6 years Swisscom FinTech Start-up Map

FinTech Start-up Map

‘Swiss fintech start-ups are world class’

Johs Höhener has been publishing the Swisscom Fintech Start-up Map for the past six years. He is an expert on trends and developments in the fintech industry, which, in his view, will undergo a complete transformation in the next ten years.

Text: Tessa Meier, 9 august 2019

The Swiss banking industry will change more significantly in the next ten years than it has done in the past 100 years – accelerated by the emergence of disruptive business models in fintech start-ups. That’s the prediction of Johs Höhener, who published the first Swiss Fintech Start-up Map around six years ago.

 

His reason for creating the map? When the hype around the fintech industry first began, he felt there was a lack of transparency about how it was developing and who was active within it. The industry has evolved significantly since then and the newly categorised and digitised Swiss Fintech Start-up Map charts 334 start-ups this August. Here, expert Johs Höhener examines the most exciting features of the Swiss market.

The winners

‘I anticipate a massive increase in the number of fintech start-ups in the area of digital assets, based on new technologies like blockchain or distributed ledger.’

 

‘In the future, fintech start-ups will focus more on using artificial intelligence in combination with blockchain technology.’

The losers

‘In the payment sector, it will all be about the big players. It’s not easy to survive in the jungle of the finance industry. The number of fintech start-ups will certainly not increase in this area; a few might even disappear. The payment sector has just been hyped up too much.’

 

‘The monetisation of data from banks and insurance companies has grown more slowly than I anticipated a few years ago. On our map, we show 20 to 30 start-ups that are actually working on data insights. That is a very small number when you consider the quantity of data that is available in the finance industry.’

Stability of the players

‘If you measure the Swiss fintech market based purely on new arrivals and exits, then it is actually very static. It is astonishing that such a high number of start-ups have managed to survive in the past two years. This can be explained by the fact that seed financing – the initial round of financing for the first one or two years – works exceptionally well in Switzerland.’

Founders’ start-up capital

‘In Switzerland, many fintechs are founded by people who have worked in the finance industry. So they have earned accordingly and usually have a good financial nest egg. This equity allows them to sustain self-financing for a long time in the initial phase.’

Image gallery: The Swiss Fintech Start-up Map from 2013 to today

1/6 The first FinTech Start-up Map in 2013

2/6 November 2015

3/6 October 2016

4/6 February 2019

5/6 June 2019

6/6 The most recent Map – August 2019

1/6 The first FinTech Start-up Map in 2013

Growth of fintech start-ups

‘The Swiss fintech start-up scene is in good shape; along with Singapore, we are among the top players in this sector. This is also a true reflection of the finance industry.’

 

‘The problem in the Swiss market is supplementary funding and the size of the market. When it comes to raising capital to fund growth (series A/B) for things like international expansion, then things get considerably tougher. This is also the reason why there are still no unicorn companies – like the European fintechs N26, Revolut or Transferwise – on the Swiss Fintech Map.’

 

‘The fintech scene is slowly maturing, but is still heavily influenced by a large number of start-ups that focus on the Swiss market. The Swiss market is very small, production costs are high and unless there is a proactive international strategy, we are unlikely to see Swiss fintech unicorns.’

Relationship with banks

‘Five years ago, it was still the case that fintech start-ups were disrupting the banks. Now, everything is going to change. For the past three years, we have been in a phase of cooperation between start-ups and banks. In the future, it will probably return to being more about competition and disruption.’

 

‘The Swiss Fintech Map also shows that the banking industry will change more significantly in the next 10 years than it has in the past 100 years. This development will be driven by technology and customer requirements or changes in social values. The need for ownership is diminishing. In the future, who will still want a savings account so they can save up to own their first car?’

About the Swiss Fintech Start-up Map

The map’s design has been updated with the help of Norwegian start-up Fintechdb. Since June, it has been newly divided into four business areas (primary) and three technologies (secondary).

 

Who is shown on the map?

All Swiss fintech start-ups.

 

I am a fintech start-up and want to be included on the map. What do I do?

Send an email to Trend.Marketing@swisscom.com, preferably with a logo and short description.

 

What are the selection criteria?

Swisscom Fintech and the Institute of Financial Services Zug IFZ at the Lucerne University of Applied Sciences and Arts assess each start-up according to the following criteria: the start-up was founded less than 10 years ago, is located in Switzerland, focusses on business model innovations and new technologies in the finance sector and still hasn’t reached its targeted level of maturity.

 

How is the map kept up to date?

As soon as one of the aforementioned criteria changes (too old, no focus on fintech or no longer a start-up), the start-up is removed from the list.


“Cooperation with fintech companies is shaping the banking of tomorrow.”



Johannes Hoehener

Head of Fintech



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?


More on the topic

Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact
Newsletter Partenaire Login Contact

6 ans Swisscom FinTech Start-up Map

FinTech Start-up Map

«Les start-ups FinTech suisses sont de niveau mondial»

Depuis six ans, Johs Höhener publie la Swiss FinTech Start-up Map. L’expert FinTech explique les tendances et les développements de la branche qui, selon lui, changera complètement au cours des dix prochaines années.

Texte: Tessa Meier, 9 août 2019

Le secteur bancaire suisse évoluera davantage au cours des dix prochaines années qu’il ne l’a fait au cours des 100 dernières années, forcé par l’émergence des modèles d’affaires disruptifs des start-ups FinTech. Voilà ce que prévoit Johs Höhener, qui a publié la première Swiss Fintech Start-up Map il y a plus de six ans.

