This can be done with OneNote or OneDrive. Apart from that, the Surface Hub also works without a cloud connection, and the participants in a purely local meeting do not require their own cloud access. Nevertheless, this is most likely a purely theoretical issue, as Office 365 and OneDrive have become established in many companies as standard for all employees.


Cisco Spark Board

In early 2017, Cisco launched the Spark Board, also available in two sizes with a 55-inch or 70-inch diagonal, both with UHD resolution. The basic idea is the same as for the Surface Hub: spontaneous, straightforward group meetings, whiteboard functions and video conferencing. Cisco, however, consistently uses its collaboration solution Spark for this, with each participant requiring a Spark account and even the Board itself requiring a separate Spark license. All applications and contents are cloud-based. This means that Spark and a cloud connection are indispensable.



In the case of the Cisco Spark Board, all applications and contents are cloud-based.


The process of logging on for Spark Board is quite straightforward. With “proximity pairing”, the mobile device connects itself fully automatically via ultrasound when the user approaches the Spark Board. Once participants have logged on, all the content of their Spark area is available for use on the Board – in a sense, the Board becomes their own Spark device. Everything that is created or changed during a meeting ends up in the user’s personal Spark area, without the need for any further action, and does not need to be explicitly saved. For video conferences – with external participants also communicating via the Spark service – the Spark Board offers a 4K camera and an “acoustic antenna” (microphone array) with twelve elements. In this way, the voices of participants are clearly recorded, regardless of their position, and transmitted in high quality.


Google Jamboard

Google has announced a comparable product called Jamboard, which, however, will not become available until 2018. The Jamboard integrates comparable features such as a whiteboard, direct access to cloud storage and video conferencing. Just like the Surface Hub and the Spark Board, the Jamboard, too, is part of a comprehensive ecosystem – in this case the Google G-Suite. The Jamboard is based on this, meaning that it is not suitable for users with a Cisco or Microsoft infrastructure.


Overview of collaboration tools




Summary

The meeting room itself hasn’t changed much, but the way in which it is used certainly has. Cloud-based applications make it possible to enter the room with a personal tablet, launch straight into cross-site collaboration and make full use of the large screen area. Team members can sketch and share their ideas quite easily using a pen. With Skype for Business, Cisco Spark and Google Hangouts, this works not only on site in the meeting room, but also globally.

 

The interactive whiteboards constitute a vital evolutionary step along the path towards a modern working environment for any tasks that require joint project work, idea finding and communication with colleagues.






More on the topic


Microsoft Surface Hub

Microsoft Surface Hub Service is the ideal Work Smart device to allow you to turn interactive collaboration into the most productive aspect of your everyday work.

Interaktive Whiteboards im Vergleich

Interaktive Whiteboards

Screen-Giganten für Meeting-Raum und informelle Gruppenarbeit


Schluss mit altbackenen Sitzungszimmern und komplizierten Videokonferenzen: Multitouch-Whiteboards fördern die Gruppendiskussion und aktivieren Skills, die in der Arbeitswelt immer wichtiger werden.


Text: Urs Binder,




Kollaborations-Tools sollen Spass machen. Das fordert über die Hälfte aller Mitarbeitenden, schenkt man einer Forrester-Studie von Herbst 2016 Glauben. Gleichzeitig meidet jeder Dritte die herkömmlichen Meeting-Räume. Gründe dafür sind schlechtes Raum-Design, veraltete Anschlüsse, komplizierte Videokonferenzsysteme und ungenügende Tools.

