ISG Provider Lens (Cloud Transformation/Operation Services & Xaas)

Swisscom sets the pace in the Swiss cloud market


The market research company ISG has evaluated the "who's who" of the Swiss cloud scene for the fifth time. Swisscom is once again the leader with an attractive portfolio and strong market position — especially for companies pursuing a multi-cloud strategy.


Text: Information Services Group (ISG) / Ann-Kristin Koch, Images: Information Services Group (ISG), 23 November 2018




The global market research company ISG has examined the Swiss cloud market in three categories: Public Cloud Transformation with Advice and Migration, Managed Public Cloud Services, and Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS). In all areas, Swisscom is in the leader section in terms of portfolio and market strength and, what's more, is well ahead of the competition when it comes to Managed Public Cloud Services and IaaS. Heiko Henkes, author of the ISG study said: "Swisscom is the top provider in Switzerland, covering all major public cloud hyperscale platforms."


More and more Swiss companies relying on multi-cloud

To date, Swiss companies have been reluctant to use public clouds — according to ISG's conclusion. However, with the increasing demand for cost flexibility, speed, and agility, many companies will leave their comfort zone and start relying on public clouds instead of traditional IT services. In doing so, many choose a multi-cloud strategy: sensitive applications stored locally, other data globally. Trust is the killer criteria here. The experts involved in the ISG study recognise the positioning of Swisscom with its consulting methodology and integration expertise, including in global offerings such as Amazon Web Services and Microsoft Azure: "Swisscom stands out as a stable and trustworthy market leader that banks and insurance companies in particular rely on."

Some of the convincing aspects included the bundled expertise, which is needed for preparing the journey to the cloud, the proven local consultation and integration expertise for local clouds combined with global clouds, a dedicated consultant team for cloud security, and the long-term trust that is placed in Swisscom as a reliable partner.



Quadrant für Transformation (Consulting & Integration)

 Quadrant Managed Public Cloud Services


Location advantage Switzerland - for a secure infrastructure

The IaaS market is shaped by the desire for local, secure infrastructures. Swisscom offers flexible, scalable and highly accessible solutions with its dynamic computing portfolio and enterprise service cloud — complemented by global offerings. Data storage in Switzerland, expertise in outsourcing, and comprehensive managed services resulted in the experts coming to the following decision in the ISG study: "Swisscom focuses on security, availability, distinct functionalities, local services and customer proximity."


Christian Mugg, Head of Product Management Cloud


The cloud is one of Swisscom's strategic growth areas. Christian Mugg, Head of Product Management Cloud & Data Center Services at Swisscom explains: "Our strategy is bearing fruit: the balance of local and global meets the needs of our customers and helps accelerate their digital transformation." Today, more than 340 customers obtain their infrastructure from the cloud with Dynamic Computing Services, and the company's own Enterprise Service Cloud has gained some renowned customers such as Swiss Re, Hoval and Interroll. The offer for developers is also impressive: around 8'000 developers are currently using the Enterprise Application Cloud.




More on the topic

ISG Provider Lens 2019 sur le Cloud

ISG Provider Lens (Cloud Transformation/Operation Services & Xaas)

Swisscom donne le ton sur le marché suisse du cloud


La société d’étude de marché ISG a réalisé sa cinquième évaluation du «Who-is-Who» de l’univers suisse du cloud. Swisscom a su de nouveau s’imposer en tant que leader avec un portefeuille attractif et une solide position sur le marché, notamment pour les entreprises qui misent sur une stratégie Multi Cloud.


Texte: Information Services Group (ISG) / Ann-Kristin Koch, Images: Information Services Group (ISG), 23. novembre 2018




La société d’étude de marché ISG a examiné le marché suisse du cloud selon trois catégories: la Public Cloud Transformation avec conseil et migration, les Managed Public Cloud Services et l’Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS). Dans tous les secteurs, Swisscom se positionne dans le quadrant leader en ce qui concerne le portefeuille et la force de position sur le marché; en matière de Managed Public Cloud Services et d’IaaS, elle s’impose loin devant les autres entreprises. D’après Heiko Henkes, auteur de l’étude d’ISG, «Swisscom est le meilleur fournisseur en Suisse qui gère toutes les grandes plateformes hyperscale de cloud public.»


Les entreprises suisses misent de plus en plus sur le Multi Cloud

Jusqu’ici, les entreprises suisses sont plutôt réticentes à l’idée d’utiliser les clouds publics, selon le bilan d’ISG. Mais face à leur besoin croissant de flexibilité, de rapidité et d’agilité, de nombreuses entreprises seront contraintes de quitter leur zone de confort pour miser sur des clouds publics au lieu des services informatiques traditionnels. La stratégie Multi Cloud semble alors idéale: les applications sensibles en local, les autres données au niveau international. La confiance est ici l’élément central. Les experts de l’étude d’ISG reconnaissent le positionnement de Swisscom avec sa méthode de conseil et son expertise d’intégration, même pour les offres internationales Amazon Web Services et Microsoft Azure: «Swisscom séduit de par son rôle de leader stable et digne de confiance, sur lequel misent notamment les banques et les assurances.»

Swisscom a su convaincre en regroupant ses forces pour façonner l’avenir du cloud, par ses solides compétences locales en matière de conseil et d’intégration pour le cloud local personnel associé aux clouds mondiaux, son équipe de conseillers consacrés à la Cloud Security et sa position de longue date en tant que partenaire fiable.



Quadrant für Transformation (Consulting & Integration)

Quadrant Managed Public Cloud Services


L’emplacement de la Suisse, un avantage en termes de sécurité de l’infrastructure

Le marché IaaS est marqué par la demande d’infrastructure locale sécurisée. En effet, avec son portefeuille Dynamic Computing et l’Enterprise Service Cloud, Swisscom offre des solutions flexibles, évolutives et hautement disponibles, complétées par des offres mondiales. L’étude de la conservation des données en Suisse, de l’expertise dans le domaine de l’externalisation et des Managed Services complets a amené les experts de l’étude ISG au constat suivant: «Swisscom se concentre sur la sécurité, la disponibilité, les fonctionnalités approfondies, les services locaux et la proximité avec la clientèle.»


Christian Mugg, Head of Product Management Cloud


Pour Swisscom, le cloud figure parmi les secteurs de croissance stratégiques. Christian Mugg, Head of Product Management Cloud & Datacenter Services chez Swisscom, explique: «Notre stratégie est payante: l’équilibre entre le local et l’international répond aux besoins de nos clients et accélère leur transformation numérique.» Aujourd’hui, plus de 346 clients disposent de l’infrastructure cloud avec les Dynamic Computing Services, et l’Enterprise Service Cloud a permis d’acquérir des clients de renom, tels que Swiss Re, Hoval et Interoll . L’offre pour les développeurs séduit également: près de 8'000 développeurs utilisent déjà Enterprise Application Cloud.




En savoir plus sur ce thème