Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact
Login Partner Network status Newsletter Contact

Core Banking Radar

Core Banking Radar

"The satisfaction of banks with their core banking systems: An area of tension?"

During the course of digitisation, many banks are concerned not only with which IT projects show potential in the area of tension between regulatory framework conditions, innovative trends and increasing operational cost pressure, but also with whether the core banking system used is up to the current demands of the business.

 

In cooperation with the Business Engineering Institute St. Gallen (BEI), in cooperation with the Core Banking Radar of Swisscom, has been monitoring the system support of banks since 2017, and analyses the most common systems in Switzerland at regular intervals using a comprehensive assessment model. However, since the analysis of the systems alone does not show the whole picture, this article includes findings from the survey of four selected customer banks, where three different core banking systems are in use. The results provide information on the current levels of satisfaction with system support from a bank's point of view, and show three basic strategies for the system support of tomorrow.

The challenges for banks begin with the customer

With increasing customer centricity and the paradigm shift from product-oriented services to demand-oriented services, new challenges have arisen which are leading to a growing need for action within the area of banking IT:

  • Growing service diversity and decentralised service provision: Addressing end customers based on needs instead of a banking-specific basis leads to a broadening of the service portfolio, which goes beyond traditional banking products. Here, the integration of additional services along the customer journey is usually carried out via third-party providers.

  • Eco-systems are formed - and the platform logic is increasing: Due to an increase in networking, more and more marketplaces are emerging, which bring providers and customers together. The customer journey represents the starting point here for the creation and coordination of services. Open platforms in the area of customer interaction enable the involvement of partners and lead to an opening and modularisation of the system architecture.

  • Low total costs of ownership (TCO Total cost of Ownership): A short time frame, from product development to placement of the product on the market, not only represents a competitive advantage, as it also has a direct influence on operating costs. In relation to core banking systems, this requires the use of standardised solutions which, at the same time, allow individualisation where differentiation from other banks is required.

Use of peripheral systems

The "peripheral systems" heatmap shows the areas in which banks use peripheral systems or are looking for solutions for the future. The heatmap is based on the basic structures of the banking model.

Heatmap - peripheral systems

Interestingly, peripheral systems are often chosen, although the services can generally also be implemented using applications from the core banking system manufacturer itself. Overall, it can be noticed that the use of peripheral systems is more pronounced at the customer interface. One remaining issue here, however, is the lack of a consistent approach by many client banks. Should customer interaction be department-specific (in relation to payments, investing or financing), or does it make more sense to serve customer needs along the contact points of the customer journey based on the specific topic?

Satisfaction with the core banking system

The satisfaction level shows how satisfied banks are with the core banking processes offered by their system. The greatest area of dissatisfaction can be seen in the dependence and availability of resources in relation to the manufacturer. It must however be noted that individual feedback was also received with a high level of satisfaction.

Area of tension regarding satisfaction with system support

Networking of functional support in eco-systems

Most of the customer banks surveyed do not currently offer services in eco-systems, but they did express the goal of positioning themselves as participants within the next three years. According to the current survey, the eco-systems of Living and Financial Provision are particularly interesting according to the customer banks, and preferably in relation to services along the customer journey such as "house purchase and mortgages". Further potential can also be seen in relation to an eco-system in the "retail" sector, which includes supermarkets or e-commerce shops, for example. The main argument for the banks here is the significant volume of transactions and the associated data.

 

A strategy for system support in the future must be formulated in view of this area of tension between new open business models, such as the one being promoted by the regulators in the EU with PSD2, and the operation of traditional product-oriented banking business.

Strategies for system support in the future

During the evaluation and development of a suitable strategy, four overarching core questions must be answered: Openness, data, functions and processes. These can be specified within the scope of the survey related to the area of tension of the challenges described above (service diversity, eco-system, low TCO). The answers then point the way to the change required for the future system support:

  • Openness: Once the question as to which services meet specific needs along the customer journey has been answered, decentralised service provision through standardised user interfaces may become more important in the future. The core question here relates to how far one's own platform must be opened to the outside in order to be able to enter into partnerships and digital networking.