 

Heute sind Tools für die Zusammenarbeit wesentlich besser, als sie es einmal waren. In der Folge wird ein Konferenzraum auch anders genutzt: Früher handelte es sich um einen Ort, wo sich Mitarbeitende physisch trafen und eine Sitzung abhielten, wo sie lediglich besprochene Inhalte an Whiteboards oder Flipcharts festhielten. Es folgten Videokonferenzen, und heute wird dort vermehrt Laptop-basiert zusammengearbeitet. Den Teams stehen Kommunikations-Tools wie Skype for Business zur Verfügung, die Mitarbeitenden haben Zugriff auf Inhalte aus der Cloud und nutzen digitale Werkzeuge wie beispielsweise digitale Notizzettel – Sticky Notes oder Post-its – zum Kommentieren und Brainstormen. Das Problem: Die Meeting-Räume selbst haben sich kaum verändert. Traditionelle Konferenzräume oder «Sitzungszimmer», wie sie heute noch oft genannt werden, sind nicht für die digitale Arbeitsweise ausgestattet.

 

Dabei wünschen sich die Teilnehmer die gleiche kollaborative Arbeitsweise, die sie sich auch aus ihrem Alltag gewohnt sind. Sie möchten physische Konferenzen mit digitalen Anwendungen kombinieren, was in traditionellen Räumen kaum möglich ist. Dort ist nämlich simples Brainstorming im Team mit rein Laptop-basierten Werkzeugen unmöglich. In der Folge mögen die Mitarbeitenden die Meeting-Räume noch weniger.

Höchste Zeit also für etwas Neues: Mit dem Surface Hub von Microsoft und dem Spark Board von Cisco betreten zwei grossflächige Multitouch-Bildschirme die Collaboration-Arena. Sie bieten weit mehr und sind bedeutend einfacher zu bedienen als klassische Videokonferenzsysteme. Diese Lösungen sind für eine optimale Unterstützung der Team-Arbeit konzipiert. Teilnehmer klinken sich unkompliziert in eine Konferenz ein, und Anmerkungen bringen sie mit einem Stift direkt auf dem Bildschirm an. Tools für Terminvereinbarung, Workflow-Integration und Cloud-Speicher sind von Haus aus integriert. Und die Bildschirme sind genügend gross, um bequem darauf zu schreiben und zu zeichnen.


Microsoft Surface Hub

Der Surface Hub gilt als erster Vertreter seiner Art und ist seit Anfang 2016 erhältlich. Wahlweise mit 55- oder 84-Zoll-Diagonale für HD respektive UHD zu haben, beherbergt das Gerät neben dem Multitouch-Bildschirm einen kompletten Windows-10-PC, der allerdings mit der speziellen Betriebssystem-Version Windows 10 Team arbeitet: Der Surface Hub ist als Whiteboard für die spontane Gruppenarbeit gedacht. Die Teilnehmer können die integrierten Anwendungen ohne Anmeldung nutzen und Elemente aus anderen Anwendungen oder Webseiten direkt von ihrem Windows- oder Android-Mobilgerät in das Whiteboard einbringen. Und zwar kabellos, etwa via Near Field Communication (NFC) oder Miracast.

 

Externe Teilnehmer nehmen über Skype for Business an der Diskussion teil. Der Surface Hub verfügt dafür über zwei HD-Kameras mit 100-Grad-Gesichtsfeld, vier Mikrofone und Stereo-Lautsprecher. Mit an Bord sind auch Office 365 und OneDrive.



Microsofts Surface Hub eignet sich für die spontane, standortübergreifende Gruppenarbeit. Eine Anmeldung ist nicht nötig.


Mit dem Surface Hub kann ein über mehrere Standorte verteiltes Team «die Köpfe zusammenstecken» und am gleichen Whiteboard arbeiten. So wird kreative, standortübergreifende Zusammenarbeit in Echtzeit möglich: Die Teilnehmer entwerfen, kreieren, zeichnen, markieren, kommentieren und teilen Inhalte auf unkomplizierte Weise – noch nie war Teamarbeit so einfach.

