Interview with Stella Gatziu Grivas

FHNW Cloud Study 2018

“The Cloud needs new roles”


Companies are still unable to correctly assess the impacts of the Cloud. This year’s Cloud study by the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) demonstrates this. Lead researcher Stella Gatziu Grivas explains how decision makers can acquire this knowledge.


Text: Christoph Widmer, Images: Thomas Egli, 3 july 2018




Prof. Gatziu Grivas, what was the motivation for the Cloud study by FHNW?


In our CIO study last year, we also asked participants about Cloud maturity in their company. We wanted to find out how well prepared companies were to use Cloud technologies. Participants’ responses suggested there could be conflicting priorities between Business and IT departments regarding the Cloud. Departments often did not agree about the actual motivation and preparation for using the Cloud. In this year’s Cloud study, we wanted to focus on these points.



Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW

Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW  



Did this impression turn out to be true?


Overwhelmingly, the main motivation for using the Cloud, as indicated by the majority of surveyed groups, was to reduce costs. Cloud providers themselves realise more than anyone that the Cloud is essential for digitally transforming their own companies. Among the other groups such as Business specialist managers, CIOs or even IT architects, this understanding is not widely shared yet.


“Only a few IT architects are aware of the impacts of the Cloud.”


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


The other study results demonstrate this: Only a few are really able to determine the impacts of the Cloud on business and IT processes. Were you surprised about this result?


Yes. I found it very surprising that only a few IT architects are aware of the impacts of the Cloud.


Why is that?


IT architects play an important role in the positioning of the Cloud. They know the data and business architecture and are familiar with the appropriate processes. They therefore have an important role in communicating the possibilities in using the Cloud. There is still little transparency in companies about this.


So, are IT architects not doing their jobs properly?


I think the entire subject of the Cloud has been regarded with blinkered vision. People have mainly only seen the risks in the Cloud. And if a potential is identified, it is overwhelmingly about cutting costs. This distorted view means that even today, the Cloud is not seen as a digital enabler across the entire company, even among IT architects. It’s easy to identify cost reductions. You compare today’s numbers with tomorrow’s. However, what is less tangible is when you are saving money, where you are reinvesting these savings and how the Cloud impacts on business. The statement “no digitisation without the Cloud” may sound like an advertising slogan. However, there is a great deal behind this. The Cloud is a complex matter.


A digitisation strategy which establishes the Cloud’s exact strategic positioning would clarify a lot here. Who should initiate this in the company?


Many CIOs said in our study from last year that they also see themselves in the role of the CDO. Consequently, many in IT management believe they are responsible for digitisation. They are right to view this as their task. The difficulty in this is appropriately communicating and implementing the digitisation strategy.


“The Journey to the Cloud brings with it an urgent need for companies to reorganise.”


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


How does this work?


The Cloud needs new roles. A company must establish exactly who is responsible for its Cloud strategy, who responds to Business requirements, or who, for example, demonstrates the potential of different Cloud-based solutions using technology scouting. The Journey to the Cloud therefore brings with it an urgent need for companies to reorganise. A consistent Cloud strategy therefore also needs a transformation roadmap, which establishes the new responsibilities. Both our studies show that this understanding does not yet exist in many companies.



Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institute for Information Systems, FHNW


What do IT have to do differently in the course of the Cloud transformation?


IT have to assume the new role of Cloud brokers. They manage the whole service catalogue and know the criteria which Cloud providers have to fulfil for their own Compliance and Governance specifications. As such, IT are responsible for implementing the digitisation and Cloud strategy and acting as a kind of link between Business and the Cloud. This way also prevents Business using Cloud Services without the involvement of IT, i.e. using shadow IT. The IT department has to integrate the new services and quickly realise whether the provider is suitable or not. This role is therefore central to Cloud transformation. Other roles, like the Sourcing Manager, the Cloud Lifecycle Manager or the Cloud Monitoring Manager are also part of this.


Is it thus already done with a restructured IT?


The approach is important. The Journey to the Cloud should not be understood to be a bottom-up approach whereby individual systems like CRM or ERP are just migrated to the Cloud. Anyone who limits themselves to individual services can miss opportunities. By contrast, anyone who follows a top-down strategy to gain a comprehensive overview of Cloud offerings will understand how they can most effectively use the Cloud in their company. As a result, they have to first obtain a comprehensive picture of the possibilities of the Cloud.