  • Data: The database is often viewed from a centralised perspective in relation to master, transaction and inventory data. In the future, however, integration will become more dynamic and complex. This differentiation and linking of different data sources, also beyond the borders of the bank, therefore makes decentralised data organisation and integration necessary. The core question here therefore relates to the degree of centralised data storage and management.

  • Functions: The demands on functionality can increase and lead to a "complexity trap" if monolithic systems are adapted. A reorientation must therefore be considered here. The core question here therefore relates to how functions in distributed architectures have to be maintained and integrated.

  • Processes: Wherever functions are integrated along business processes, a greater distinction must be made between market-specific functional areas, such as front and back, which place different demands on IT. The core question here relates to how uniformly and consistently the processes within the bank and beyond are supported by IT systems.

Basically, three strategies for system support in the future can be derived in relation to the customer bank satisfaction analysis and the core questions of architectural design.

  • Strategy 1: Core

    All functions are covered to the greatest extent possible by a core banking system and/or the extensions of the respective manufacturer ("Best of Suite").

    Selected advantages

    • The bank can generally rely on a standard solution provided by the core banking system manufacturer.

    • Further developments are made by the manufacturer and are coordinated within a community of banks.

    • The complexity of system support is reduced for the bank. For example, if e-banking is integrated into the core banking system, the bank does not have to worry about the consistent handling of transactions.

    • Expenditure on the strategic further development of system support is eliminated for the bank to a large extent.

    • If the entire range of functions of the core banking software is used, a low TCO should be possible.

    Selected disadvantages

    • The bank is highly dependent on the core banking system manufacturer, and must generally accept the decisions of the manufacturer and the associated banking community. (e.g. the time to market is partly dependent on the manufacturer's roadmap)

    • Own strategies for market-oriented functional support can only be implemented to a limited extent.

    • The modularisation of functional areas and the purchase of more suitable software for individual specialist areas makes little sense if they are already covered by the core banking system manufacturer. This is because the functionality would then have to be paid for twice due to the licence model.

    • The implementation of an increase in the level of opening towards the market, and the associated networking driven by regulatory requirements such as PSD2, takes place in line with the manufacturer's strategy. Own open banking initiatives are more difficult to implement.

    Overall assessment: The strategy is suitable for small and medium-sized retail, universal or even private banks, which pursue a follower strategy and have geared their business model towards traditional banking. This strategy is supported in Switzerland via various operator models.

  • Strategy 2: Front-to-back

    The system support for customer interaction is provided independently by the bank. The core banking system covers as many other areas as possible.

    Selected advantages

    • The bank can use a standard solution in non-differentiating areas such as the back office.

    • In many areas (e.g. also in the implementation of regulatory requirements), the bank can benefit from the core banking system manufacturer and the community.

    • Market changes, such as the opening up of the bank, the development of eco-systems and the implementation of open banking in relation to PSD2, are carried out according to the bank's own business focus.

    • System support for services that provide differentiation in the market is based on the bank's own priorities. Here it is often possible to implement simple proprietary solutions, which do not need to take the complexity of a core banking system manufacturer and its community into consideration.

    • Further providers can be added according to the bank's own criteria.

    • IT support for the implementation of the solution in line with the "Time to Market" requirements can be controlled at the customer interface.

    Selected disadvantages

    • The TCO tends to rise due to higher integration costs, which result from merging front and back applications.

    • If the core banking system manufacturers have rigid licensing models, functionality may need to be paid for twice. However, it should be noted here that many licence models are modular, at least in part.

    • IT know-how must be established within the bank, which in turn generates costs.

    • Provider management must be performed by the bank for all front office systems.

    • For the implementation of an open banking strategy, with the objective of opening up eco-systems and implementing new business models, the bank must either build its own platform or open up.

    Overall assessment: This is the appropriate strategy for banks that strive for differentiation through technological service orientation and market positioning, and who independently align their customer interface with market conditions. However, the required cultural change is greater than with the first strategy.

  • Strategy 3: Modular

    Modular system support for the entire bank based on requirements ("best of breed")

    Selected advantages

    • System support regarding customer interaction can be provided independently by the bank.

