Meta navigation

Study results

Digital corporate customer business

Patrons want what banks cannot offer (yet)


SMEs represent around 99 percent of workplaces in Switzerland. The corporate customer business with SME is therefore strategically relevant from a banking point of view – but so far with scant orientation to the digital requirements of small companies.


Urs Binder, 5.




The “Digital Corporate Customer Business” study by the Swisscom financial competence centre e-foresight and the Institute for Financial Services Zug (IFZ) at the University of Lucerne looked closely at digitisation in SME banking. They analysed the service spectrum offered by the 50 largest retail banks in Switzerland. Here 473 corporate customers – with a focus on companies with 1 to 250 employees – provided information on the benefits that they see in digitised bank products and services. Ten important insights:


E-banking furthest ahead

At most banks, SME can submit and initiate electronic invoices (94%). Push messages with important information are available from 80% of the banks. The SMEs questioned also attach the highest average overall benefit to e-banking with 2.58 out of 5 points.


Integration requires improvement

According to the banks' own statements, most SME customers can link the account to an accounting solution. But this usually tends to be complicated and involves downloading data files. Only 8% of the banks enable automatic synchronisation or have integrated the accounting function directly in the online portal, like the Valiant Bank for instance.


Clouded view of finances

None of the 50 banks examined offered a real SME financial cockpit with key figures presented and updated daily. In contrast, 51% of the SMEs surveyed see a very high or somewhat high benefit in a financial cockpit.


Communication traditional

Only the most important banks offer advice via web or video chat. This nevertheless corresponds to customer preference: SMEs also want to deal with their bank on a personal basis in the age of digitisation. Web chat and video consulting are not attractive for most of those questioned.


Digital payment please

With 2.4 points, SME rate payment options such as mobile payment, payment solutions for webshops and mobile POS pay terminals as the second most interesting factor. The offer spectrum is developing nicely: 56% of the banks already offer mobile payment solutions.


Classical financing

Digital offers are a scare commodity in the area of financing. Only 8% of the banks enable mortgages to be taken out online, while a repayment or extension online is only possible with 6% of them. Only a single bank offers online credit contracts (some others are ready to start off).


Crowd-lending unpopular

Neither the banks nor the customers showed any appreciable interest in new forms of financing.


No demand for banking-related services

Services that are not part of the banks' core business attract little customer interest. Most SMEs eschew online factoring, online trust offers or the online sale of insurance. The same applies for networking platforms in the style of a “corporate Facebook”.


Gaps in the market

A digital contract archive, automated integration of accounting, the digital mutation of powers of attorney, a financial cockpit as well as the online conclusion of fixed-term deposits are offered by less than 10% of the banks The SMEs see a comparatively high benefit in these five areas.


Bank ranking with narrow tip

The digitisation endeavours of the banks in corporate customer business are still in their infancy. The study identifies only two “first movers” who are actively promoting digitisation. On their heels are around a dozen “followers” with the first digital products and services. The lion's share is made up of “late followers” who, at best, have sporadic digitisation initiatives in their corporate customer business.

More on the topic

Résultats de l’étude

Activités numériques concernant les clients commerciaux

Les patrons veulent ce que les banques ne proposent pas (encore)


En Suisse, les PME représentent près de 99% des emplois existants. Pour le secteur bancaire, les activités avec les clients PME ont par conséquent une très grande importance stratégique. Néanmoins, leurs activités restent encore peu axées sur les besoins numériques des petites et moyennes entreprises.


Urs Binder, 5




L’étude «Activités numériques concernant les clients commerciaux» du centre de compétence finances de Swisscom e-foresight et de l’Institut pour services financiers de Zoug (IFZ) de la Haute École de Lucerne a examiné en détail la numérisation dans le secteur du banking PME. Le portefeuille des 50 plus grandes banques de détail suisses a été analysé et 473 clients commerciaux, essentiellement des entreprises comptant de 1 à 250 collaborateurs, se sont exprimés sur les avantages qu’apportent, selon eux, les produits et services bancaires numérisés. Dix enseignements importants:


Offre E-banking des banques et utilisation par les clients finaux en forte progression

Dans la plupart des banques, les PME peuvent soumettre et déclencher des factures électroniques (94%). Les messages Push avec informations importantes existent dans 80% des banques. Avec 2,58 sur 5, les PME interrogées attribuent à l’e-banking la plus grande utilité moyenne. .


Intégration digne d’amélioration

Selon les informations données par la plupart des banques, les clients PME peuvent relier le compte à leur solution de comptabilité. Mais, le plus souvent, de façon compliquée, par téléchargement de fichiers de données. Seulement 8% des banques permettent une synchronisation automatique ou ont intégré, comme par exemple la banque Valiant, la fonction de comptabilité directement sur le portail en ligne.


Vue d’ensemble de la situation financière insuffisante

Aucune banque parmi les 50 examinées n’offre un vrai cockpit de finances PME avec représentation actuelle des indicateurs. Cependant, 51% des PME interrogées sont d’avis qu’un cockpit de finances apporte d’assez grands ou de très grands avantages.


Communication traditionnelle

Les banques qui fournissent des conseils par chat web ou chat vidéo sont très rares. Et cela correspond aux préférences des clients: même à l’ère du numérique, les PME souhaitent s’adresser personnellement à leur banque. Pour la plupart des clients interrogés, chat web et chat vidéo ne sont pas attractifs.


Paiements de préférence numériques

Avec 2,4 points, les possibilités de paiement comme le paiement mobile, les solutions de paiement pour webshops et les terminaux mobiles de point de vente arrivent en 2e position du palmarès des PME. Le côté offre se développe bien: 56% des banques proposent déjà des solutions de paiement mobile.


Financement classique

Dans le secteur du financement, les offres numériques sont une rareté. Seulement 8% des banques permettent la conclusion d’hypothèques en ligne et seulement 6% y permettent leur reprise ou leur prolongation. Une seule banque propose la conclusion en ligne de contrats de crédit (quelques autres se trouvent dans les starting-blocks).


Crowdlending impopulaire

Les nouvelles formes de financement comme les prêts directs entre particuliers ne suscitent pas un grand intérêt, ni auprès des banques, ni auprès des clients.


Pas de demande de services parabancaires

Les prestations de service qui ne font pas partie des activités principales des banques éveillent peu l’intérêt du client. La plupart des PME n’ont que faire du factoring en ligne, des offres fiduciaires en ligne ou de la vente en ligne d’assurances. Il en va de même des plateformes de networking de type «Facebook d’entreprise».


Portefeuille incomplet

Un archivage numérique des contrats, la connexion automatisée à la comptabilité, la mutation numérique de procurations, un cockpit de finances ainsi que la conclusion en ligne de contrats de capital à terme fixe et l’ouverture en ligne de comptes commerciaux sont proposés par moins de 10% des banques. C’est exactement dans ces cinq domaines que les PME voient des avantages assez importants.


Peu de banques en haut du palmarès

Les efforts de numérisation des banques dans le secteur des clients commerciaux en sont encore au tout début. L’étude identifie uniquement deux «First Movers» faisant activement avancer la numérisation. Viennent ensuite une douzaine de «Followers» proposant les premiers produits et services numériques. La majorité est constituée de «Late Followers» qui ont lancé tout au plus quelques initiatives de numérisation dans le secteur des clients commerciaux.

Téléchargement de l’étude et de l’infographie




Mehr zum Thema