 

Zwar verfügt der Surface Hub über lokalen Speicher, jedoch müssen alle Inhalte, die während eines Meetings neu entstehen, vor dem Beenden der Session in der Cloud gesichert werden, wozu sich OneNote oder OneDrive anbieten. Abgesehen davon funktioniert der Surface Hub auch ohne Cloud-Anbindung, und die Teilnehmer eines rein lokalen Meetings benötigen keine eigenen Cloud-Zugänge. Das dürfte allerdings nur in der Theorie eine Rolle spielen, denn Office 365 und OneDrive haben sich in vielen Unternehmen als Standard für alle Mitarbeitenden etabliert.


Cisco Spark Board

Anfang 2017 hat Cisco das Spark Board lanciert, ebenfalls in zwei Grössen mit 55- und 70-Zoll-Diagonale erhältlich, beide mit UHD-Auflösung. Die Grundidee ist die gleiche wie beim Surface Hub: spontane, unkomplizierte Gruppenmeetings, Whiteboard-Funktionen und Video-Conferencing. Cisco setzt dafür allerdings durchgängig auf seine Kollaborationslösung Spark: Jeder Teilnehmer benötigt ein Spark-Konto, und auch das Board selbst braucht eine eigene Spark-Lizenz. Sämtliche Anwendungen und Inhalte sind cloudbasiert. Ohne Spark und ohne Cloud-Anbindung läuft also nichts.



Beim Spark Board von Cisco sind sämtliche Anwendungen und Inhalte cloudbasiert.


Die Anmeldung am Spark Board geht denkbar einfach über die Bühne: Mit «Proximity Pairing» verbindet sich das Mobilgerät via Ultraschall vollautomatisch, wenn man sich dem Spark Board nähert. Einmal angemeldet, stehen sämtliche Inhalte des Spark-Bereichs eines Teilnehmers für die Verwendung auf dem Board bereit – das Board wird gewissermassen zum eigenen Spark-Gerät. Alles, was im Meeting geändert oder neu geschaffen wird, landet ohne weiteres Zutun im persönlichen Spark-Bereich und muss nicht explizit gesichert werden. Für Videokonferenzen – auch externe Teilnehmer kommunizieren über den Spark-Service – bietet das Spark Board eine 4K-Kamera und eine «akustische Antenne» (Mikrofon-Array) mit zwölf Elementen. So werden die Stimmen der Teilnehmer unabhängig von ihrer Position klar erfasst und in hoher Qualität übertragen.


Google Jamboard

Google hat ein vergleichbares Produkt namens Jamboard angekündigt, das jedoch erst 2018 verfügbar sein wird. Das Jamboard integriert vergleichbare Features wie Whiteboard, Direktzugang zu Cloud-Speicher und Video-Conferencing. Wie der Surface Hub und das Spark Board ist auch das Jamboard Teil eines umfassenderen Ökosystems – in diesem Fall der Google G-Suite. Es basiert darauf, so dass es sich nicht für Anwender mit einer Cisco- oder Microsoft-Infrastruktur eignet.


Die Kollaboration-Tools im Vergleich




Fazit

Der Meeting-Raum selbst hat nicht gross geändert, aber die Art und Weise, wie man ihn nutzt. Cloudbasierte Anwendungen machen es möglich, mit dem persönlichen Tablet den Raum zu betreten, sofort mit der standortübergreifenden Zusammenarbeit zu beginnen und die grosse Bildschirmfläche voll zu nutzen. Die Team-Mitglieder können ganz einfach mit einem Stift ihre Ideen skizzieren und teilen. Mit Skype for Business, Cisco Spark und Google Hangouts funktioniert das nicht nur vor Ort im Meeting-Raum, sondern auch global.

Die interaktiven Whiteboards sind ein wichtiger Evolutionsschritt auf dem Weg zu einer modernen Arbeitsumgebung, wenn es um gemeinsame Projektarbeit, Ideenfindung und die Kommunikation mit den Kollegen geht.






Mehr zum Thema


Microsoft Surface Hub

Microsoft Surface Hub ist das ideale Work Smart-Gerät, mit dem Sie die interaktive Zusammenarbeit zum produktivsten Aspekt Ihres Alltags machen.