Interview with the CEO of NetGuardians on Fraud Prevention for Banks

Fraud Prevention

The cyber criminals are ready – are the banks?


Attempts to defraud banks are a question of “when” and not “if”, says Joël Winteregg, CEO of NetGuardians. He identifies the greatest risks for Swiss banks and provides insights into protection solutions based on artificial intelligence.


Text: Sara Wyss, 12 December 2018




Is my bank account still safe?


Well, which bank you are with? Just kidding. Most banks cooperate with IT partners on security issues. They take comprehensive security precautions and use the most secure data centres in Switzerland. And this is essential. Because the fact is that fraud attempts are increasing massively. From inside the bank as well as from outside. Whether your account is safe depends on how quickly your bank detects and blocks the attacks. That is because it must discover the fraud attempt before the fraud actually occurs.


Do fraud attempts from within the bank really play a decisive role here?


Yes, and that is often surprising. Globally, the costs caused by fraud amount to around 70 billion US dollars per year. And 70 percent of fraud is committed by employees. At the beginning of this year, for example, a former wealth manager of a Swiss private bank was indicted in Geneva. He is accused of having stolen a total of 3 million Swiss francs from his customers' accounts over a period of two years.


And what types of external fraud attempts are currently on the rise?


Externally speaking, malware attacks, phishing and social engineering are the most prominent. Currently, the most aggressive malware in Switzerland and Austria is "Retefe". It has been in circulation since 2013, but it is so sophisticated that it still diverts up to 90 e-banking sessions a day to fake sites throughout Switzerland. The online banking Trojan is distributed via e-mail. If the attachment is opened, the malware is launched. But phishing is also still a problem: In 2017 alone, over 4500 phishing sites were reported in Switzerland.


How does social engineering work?


With social engineering, criminals use information that they collect, for example, via social media profiles of their victims. They use this information to call their victims and pretend to be officials in order to check supposedly personal information. With the information received, they generate possible passwords to attack online accounts. At the same time, criminals can steal victims' identities in order to apply for and misuse financial products.


MELANI is also increasingly reporting bill swap - what exactly is that?


This is fraud based on swapping invoices. Criminals search hacked e-mail accounts for electronic invoices. They copy invoices they find and delete them from the mail account. After that, they manipulate payee information on the PDF and send the adjusted invoice again. The mail address of the invoicing party is used as sender, so the whole thing is difficult to detect.


You said at the beginning that it was crucial to detect the fraud attempt quickly. Now, however, new and increasingly sophisticated scams are being added all the time. Can banks still be fast enough?


That is precisely the challenge! Sometimes they use samples, pre-defined statistical rules and manual controls. However, these methods allow the efficient detection of only known types of fraud. They are very expensive and, at the same time, lead to a high number of false hits. The decisive disadvantage, however, is that the fraud is detected too late - i.e. when the money has already been transferred to the wrong account. Your trust as a customer is then naturally gone, and the reputation of the bank is ruined.



Joël Winteregg, CEO of NetGuardians

Joël Winteregg, CEO of NetGuardians



Is proactive detection of fraud attempts possible at all?


Yes, definitely - and this is becoming more and more important in view of the increasing cyber risks. This is where profiling and machine learning technologies come in. Your bank uses profiling to analyse which transactions you normally carry out. Your profile contains other information, such as where you usually spend time, the language you use in e-banking, the resolution of your screen, the method you use to identify yourself, or the currency you transfer. Attempted transactions that are made from your account and do not match your profile are stopped immediately. And this also applies to previously unknown fraud methods.



That means in an exceptional situation, I could make an urgent transaction during my business trip to the USA, but it would be prevented according to this scheme.


Exactly. If just one variable – in your case the location – was taken into account, that would result in an incorrect hit, and the transaction would be blocked unnecessarily. That's why NetGuardians combines a large number of variables in its in-house solution. The transaction would therefore be blocked only if, in addition to being made in the USA, it were also in an unusual currency or sent to an unusual recipient. By the way, our solution reduces false hits by over 80%.



This is impressive, but it also means that manual intervention is still not entirely superfluous. Are there other points where solutions based on artificial intelligence (AI) reach their limits?


Technology must always be combined with human intelligence. This is known as "augmented intelligence". After all, people ultimately make decisions regarding operational risks or fraud. However, machine learning technologies help to make better decisions.



AI solutions require a large amount of data. What does the bank need to consider with regard to data collection and storage in order to be able to use appropriate solutions?


The data required for machine learning solutions is already available at the banks. Banks usually have a mountain of data but don't use it. Our technology also relies on existing data from the bank's core and peripheral systems. For the machine learning algorithms, we use bank data that is between one and two years old.



Let's finish now by taking a look at the future: what further progress can be expected in AI-based fraud prevention solutions?


The algorithms will become even better in the future. One approach, for example, is to enrich them with so-called Markov chains. This makes it possible to better predict the future behaviour of a customer, even if I know only a very limited amount of past behaviour. Forecasts of future behaviour are therefore more accurate.