 

Il a créé cette carte car aux prémices de l’engouement autour de l’industrie FinTech, il voulait apporter plus de transparence sur les acteurs de l’industrie et son évolution. La branche s’est fortement développée depuis lors: la Swiss FinTech Start-up Map de ce mois d’août, fraîchement réorganisée et numérisée, répertorie 334 start-ups. L’expert Johs Höhener présente les particularités les plus remarquables du marché suisse.

Les étoiles montantes

«Je m’attends à une très forte augmentation du nombre de start-ups FinTech dans le secteur de la numérisation de la propriété (actifs numériques), basées sur de nouvelles technologies telles que le blockchain ou le Distributed Ledger».

 

«À l’avenir, les start-ups FinTech se concentreront davantage sur l’intelligence artificielle en combinaison avec la technologie blockchain».

Les acteurs sur le déclin

«Le match opposera les gros bonnets dans le secteur du paiement. Il n’est pas facile de survivre dans la jungle de l’industrie financière. Dans ce secteur, le nombre de start-ups FinTech n’augmentera certainement pas et quelques-unes vont encore disparaître. Le secteur du paiement a simplement été surcoté».

 

«La monétisation des données bancaires et d’assurance s’est développée plus lentement que je ne le pensais il y a quelques années. Notre Map répertorie 20 à 30 start-ups qui travaillent vraiment sur les Data Insights. Cela fait très peu d’entreprises par rapport à la quantité de données disponibles dans l’industrie financière».

Longévité des acteurs

«Si l’on mesure le marché suisse de la FinTech uniquement en termes d’entrées et de sorties, on peut dire qu’il est assez statique. Il est déjà étonnant qu’un si grand nombre de start-ups aient pu survivre au cours des deux dernières années. Cela s’explique par le fait que le financement d’amorçage (le premier tour de financement pour un à deux ans) fonctionne très bien en Suisse».

Capital initial des fondateurs

«En Suisse, de nombreuses FinTechs sont fondées par des personnes qui ont travaillé dans le secteur financier. Elles ont gagné de l’argent en conséquence et disposent généralement d’une bonne réserve financière. Grâce à ces capitaux propres, elles peuvent s’autofinancer très longtemps dans la phase de démarrage».

Galerie photo: La Swiss FinTech Start-up Map de 2013 à aujourd’hui

1/6 La première FinTech Start-up Map de 2013

2/6 Novembre 2015

3/6 Octobre 2016

4/6 Février 2019

5/6 Juin 2019

6/6 La dernière Map – août 2019

1/6 La première FinTech Start-up Map de 2013

Croissance des start-ups FinTech

«La scène suisse des start-ups FinTech se porte très bien: avec Singapour, nous comptons parmi les principaux acteurs de ce secteur. C’est aussi un reflet précis de l’industrie financière».

 

«Sur le marché suisse, le problème réside dans le financement complémentaire et dans la taille du marché. Les choses se compliquent lorsqu’il s’agit de mobiliser des capitaux pour la croissance (série A/B), comme pour une expansion à l’international. C’est aussi pour cela que nous n’avons pas encore de licornes (comme les FinTechs européennes N26, Revolut ou Transferwise) sur la Swiss FinTech Map».

 

«La scène FinTech grandira lentement, mais reste fortement influencée par de nombreuses start-ups qui se concentrent sur le marché suisse. Le marché suisse est très petit, les frais de production sont élevés et sans une stratégie internationale active, nous aurons du mal à trouver une licorne FinTech suisse».

Relations avec les banques

«Il y a cinq ans, on disait encore que les start-ups FinTech disruptaient les banques, mais tout va changer maintenant. Depuis trois ans, nous sommes dans une phase de coopération entre les start-ups et les banques. On reparlera probablement davantage de concurrence et de disruption à l’avenir».

 

«La Swiss FinTech Map montre également que le secteur bancaire évoluera davantage au cours des 10 prochaines années qu’il ne l’a fait au cours des 100 dernières années. Ce développement est entraîné par la technologie, les exigences des clients et les nouvelles valeurs sociales. Le besoin de propriété diminue: qui voudra encore un compte épargne pour économiser afin de s’acheter sa première voiture?»

À propos de la Swiss FinTech Startup Map

La mise en page de la Map a été actualisée avec l’aide de la start-up norvégienne Fintechdb: depuis juin, elle est organisée en 4 Business Areas (primaires) et 3 technologies (secondaires).

 

Qui est représenté sur la Map?

Toutes les start-ups FinTech suisses.

 

Je suis une start-up FinTech et je voudrais être sur la Map. Que faire?

Envoyez un e-mail à Trend.Marketing@swisscom.com, idéalement avec votre logo et une courte description.

 

Quels sont les critères de sélection?

Swisscom FinTech et l’Institut pour les services financiers de Zoug (IFZ) de la Haute École de Lucerne contrôlent la start-up selon les critères suivants: la start-up FinTech a été fondée il y a moins de 10 ans, est basée en Suisse, se concentre sur les innovations du modèle d’affaires et les nouvelles technologies dans le secteur financier et n’a pas encore atteint le niveau de maturité visé.

 

Comment la Map est-elle actualisée?

La start-up est supprimée de la liste dès que l’un des critères ci-dessus change (trop vieux, pas d’accent FinTech ou n’est plus une start-up).


Johs Höhener, Head of FinTech

Johs Höhener est responsable chez Swisscom du cluster FinTech fondé en 2016. En 2012, il avait créé le groupe de réflexion e-foresight, une nouvelle coopération entre banques cantonales dans le domaine du monde numérique, avant de le transférer chez Swisscom en 2014. Johs Höhener a plus de 25 ans d’expérience dans l’environnement bancaire en Suisse, mais aussi en Irlande, en Allemagne, en Autriche et à Singapour.

Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?


En savoir plus sur ce thème