But that also applies to Business.


Absolutely. The top-down strategy must certainly be developed in collaboration with Business. But someone must take the lead.


The CIO?


It could be the CIO, but it could also be IT architects, specialist managers or people from the Management Board. Companies could also draw upon external expertise from Cloud providers as they are people who have strategically positioned themselves with the Cloud for a long time now. However, with a clear assignment.


What do you mean, exactly?


That Business and IT have also acquired the knowledge and not taken all the advice of an external consultant without thinking about it critically. Consultants have to be challenged in discussions. It’s not enough to rely solely on them. Companies have to do their homework.



Personal information


Stella Gatziu Grivas is a Professor at the Institute for Information Systems at the University of Applied Sciences of Northwestern Switzerland (FHNW) and Head of Competence Center Cloud Computing, Digitalisation & Transformation. She is on the board of EuroCloud Swiss and organises the FHNW Cloud Use Cases Days conference management.

The study report can be downloaded here (German only):
FHNW Report Cloud Study 2018








More on the topic

Interview de Stella Gatziu Grivas

Enquête FHNW cloud 2018

«Le cloud nécessite une rénovation des rôles»


Les entreprises ne prennent toujours pas la mesure des répercussions du cloud. Voici une conclusion de l’étude réalisée cette année par la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse du nord-ouest (FHNW). Stella Gatziu Grivas, qui a dirigé l’étude, nous expose les moyens dont disposent les entreprises pour appliquer ces connaissances.


Texte: Christoph Widmer, Images: Thomas Egli, 3 juillet 2018




Madame Gatziu Grivas, pourquoi la FHNW a-t-elle mené cette enquête sur le cloud?


Nous avions également interrogé les participants au sujet de la maturité du cloud dans l’entreprise lors de l’étude CIO réalisée l’année dernière. Nous souhaitions en savoir plus sur le niveau de préparation des entreprises à l’avènement de l’ère des technologies du cloud. Les réponses des sondés nous indiquent que le cloud constitue une zone de tension entre le commercial et les technologies de l’information. La concertation entre groupes fonctionnels est presque inexistante au sujet de la motivation et de la préparation à l’arrivée du cloud. L’enquête de cette année devait se concentrer sur ces sujets.



Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut d’informatique de gestion de la FHNW

Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut d’informatique de gestion de la FHNW



Cette impression s’est-elle confirmée?


La majorité des groupes fonctionnels interrogés ne s’intéresse au cloud qu’en tant que facteur de réduction des coûts. Les fournisseurs d’accès au cloud reconnaissent que celui-ci est indispensable à la transformation numérique de l’entreprise. Mais d’autres groupes fonctionnels comme les décideurs commerciaux, les CIO ou les architectes des technologies de l’information n’en ont pas encore vraiment pris conscience.


«Une minorité d’architectes des technologies de l’information ont pris conscience des effets du cloud.»


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


D’autres études donnent des résultats convergents: Peu de gens sont conscients des répercussions du cloud sur les processus commerciaux et informatiques. Êtes-vous surprise de ces résultats?


Oui. Le fait que peu d’architectes des technologies de l’information aient pris conscience des effets du cloud, oui, cela m’a vraiment surprise.


Pourquoi?


Parce qu’ils jouent un rôle essentiel dans le positionnement du cloud. Ils connaissent l’architecture commerciale, celle des données ainsi que les processus correspondants. Ils ont par conséquent un rôle communicationnel décisif en ce qui concerne les possibilités offertes par le cloud. La transparente est encore nettement insuffisante à ce sujet au sein de l’entreprise.


Les architectes des technologies de l’information échouent donc dans leur mission?


Je pense qu’on regarde encore la thématique du cloud avec des œillères. On ne voit que les risques que comporte le cloud. Et si on trouve enfin un potentiel, c’est celui de la réduction des coûts qui l’emporte. Avec cette image faussée, l’entreprise — les architectes des technologies de l’information non plus, d’ailleurs — ne prend pas conscience du fait que le cloud est un facilitateur de numérisation. Les économies potentielles sont faciles à détecter: il suffit de comparer les chiffres d’aujourd’hui et ceux de demain. Mais que signifient ces économies concrètement, où peut-on les réinvestir, quels sont les effets du cloud sur le secteur commercial, tout cela reste flou. Certes le slogan «Pas de numérisation sans cloud» peut paraître banalement publicitaire. Mais c’est un phénomène beaucoup plus complexe et riche.