    • Market changes, such as the opening up of the bank, the development of eco-systems and the implementation of open banking in relation to PSD2, are carried out according to the bank's own business focus.

    • Dependencies on system manufacturers can be reduced to a minimum. The independence and autonomy in relation to future system support is increased to the maximum.

    • System support for services that provide differentiation in the market is based on the priorities of the entire bank. Here, too, it is often possible to implement simple in-house solutions without taking the complexity of manufacturers into account. Depending on the situation, this may even be possible using the bank's own IT expertise.

    • IT support for the implementation of the solution in line with the "Time to Market" requirements can be controlled.

    Selected disadvantages

    • The bank can only utilise a standard solution to a limited extent. The adoption of standard solutions is generally only possible for individual modules.

    • The integration needs to be orchestrated, and requires a high level of architectural understanding.

    • If the integration of the system architecture is not well managed, this can result in a high TCO.

    • Extensive IT know-how must be established within the bank.

    • For the implementation of an open banking strategy, with the objective of opening up eco-systems and implementing new business models, the bank must either build its own platform or open itself up, just like with strategy 2.

    Overall assessment: This strategy is recommended for banks that are convinced they can use IT to differentiate themselves on the market. It can also be implemented in a community of like-minded banks. Different operator models are also conceivable. This strategy enables technology-supported market orientation - structured according to the bank's own needs. This strategy could well take standard solutions of a core banking system manufacturer into account for one specific area. This approach can be particularly successful and cost-effective if the vision of lean core banking systems with a focus on the function of a "booking engine" is realised.

Conclusion

The needs of the banks surveyed are very similar. With regard to the common functionalities and services, the surveyed banks are satisfied to a large extent with the system support provided for their core banking systems. However, the more complex and less standardised a function becomes, the less satisfied a bank generally is with the out-of-the-box solutions on offer.

 

All customer banks surveyed see coherent approaches to future customer interaction as a challenge. Should the technological support be specific to each department, or does a digitally integrated approach along the customer journey, or perhaps even the creation of an eco-system, make sense?

 

The surveyed banks are interested in solutions for the development of the eco-systems Living and Financial Provision. However, it is also apparent that these are not (yet) financially attractive and that the joint use of data often still needs to be clarified.

 

For core banking system manufacturers, low costs mean standardisation and modularisation. At the same time, banks are increasingly demanding that individual needs be covered.

 

This requires a strategy. The four core questions covered here support structuring. The degree of openness of a system depends on the services, the partners and the intended data use. The integration of the functions, as well as the degree of process support throughout the system, must be assessed.

Coverage of the core questions with the three strategies (ranges)

With each of the three clear strategies formulated here, the overriding core issues of openness, data management, functions or processes can be supported to a degree. It is, however, important that the banks have a clear strategy for their IT.

 

This requires flexibility and clear decisions regarding system support, both from the banks themselves and from the core banking system manufacturers. Furthermore, this also increasingly means solutions need to be searched for together, and it requires strong partnership relations in the future.

 

The Core Banking Radar will continue to follow developments in this area. Another important topic is this regard relates to the Neo core banking systems, which should be able to offer a completely modular approach according to strategy 3 (see above). So stay tuned.


Articles already published in 2018/2019


A long-term partnership exists between Swisscom and the Business Engineering Institute St. Gallen (BEI) within the "Ecosystems" Centre of Excellence. This centre deals with topics such as eco-systems, digitisation and transformation, as well as other issues relating to the structure of the financial industry in the future. In addition to its research activities, the BEI carries out projects related to the design and implementation of innovative, cross-sector business models.

 

> Core Banking Radar methodology




Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact
Login Partenaire Etat du réseau Newsletter Contact

Core Banking Radar

Core Banking Radar

«Satisfaction des banques vis-à-vis de leur système bancaire central: un thème sujet à tensions?»

À l’ère de la numérisation, il s’agit pour bon nombre de banques non seulement d’identifier les projets informatiques à potentiel, malgré le tiraillement entre les conditions générales réglementaires, les tendances innovantes et la pression accrue sur les coûts opérationnels, mais aussi de déterminer si leur système bancaire central est adapté aux exigences commerciales actuelles.