At the same time, it can be assumed that the algorithms will be fed with additional data sources, for example, from social networks. Another exciting approach is behaviour-based biometrics. Instead of using physical biometric information such as fingerprints or iris scans, behaviour-based biometrics uses the way someone types on the keypad or moves the computer mouse, for example.

The race against the scammers remains exciting!



Newsletter

Would you like to regularly receive interesting articles and whitepapers on current ICT topics?

> Subscribe

Joël Winteregg


is CEO of NetGuardians. He founded the company in 2010 together with Raffael Maio and developed an anti-fraud software based on machine learning. In 2017, NetGuardians and Swisscom entered into a partnership to jointly launch “Fraud Prevention Service” (FPS). FPS is based on NetGuardians' AI technology and the Trusted Services from Swisscom.

The solution is offered in the “as a Service” model and is available to Swiss banks whose core banking systems are operated by Swisscom. It helps banks prevent fraud via digital channels. Since the launch of FPS in November 2017, 6 banks have already been acquired as customers. Analyses show that the solution enables the banks concerned to handle their fraud management much more efficiently and accurately.

> to the video about NetGuardians






More on the topic


   

Fraud Prevention Service

Fraud Prevention Service: efficient and modern fraud prevention from Swisscom and NetGuardians.

Go to offer

Interview avec les CEO de NetGuardians sur la prévention des fraudes dans les banques

Fraud Prevention

Les cybercriminels sont prêts – les banques le sont-elles aussi?


Selon Joël Winteregg, CEO de NetGuardians, les tentatives de fraudes dans les banques ne sont pas une question de cas avérés mais de timing. Il identifie les principaux risques pour les banques suisses et livre un aperçu des solutions de protection reposant sur l’intelligence artificielle.


Texte: Sara Wyss, 12 décembre 2018




Mon compte bancaire est-il bien sécurisé?


Ça dépend, chez quelle banque êtes-vous? Trêve de plaisanterie! Pour les questions de sécurité, la plupart des banques collaborent avec des partenaires informatiques, prennent des mesures de sécurité complètes et utilisent les centres de calcul les plus sécurisés de Suisse. C’est absolument primordial car le fait est que les tentatives de fraudes augmentent de manière radicale, ce aussi bien en interne que de l’extérieur. Le degré de sécurité de votre compte dépend de la rapidité avec laquelle votre banque découvre et évite les attaques. En effet, avant qu’il y ait fraude, il y a tentative de fraude.


Les tentatives d’escroquerie internes à la banque sont majoritaires, non?


Oui, ce qui étonne souvent. À l’echelle mondiale, les coûts occasionnés par les fraudes s’élèvent à environ 70 milliards de dollars américains par an. Et 70% des fraudes proviennent de collaborateurs. Au début de cette année par exemple, un ancien gérant de fortune d’un banque privée suisse à Genève a été condamné. Il était accusé d’avoir volé en tout 3 millions de francs suisses sur les comptes de ses clients sur deux ans.


Et quels types de tentatives de fraudes externes observe-t-on le plus souvent aujourd’hui?


Les attaques extérieures les plus fréquentes sont les attaques par logiciel malveillant, hameçonnage et social engineering. Le logiciel malveillant le plus agressif à l’heure actuelle en Suisse et en Autriche s’appelle «Retefe». Il circule déjà depuis 2013 mais est tellement sophistiqué qu’il arrive encore à rediriger chaque jour jusqu’à 90 sessions d’e-banking vers des sites frauduleux. Quant au cheval de Troie ciblé sur les activités bancaires en ligne, il se propage par e-mail. Il attaque dès que vous ouvrez une pièce jointe. Mais l’hameçonnage fait lui aussi des ravages: rien qu’en 2017, 4’500 sites de hameçonnage ont été signalés en Suisse.


Comment fonctionne le social engineering?


Dans le social engineering, les criminels utilisent des informations qu’ils collectent sur les profils des réseaux sociaux de leurs victimes. Ensuite, ils appellent leurs victimes et se font passer pour des personnes d’autorité prétendument chargées de contrôler des données personnelles. Avec les informations obtenues, ils génèrent des mots de passe qui leur permettent de réaliser des attaques sur les comptes en ligne. Parallèlement, ils peuvent voler l’identité de leurs victimes pour faire des demandes abusives de produits financiers.


MELANI observe également une augmentation du nombre de bill swaps – de quoi s’agit-il exactement?


Il s’agit d’une escroquerie via l’échange de factures. Les criminels fouillent les comptes e-mail piratés à la recherche de factures électroniques. Ils en font des copies et les suppriment du compte e-mail. Ensuite, ils falsifient les informations concernant le bénéficiaire du paiement sur le PDF et ré-éditent la facture modifiée. Ils utilisent comme expéditeur l’adresse e-mail de l’émetteur de la facture pour que la manipulation passe inaperçue.


Vous avez dit au début qu’il est essentiel d’identifier rapidement la tentative de fraude. Or de nouvelles escroqueries de plus en plus sophistiquées viennent s’ajouter chaque jour. La banque peut-elle vraiment suivre le rythme?