Une stratégie axée sur la numérisation incluant le positionnement stratégique du cloud pourrait clarifier la situation dans ce contexte. Qui en prendra l’initiative au sein de l’entreprise?


L’enquête de l’année dernière nous a appris que beaucoup de CIO conçoivent d’assumer également un rôle de CDO. Beaucoup de gestionnaires des technologies de l’information pensent qu’ils doivent assumer des responsabilités au niveau de la numérisation. Ils ont raison de voir les choses ainsi. La difficulté réside dans la façon de communiquer sur la stratégie axée sur la numérisation et la mise en œuvre de celle-ci.


«Prendre le chemin du cloud conduit inévitablement à réorganiser l’entreprise.»


Prof. Stella Gatziu Grivas, FHNW


Comment relever ce défi?


Le cloud nécessite une rénovation des rôles. Il s’agit d’assigner précisément les tâches de responsabilité concernant la stratégie axée sur le cloud, de désigner ceux qui prendront connaissance des exigences du secteur commercial ou lui proposeront des solutions basées sur le cloud avec exploration des possibilités technologiques, par exemple. Prendre le chemin du cloud conduit inévitablement à réorganiser l’entreprise. Une stratégie axée sur le cloud implique la rédaction d’une feuille de route au sujet de la transformation qui définit les nouvelles responsabilités. Nos deux études ont montré que cette prise de conscience se fait encore attendre dans de nombreuses entreprises.



 Prof. Dr. Stella Gatziu Grivas, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik FHNW


Quels nouveaux défis doivent relever les technologies de l’information dans le contexte de la révolution du cloud?


Le service informatique doit assumer un rôle d’intermédiaire au service du cloud. Il gère l’ensemble du catalogue de services, connaît les critères de gouvernance et de conformité à remplir par les fournisseurs d’accès au cloud. Le service informatique établit ainsi la stratégie de numérisation ou axée sur le cloud, il est un trait d’union entre le commercial et le cloud. Il prévient l’utilisation d’une informatique de l’ombre — c’est-à-dire de services de cloud non homologués par les services informatiques — par le business. Le service informatique doit intégrer les nouveaux services et rapidement détecter l’adéquation du fournisseur d’accès. Un rôle central au niveau de la transformation vers le cloud. D’autres rôles comme le sourcing manager, le cloud lifecycle manager ou le cloud monitoring manager entrent également en ligne de compte.


Un service informatique redéfini suffit-il?


L’approche est importante. Il ne s’agit pas de prendre le chemin du cloud de bas en haut en y intégrant des systèmes comme le CRM ou l’ERP. Celui qui se focalise sur les simples services passe à côté d’occasions. Celui qui par contre choisit une stratégie de haut en bas et s’efforce d’avoir une vue globale des chances offertes par le cloud saura mieux exploiter ses potentialités. Il faut par conséquent commencer par se faire une impression globale des possibilités du cloud.


Cela s’applique aussi aux affaires.


Absolument. Il faut impérativement élaborer une stratégie du haut vers le bas en collaboration avec le business. Mais chacun doit avoir le lead.


Le CIO?


Le CIO, les architectes des technologies de l’information, les décideurs du secteur des affaires ou la direction. Les entreprises peuvent acquérir des connaissances auprès des fournisseurs d’accès au cloud car ceux-ci ont déjà fait preuve d’un positionnement stratégique. Et cela, avec une tâche clairement définie.


Qu’est-ce que cela signifie?


Que les services commerciaux et informatiques doivent acquérir des connaissances et ne pas prendre pour argent comptant les conseils des experts externes. Il faut pousser le consultant dans ses retranchements. Ne pas lui accorder aveuglément sa confiance. Les entreprises doivent revoir leur copie.



Informations personnelles


Stella Gatziu Grivas enseigne à l’Institut d’informatique de gestion de la Haute école spécialisée de la Suisse du nord-ouest et dirige le pôle de compétences Cloud Computing, Digitalisation & Transformation. Elle siège à l’EuroCloud Swiss et assure la direction du congrès FHNW Cloud Use Cases Days.

 

Téléchargez ici le rapport de l’enquête (en allemand):
Rapport enquête FHNW cloud 2018





Newsletter

Abonnez-vous à la newsletter pour suivre les tendances, les actualités de la branche et les benchmarks.





En savoir plus sur ce thème