 

Depuis 2017, le Core Banking Radar, mis en place par Swisscom en collaboration avec le Business Engineering Institute de Saint-Gall (BEI), observe le soutien apporté par les systèmes aux banques. Il analyse à intervalles réguliers les systèmes les plus courants de Suisse en s’appuyant sur un modèle d’évaluation complète. Néanmoins, comme l’analyse seule des systèmes ne permet pas de se faire une vision globale, cet article intègre les résultats issus du sondage réalisé auprès de quatre banques clientes sélectionnées, qui utilisent trois systèmes bancaires centraux différents. Ces résultats fournissent des informations sur la satisfaction actuelle des banques vis-à-vis de leur support système et présentent trois stratégies fondamentales pour le support système du futur.

Les défis pour les banques résident d’abord chez le client

L’orientation clients croissante et le changement de paradigme de services axés sur les produits à des services axés sur les besoins soulèvent de nouveaux défis qui nécessitent un besoin acccru d’agir dans le domaine informatique bancaire:

  • Une plus grande diversité des services et prestations de services décentralisées: l’approche des clients davantage axée sur les besoins que spécifiques aux banques entraîne un élargissement de l’offre de services, y compris au-delà des produits bancaires traditionnels. Dans ce contexte, l’intégration de services supplémentaires lors du Customer Journey s’effectue généralement via des prestataires tiers.

  • Formation d’écosystèmes – le principe des plateformes gagne du terrain: en raison du réseautage croissant, on observe de plus en plus de marchés réunissant fournisseurs et clients. Le Customer Journey constitue ici le point de départ de la prestation et de la coordination. Les plateformes ouvertes dans le cadre de l’interaction avec le client permettent d’intégrer des partenaires, mais aussi d’ouvrir et de modulariser l’architecture des systèmes.

  • Nécessité de conserver des coûts totaux à un faible niveau (TCOTotal Cost of Ownership): la courte durée entre le développement du produit et son positionnement sur le marché constitue certes un avantage concurrentiel, mais a aussi une influence directe sur les coûts d’exploitation. Dans le contexte de systèmes bancaires centraux, cela requiert l’utilisation de solutions à la fois standardisées et offrant une possibilité de personnalisation, avec la nécessité de se démarquer des autres banques.

 

Utilisation de systèmes périphériques

La Heatmap «Systèmes périphériques» présente les secteurs dans lesquels les banques utilisent des systèmes périphériques ou recherchent des solutions pour leur orientation future d’après le sondage. La représentation de cette Heatmap repose sur les structures de base du modèle bancaire.

Heatmap «Systèmes périphériques»

Il est intéressant de noter que les banques choisissent des systèmes périphériques alors que bien souvent, les services pourraient être fournis via des applications du fabricant de système bancaire central lui-même. Dans l’ensemble, les systèmes périphériques sont davantage utilisés au niveau de l’interface clients. Reste à identifier, pour beaucoup de banques clientes, la bonne approche à appliquer. L’interaction clients doit-elle s’opérer par domaine professionnel (paiements, placements ou financements) ou est-il plus judicieux de répondre aux besoins des clients par thème via des points de contact tout au long du Customer Journey?

Satisfaction vis-à-vis du système bancaire central

Le degré de satisfaction montre à quel point les banques sont globalement contentes des processus clés de banking proposés par leur système. Le point soulevant la plus grande insatisfaction est la dépendance vis-à-vis des ressources du fabricant et la disponibilité de ces dernières, certaines banques n’ayant toutefois rien à redire dans ce domaine.

Satisfaction et tiraillement vis-à-vis de l’aide apportée par le système

Interconnexion de l’aide fonctionnelle dans des écosystèmes

La plupart des banques clientes interrogées ne proposent encore aucun service dans le cadre d’écosystèmes mais expriment leur volonté de se positionner comme participantes au cours des trois prochaines années. D’après le sondage actuel, les écosystèmes qui revêtent le plus d’intérêt pour les banques clients sont Habitation et Prévoyance, avec une préférence pour des prestations tout au long du Customer Journey, tels que «Achat de maison et hypothèques». Un écosystème dans le secteur «Retail» présenterait également du potentiel. Il pourrait inclure par exemple les supermarchés ou les boutiques en ligne. Le principal argument pour les banques sont les volumes de transactions élevés et les données collectées dans ce cadre.