C’est précisément le défi à relever! Il faut travailler avec des contrôles aléatoires, des règles statistiques prédéfinies et des contrôles manuels. Ces méthodes permettent bien souvent de dépister efficacement les types de fraudes courants. Mais cela prend énormément de temps et aboutit souvent à des correspondances incorrectes. Le principal inconvénient de ces méthodes est que l’escroquerie est identifiée trop tard – quand l’argent est déjà transféré sur un faux compte. Naturellement, votre confiance en tant que cliente en pâtit et la réputation de la banque aussi.



Joël Winteregg, CEO de NetGuardians

Joël Winteregg, CEO de NetGuardians



Alors est-il vraiment possible de dépister proactivement les tentatives de fraudes?


Oui, bien sûr et c’est essentiel au vu de la croissance des cyber-risques. C’est là qu’interviennent les technologues de profiling et de machine learning. Le profiling permet à votre banque d’analyser les transactions que vous avez l’habitude de réaliser. Votre profil contient d’autres données, par exemple votre lieu de séjour habituel, la langue que vous utilisez dans l’e-banking, la résolution de votre écran, la méthode d’identification que vous utilisez ou la devise de vos virements. Toute tentative de transaction sur votre compte qui ne correspond pas à votre profil est immédiatement bloquée, et ce, même avec des types d’escroquerie jusque-là inconnus.



Autrement dit, si je veux un jour effectuer une transaction urgente exceptionnelle en vue de mon déplacement professionnel aux Etats-Unis, elle serait bloquée avec ce système.


Exactement, si le système ne prend en compte qu’une seule variable – dans votre cas le lieu – cela conduit à une corespondance incorrecte et la transaction est inutilement bloquée. C’est pourquoi notre solution interne chez NetGuardians tient compte d’une multitude de variables. Ainsi, la transaction serait bloquée uniquement si vous réalisiez votre transaction non seulement aux Etats-Unis, mais aussi dans une devise inhabituelle ou pour un bénéficiaire inhabituel. Du reste, notre solution réduit les correspondances incorrectes de plus de 80%.



C’est un chiffre certes louable, mais cela signifie aussi qu’il est impossible de renoncer totalement à l’intervention manuelle. Y a-t-il d’autres domaines dans lesquels les solutions axées sur l’intelligence artificielle (IA) sont limitées?


Il faut toujours combiner la technologie à l’intelligence humaine. C’est ce que l’on appelle l’«augmented intelligence». Car en fin de compte, ce sont les hommes qui prennent les décisions en cas de risques opérationnels ou d’escroquerie. Néanmoins, les technologies de machine learning nous aident à prendre de meilleures décisions.



Les solutions IA nécessitent un important volume de données. Quels points la banque doit-elle prendre en compte en matière de saisie et d’enregistrement de données pour pouvoir utiliser ce type de solutions?


Les données requises pour les solutions de machine learning sont déjà disponibles dans les banques. Le plus souvent, les banques disposent d’une montagne de données qu’elles n’utilisent pas. Notre technologie aussi mise sur des données déjà existantes dans les systèmes centraux et périphériques de la banque. Pour les algorithmes du machine learning, nous utilisons des données bancaires qui portent sur un à deux ans.



Pour conclure, parlons avenir: quels progrès peut-on attendre en matière de solutions de prévention des fraudes axées sur l’intelligence artificielle?


À l’avenir, les algorithmes vont se perfectionner. On pourrait imaginer par exemple de les utiliser en combinaison avec les fameuses chaînes de Markov. Cela permettrait de mieux prédire le comportement futur d’un client, même en connaissant très peu son comportement passé. Les prévisions sur le comportement futur vont donc gagner en précision.

Il faut aussi partir du principe que les algorithmes vont intégrer de nouvelles sources de données, telles que les réseaux sociaux. Une autre approche intéressante est la biométrie comportementale. Ici, on utilise non pas les informations physiques comme l’empreinte digitale ou le scan de l’iris, mais la façon dont une personne tape sur le clavier ou déplace la souris de son ordinateur par exemple.

La lutte contre les escrocs reste donc un défi passionnant!



Newsletter

Vous souhaitez recevoir régulièrement des articles et Whitepapers passionnants sur des activités TIC actuelles?

> Inscription

Joël Winteregg


est le CEO de NetGuardians. Il a créé l’entreprise en 2010 avec Raffael Maio et a développé un logiciel anti-fraudes basé sur le machine learning. En 2017, NetGuardians et Swisscom ont entamé un partenariat pour lancer ensemble le «Fraud Prevention Service» (FPS). Le FPS repose sur la technologie IA de NetGuardians et les Trusted Services de Swisscom.

Proposée comme modèle «as a service», cette solution est mise à la disposition des banques suisses qui confient l’exploitation de leur système bancaire central à Swisscom. Elle permet aux banques de prévenir les fraudes par canal numérique. Depuis le lancement de FPS en novembre 2017, nous avons déjà convaincu 6 banques. D’après les analyses, la gestion des fraudes de ces banques a nettement gagné en efficacité et en pertinence des résultats grâce à cette solution.


> vers la vidéo de NetGuardians






En savoir plus sur ce thème


   

Fraud Prevention Service

Prévention moderne et efficace des fraudes pour votre banque, en temps réel.

Vers l'offre