 

Au vu du tiraillement entre les nouveaux modèles commerciaux ouverts, qui sont même parfois promus par les législateurs au sein de l’UE, notamment via la PSD2, et la réalisation d’opérations bancaires classiques axées sur les produits, il convient d’élaborer une stratégie à long terme en matière de support système.

Les stratégies en matière de support système à long terme

Pour évaluer et élaborer sa propre stratégie, il faut répondre à quatre problématiques centrales d’ordre supérieur dans les domaines suivants: transparence, données, fonctions et processus. Pour y répondre avec précision, il faut se pencher sur les problématiques de tiraillement soulevées par les défis décrits ci-dessus (diversité des services, écosystème, conservation des coûts totaux à un faible niveau). Vous verrez ensuite se profiler le changement à opérer dans votre support système à terme:

  • Transparence: une fois que vous savez quels services répondent à tel ou tel besoin spécifique le long du Customer Journey, vous pourrez accorder plus de place à la prestation de services décentralisée via des interfaces utilisateurs standardisées. La question clé ici est de déterminer le degré de transparence de votre propre plateforme vis-à-vis de l’extérieur avant d’engager tout partenariat et toute interconnexion numérique.

  • Données: la vue d’ensemble de la base des donnés de base, sur les mouvements et sur le portefeuille s’effectue souvent de manière centralisée. Mais à terme, l’intégration sera plus dynamique et plus complexe. La différenciation et l’interconnexion entre ces différentes sources de données, y compris au-delà de la banque, imposent donc une organisation et une intégration décentralisées. La question clé ici est le degré de conservation et de gestion centralisées des données.

  • Fonctions: les exigences en termes de fonctionnalité augmentent et entraînent, à l’occasion d’une simple adaptation de systèmes monolithiques, une importante complexité. Il faut donc envisager une réorientation. La question clé ici est de savoir de quelle manière préserver et intégrer telle ou telle fonction au sein d’architectures décentralisées.

  • Processus: là où les fonctions sont intégrées en fonction des processus commerciaux, il faut pouvoir davantage faire la distinction entre les zone fonctionnelles différentes en termes de marché (par ex. front offce et back office), qui posent des exigences différentes en matière d’informatique. La question clé ici est de savoir comment soutenir uniformément et de manière globale les processus au sein de la banque et au-delà via les systèmes informatiques.

En principe, après analyse du degré de satisfaction des banques et réponse aux questions clés concernant l’organisation architecturale, il se profile trois stratégies pour le support système à terme.

  • Stratégie 1: Core

    Toutes les fonctions sont assurées autant que possible par un système bancaire central et les extensions du fabricant en question («Best of Suite»).

    Exemples d’avantages

    • La banques peuvent largement s’appuyer sur un standard du fabricant du système bancaire central.

    • Les extensions sont assurées par le fabricant et sont coordonnées au sein d’une communauté de banques.

    • Cela réduit la complexité du support système pour la banque. Ainsi par exemple, si l’e-banking est intégré dans le système bancaire central, la banque n’a plus à se soucier de la gestion globale des transactions.

    • Cela élimine une grande partie des charges associées au perfectionnement stratégique du support système pour la banque.

    • Et si elle utilise toutes les fonctionnalités du logiciel bancaire central, elle devrait pouvoir bénéficier d’un plus faible TCO.

    Exemples d’inconvénients

    • La banque dépend largement du fabricant du système et doit systématiquement demander l’avis du fabricant et de la communauté bancaire associée avant de prendre des décisions (par ex. le «time to market» peut dépendre de la roadmap du fabricant).

    • Il est difficle d’appliquer ses propres stratégies en matière de prise en charge des fonctions axée sur le marché.

    • La modularisation des zones fonctionnelles et l’achat de logiciels plus appropriés pour les différents domaines professionnels sont peu judicieux dans la mesure où ils sont assurés par le fabricant du système bancaire central. En effet, au vu du modèle de licence, cela impliquerait de payer doublement les fonctionnalités.

    • La mise en œuvre de l’ouverture croissante du marché et l’interconnexion associée, favorisées par des directives réglementaires telles que la PSD2, s’effectuent conformément à la stratégue du fabricant. Il est difficile d’appliquer de propres initiatives en matière d’Open Banking.

    Évaluation globale: cette stratégie s’adresse aux banques retail, universelles ou encore privées petites et moyennes qui poursuivent une stratégie de «Follower» et ont orienté leur modèle commercial sur l’activité bancaire classique. En Suisse, cette stratégie est soutenue par différents modèles d’exploitation.

  • Stratégie 2: Front-to-back

    Le support système pour l’interaction client est assuré par la banque en toute autonomie. Le système bancaire central couvre autant que possible tous les autres secteurs.

    Exemples d’avantages

    • Dans les secteurs non différenciés comme le back office, la banque peut s’appuyer sur un standard.

    • Dans bon nombre de secteurs (y compris par ex. la mise en œuvre des exigences réglementaires), la banque tire profit du fabricant du système bancaire central et de la communauté.

    • Les adaptations au marché, telles que l’ouverture de la banque, l’exploitation d’écosystèmes et la mise en œuvre de l’Open Banking dans le cadre de la PSD2, s’opèrent en fonction de la propre orientation commerciale de la banque.

    • Le support système pour les services différenciés sur le marché s’effectue en fonction des priorités définies par la banque. Cela implique souvent la mise en œuvre de solutions simples qui ne tiennent pas compte de la complexité d’un fabricant de système bancaire central et de sa communauté.

    • La banque peut intégrer d’autres fournisseurs selon ses propres critères.

    • Elle peut gérer l’assistance informatique pour la mise en œuvre du «time to market» au niveau de l’interface client.

    Exemples d’inconvénients

    • Les charges d’intégration élevées liées au regroupement des applications de front office et de back office ont tendance à augmenter le TCO.

    • En cas de modèles de licence rigides des fabricants de système bancaire central, il se peut que la banque doivent payer doublement les fonctionnalités. Notons toutefois que bon nombre de modèles de licence sont modularisés au moins en partie.

    • Il faut développer le savoir-faire informatique au sein de la banque, ce qui engendre des coûts.

    • Il faut assurer la gestion des fournisseurs pour tous les systèmes du front office de la banque.

    • Pour mettre en œuvre une propre stratégie d’Open Banking permettant d’exploiter des écosystèmes et d’appliquer de nouveaux modèles commerciaux, la banque doit soit mettre en place sa propre plateforme, soit s’ouvrir.

    Évaluation globale: cette stratégie s’adresse aux banques qui souhaitent se démarquer par leur orientation services technologique et leur position sur le marché, et adapter leur interface clients en toute autonomie aux conditions du marché. Néanmoins, cela requiert un changement culturel plus important qu’avec pour la première stratégie.

  • Stratégie 3: Modulaire

    Un support système modulaire pour toute la banque en fonction des besoins («Best of Breed»)

    Exemples d’avantages

    • La banque peut assurer le support système en toute autonomie dans l’interaction avec ses clients.

    • Les adaptations au marché, telles que l’ouverture de la banque, l’exploitation d’écosystèmes et la mise en œuvre de l’Open Banking dans le cadre de la PSD2, s’opèrent en fonction de la propre orientation commerciale de la banque.

    • Cela permet de minimiser la dépendance vis-à-vis des fabricants de système. La banque jouit d’une liberté et d’une autonomie maximales pour ce qui est de son futur support système.

    • Le support système pour les services différenciés sur le marché s’applique à toute la banque en fonction de ses propres priorités. Là encore, cela peut s’opérer via de propres solutions simples sans tenir compte de la complexité des fabricants, néanmoins en fonction des propres compétences informatiques de la banque.

    • Elle peut gérer l’assistance informatique pour la mise en œuvre du «time to market».

    Exemples d’inconvénients

    • La banque ne peut que s’appuyer sur un standard de manière limitée. La prise en charge de solutions standards n’est souvent possible que dans des modules distincts.

    • Il faut orchestrer l’intégration, ce qui requiert une parfaite maîtrise de l’architecture.

    • En effet, si l’intégration de l’architecture système est mal gérée, cela peut engendrer un TCO élevé.

    • Il faut développer un riche savoir-faire informatique au sein de la banque.

    • Pour mettre en œuvre une propre stratégie d’Open Banking permettant d’exploiter des écosystèmes et d’appliquer de nouveaux modèles commerciaux, la banque doit soit mettre en place sa propre plateforme, soit s’ouvrir – comme pour la stratégie 2.

    Évaluation globale: cette stratégie s’adresse aux banques convaincues de pouvoir se démarquer sur le marché grâce à l’informatique. Elle peut également s’appliquer au sein d’une communauté de banques partageant la même philosophie. On peut envisager des modèles d’exploitation différents. Cette stratégie permet de s’orienter sur la marché avec l’aide des technologies et en fonction de ses propres besoins. Cette stratégie peut très bien intégrer les solutions standards d’un fabricant de système bancaire central pour un secteur. Cette approche s’avère particulièrement réussie et économique avec des systèmes bancaires centraux simples qui se concentrent sur la fonction du «moteur central de comptabilisation».

Conclusion

Les banques interrogées présentent des besoins très similaires. Elles sont globalement satisfaites des fonctionnalités et services courants proposés par le support de leurs systèmes bancaires centraux. Néanmoins, plus une fonction est complexe et peu standardisée, plus le degré de satisfaction des banques vis-à-vis des solutions «out of the box» proposées est élevé.

 

Pour toutes les banques clientes interrogées, le choix d’approches cohérentes pour l’interaction client future constitue un défi. Le support technologique doit-il s’opérer en fonction des domaines professionnels ou faut-il préférer une approche numérique intégrée tout au long du Customer Journey, voire la mise en place d’un écosystème?

 

Les banques interrogées sont intéressées par les solutions permettant d’exploiter les écosystèmes Habitation et Prévoyance. Néanmoins, il s’avère que ces dernières sont financièrement (encore) peut attractives et que l’utilisation commune des données nécessite souvent quelques clarifications.

 

Pour les fabricants de systèmes bancaires centraux, la standardisation et la modularisation sont synonymes de faibles coûts. Parallèlement, les banques exigent de plus en plus souvent des solutions sur mesure, ce qui impose la mise en place d’une stratégie. Les quatre questions clés proposées ici peuvent les aider à structurer leur stratégie. Le degré d’ouverture dépend des services, des partenaires et de l’usage prévu des données. Il convient d’évaluer l’intégration des fonctions et le degré de support processuel assuré par le système.  

Réponse aux questions clés via les trois stratégies (fourchettes)

Les trois stratégies représentées ici en couleur permettent de couvrir les questions centrales d’un ordre supérieur dans leur ensemble. L’important pour les banques est d’appliquer une stratégie clairement définie dans le domaine informatique.

 

Cela requiert de l’agilité et des décisions claires concernant le support système, tant par les banques elles-mêmes que par les fabricants de systèmes bancaires centraux. Mais cela implique aussi de rechercher davantage des solutions ensemble et de nouer des partenariats solides à long terme.

 

Le Core Banking Radar va continuer à suivre ces tendances de près. Il se penchera sur un autre domaine thématique important, à savoir les nouveaux systèmes bancaires centraux qui promettent une approche totalement modulaire conformément à la stratégie 3 (cf. ci-dessus). Restez connecté!


Articles 2018/2019 déjà publiés


Swisscom et le Business Engineering Institute de Saint-Gall (BEI) entretiennent un partenariat de longue date dans le cadre du centre de compétences «Ecosystems». Celui-ci se penche sur des thèmes tels que les écosystèmes, la numérisation, la transformation, ainsi que des questions portant sur la conception future du secteur financier. Outre les activités de recherche, le BEI réalise des projets de conception et de mise en œuvre de modèles commerciaux innovants et intersectoriels.

 

> La méthodologie du radar des systèmes bancaires centraux




Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription


En savoir plus sur ce thème